Salem, OR 
Cascades Gateway Share
Uploaded By: Flies to the Left Hole #1 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Cascades Gateway

2-4    2/18/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 47  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: -Tee pads are great
-Baskets catch well
-Close to 2 other courses
-Pretty well upkept
-Not many chances to lose your discs
Cons: -A lake sits right next to the course. Don't throw into lake. DUH lol
-Wind sometimes a issue
-Goose crap everywhere
-Gnome Home in middle of course is a black hole for discs
Other Thoughts: Pretty decent course. Nice and flat. A little bit of everything. 18 holes is nice. Close to Tiger Discs if you need any new plastic as well. Plenty of friendly locals to show you around if you are new to the area. Monday Night League is currently going as well!

Easy-access

2-4    1/1/2014   1/2/2014
Review By: John M. Fretz
Played: 56  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 29.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice, open course to air out your throws and really get a feel for what different discs do when thrown.
Great scenery and easy to go play a quick round if you're in Salem, as it is right by airport.
Cons: GOOSE POOP
Back 9 starts to get redundant, but that should get better as I noticed some newly planted trees which should start to make that side more interesting in the future.
No bathrooms
Other Thoughts: worth playing if u are in area, but not a destination course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/27/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 46  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of open air to work on your D and accuracy. Openness allows for beginners to feel comfortable.
Cons: Openness makes for lack of some challenges.
Other Thoughts: This is my "home course" I guess you would say as it is where I learned and play the most often. Would love to see some trees added to the open fairways if possible to give the course a new feel, in time obviously.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long and Straight

2-4    12/19/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: reanthon
Played: 38  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great Baskets
-Nice concrete Tee Pads
-Well marked, with signs at every hole
-Not that crowded
-Beginner Friendly
Cons: - Not a huge variety of shots, a righty backhand heizer will work off the tee 90% of the time.
- Very open course, I imagine it would get boring after many rounds
- Very flat
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty standard course with many 250-340 ft mostly straight and open holes. The course designers did a good job of working with what they had, but anyone with a consistent 350 foot drive will destroy this course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Friendly and Fun

1    10/9/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: discgolforegon
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - New Longer concrete tee pads (you could see where the old natural pads used to be)
- Easy to follow course flow
- Great baskets (Discatcher by Innova)
- Informational sign with course map
- Lost and found box
- Great use of available terrain
- Good mix of shot types available
- Mostly grass fairways make for an easy walk
- Ample parking
- Course was nearly free of litter
Cons: - Busy walking paths
- Super gnarly rough patches
- No elevation holes
- Not enough use of the lake
- Bathrooms are on other side of park
- Water Fowl droppings
Other Thoughts: I thought this was a great course, not too far off the main freeway. This course is beginner friendly, but challenging enough for the more accomplished golfers. There is plenty more potential out there, with more pin settings that we didn't get to play. I will be back for sure, anytime I'm up north. This would be a great course to bring the family, the lake provides fishing for the kids while you play the course.
A big thanks goes out to the course maintainers and installers. THANKS!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the rain

5+    10/3/2008   10/6/2008
Review By: Flies to the Left
Played: 55  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2008
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The baskets are in good shape.
-All available space was used for the course.
-Concrete tee pads are great. No problem with the Oregon mud.
-All tees have a small layout map with distance.
-Course was laid out using many trees and bushes as obstacles.
-Course flow is good, easy to follow.
Cons: -Course is flat, no hills or valleys.
-Having walking paths in the middle of the course on a busy day is no fun.
-Needs some signs to warn the pedestrians that they are in danger.
-The parks department hasn't mowed the course since early summer, weed seeds are everywhere.
-Restrooms are on the other side of the park.
Other Thoughts: I did this course on a rainy day. I was the only one there except for some fishermen.
I wish the designers could have made the lake more of a water hazard to the course.
With the new concrete pads installed I was wondering if the posted distance was still correct?

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.