Wilmington, NC 
Castle Hayne Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 341ft.   3 / 341ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A "Must Play" in NC

1    6/18/2014   6/20/2014
Review By: mateobueno
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This may very well be the Pinehurst #2 of North Carolina disc golf. A relatively benign opening hole leads you into a variety of par 3's, 4's and 5's of all shapes and sizes, with subtle changes in elevation. Baskets are well protected but the fairways are wide enough to get there in the allotted amount of strokes. Great signs, benches, trees and wildlife.
Cons: May be too difficult for beginners.
Other Thoughts: A must play in North Carolina for any disc golf enthusiast.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Shwing!!

5+    11/29/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: Brett
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: Everything!! It's a beautiful course with great locals, and we have boz :) what more could you ask for? but maybe a hanging basket or 2 that would be sweet!! dreaming.. lol
Cons: Newbies on the front 9 and hole 8 will have you swimming if you don't watch it buddy.
Other Thoughts: I finally got my Ace!! on hole 18 with a boss 175g Woot!! woot!!

0 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 SCHWEBIES HOME

5+    10/31/2009   3/31/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.9 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: great course for the advanced and above. i played it a few years ago wen i was bad, and i hatedthis course. we called it CASTLE PAYNE. but if u can throw a roc,flick, thumber and tomahawk, you might finish 4 over. my friend lives there and can only shoot even par. THE fairways are nice as well as the benches. great tee boxes and signs. play 1st nine come back to the parking lot then play the back nine. if its your first time play doubles for this course will eat u alive. this is the stomping ground of the best THUMBER DISC GOLFER IN THE WORLD brian schwebeger. so u might see a team star member during your round
Cons: none unless ur an amature. this course will test you roc game but most of all your mental game.
Other Thoughts: this course has par 3s 4s and 5s one is over 1000 in the woods on long placement....HAVE FUN!

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    7/25/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: JasonP
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I am biased. I play here all of the time. The course is gorgeous. It's long and tough, but very rewarding. Concrete pads are a plus. Friendly locals.
Cons: I can't sleep here! LOL
Other Thoughts: Please, be considerate of our park. We have worked hard to get it where it is today.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Exceptional design

5+    12/26/2008   4/27/2009
Review By: Mtn Huckin
Played: 73  Reviewed: 12
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Epic course design at work. Distance, but technical. You will use everything in the bag. Shot diversity is mandatory to score here. A true test and a test of the overall Golf theory. Placement is key on all shots as the designer was on his game when he built this. All the power applied will be utterly useless if you cant place a disc on the right spot for an upshot. Thats right, upshot - there are many par 3's, 4's and 5's with well built landing zones.
Smart Golf is the payment for the reward of good round here. For a place at sea level, they have managed to integrate elevation change when ever possible and used if wisely.
Excellent job by Harold Duvall et al.
Cons: Nothing - except I dont live there.
Other Thoughts: Year round disc golf love!!
Even though this course is in a city park, it is rarely busy and when it is, it's busy with serious Disc Players who are respectful and informative.
No mindless hikers/walker/bikers wandering everywhere - just players. I live in Colorado and I travel to play this course EVERY year

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.