Wilmington, NC
Castle Hayne Park Share
Uploaded By: timbur3 Hole #10 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 430ft.   4 / 439ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    4/1/2009   2/20/2011
Review By: _MTL_
Played: 101  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 20.9 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - A true test of all skill levels.
- Par in the mid 60's
- Great mix of holes - all the way from a simple 200 footer to a double dogleg 800 footer
- Great tee signs and tee pads
- Ball golf layout where 9 and 18 finish at the parking lot.
- Great, safe public park
- Very fair course
Cons: - One layout really - no junior / shorter tees
- Takes a while to play - no quick rounds here.
- A bit lefty / sidearm friendly.
- A few tweener holes where you don't have a lot of score seperation
- No elevation, which is due to being near the beach
- Course is kinda dirty - it's a sandy part of the state and you can easily get very dirty playing the course
- The course has a few holes that will flood after lots of rain
Other Thoughts: So many times in disc golf, a course with a par in the mid 60's favor's throwing far. Not even close to the case with this one. Placement is the key here and there are many par 4's where you throw a midrange to a turn and then throw another midrange to the turn. I think this is a VERY women / senior friendly course because it really is about the ability to throw 250 feet to a spot rather than ripping a drive across an open area. If you love tough courses but don't have a big arm, this will be your favorite course.

An absolute must play. And close to the beach. Makes for a great weekend trip.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  A great course to learn and build your skills

5+    2/6/2011   2/8/2011
Review By: yesiam
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is the first course I play and the layout was great. The front 9 is easier then the back. As my skill gets better I enjoy playing the back 9 as much as the front 9. The local clubs keep this course in tip top shape.
Cons: If it rains a lot the course does not drain well.
Other Thoughts: A great place to learn the game and meet new friends.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Flat but Fun

1    11/27/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: albert8fish
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I like tight wooded courses, being from Charlotte and all. I liked this course for its brutality, reminds me of home. Little if no elevation change means lots of well planned cutting to shape fairways, and greens. Some might say a little too excessive at times; a tee with a forked tree six feet in front of you, for example. Bring a buzz or other trusty midrange and test your turnover shots, and a driver comes in handy for skip shots, and a couple open holes.
Cons: I visit family in Wilmington and considering this is the only park around, it is gonna get some play. It is out in the sticks a little bit, and knowing those woods, I would bring a bucket bug spray in the summer. Besides the fact that the park is relatively flat, I can not say anything bad about it. It was a busy day there, with a doubles tournament, but my wife and I played through three or four groups. So, don't expect a run through on a gorgeos day like this one.
Other Thoughts: After seeing the cool wooden signs with the hole layout,(complete with little nails for important clusters of trees in the fairway), I realized the importance, and effect good signage is to a course. I say three and a half discs, three for the course itself, and a half for the super cool signs. This course is worthy of being in the top ranked N.C. courses, even though it is short in length.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 castle pain lies up to hype

5+    8/11/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: oki40484
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: where can you start on course like this, very clean quiet park hid from everything. will test your turning skills in every direction. distances can be mean on us "short armed" folks. love this place.
Cons: drinking water out of anything here, sinks included is impossible, after a round here in the summer you will drink everything you have on you trek through front 9. stores are about 10 minutes away, just long egnough to cool you down.
bring cooler.
Other Thoughts: if you have a 10 over day here your first time you did good. playing it for two years now and only shot even twice.
welcome to castle pain

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/4/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: D'money
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate. Nicely groomed. challenging, but easy enough to enjoy it.
Cons: Very tight fairway's, sometimes you have a pretty good wait. easy to loose a disc on some holes
Other Thoughts: Over all the best course ive played yet

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Walk Loved

1    8/5/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: Keokuk Discer
Played: 25  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was all that I had hoped it was. It was fun to play, but tough and challenging at the same time.

Don't let the open looking fairways or how easy the course looks fool you. Each shot is a test of your skills and placement is key here. Get too aggressive (like I tried at first) and you will be punished. Place the disc right and you are golden.

There are benches at each tee, in case you need a little breather between holes, as well as trash cans at each tee. The course is well maintained and very little trash is found here. The leagues that help maintain the course do a great job.

You get to enjoy a beautiful park and work on your game at the same time. I had so much fun I didn't realize we were on the last hole until everyone started to shake hands and say how much fun they had. What more can you ask for?
Cons: If I didn't have a guide, I would have had a hard time finding where hole #10 started. A sign at hole #9 would help the confusion. Also, hole #18 ended in such a way that you may get confused as to where you parked your car. Again, a sign might help.
Other Thoughts: The pros definitely out way the cons at this course. Go to see a true championship course, but take back some good memories.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 lived up to the hype

2-4    7/29/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 93  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: course is in a nicely kept park, there was practicaaly no trash to speak of on the course. trashcans and benches were on every hole. nice tee pads, every hole offered a specefic shot to be executed. the par 4 holes were pretty legitimate holes.
Cons: if this course had more elevation it would have gotten i higher rating. it was pretty flat. the chainstar baskets were not to my liking. i had more dead center spit outs at castle hayne than any course i can remeber. also from a distance the baskets were hard too spot
Other Thoughts: i would say this course is rated so high due to the fact that there isnt really anything else around. it averages a 4.5 but i can think of at least 3 courses here in charlotte that offer way more challenge that dont rank as high. i wasnt dissapointed at all, but i expected more from what i had read. also would like to point out that alot of love and care has gone into this course, one of the cleanest and well kept courses ive been to

