Cascade Township, MI 
Cascade Township Park Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #18 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 302ft.   4 / 302ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Approach



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Nice 18 Hole Course

1    6/15/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: jarnson
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very nice elevation change, creates a good course instead of just going back and forth straight shots.
- Not too wild on hyzers and anhyzers but it takes advantage of the hills and the trees.
- Hole 15 is well over 500ft. I believe and is a nice challenge for players who like to see how far they can drive a disc.
- Nice Chainstar baskets, numbers on top to help players
Cons: - Dirt tees (okay, but cement is nice to have)
- Very poor design for navigation. I would have been lost if it had not been for the map I printed off before arriving there. Make sure you study the map before playing too.
- Hole 10 plays over a soccer field... bad dice there.
- The designs... I do not know what they were thinking when they made this course!!! There are roads and walking paths going through the park and the holes do nothing to avoid them. That is more of a challenge than the holes themselves!
Other Thoughts: - Overall, it was a good course for distance and 18 holes, but for overall playing I think I will avoid it unless it is a dead day and there is almost no one around on the course/park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Quick update

5+    5/19/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: balth99
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
Pros: After seeing some of the other reviews, I just wanted to say there are tee numbers, but no map. The course is freshly mowed, no trash and a great course for intermediate and above players. It's a truly fun and unique course despite the hazards below.
Cons: Players can easily lose discs to the interstate, bad safety hazards on several holes where the fairways cross the tees to other holes. Several shots across roads, near parking areas or tennis courts and walkways. Beginners should expect to bogey or above on most holes just for safety concerns.
Other Thoughts: If you don't have a map (look under files/links), you may think this is a 9-hole course like the first three times we played here!

 

1    6/21/2011   4/16/2012
Review By: CDashMAN
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: a few nice holes
close for visits
Cons: no signage
dirt tee pads
horrible safety hazards (throw over a soccer field, paths, roads, etc)
navigation nightmare without a map
Other Thoughts: Hands down the worst course i have every played in MI, the sad part is it is the closest to my family when i go to visit. Unless you are padding your courses played list, i dont recommend this course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 RE-DESIGN ME!

5+    6/23/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: Star Destraayer
Played: 111  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 15.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 Chainstars are set in a beautiful and well maintained township park. Rolling hills and sparse trees come into play with a variety of hole lengths. The forgiving nature of each fairway allows for multiple different flight paths. A couple of signature holes allow for some big bombs that may cause one to throw more than one disc. The course is conveniently located right off I-96.
Cons: Many fairways play dangerously too close to other fairways, parking lots, walking paths and other park facilities; moreover, rendering a few holes unplayable during peak hours. The tee pads are embarrassing at best, being dirt skids with no signs, no benches,no trash cans, or anything else characteristic of disc golf courses. Navigation is almost impossible with no signs indicating the next tee pad's whereabouts with several long walks in between holes. The course is plagued by wind due to the adjacent interstate and airport. Flooding occurs on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Unless you are with a local disc golfer, forget about making a trip to this course. I've been playing this course for years and I'm still not certain of the exact locations of every tee off. Yes, there are several fun holes, but all the non-disc golfers wondering around the fairways will make you nervous. Make sure you have a strong 'wind game' or you will become frustrated fast. The park has so much unused land that one will be left wondering why the hell such a design was chosen. Locals will tolerate it, visitors will be disappointed. Takes about 2:30 hours to play if you know what your are doing. A 20 minute drive from downtown GR.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Into the great wide open...

2-4    4/25/2011   4/26/2011
Review By: E-man
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Elevation: This park has many elevation changes and the course uses them nicely. None are very extreme, but there are both uphill and downhill holes on gentle slopes. Hole 15 (500ft.?), a personal favorite, uses both. It starts out atop a hill, plays down then up, finishing atop another hill.
-Mixed distances: Holes range from 170ish to around 600 feet, and there seems to be a happy medium throughout the course.
-Baskets: All (except #9 that was missing when I last played) are in good condition and have hole numbers on top so you are able to see what hole you just played. A couple of roll-away greens add a challenge.

The park is very nice looking and clean, probably due to it being located in such an affluent area.
Cons: -Navigation nightmare: There is not one tee sign, nor anything indicating where to start or where to go next in certain locations. Going from hole 9 to 10 is probably the hardest to figure out. Hole 9 finishes near a gazebo. Hole 10 tee is to the East, right at the edge of a roadway. The basket is NE over a soccer field and just East of a tennis court, which brings up the next con...
-Design: There are many driving/walking paths zig-zagging through the course. There are holes next to parking lots, tennis courts, a baseball field, and a playground. Two holes play over roadways within the park and one of them, hole 10, is to the point of ludicrous. It plays directly across a soccer field so maybe it will be clear, maybe not.
-Open course: This is a con to me. There is rarely more than a couple trees between you and the basket, and are spread quite far apart when they are present.
-Tees: Dirt and two foot wide at best, although pretty level. No places to sit by any tees, just gazebos and pavilions somewhat near the course.

