Course Extinct
Cascade Township, MI 
Cascade Township Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #1 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 374ft.   4 / 374ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
 

1    6/25/2015   6/27/2015
Review By: ILSTUpid
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1
Pros: - Course seemed to be in pretty good shape. Mowed, which is always a big plus in my book.
- Not much room to lose discs, unless you really manage to randomly flip one over
- Great use of elevation, with a few fun holes as a result
- Amazing course for less experienced players...especially the front 9. Not too many required lines, and some shorter baskets.
- With an excess of shorter holes, great for ace races, if that's your thing.
Cons: - Really open course, with few obstacles. That being said, there were a few holes where there was a necessary path, or at least made you think about your approach, but for the most part, this is very much a bomb away kind of course. The couple of courses that had obstacles that required finesse were in my opinion, too short. Hole 8 is a fantastic example of this, in my opinion. Great amount of obstacles, but unfortunately, too short of a hole to really be able to put any muster on your throw.
- Non-existent tee pads, roughed up areas that appear to be used for dirt pads are uneven and a pain.
- A few short holes. Anything under 250 feet is kind of annoying for me. There are 2 here that are well under 200.
- A few holes that throw close to parking lots or areas where people would be hanging out.
Other Thoughts: - A lot of other people complained about wind at this course. Being from Illinois, and going to school in central Illinois where it is windy as can be, the wind was really not a big deal for me, personally. Admittedly, more prone to wind than other surrounding courses.
- A sign pointed to the first tee pad would go a long way. If you're going here for the first time, don't be like me, bring a map.
- I personally prefer more wooded courses.
- Not 420 friendly at all, not a con in my book, but if that's your thing you should probably stay away.
- I went on a day where there weren't many people out (it was about to start raining), so I can't speak to the busy level of the park, but I could see it being busy.
- Course pars are kind of a joke here. Went -17, went even playing with par 3, usually average +3 for most courses playing with full par 3s. Admittedly, I made some nice shots when I went, but would never expect to do that well at any course.
- My favorite hole was 15. Nothing else really stood out to me.
- Gave it a 2.5/5. It's not really my favorite kind of park, but I think for others, they might enjoy it more. It is in really good condition, and I don't regret playing it.

Open Season on Wind Fighting!

5+    6/2/2015   6/3/2015
Review By: Reniger
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: •Manicured
This course has greatly improved over the last two seasons. No longer there is the tall grass rough. The whole park is mowed consistently now. (at least bi-weekly) No goose or dog droppings, no trash.
•Long
If you're looking for a place to practice distance drives in the Midwest Michigan area, this is your spot. Front 9 has two holes in the 400' range that are very open and 7 out of the back 9 are over 300' - 2 over 500'. The length also helps to spread out groups so you're not too crowded up.
•Elevation
Cascade doesn't have much in the way of obstacles. (other than people as it's a busy park) However, they make good use of elevation change to offer up a little bit of challenge.
•Restrooms
Large concrete restrooms in the center of the course.
•Wind
Both a pro and can, however, being elevated from the surrounding area, next to a highway and airport, there is a lot of open room to build up significant wind. Even on relatively still days, this will be the windiest course in the area. Offers more challenge to an open course, but, can be frustrating for less experienced players
Cons: •Noise
Next to a highway and airport, in the direct landing pattern at the end of Gerald R. Ford International's longest runway. Traffic in the air and on the ground is quite loud.
•Open
While it can be nice to air out the big drives, there is little challenge other than pushing as hard as you can to go as far as you can. Only hole 15 offers much challenge from obstacles. (380' valley shot ending up a steep sledding hill with an old growth tunnel at about 80'-100')
•Pads
All dirt pads. Some with significant roots, most with deep erosion, and these get very soupy after rainfall. One of the longer holes has a large (20'x30') clay and sand area used for the pad that turns into a very slick surface when wet
•Busy
This mutil-use park is also home to local soccer, lacrosse, pee-wee football, baseball, cross-country, and tennis teams. Multiple Leagues and Schools use this course for other sports. The course also follows a 1 mile jogging track and often times you will need to wait for the hole to clear.
Other Thoughts: Easy location to get to near the freeway and main retail thoroughfare in the area. Offers a fun open course for beginners, intermediate players and big arms, however, can be too simple for advanced players. All-in-all, a worthwhile course to play, but, not a top-rated course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/1/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: manonthemoon9
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course makes great use of elevation changes to enhance a course that otherwise may be repetitive in shot type
-Has some great long shots
-A couple of very fun and memorable holes (6,15,16)
-Great place to practice throwing in high winds
Cons: -Discs highly affected by wind frequently; some people may not enjoy this
-Positioned next to a busy freeway, less of a hazard for discs and more of a loud nuisance that takes away a bit of peacefulness
-The course is in a multi-use park, so caution is needed to not hit bystanders
Other Thoughts: This course is a great place to work with beginners as it offers some variety without too much punishment. That being said, it isn't extraordinary either. It is a great place to just go and throw a round or two on an afternoon, but it isn't necessarily a destination.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Decent place

5+    7/7/2013   7/7/2013
Review By: el_pwnzor
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Some really sweet hills that tinker with elevation (5, 14, 15)
Not very busy, you usually aren't stuck waiting on the course.
You won't have a hard time knowing where the next hole is.
Some holes on the last 9 are very, very long.
The trees pose a good challenge on many hills, and combined with elevation, leave you with a variety of shots and hole types.
Cons: Many holes have a fairway only 30 feet wide, surrounded by tall, unkept grass and shrubs. This makes it a nuisance to find lost discs!
The tall grass around this time of year makes your legs itchy if you spend too long in it; everyone I've played with has this problem.
There are many holes that are right beside parking lots, walking paths, and social gathering places. I've seen people get hit by discs before.
Some of the tees are lumpy.
Drinking fountains and the bathrooms are gross!
Other Thoughts: It's a great place to take beginners. No water, and the first 9 holes won't overwhelm them, and by the time they are posed with challenging hills, they will be up for it.

