Wilmington, NC 
Castle Hayne Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 356ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Tough Course

1    7/12/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Challenging. Very well kept up course. Great baskets. Fun holes
Cons: Tee pads were a little short. Killer spiders everywhere. Very small window in which to drive through.
Other Thoughts: The woods off the fairways are as thick as i have ever seen. Very tough if you do not drive well. Lots of right turn holes on the back 9.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not a fan

5+    7/2/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 36  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Huge clear fairways
Distinct gravel tees
Color signs for each hole
Located in a beautiful park
Holes stay away from the populated park areas
Well maintained and cleaned
There is a sign close to the bathrooms. For sure read this before you play for your first time. Has the map so you know where you're going.
Cons: Buggy
The woods are not forgiving and it's hard to come back from a bad hole.
The front nine and the back nine are split and can be hard to locate your first time here.
Other Thoughts: Definitely more of a professional course. I think I do worse every time I play this course. Difficult but possible. Even though I suck at this course, I know that this is a VERY NICE course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tough but fair

5+    1/30/2012   2/5/2012
Review By: ColinB
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Accurate signage
Well maintained, not much trash, good number of trash cans
Good mix of lefts and rights, tight and open fairways
Most holes are pretty long, good for power players
Tough course, but pretty fair pars
Alternate basket locations switched out every few weeks
Nice locals
Monthly doubles by local club
Baskets in great condition
Front 9 and back 9 end at the parking lot
Cons: Can be crowded at times, especially when larger groups play (though course limit is 5 players to a group) and on the weekends
Tough course for players without much range
Other Thoughts: Overall I love this course and it is by far my most played course.
Difficult course even for experienced players, but doable and rewarding pars
Wish it was closer in to town, but I can only imagine how much more crowded it would be.
A little more elevation change would be great, but you can't ask for much being near the coast.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 hayne

1    6/22/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: Django
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: love the lay out of the course
love the lack of underbrush
love the tee boxes
love the elevated target on 10
well marked trails
not a lot of crossover
Cons: moderate walk from 9 to 10
gets hot easy
some holes pose a real challenge if you get into trouble, but thats not necessarily a con
very lefty
Other Thoughts: the highest rating ive given of a course ive played so far. had an ace run on one and nine on my first time playing. nothing like the courses ive played in ohio. i loved it. the layout is a great challenge for rightys, and you need a strong forehand/anhyzer to make your scores low.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/1/2009   2/20/2011
Review By: _MTL_
Played: 105  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 21.2 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - A true test of all skill levels.
- Par in the mid 60's
- Great mix of holes - all the way from a simple 200 footer to a double dogleg 800 footer
- Great tee signs and tee pads
- Ball golf layout where 9 and 18 finish at the parking lot.
- Great, safe public park
- Very fair course
Cons: - One layout really - no junior / shorter tees
- Takes a while to play - no quick rounds here.
- A bit lefty / sidearm friendly.
- A few tweener holes where you don't have a lot of score seperation
- No elevation, which is due to being near the beach
- Course is kinda dirty - it's a sandy part of the state and you can easily get very dirty playing the course
- The course has a few holes that will flood after lots of rain
Other Thoughts: So many times in disc golf, a course with a par in the mid 60's favor's throwing far. Not even close to the case with this one. Placement is the key here and there are many par 4's where you throw a midrange to a turn and then throw another midrange to the turn. I think this is a VERY women / senior friendly course because it really is about the ability to throw 250 feet to a spot rather than ripping a drive across an open area. If you love tough courses but don't have a big arm, this will be your favorite course.

An absolute must play. And close to the beach. Makes for a great weekend trip.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  A great course to learn and build your skills

5+    2/6/2011   2/8/2011
Review By: yesiam
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is the first course I play and the layout was great. The front 9 is easier then the back. As my skill gets better I enjoy playing the back 9 as much as the front 9. The local clubs keep this course in tip top shape.
Cons: If it rains a lot the course does not drain well.
Other Thoughts: A great place to learn the game and meet new friends.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/4/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: D'money
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate. Nicely groomed. challenging, but easy enough to enjoy it.
Cons: Very tight fairway's, sometimes you have a pretty good wait. easy to loose a disc on some holes
Other Thoughts: Over all the best course ive played yet

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 lived up to the hype

2-4    7/29/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 95  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: course is in a nicely kept park, there was practicaaly no trash to speak of on the course. trashcans and benches were on every hole. nice tee pads, every hole offered a specefic shot to be executed. the par 4 holes were pretty legitimate holes.
Cons: if this course had more elevation it would have gotten i higher rating. it was pretty flat. the chainstar baskets were not to my liking. i had more dead center spit outs at castle hayne than any course i can remeber. also from a distance the baskets were hard too spot
Other Thoughts: i would say this course is rated so high due to the fact that there isnt really anything else around. it averages a 4.5 but i can think of at least 3 courses here in charlotte that offer way more challenge that dont rank as high. i wasnt dissapointed at all, but i expected more from what i had read. also would like to point out that alot of love and care has gone into this course, one of the cleanest and well kept courses ive been to

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mini Winthrop

1    7/26/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Kiknwitcooper
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Starts out pretty nicely but gradualy gets tougher as you go along the course. Many top players around there, such as Jason Land and Dave George
Cons: Many shots that you have to watch unless you want to lose a disc
Other Thoughts: Very Fun to play and if you haven't played it, make plans to come visit this course

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Times

1    7/25/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: BunkWilly74
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Extraordinary course, great scenery open well kept up. Wooded canopy is a plus on a hot summer day. This course will make you utilize every disc and throw in your arsenal. If you every are in the Wilmington area bring your disc you will not be sorry.
Cons: The heat in July is very humid, just bring lots of H20 or Gatorade.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a great course wide open just becareful of whole 8 it is a disc eater unless you are a ringer. Cheers!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.