Salem, OR 
Cascades Gateway Share
Uploaded By: Flies to the Left Hole #1 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Perfect for beginners

2-4    2/8/2010   2/9/2010
Review By: Riderflydg
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Easy and flat, few difficult courses made it fun. Perfect for beginner like me. Less traffic, less pressure. Lose disc is impossible due to less berries and leafs during Winter time. Spring time would be challenge.
Cons: I can't think of any cons except for one friendly pit bull dog on loose was chased my friend's disc on hole #13 course and marked the disc a bite holes. Bummer. Look out for dogs between 13 and 14 courses.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Long and Straight

2-4    12/19/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: reanthon
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great Baskets
-Nice concrete Tee Pads
-Well marked, with signs at every hole
-Not that crowded
-Beginner Friendly
Cons: - Not a huge variety of shots, a righty backhand heizer will work off the tee 90% of the time.
- Very open course, I imagine it would get boring after many rounds
- Very flat
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty standard course with many 250-340 ft mostly straight and open holes. The course designers did a good job of working with what they had, but anyone with a consistent 350 foot drive will destroy this course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Friendly and Fun

1    10/9/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: discgolforegon
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - New Longer concrete tee pads (you could see where the old natural pads used to be)
- Easy to follow course flow
- Great baskets (Discatcher by Innova)
- Informational sign with course map
- Lost and found box
- Great use of available terrain
- Good mix of shot types available
- Mostly grass fairways make for an easy walk
- Ample parking
- Course was nearly free of litter
Cons: - Busy walking paths
- Super gnarly rough patches
- No elevation holes
- Not enough use of the lake
- Bathrooms are on other side of park
- Water Fowl droppings
Other Thoughts: I thought this was a great course, not too far off the main freeway. This course is beginner friendly, but challenging enough for the more accomplished golfers. There is plenty more potential out there, with more pin settings that we didn't get to play. I will be back for sure, anytime I'm up north. This would be a great course to bring the family, the lake provides fishing for the kids while you play the course.
A big thanks goes out to the course maintainers and installers. THANKS!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Anyone for some berries?

5+    7/14/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: Michael_Martin
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a 18 hole course. It has some nice holes to be played. Lots of nice long drives. It has nice concrete tee boxes and they also have a map at each tee box. Very easy to find!
Cons: Berries lots of them. Prepare to lose discs. Not very green aside from the 2 holes that have a water hazard. Lots of ppl fishing and walking dogs, look out for dog poo. Still a fun course to play if you're just practicing.
Other Thoughts: When you get tired of trekking through berries and getting all scratched up Corban College has a great 9 hole course and its just a 10 minute drive from this one.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/1/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: RallySoob
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: +great layout
+Hole description cards on posts are really nice
+a few long straight drives
+popular, clean and fun place
Cons: +too easy to lose a disc. someone needs to cut out alot of the sticker bushs surrounding the holes. I'm new and have only played here 4 times. I've lost atleast 1 disc everytime...
Other Thoughts: Capitolcitydiscgolf team has a few members who mow the holes down every once in a while. other than the city does a pretty poor job of keeping the place mowed. I would personaly like to get a group together to detroy the thorned bushes and probably find some discs in the process. I know I have atleast 5 out there...

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the rain

5+    10/3/2008   10/6/2008
Review By: Flies to the Left
Played: 52  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2008
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The baskets are in good shape.
-All available space was used for the course.
-Concrete tee pads are great. No problem with the Oregon mud.
-All tees have a small layout map with distance.
-Course was laid out using many trees and bushes as obstacles.
-Course flow is good, easy to follow.
Cons: -Course is flat, no hills or valleys.
-Having walking paths in the middle of the course on a busy day is no fun.
-Needs some signs to warn the pedestrians that they are in danger.
-The parks department hasn't mowed the course since early summer, weed seeds are everywhere.
-Restrooms are on the other side of the park.
Other Thoughts: I did this course on a rainy day. I was the only one there except for some fishermen.
I wish the designers could have made the lake more of a water hazard to the course.
With the new concrete pads installed I was wondering if the posted distance was still correct?

