Cascade Township, MI 
Cascade Township Park Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #5 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 150ft.   3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Approach



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 FUN WITH WIND

5+    5/15/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: Azar002
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you hate short holes with a bunch of trees, you'll love this course! These holes are long and open, with rolling green hills.
Cons: Because of the open hills, even on a day with no wind, this course has wind! Also, the tees are natural, only dug out from one season with small flag markers. There is a map you can print out, but you must have Adobe reader.
Other Thoughts: You can find a map on pdga.com's course directory. just look up Cascade, MI. You will need Adobe reader. If you don't have Adobe reader, or if it does not load properly, I have uploaded a map to picoodle, here is the direct link. There is no guarantee as to how long this pic will be online.

http://img40.picoodle.com/img...m_e4b7556.png

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 long and windy

5+    6/28/2008   4/23/2009
Review By: underpar24
Played: 118  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: long holes. nice rolling hills. not to many people even in the playing area.
Cons: hard to find next tee pads, not cemented and no signs. next to airport so it is always windy.
Other Thoughts: on one of the back nine holes there is a parking lot running along side the fairway. when cars are parked there you need to be careful. it annoys me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great potential

2-4    7/5/2008   10/5/2008
Review By: chuckw
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of elevation on holes 4,5,7,10,15, and 16, and obstructed holes, especially 4, 5, 12, and 14.
Watch the tennis courts on 17.
You will need an arm as many holes exceed 400'. The short holes can be quite a challenge, especially 13 -- basket is a few feet from OB. Control is essential.
Cons: Easy to get lost -- No tee pads or signs -- I played it over the July 4th weekend, and while the park was busy, not many folks were disc golfing.
I did run into some local disc golfers on my last round, and they said that they had plans to improve the course.

The drainage stinks, there was lots of "casual water" -- wetlands really -- when I played it. Especially around 3, 11, and 12.
Other Thoughts: The course is relatively "young" so I am confident that the local club will bring it to fruition in time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Open Layout

1    8/21/2008   9/18/2008
Review By: PhattD
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 23.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course with some holes to challenge some pretty long arms. Really nice use of the somewhat hilly terrain. # 15 was the signature hole of the course IMO. 360' to the pin down hill and then right back up again with trees at the bottom creating a gap to shoot through. If you can hit the gap andhave reasonable distance you're golden otherwise it's trouble.
Cons: Baskets are marked with hole numbers and that's about all the help you get. Look for dirt patches and then try to figure out what basket they're pointing at. Had to make up some tee's on our own.
Other Thoughts: I don't agree with the am par listed but I am not sure what protocol is for changing it. I play in the Am3/Rec/Novice division in my leagu and I shot a 55 my first time ever on the course, so par 73 seems a little high. I am also skeptical on the distances list, they seemed shorter, but I had no measuring devices andwasn't sure I was throwing from the right tee.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Rolling hills

5+    7/21/2007   5/12/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2008
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of long challenging holes. Elevation changes and interesting layout make for an enjoyable course when the weather is right. Some really outstanding scenic holes, and plenty of chances to open up and let it fly.
Cons: Wind is almost always a constant issue here. Last I played this course, there still weren't tees or signage adequately marked and unless you know the course well, it is easy to get lost. Little shade in the heat of summer and can make this an endurance test if you forget to bring water. Lots of pedestrian traffic can be frustrating at times. Could use a few more short 'finesse' holes to balance out all the 400 footers.
Other Thoughts: A second set of 'recreational tees' might make this a friendlier course for people new to the sport. As it is, it can be frustratingly long for beginners.

Update 10/31/08: Some renovations going on at this park. #12 basket was missing, and it looks as if a small pond or wetland is in the process of being installed around the 12,13 area. Am waiting for some signage or tee pads to be installed at this park, and perhaps some rethinking of some of the badly designed holes (11 & 13 come to mind especially) -- with all the space available at this park, you'd think they could do a better job of avoiding the playgrounds, soccer fields, tennis courts, parking lots, paths, roads, gazebos, etc etc etc.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Cascade

8/14/2007   3/9/2008
Review By: heylopez
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Open fairways and no water makes for an enjoyable course. Some nice long holes and a few unique ones too.
Cons: Not many trees make for hot games in the summertime.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center