Wilmington, NC 
Castle Hayne Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
4 / 421ft.   4 / 490ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 More North Carolina Greatness!!

1    10/16/2011   10/16/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2011
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Almost perfectly cared for course in a nice park. Huge concrete tee pads. Great signs showing multiple basket positions, lengths and lines. Bathrooms near tee 1 and 9. Benches are abundant if you need them.

This course plays as a very nice technical course. Almost every hole is in the woods. You get to see some open grass on 1, 9 and 18, but that is about it. The rest is simply beautifully designed wooded holes.

Holes are technical, but not brutal. There are tight lines throughout the course, but not many places where you look up and curse under your breath. Just lots of well designed lines. The are short and long left and rights. There are long wooded holes. But best of all, there are long wooded holes that require multiple fairway shots. Make a clean tee shot to a fairway landing area, and then make another in order to have a shot at a birdie putt. There are 6 par 4's and 2 par 5's on this par 64 course in the long positions, and 5 par 4's in the shorts for a 63 par. Just great length in a wooded course. And it is all fair and lots of fun.

Not a bad hole on the course. No useless filler holes here.

Some nice basket positions. On many holes the basket is either on a gentle slope or wedged near some trees. If you nail an ace here you earned it.

Posts with footage to basket on some of the holes. Nice touch on par 4 and 5 holes.
Cons: None. There was nothing about this course that could be complained about.

If you want something to bitch about, there is almost no elevation or water. But the course is so good you won't care.
Other Thoughts: Instantly in my favorite list. I love a fair course that offers numerous par 4 and 5 holes. This course doesn't brutalize you physically, but it does force you to play smart golf, and hit your fairways. Get off the fairway, and there is some thick, nasty stuff. The woods can pin you in if you aren't careful.

Lots of good holes to choose from, but I really enjoyed the multiple twists and turns of 4, 8 and 11. All three were long, fun and challenging.

#12 was flat out an SOB for a righty. A tee shot that goes roughly 175-200' before taking a right turn. Then a tight tunnel another 250-300' to the basket. Trees on the right and a ditch on the left. I shot a 5 and felt really good about it.

In its current state this course may never be considered a '5' since it lacks significant elevation or water carries. It doesn't have any of those holes that show up in marketing material. But every hole is designed very well, and there isn't a bad shot on the course. In addition, some of the longer holes could flat out crush you if you get sloppy with your execution or miss a fairway. Do you try to stretch your drive an extra 50' for that great shot, or stay on the fairway? Play this course, and you'll be asking yourself this question all day.

Just a great course. Long, technical and fair. If you head to Eastern NC make sure this one is on the top of your list. It is truly one of the best.


16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Worth ANY drive

2-4    9/9/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: Brad bass
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is so well cared for it's amazing there are no filler holes this is a must see. There is a nice map to download on this site that will help.
Cons: 9 to 10 is a tuff find without looking at the map or asking someone 10 to 11 is the same.
Other Thoughts: Very busy there were people teeing off the whole day while I was there.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 hayne

1    6/22/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: Django
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: love the lay out of the course
love the lack of underbrush
love the tee boxes
love the elevated target on 10
well marked trails
not a lot of crossover
Cons: moderate walk from 9 to 10
gets hot easy
some holes pose a real challenge if you get into trouble, but thats not necessarily a con
very lefty
Other Thoughts: the highest rating ive given of a course ive played so far. had an ace run on one and nine on my first time playing. nothing like the courses ive played in ohio. i loved it. the layout is a great challenge for rightys, and you need a strong forehand/anhyzer to make your scores low.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/1/2009   2/20/2011
Review By: _MTL_
Played: 105  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 21.4 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - A true test of all skill levels.
- Par in the mid 60's
- Great mix of holes - all the way from a simple 200 footer to a double dogleg 800 footer
- Great tee signs and tee pads
- Ball golf layout where 9 and 18 finish at the parking lot.
- Great, safe public park
- Very fair course
Cons: - One layout really - no junior / shorter tees
- Takes a while to play - no quick rounds here.
- A bit lefty / sidearm friendly.
- A few tweener holes where you don't have a lot of score seperation
- No elevation, which is due to being near the beach
- Course is kinda dirty - it's a sandy part of the state and you can easily get very dirty playing the course
- The course has a few holes that will flood after lots of rain
Other Thoughts: So many times in disc golf, a course with a par in the mid 60's favor's throwing far. Not even close to the case with this one. Placement is the key here and there are many par 4's where you throw a midrange to a turn and then throw another midrange to the turn. I think this is a VERY women / senior friendly course because it really is about the ability to throw 250 feet to a spot rather than ripping a drive across an open area. If you love tough courses but don't have a big arm, this will be your favorite course.