The sight/sound of I-96 and airplanes are ever present. No peace and quiet here.
Other Thoughts: Cascade does have a few really fun holes because of its elevation changes, but they don't make up for the lack of overall fun factor and the huge navigation/design cons. It is directly off an interstate and is worth a look if passing by, just don't make a journey here.
Wind can be strong here and being such an open course doesn't help. Avoiding nights and weekends may help with the run-ins with sports teams using the soccer/baseball fields.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 not too shabby if it had tee signs

1    10/17/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 254  Reviewed: 249  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/27/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety--Not too bad, I thought it would be worse with the openess of the course, but there are plenty of hills and the trees are well placed as to add challenge.
Navigation/Tee Signs--With the addition of tee signs recently, this course is much easier to navigate now!!
Generous pars--Yep. I said it. made my wife feel good though. I threw -6 with posted.
Location--Easy on and off the highway.
Aesthetics--even though it's along the highway the park itself is beautiful.
Cons: Lack of Teepads--the ruts in the grass are a bit dangerous and wonky to navigate on runup...
Inconvenience of hole 10-- there is plenty of room to redesign this hole to make it playable when soccer is going on.
Other Thoughts: I've updated my review and added a half disc to my score. Tee signs are a huge addition to this course that were desperately needed and much appreciated... This is now the #2 or 3 course in Grand Rapids. Put in tee pads and it will be a solid #2 (poop)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Cascade

5+    5/11/2014   9/14/2010
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 19.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: NIce new tee pad signs so you have a better idea how far the hole is and the posted par. Nice open park. If you go by the parks posted pars for each hole you should be able to score well. I was 7 under on the front nine going by the parks posted par, Some really challenging holes. If the wind is blowing could cause problems on some holes. a couple of holes make for nice ace runs.
Cons: tees are just dirt patches. can be rough to navigate after you finish the front nine trying to find hole ten. A lot of the holes cross either the road or walking paths. So you need to be aware of who is nearby when you let your disc fly. Basket for 13 is way to close a parking lot if cars are near basket you may end up shooting around parked cars to reach the basket. Hole 12 fairway crosses right in front of the tee to 13.
Other Thoughts: Hole 7 there is a large bush in the middle of the fairway that you have to throw around to reach hole. Hole 8 the trees in the fairway make finding a throwing lane tricky but not impossible. Hole 14 the bush in front of the hole is waiting to catch any short ace shots at it. Hole 15 there are trees and brush on the left and woods on the right making a very narrow opening for you to shoot through if windy discs can easily float and soar deep into the woods. Hole 16 lets you let a long bomb fly again just watch the path in front of tee and to the right of it. Playground equipment on left can also come into play on drive. Hole 17 can eat your disc if you land it in the trees on the right side of the fairway. Holes 10 and 18 can become unplayable if there is a soccer game going on.but are really nice holes in their own right. I really enjoy this course the rough in the summer can really make it hard to find your disc. It makes you work on your shooting accuracy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Dearly needs mowing

5+    7/19/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: nitzua
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Open, nice variation of hole length. Baskets are quality, but a few are buried way too low.
Cons: Rough is currently very, very long and basically ruins the course. Also, there are pedestrians constantly walking the paths in the park that get in the way of throws.

 Stay away on sunny days

1    8/7/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: scrotman
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 fairly diverse holes.
Cons: First 9 holes try and stay on the fairways, the rough is just 3ft torture. Hole 10 makes you wonder if there really are 18 holes because you must literally look for it. (its across the drive on the right midway down the fence.) A couple of holes have you throwing right next to parking lots and patios. Depending on your skill, i suggest skipping or throw and run.
Other Thoughts: Go on a moderate cool day with little sun. And plenty of water. 80 is not moderate i felt dead from dehydration after the 15th hole with 20oz of water.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Changes for the better

5+    6/17/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: The Shide
Played: 110  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It had been a few years since I last played there, but the changes were for the good (mostly). There use to be a hole that ran along the entrance drive (hated this hole because I always ended up in someones back yard). The newer (new to me) holes in the back are a good addition (although two do intersect #12 & #13- very annoying when someone else is playing right behind you).
After the course dries out sometime in June the course is much easier to navigate - quite a few holes get flooded out in the spring (#3 & #14 especially).
-Now has tee signage, welcome addition, unfortunately no change to layout of course.
Cons: -The tall grass & the gazebo at the end of the hole #9.
-The fairways are usually well kept (a pro actually) so this forces you to really work on trying to stay out of the rough as well as paying attention to where your disc lands. I've spent WAY too much time hunting for strays discs.
-The one thing that hasn't changed is how windy it is there, be sure to use discs that can handle a strong headwind (load up the bag with overstable discsl).
-Dirt tee pads.
-Paved trail that winds its way through or along most of the holes. The locals who use the trail are generally good about waiting for you to throw. They've probably had their share of discs whizzing by their heads enough times that they'd rather wait then be decapitated.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the course is well laid out (with the exception of the intersecting holes) as long as you have a map to show you where the next tee pad is located.
This is one of the better courses in the GR area. Could be the best with the addition of cement tee pads & moving some of the holes out of the path of pedestrians & cars.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.