Disc Golf Store
Cascade Township, MI 
Cascade Township Park Share
Uploaded By: apdrvya Hole #6 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 414ft.   5 / 414ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4

2-4    7/1/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: manonthemoon9
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course makes great use of elevation changes to enhance a course that otherwise may be repetitive in shot type
-Has some great long shots
-A couple of very fun and memorable holes (6,15,16)
-Great place to practice throwing in high winds
Cons: -Discs highly affected by wind frequently; some people may not enjoy this
-Positioned next to a busy freeway, less of a hazard for discs and more of a loud nuisance that takes away a bit of peacefulness
-The course is in a multi-use park, so caution is needed to not hit bystanders
Other Thoughts: This course is a great place to work with beginners as it offers some variety without too much punishment. That being said, it isn't extraordinary either. It is a great place to just go and throw a round or two on an afternoon, but it isn't necessarily a destination.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent place

5+    7/7/2013   7/7/2013
Review By: el_pwnzor
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Some really sweet hills that tinker with elevation (5, 14, 15)
Not very busy, you usually aren't stuck waiting on the course.
You won't have a hard time knowing where the next hole is.
Some holes on the last 9 are very, very long.
The trees pose a good challenge on many hills, and combined with elevation, leave you with a variety of shots and hole types.
Cons: Many holes have a fairway only 30 feet wide, surrounded by tall, unkept grass and shrubs. This makes it a nuisance to find lost discs!
The tall grass around this time of year makes your legs itchy if you spend too long in it; everyone I've played with has this problem.
There are many holes that are right beside parking lots, walking paths, and social gathering places. I've seen people get hit by discs before.
Some of the tees are lumpy.
Drinking fountains and the bathrooms are gross!
Other Thoughts: It's a great place to take beginners. No water, and the first 9 holes won't overwhelm them, and by the time they are posed with challenging hills, they will be up for it.


5+    5/13/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: Durco
Played: 64  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - nice long holes
- some 'must get' shorter holes (#3, #5 and #8)
- a few sweet par 4s!
- good place to work on distance shots, work on playing in the wind or just to practice in general.
- usually not too busy
Cons: - can be busy with non disc golf activities (soccer, walkers, baseball parent's parking in 11s fairway and green)

- a lot of the holes are dangerous to non disc golfers. #1 is a longer hole (375-400ft) playing into what is usually a headwind (or a left to right headwind) The parking lot is on the right side of the green starting at about 325ft off the tee. More dangerous to ppls cars.

-The back 9 is long shots + wind + walking/ biking paths + soccer field + tennis courts + playground + parking lot = dangerous. The good thing is that the park goers and most disc golfers seem very aware of each other here.
-Hole #13s tee is in #12's fairway.... IDK what to say about this.. other than IDK how anyone could think this is a good idea....

-Hole #16s tee shot is esp sketchy IMO. It's a par 4, 600ft+, downhill and there is a large playground on the left side of the fairway from about 250-350 off the tee... right where a shot thrown too high, short throws, shanked righty sidearm shots, pulled over lefty shots, lefty sidearms shots that are too high... etc.. will end up landing. The prevailing wind is a headwind.... adding to the fun....

-Hole #18 has a blind walking path coming in from the right at about 3/4 of the way down the fairway. . <-- Be esp. careful on this one.

Baskets are Mach New IIs, which don't have many chains.
Other Thoughts: -Overall the course itself is fun. The front 9 is really fun! There is good variation of hole lengths. So, you will throw a bunch of dif. discs off the tee. I esp enjoy hole #6 (downhill about 400ft). It's fun to unload your bag on.

-The back 9 is fun, but the layout is really dangerous to non disc golfers IMO.

-Some of the distances on the back 9 are really, really off. Holes #11 and #12 come to mind.. esp #12.

-Fun course, just be careful/ mindful of the non disc golfers.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better around

5+    8/11/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: BZoods
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Elevation in play on some holes
-Never busy
-Good beginner course
-Wind is the only challenging part about this course
Cons: -Dirt pads
-Shot variety isn't really needed. Can play the entire course with overhead shots if you wanted.
-Wind can be a con if you're not used to it.
Other Thoughts: This course is great to work on drive mechanics at, but that's about it. Other than about 3 holes, there really are no significant obstacles. I suppose this is the best use of the land available, but it's just not an interesting course. I'd rather go to Fallasburg or Old Farm.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Windy fun

5+    10/10/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: TheKohn
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: front 9 is great, shorter holes with varied elevation and trees. no water hazards but there is a few spots you're in danger of losing a disc to the woods.
Cons: can get Extremely Windy!!! right next to the highway and airport. mostly open holes.

theres a couple spots that you have to throw over a road or really close to a parking lot

navigation can be a little confusing the first time you play here so print out a map or play with someone who's been there
Other Thoughts: i like this course as long as its not to windy (which it often is) but if its a nice day it can be a lot of fun.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

wind wind WIND! ugh!!