An absolute must play. And close to the beach. Makes for a great weekend trip.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  A great course to learn and build your skills

5+    2/6/2011   2/8/2011
Review By: yesiam
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is the first course I play and the layout was great. The front 9 is easier then the back. As my skill gets better I enjoy playing the back 9 as much as the front 9. The local clubs keep this course in tip top shape.
Cons: If it rains a lot the course does not drain well.
Other Thoughts: A great place to learn the game and meet new friends.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Flat but Fun

1    11/27/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: albert8fish
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.6 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I like tight wooded courses, being from Charlotte and all. I liked this course for its brutality, reminds me of home. Little if no elevation change means lots of well planned cutting to shape fairways, and greens. Some might say a little too excessive at times; a tee with a forked tree six feet in front of you, for example. Bring a buzz or other trusty midrange and test your turnover shots, and a driver comes in handy for skip shots, and a couple open holes.
Cons: I visit family in Wilmington and considering this is the only park around, it is gonna get some play. It is out in the sticks a little bit, and knowing those woods, I would bring a bucket bug spray in the summer. Besides the fact that the park is relatively flat, I can not say anything bad about it. It was a busy day there, with a doubles tournament, but my wife and I played through three or four groups. So, don't expect a run through on a gorgeos day like this one.
Other Thoughts: After seeing the cool wooden signs with the hole layout,(complete with little nails for important clusters of trees in the fairway), I realized the importance, and effect good signage is to a course. I say three and a half discs, three for the course itself, and a half for the super cool signs. This course is worthy of being in the top ranked N.C. courses, even though it is short in length.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 castle pain lies up to hype

5+    8/11/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: oki40484
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: where can you start on course like this, very clean quiet park hid from everything. will test your turning skills in every direction. distances can be mean on us "short armed" folks. love this place.
Cons: drinking water out of anything here, sinks included is impossible, after a round here in the summer you will drink everything you have on you trek through front 9. stores are about 10 minutes away, just long egnough to cool you down.
bring cooler.
Other Thoughts: if you have a 10 over day here your first time you did good. playing it for two years now and only shot even twice.
welcome to castle pain

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/4/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: D'money
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate. Nicely groomed. challenging, but easy enough to enjoy it.
Cons: Very tight fairway's, sometimes you have a pretty good wait. easy to loose a disc on some holes
Other Thoughts: Over all the best course ive played yet

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Walk Loved

1    8/5/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: Keokuk Discer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was all that I had hoped it was. It was fun to play, but tough and challenging at the same time.

Don't let the open looking fairways or how easy the course looks fool you. Each shot is a test of your skills and placement is key here. Get too aggressive (like I tried at first) and you will be punished. Place the disc right and you are golden.

There are benches at each tee, in case you need a little breather between holes, as well as trash cans at each tee. The course is well maintained and very little trash is found here. The leagues that help maintain the course do a great job.

You get to enjoy a beautiful park and work on your game at the same time. I had so much fun I didn't realize we were on the last hole until everyone started to shake hands and say how much fun they had. What more can you ask for?
Cons: If I didn't have a guide, I would have had a hard time finding where hole #10 started. A sign at hole #9 would help the confusion. Also, hole #18 ended in such a way that you may get confused as to where you parked your car. Again, a sign might help.
Other Thoughts: The pros definitely out way the cons at this course. Go to see a true championship course, but take back some good memories.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 lived up to the hype

2-4    7/29/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: course is in a nicely kept park, there was practicaaly no trash to speak of on the course. trashcans and benches were on every hole. nice tee pads, every hole offered a specefic shot to be executed. the par 4 holes were pretty legitimate holes.
Cons: if this course had more elevation it would have gotten i higher rating. it was pretty flat. the chainstar baskets were not to my liking. i had more dead center spit outs at castle hayne than any course i can remeber. also from a distance the baskets were hard too spot
Other Thoughts: i would say this course is rated so high due to the fact that there isnt really anything else around. it averages a 4.5 but i can think of at least 3 courses here in charlotte that offer way more challenge that dont rank as high. i wasnt dissapointed at all, but i expected more from what i had read. also would like to point out that alot of love and care has gone into this course, one of the cleanest and well kept courses ive been to

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center