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

5+    9/20/2008   9/28/2008
Review By: jorje_villafan
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of open shots (great for beginners learning how to throw), cement tee pads, tee signs, they just added some trees so the course should be quite different (in an awesome way) in a few years.
Cons: Lots of blackberries. The course could be dolled up a bit. It's got kind of a bland look with a few unsightly areas.
Other Thoughts: While I listed the blackberry bushes on this course as a con, they have improved my game quite a bit. I soon realized that they were only eating my discs because I was feeding them. I started making wiser disc choices, now they are not an issue (for me).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Salem Course Next To I-5

5/24/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 662  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a work in progress. It plays mostly through a field which borders a fairly large fishing lake. The field has some scattered trees and is mostly flat. The later part of the course play across an abandoned street into another seperate field which was once some kind of a small industrial or work area, it's not a real attractive setting overall. The Capitol City Disc Club is obviously working hard to make something out of this course. New teepads are being poured and usually seem to add about 25' to each hole. And the course doesn't play short as it is. There is a nice kisok at the start for club, course and tourney information. My favorite hole was # 5, a 243" shot next to the lake with the basket sitting about 25' from the lake on two sides.

I thought the Tee Signs were a great little idea and would work well at many courses in this area and probably everywhere. They are a 4" x 6" post inbedded in the ground (hopefully with a concrete base). They only stick out of the ground about 6". The top is sawed off at an angle for easy reading. Then bolted to that is a fairly simple, laiminated 4" x 6" sign with all the information you needed, distance, par, next tee, previous tee, etc. The beauty of these is when the local midnight punk population vandalizes them, they are so very easy to unbolt the old and replace it with a shiny new one. I hope the course designers made two or three of every sign for just such a reasons. Erwin Young Park in Newberg has very similiar signs. Because they are very non-intrusive, I think park dept. officials would allow them in parks where stand-up metal type signs are not allowed. I can quickly think of two neighboring courses which could greatly benefit from these type of signs, Timer Linn in Albany and Wortman in McMinville. Why doesn't someone from the club post a picture of one of these signs?
Cons: It's not a very pretty setting for a course once you leave the lake. Many holes were the same, 9-10 and 11, especially were all mirror images of each other. Beware of goose droppings everywhere.
Hole # 8, I like as a disc golf hole but I have some real concerns about the safety aspects of park users coming around the blind corner and jogging right into the tee off flight path.
Other Thoughts: Disc club members; please don't take this as a criticism. It's only a suggestion, and should be taken for what it is, considering you all are the ones doing the labor, not me. Concerning new teepad on # 9. I think this is your chance to really give this course a cool signature hole by burrowing back 50' into the blackberries and brush. Build a cool, shaded teepad back in that clump of brush/trees. Escape from the Salem heat in the summer months. It might spice up an otherwise pretty boring hole.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the Salem area

5/17/2008   5/18/2008
Review By: OR_Crayfish
Played: 70  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a good course considering the capitol of Oregon (Salem) has crap for DG courses. There are several folks working hard to change this. Cascade is turning into a great little course. A few Pads have recently been poured with the rest coming soon. Area has been used the best it can. Some holes are not that thrilling but as a whole its pretty good. One can view some amazing sights of Osprey fishing in lake that causes some frustrations for some golfers. Pretty good course for beginners expect for some OB hazards (lost discs). This used to be a pretty sketchy park that is turning out to be a nice park. Very close to I-5 (about 5 mins off of Kubler or HWY 22 Exit).
Cons: Blackberry still presists but is being addressed. Some pretty easy birdies that arent too challenging for Adv/Pro golfers. No real woods holes, pretty open. Big dirve = Low score (not technical)

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice change

4/29/2008   5/1/2008
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The pins are tucked away, so you have to be good on your mid-range game. Fun course and a little bit of everything including a nearby lake to distract you.

Cons: The tees start you off usually in a open field, so your drives should make it down the field everytime unless the wind catches it, which it is almost guaranteed to do on some legs.
Other Thoughts: There are a few holes where the pins are not visable and throwing your disk into the trees is actually your best bet. Good luck

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center