Salem, OR 
Cascades Gateway Share
Uploaded By: Flies to the Left Hole #1 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Manicured fairways

1    2/20/2015   2/21/2015
Review By: thespeedokid
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 0.5 Years
Pros: Long concrete tees. Easy to follow course due the map on the marquee that you can take a picture of. Extremely nice fairways. It's very rare when you can skip discs on non dirt fairways. Good DISCatcher baskets.
Cons: Too easy but quite fun. Not enough trees or elevation changes. Bramble bushes on one hole. Most of the hole signs were missing. (The ones that were there were pretty good though).
Other Thoughts: Really just a fun course. There are some birdy opportunities on the shorter holes. Would I play it again? Yes.

Decent course, could be excellent with some work!

2-4    10/4/2014   10/6/2014
Review By: jnicola
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
Pros: Easy to get to park.
Many relatively wide open holes made beginners happy.
Good usage of terrain and obstacles to keep some challenge in play
Cons: Annoying/Difficult to navigate.
Tee's often missing maps or numbers all together.
No directions or clear indicators of next tee.
Often multiple baskets viewable from a tee so you have to walk out and check which basket is next.
Lots of overgrown blackberry clusters or overgrown pods of shrubbery. Multiple lost discs from other groups on the day we were out there.
Other Thoughts: This course could be really excellent. With some basic work to overhaul the tee's and baskets, the course would be a breeze to navigate. With some serious effort put in to take back some of what the invasive species have taken over, the course would also be excellent.

Cascades Gateway

2-4    2/18/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.9 Years
Pros: -Tee pads are great
-Baskets catch well
-Close to 2 other courses
-Pretty well upkept
-Not many chances to lose your discs
Cons: -A lake sits right next to the course. Don't throw into lake. DUH lol
-Wind sometimes a issue
-Goose crap everywhere
-Gnome Home in middle of course is a black hole for discs
Other Thoughts: Pretty decent course. Nice and flat. A little bit of everything. 18 holes is nice. Close to Tiger Discs if you need any new plastic as well. Plenty of friendly locals to show you around if you are new to the area. Monday Night League is currently going as well!

Simple, open course

1    3/10/2014   3/10/2014
Review By: nat16dick
Played: 50  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: Baskets - Discatcher baskets are in decent shape and catch well
Teepads (when applicable) - The concrete teepads that are in place on most holes are well-sized and in good condition
Navigation - For the most part, course is logical and easy to play through without a map
Cons: Teepads - Many tees are missing, and several holes tee off grass or bark chip areas
Signage - Sign at front of course is in fine condition, but hole signs are often missing, making it occasionally hard to find the pin
Design - Most of the park is open, and the back 9 especially seem to just zig-zag across a field, making for an exceedingly boring stretch of holes
Other Thoughts: The challenge factor is very low, unless the wind is high. The lack of great tees throughout and the vandalized signage really take away from the course, making it one I would certainly not recommend. There are a couple of holes with fun design traits, but the course is overall rather boring, and not worth a stop.

Easy-access

2-4    1/1/2014   1/2/2014
Review By: John M. Fretz
Played: 57  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 29.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice, open course to air out your throws and really get a feel for what different discs do when thrown.
Great scenery and easy to go play a quick round if you're in Salem, as it is right by airport.
Cons: GOOSE POOP
Back 9 starts to get redundant, but that should get better as I noticed some newly planted trees which should start to make that side more interesting in the future.
No bathrooms
Other Thoughts: worth playing if u are in area, but not a destination course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 We like it

5+    7/30/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: Bryan-Krystal
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: We like that we can try out new disk and not worry so much about losing them. the open fields really are nice. love the sun.
Cons: That the disk were moved around and that made it harder for new players to get into the game. Not much shade so sun block is needed for some.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/27/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 49  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of open air to work on your D and accuracy. Openness allows for beginners to feel comfortable.
Cons: Openness makes for lack of some challenges.
Other Thoughts: This is my "home course" I guess you would say as it is where I learned and play the most often. Would love to see some trees added to the open fairways if possible to give the course a new feel, in time obviously.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My windy home course

5+    8/28/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: ripcitydisc
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some people find very open courses a bad thing, and while I agree with that for the most part, I've really enjoyed playing here and working out all my discs without fearing I was going to lose all of them. The concrete pads are very nice and it is next to a lake but the water really only comes into play when the basket for hole 5 is in the left place. The alternate tees make the course a little more fun as well, although I hate when hole 2's basket is in the trees. The course also does a great loop as the basket for 18 is very close to the tee box for 1 which is right next to the parking lot.
Cons: It is very flat and very open. No elevation changes and I can throw backhand or forehand on every hole and most of the holes are just straight with few obstacles. I still like all the holes, except for 15, which most people are going to spend a little time looking for their disc after they throw because theres a tiny window through the forest on either side of the window. There is a lot of goose poop and sometimes there is some trash and vandalism, which is a shame because the tee markers looked very nice before that and there are plenty of garbage cans. There is hardly any shade on hot days in the summer.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to begin on and take friends who havent played or played much. I still get challenged by the distance of the baskets because I am not a huge thrower yet, but im not challenged by the technicality of the course. I think everyone would still enjoy it for the most part though.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great I-5 Stop!

2-4    7/31/2011   8/1/2011
Review By: wildrivers
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy to follow course. Holes have cement tees with distance signs. all holes have baskets. A couple tight fairways but mostly wide open throws available. Great place to pull off some "huks" or learn the sport. Can have dogs on leash and there is a pond they can play in. Close to I-5. This course has never been crowded when I have played. Makes good use of space for a smaller city park.
Cons: Cant say there are any for this course! I like a course with no poisen oak, cement tees and signs.
No real restrooms just "blue" rooms at the park.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Lake!

1    7/6/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is good place for newer players to learn on that won't be too challenging and yet still make them respect the game and not get too cocky out there. The concrete tee pads are really nice looking and grippy and are big enough that you can locate them from the last basket for easy navigation. This seems like a good place to learn without trees in your way and also you can learn rollers here when the grass is short enough. The nearby lake is really pretty and gets a ton of use.
Cons: There just isn't enough obstacles here to really make it interesting or challenging. Open, no out of bounds and no rough means even horrible drives are getting a three from anyone who has been playing a while. I'm not not really a big fan of zig zagging across a wide open field back and forth, over and over. This course is just a little too boring for my taste.
Other Thoughts: I'm not exactly sure much could be done to make this place challenging but not every course has to be. This place does do a good job in attracting its target audience of newer players and chuckers. Honestly though I think I would rather go fishing or swimming in the beautiful lake than rather play the disc golf course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.