 

5+    5/13/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: Durco
Played: 65  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - nice long holes
- some 'must get' shorter holes (#3, #5 and #8)
- a few sweet par 4s!
- good place to work on distance shots, work on playing in the wind or just to practice in general.
- usually not too busy
Cons: - can be busy with non disc golf activities (soccer, walkers, baseball parent's parking in 11s fairway and green)

- a lot of the holes are dangerous to non disc golfers. #1 is a longer hole (375-400ft) playing into what is usually a headwind (or a left to right headwind) The parking lot is on the right side of the green starting at about 325ft off the tee. More dangerous to ppls cars.

-The back 9 is long shots + wind + walking/ biking paths + soccer field + tennis courts + playground + parking lot = dangerous. The good thing is that the park goers and most disc golfers seem very aware of each other here.
-Hole #13s tee is in #12's fairway.... IDK what to say about this.. other than IDK how anyone could think this is a good idea....

-Hole #16s tee shot is esp sketchy IMO. It's a par 4, 600ft+, downhill and there is a large playground on the left side of the fairway from about 250-350 off the tee... right where a shot thrown too high, short throws, shanked righty sidearm shots, pulled over lefty shots, lefty sidearms shots that are too high... etc.. will end up landing. The prevailing wind is a headwind.... adding to the fun....

-Hole #18 has a blind walking path coming in from the right at about 3/4 of the way down the fairway. . <-- Be esp. careful on this one.

Baskets are Mach New IIs, which don't have many chains.
Other Thoughts: -Overall the course itself is fun. The front 9 is really fun! There is good variation of hole lengths. So, you will throw a bunch of dif. discs off the tee. I esp enjoy hole #6 (downhill about 400ft). It's fun to unload your bag on.

-The back 9 is fun, but the layout is really dangerous to non disc golfers IMO.

-Some of the distances on the back 9 are really, really off. Holes #11 and #12 come to mind.. esp #12.

-Fun course, just be careful/ mindful of the non disc golfers.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Better around

5+    8/11/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: BZoods
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Elevation in play on some holes
-Never busy
-Good beginner course
-Wind is the only challenging part about this course
Cons: -Dirt pads
-Shot variety isn't really needed. Can play the entire course with overhead shots if you wanted.
-Wind can be a con if you're not used to it.
Other Thoughts: This course is great to work on drive mechanics at, but that's about it. Other than about 3 holes, there really are no significant obstacles. I suppose this is the best use of the land available, but it's just not an interesting course. I'd rather go to Fallasburg or Old Farm.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Windy fun

5+    10/10/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: TheKohn
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: front 9 is great, shorter holes with varied elevation and trees. no water hazards but there is a few spots you're in danger of losing a disc to the woods.
Cons: can get Extremely Windy!!! right next to the highway and airport. mostly open holes.

theres a couple spots that you have to throw over a road or really close to a parking lot

navigation can be a little confusing the first time you play here so print out a map or play with someone who's been there
Other Thoughts: i like this course as long as its not to windy (which it often is) but if its a nice day it can be a lot of fun.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 wind wind WIND! ugh!!

2-4    7/20/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: That1AndyGuy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Elevation makes for fun shots. Drinking fountains in several locations.
Cons: WIND!!! It is ridiculously windy. Lost a disc for the first time in over a year in the crazy tall rough after the wind blew my disc two fairways over. No shade = hot and dry. Layout is awful; back and forth across a road and through a soccer field.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice to have signs to point in the direction of the next pad. There are a few places where we had to look around for the next pad.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better Than the Current Rating

5+    7/1/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: dandther
Played: 43  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 40.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Good elevation changes
*Interesting contrast between holes
*I love the limited mowing leaving narrow fairways open
*Some of the basket placements are incredibly scenic. It's a really attractively designed course
*Several very long holes really let you air it out
*No water, no goose poop, no stoners. This is a park with a nice atmosphere.
Cons: *Dirt tee pads. I don't mind this, but the loose sand that's left during the current drought means you'll slip if you're not careful
*Difficult to find your way around the first time through, but this is not much an issue to me. Print the satellite photo.
*At times the park is crowded.
*12 should be redesigned somehow to get away from the parking lot (there's a huge unmown area to the west of the fairway that could be used instead).
Other Thoughts: Those who complain about 10 going over the soccer field should just visualize the hole as a slight dogleg and avoid the field completely.

This is becoming my go-to park for introducing newbies to the sport. There are enough short holes that they won't feel intimidated, with a couple of really nice longer holes to show them what they can shoot for if they work at the game.

Update: I am starting to really dislike the dirt tees. With concrete tees my rating would jump to 4, the course is that good. The only downside would be the roads and sidewalks. However, this is NOT as big of an issue to me as it is to others. This is a multiuse park, and it could be the best course in the GR area. It beats Riverside (goose poop, flooding, frequent crowds/festivals), and is better than Brewer (no mud, no stoners). 60 mile round trip for me, but I keep coming back.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course...on weekday mornings!

5+    5/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: JSquizz
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elevation changes galore, mostly wide open with a few exceptions. Varying hole lenghts from aceable for a rookie to almost impossible to get down in three. The wind offers another challenge some players may not like but I have no issue with it.
Cons: Forget about playing at busy times, there are numerous walkways, parking lots, fields, courts which come into play when the park is busy. This is the only con I can find with the course, but playing early is rarely an issue.
Other Thoughts: The design is not perfect, but it is an enjoyable course. It would be a great course if you eliminated all the "noise" in the park.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.