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Feel the Payne

5+    5/10/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: takman
Played: 75  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Designed by Harold Duvall to be a championship caliber course.
-benches & signs on every hole
-I've played 50+ courses and CHP has some of the best transitions of any of them, flows perfectly.
-fairways are very defined and fair to teeshots.
-local club keeps entire course well groomed in preparation for April sanctioned event.
Cons: -busy course especially on weekends.
-some low areas hold water but club is on it.
-dog crap, dog walkers, college kid 9-somes.
Other Thoughts: Castle Hayne tests every shot in your bag and emphasizes placement and course management. It's addictive and the Azalea Tournament fills every year.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to the Castle

1    5/5/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: RussMB
Played: 102  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2010
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros
-This is Professional course that is the pride and joy of Wilmington Residents.
-Well maintained, landscaped and manicured, as well as very clean.
-Bathrooms at the start, which you will pass again between 9 and 10, and plenty of garbage cans
-There is a practice basket.
-Some holes have multiple pin placements
-This course defines the phrase "It's all about the second shot"
-Concrete Tees, The tee signs were well done with maps and yardage. There are also benches at the tee's.
- All the holes require strategic approaches, and accurate disc placements.
-The course is nicely divided to play 9 holes on the front or back. This is convenient if you are looking for a short quick round. This also allows for a pit stop at the car, bathroom, breather, etc…
-The fairways tight and they are well defined, but they are not too tight. This allows you to work the fairway with either a tight S-Shot, or a flex shot. But don't get too cocky, there are trees on this course that will try to derail your confidence! A bad shot or an errant throw will have you trying to tomahawk out of the woods.
-This course requires accuracy over power. Castle Hayne has a variety of doglegs, bends, and turns that will require a perfectly placed drive. In fact, a drive that is too long can make your next shot a play out of the woods.
-Professionals, Advanced, Recreational and Casual players should all find this course challenging and fun.
-Beginners could struggle to keep up here, especially if it's busy. If you are beginner, make sure you adhere to the protocol of letting others "play through". Of course the people here are nice enough, that they might offer you some beginner tips.
-8 is a 700ft monster that snakes through the woods. Be mindful of the creek off to the side, I was told that it is deep, and it can flood.
For What it's worth
-There is a playground, so if you have kids maybe the other parent will be kind enough to watch the youngins while you take in a round
-Other activities here as well: Baseball, Tennis, Soccer, etc
Cons: Cons
DISCLAIMER: I don't believe these actually detract from the course, but I feel they are worth the mention
-No course map. Perhaps a bigger map, that I could snap a picture of with my phone. Of course, this Castle Hayne is busy enough, finding someone to either hook up with, or at least point you in the right direction shouldn't be hard. (Sidenote: After playing here once, navigation shouldn't be a problem)
-Possibly putting a sign or directions to 10 would help, it is rather hidden. Again… Once you played it, you should remember where it's at for the next time. In the meantime, Go to the Links/Files tab and print off the map.
-Course gets real busy. I was really surprised to see that many players out on a weekday afternoon. This isn't a bad thing! This simply means, they need to install another course like Castle Hayne! ;)
Other Thoughts: This course will let you know how accurate you are with your throws. If you are used to playing in an open course, then this course might require some getting used to. You won't need any big drives here, because it's all about the accuracy. As I said earlier, this course gives meaning to the phrase "It's all about the second shot!" Once you have finished this course, you will feel like you have had an accomplishment, because it will force you to dial back, and consider your shots. Having said that, this course had a fantastic "fun factor" for me! I really enjoyed playing with strategy, and accuracy! I drove an hour and a half to get here, and I felt it was worth the drive! This is a course you would want to drive out of your way for. I look forward to the day I can get back up here to play again.
Bring some Gatorade or water with you, because it can get hot. Also, I preferred my Merrell's hiking shoes, but I don't think that there is any special footwear required to play here. Also, I didn't see any restaurants nearby, so you might want to bring a snack or two. You can work up an appetite here. I will also repeat what Prerube said earlier. If using a navigator, the park is in Castle Hayne, NC, not Wilmington. I just did the intersection of Parmele and Old Ave.
Russ's Final Thought: I think the elevation opinion, depends on where you come from. I'm from Myrtle Beach, and the courses I've played along the coast, here in SC, are flat! (I.e. Trophy Lakes and The Sarge. Both fantastic courses, but they are flat. …literally.) So, when I played here, I noticed that there was some slightly elevated terrain. But if you are from other areas, I can see where you would say it's flat.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 SCHWEBIES HOME

5+    10/31/2009   3/31/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.7 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: great course for the advanced and above. i played it a few years ago wen i was bad, and i hatedthis course. we called it CASTLE PAYNE. but if u can throw a roc,flick, thumber and tomahawk, you might finish 4 over. my friend lives there and can only shoot even par. THE fairways are nice as well as the benches. great tee boxes and signs. play 1st nine come back to the parking lot then play the back nine. if its your first time play doubles for this course will eat u alive. this is the stomping ground of the best THUMBER DISC GOLFER IN THE WORLD brian schwebeger. so u might see a team star member during your round
Cons: none unless ur an amature. this course will test you roc game but most of all your mental game.
Other Thoughts: this course has par 3s 4s and 5s one is over 1000 in the woods on long placement....HAVE FUN!

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.