2-4    7/20/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: That1AndyGuy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Elevation makes for fun shots. Drinking fountains in several locations.
Cons: WIND!!! It is ridiculously windy. Lost a disc for the first time in over a year in the crazy tall rough after the wind blew my disc two fairways over. No shade = hot and dry. Layout is awful; back and forth across a road and through a soccer field.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice to have signs to point in the direction of the next pad. There are a few places where we had to look around for the next pad.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Better Than the Current Rating

5+    7/1/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: dandther
Played: 41  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 39.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Good elevation changes
*Interesting contrast between holes
*I love the limited mowing leaving narrow fairways open
*Some of the basket placements are incredibly scenic. It's a really attractively designed course
*Several very long holes really let you air it out
*No water, no goose poop, no stoners. This is a park with a nice atmosphere.
Cons: *Dirt tee pads. I don't mind this, but the loose sand that's left during the current drought means you'll slip if you're not careful
*Difficult to find your way around the first time through, but this is not much an issue to me. Print the satellite photo.
*At times the park is crowded.
*12 should be redesigned somehow to get away from the parking lot (there's a huge unmown area to the west of the fairway that could be used instead).
Other Thoughts: Those who complain about 10 going over the soccer field should just visualize the hole as a slight dogleg and avoid the field completely.

This is becoming my go-to park for introducing newbies to the sport. There are enough short holes that they won't feel intimidated, with a couple of really nice longer holes to show them what they can shoot for if they work at the game.

Update: I am starting to really dislike the dirt tees. With concrete tees my rating would jump to 4, the course is that good. The only downside would be the roads and sidewalks. However, this is NOT as big of an issue to me as it is to others. This is a multiuse park, and it could be the best course in the GR area. It beats Riverside (goose poop, flooding, frequent crowds/festivals), and is better than Brewer (no mud, no stoners). 60 mile round trip for me, but I keep coming back.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course...on weekday mornings!

5+    5/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: JSquizz
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elevation changes galore, mostly wide open with a few exceptions. Varying hole lenghts from aceable for a rookie to almost impossible to get down in three. The wind offers another challenge some players may not like but I have no issue with it.
Cons: Forget about playing at busy times, there are numerous walkways, parking lots, fields, courts which come into play when the park is busy. This is the only con I can find with the course, but playing early is rarely an issue.
Other Thoughts: The design is not perfect, but it is an enjoyable course. It would be a great course if you eliminated all the "noise" in the park.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 18 Hole Course

1    6/15/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: jarnson
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very nice elevation change, creates a good course instead of just going back and forth straight shots.
- Not too wild on hyzers and anhyzers but it takes advantage of the hills and the trees.
- Hole 15 is well over 500ft. I believe and is a nice challenge for players who like to see how far they can drive a disc.
- Nice Chainstar baskets, numbers on top to help players
Cons: - Dirt tees (okay, but cement is nice to have)
- Very poor design for navigation. I would have been lost if it had not been for the map I printed off before arriving there. Make sure you study the map before playing too.
- Hole 10 plays over a soccer field... bad dice there.
- The designs... I do not know what they were thinking when they made this course!!! There are roads and walking paths going through the park and the holes do nothing to avoid them. That is more of a challenge than the holes themselves!
Other Thoughts: - Overall, it was a good course for distance and 18 holes, but for overall playing I think I will avoid it unless it is a dead day and there is almost no one around on the course/park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Quick update

5+    5/19/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: balth99
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
Pros: After seeing some of the other reviews, I just wanted to say there are tee numbers, but no map. The course is freshly mowed, no trash and a great course for intermediate and above players. It's a truly fun and unique course despite the hazards below.
Cons: Players can easily lose discs to the interstate, bad safety hazards on several holes where the fairways cross the tees to other holes. Several shots across roads, near parking areas or tennis courts and walkways. Beginners should expect to bogey or above on most holes just for safety concerns.
Other Thoughts: If you don't have a map (look under files/links), you may think this is a 9-hole course like the first three times we played here!

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.