Salem, OR 
Cascades Gateway Share
Uploaded By: Flies to the Left Hole #1 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Sweet Lake!

1    7/6/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 228  Reviewed: 220  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is good place for newer players to learn on that won't be too challenging and yet still make them respect the game and not get too cocky out there. The concrete tee pads are really nice looking and grippy and are big enough that you can locate them from the last basket for easy navigation. This seems like a good place to learn without trees in your way and also you can learn rollers here when the grass is short enough. The nearby lake is really pretty and gets a ton of use.
Cons: There just isn't enough obstacles here to really make it interesting or challenging. Open, no out of bounds and no rough means even horrible drives are getting a three from anyone who has been playing a while. I'm not not really a big fan of zig zagging across a wide open field back and forth, over and over. This course is just a little too boring for my taste.
Other Thoughts: I'm not exactly sure much could be done to make this place challenging but not every course has to be. This place does do a good job in attracting its target audience of newer players and chuckers. Honestly though I think I would rather go fishing or swimming in the beautiful lake than rather play the disc golf course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good for beginners and locals...

1    1/23/2011   1/24/2011
Review By: Huck Plastic
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good for beginners
-Only 18 hole course in Salem
-Multiple ace and birdie runs
-Hard to lose plastic
-Wide open layout flows well
-Large tapered, concrete tee boxes
-Concise tee and basket labels
-No poison oak
-Lock box to deposit found plastic
Cons: -Had to wait on most holes (by-product of a 50 degree day in January with no rain)
-Intermediate and advanced players will want more of a challenge
-Burnt out shed on hole #4 is a disc eater with no way to retrieve
-Trash and lots of it
-Homeless shanties amongst the briars
-Poop on ground, both human and goose
-Sketchy area with questionable looking characters (at times)
-Terrible port-o-pottie
Other Thoughts: Cascade Gateway is a good place to toss if you are a beginner or you live in the adjacent area. This is not the type of course that you drive from out of town to play as you will probably be disappointed if you do so. Because of the unsavory characters that tend to frequent the park during low use times I recommend group play around dawn or dusk.

Remember, always play the role of "Unofficial Park Steward" as this will invariably improve the courses we play and the image of our sport.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Epic Course

5+    5/18/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: McDilligaf
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Good long distance holes, a few good technical holes as well as an easy to read course. Great for beginners, this is the course I cut my teeth in back in 2008
Cons: There are "some" goose land-mines about, ok so there are alot of them hahaha :P A small price to pay for the love of the sport I say. LOL
The course itself is well layed out and it is fairly hard to loose a disc unless you hit the drink.
Other Thoughts: I have only played a few courses: Woodmansee Park, Keizer Rapids Park, Champoeg Park but I always come back here for more :)

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect for beginners

2-4    2/8/2010   2/9/2010
Review By: Riderflydg
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Easy and flat, few difficult courses made it fun. Perfect for beginner like me. Less traffic, less pressure. Lose disc is impossible due to less berries and leafs during Winter time. Spring time would be challenge.
Cons: I can't think of any cons except for one friendly pit bull dog on loose was chased my friend's disc on hole #13 course and marked the disc a bite holes. Bummer. Look out for dogs between 13 and 14 courses.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Long and Straight

2-4    12/19/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: reanthon
Played: 43  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great Baskets
-Nice concrete Tee Pads
-Well marked, with signs at every hole
-Not that crowded
-Beginner Friendly
Cons: - Not a huge variety of shots, a righty backhand heizer will work off the tee 90% of the time.
- Very open course, I imagine it would get boring after many rounds
- Very flat
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty standard course with many 250-340 ft mostly straight and open holes. The course designers did a good job of working with what they had, but anyone with a consistent 350 foot drive will destroy this course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Friendly and Fun

1    10/9/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: discgolforegon
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - New Longer concrete tee pads (you could see where the old natural pads used to be)
- Easy to follow course flow
- Great baskets (Discatcher by Innova)
- Informational sign with course map
- Lost and found box
- Great use of available terrain
- Good mix of shot types available
- Mostly grass fairways make for an easy walk
- Ample parking
- Course was nearly free of litter
Cons: - Busy walking paths
- Super gnarly rough patches
- No elevation holes
- Not enough use of the lake
- Bathrooms are on other side of park
- Water Fowl droppings
Other Thoughts: I thought this was a great course, not too far off the main freeway. This course is beginner friendly, but challenging enough for the more accomplished golfers. There is plenty more potential out there, with more pin settings that we didn't get to play. I will be back for sure, anytime I'm up north. This would be a great course to bring the family, the lake provides fishing for the kids while you play the course.
A big thanks goes out to the course maintainers and installers. THANKS!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Anyone for some berries?

5+    7/14/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: Michael_Martin
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a 18 hole course. It has some nice holes to be played. Lots of nice long drives. It has nice concrete tee boxes and they also have a map at each tee box. Very easy to find!
Cons: Berries lots of them. Prepare to lose discs. Not very green aside from the 2 holes that have a water hazard. Lots of ppl fishing and walking dogs, look out for dog poo. Still a fun course to play if you're just practicing.
Other Thoughts: When you get tired of trekking through berries and getting all scratched up Corban College has a great 9 hole course and its just a 10 minute drive from this one.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/1/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: RallySoob
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: +great layout
+Hole description cards on posts are really nice
+a few long straight drives
+popular, clean and fun place
Cons: +too easy to lose a disc. someone needs to cut out alot of the sticker bushs surrounding the holes. I'm new and have only played here 4 times. I've lost atleast 1 disc everytime...
Other Thoughts: Capitolcitydiscgolf team has a few members who mow the holes down every once in a while. other than the city does a pretty poor job of keeping the place mowed. I would personaly like to get a group together to detroy the thorned bushes and probably find some discs in the process. I know I have atleast 5 out there...

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the rain

5+    10/3/2008   10/6/2008
Review By: Flies to the Left
Played: 55  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2008
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The baskets are in good shape.
-All available space was used for the course.
-Concrete tee pads are great. No problem with the Oregon mud.
-All tees have a small layout map with distance.
-Course was laid out using many trees and bushes as obstacles.
-Course flow is good, easy to follow.
Cons: -Course is flat, no hills or valleys.
-Having walking paths in the middle of the course on a busy day is no fun.
-Needs some signs to warn the pedestrians that they are in danger.
-The parks department hasn't mowed the course since early summer, weed seeds are everywhere.
-Restrooms are on the other side of the park.
Other Thoughts: I did this course on a rainy day. I was the only one there except for some fishermen.
I wish the designers could have made the lake more of a water hazard to the course.
With the new concrete pads installed I was wondering if the posted distance was still correct?

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

5+    9/20/2008   9/28/2008
Review By: jorje_villafan
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of open shots (great for beginners learning how to throw), cement tee pads, tee signs, they just added some trees so the course should be quite different (in an awesome way) in a few years.
Cons: Lots of blackberries. The course could be dolled up a bit. It's got kind of a bland look with a few unsightly areas.
Other Thoughts: While I listed the blackberry bushes on this course as a con, they have improved my game quite a bit. I soon realized that they were only eating my discs because I was feeding them. I started making wiser disc choices, now they are not an issue (for me).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.