Wilmington, NC 
Castle Hayne Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 248ft.   3 / 248ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Mini Winthrop

1    7/26/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Kiknwitcooper
Played: 65  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Starts out pretty nicely but gradualy gets tougher as you go along the course. Many top players around there, such as Jason Land and Dave George
Cons: Many shots that you have to watch unless you want to lose a disc
Other Thoughts: Very Fun to play and if you haven't played it, make plans to come visit this course

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bring all your trick shots

1    8/10/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: zud00
Played: 143  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course! Excellent baskets and tee signs as well as tee pads. Great vareity of holes in length and difficulty. The course is very well taken care of and it shows. Restrooms available as well as trash cans at many tee stations.
Cons: No practice basket. Long walk from 9 basket to 10 tee-can be difficult for a first timer to find. Other than that, it's all good:)
Other Thoughts: This course is beautiful with awesome fairways in the woods. It offers a variety of holes with different lengths (ranging from 240'ish to 700'). But don't be fooled by distances; if you don't hit the right line, a 300' hole will seem like it's 400'.

Going along with the distances and level of difficulty, you will see true par 3's, 4's, and 5's. But only with a great tee shot will you have a look at eagle. Otherwise, if you find yourself off of the fairway, you're going to have to work some magic to get your par. Also included in the course design are many double doglegs and 90 degree turn holes. You will need to pull every shot out of your bag: hyzers, anhyzers, forehand, backhand, turnovers, flex shots, tomahawks, thumbers, etc...you name it, you will probably have to throw it.

The fairways are awesome at this course. They are not too thick nor too open. A lot of the fairways were somewhat tight towards the tee box, opened up in the middle (for a landing area per'say) and closed in a little tigher towards the basket making for many challenging shots. Your shots have to be precise to score well.

This course is very well taken care of and it shows. There are benches at every tee box and the craftsmanship in them is immaculate. The club has done an excellent job keeping the course clean and you can see evidence of the projects they are working on such as cutting out new paths through the woods and leveling off banked slopes by the train tracks.

If you get the opportunity, I strongly suggest you play this course. I heard from a local that the course designer is going to be designing 2 more courses in the area in the near future, so I plan on keeping an eye out for these as should you.


8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    7/25/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: JasonP
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: I am biased. I play here all of the time. The course is gorgeous. It's long and tough, but very rewarding. Concrete pads are a plus. Friendly locals.
Cons: I can't sleep here! LOL
Other Thoughts: Please, be considerate of our park. We have worked hard to get it where it is today.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/7/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: MichaelWebster
Played: 53  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the most fair courses I have ever played. Lots of risk/reward shots on a mix of par 3, 4, and 5 holes. Fairways are wide enough to tempt long drives, but the rough is punishing if your drive carries off the fairway. Every shot in your bag will be tested, especially tricky escape shots. The course is designed expertly to demand a variety of throws and reward those that stay in the fairway. Tee signs and benches installed.
Cons: Some areas get a little muddy after alot of rain. Wish there could be more elevation, but there is none in Wilmington.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in NC. Do not come out expecting to get many 2s.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Times

1    7/25/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: BunkWilly74
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Extraordinary course, great scenery open well kept up. Wooded canopy is a plus on a hot summer day. This course will make you utilize every disc and throw in your arsenal. If you every are in the Wilmington area bring your disc you will not be sorry.
Cons: The heat in July is very humid, just bring lots of H20 or Gatorade.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a great course wide open just becareful of whole 8 it is a disc eater unless you are a ringer. Cheers!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome (when dry)

5+    5/25/2007   6/22/2009
Review By: BigJ198
Played: 91  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 15.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Designed well for the terrain. Amazing what thinking people can do with a flat parcel of swamp! Benches, excellent tee boxes, trash cans....alot of effort from the locals; "Thanks," from us out-of-towners.
Cons: Swampiness after the rain. However, play the course anyway and drive home barefoot. The course is worth a pair of soaked shoes.
Other Thoughts: I broke my first any only disc at this park my second time out. Still love it! Need a couple of more courses in the area to make a great day trip from Jacksonville while the wife shops in town!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Exceptional design

5+    12/26/2008   4/27/2009
Review By: Mtn Huckin
Played: 74  Reviewed: 14
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Epic course design at work. Distance, but technical. You will use everything in the bag. Shot diversity is mandatory to score here. A true test and a test of the overall Golf theory. Placement is key on all shots as the designer was on his game when he built this. All the power applied will be utterly useless if you cant place a disc on the right spot for an upshot. Thats right, upshot - there are many par 3's, 4's and 5's with well built landing zones.
Smart Golf is the payment for the reward of good round here. For a place at sea level, they have managed to integrate elevation change when ever possible and used if wisely.
Excellent job by Harold Duvall et al.
Cons: Nothing - except I dont live there.
Other Thoughts: Year round disc golf love!!
Even though this course is in a city park, it is rarely busy and when it is, it's busy with serious Disc Players who are respectful and informative.
No mindless hikers/walker/bikers wandering everywhere - just players. I live in Colorado and I travel to play this course EVERY year

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A for Awesome! Best Flat Course I Have Played

5+    4/22/2005   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 381  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.5 Years
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- B
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 excellent tournament course

1    4/17/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: prerube
Played: 241  Reviewed: 218  Exp: 9.5 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent Course! It has a nice set up and uses the woods well. Great variety of distances.
Course has nice signage and is relatively easy to navigate, especially if you print the map.
There are cement tees or elevated wooded tees at all of the holes. Very clean bathroom facilities. Clean course with garbage cans present.
Course lends itself very well to tournament play and the difficulty level makes the course fun for advanced players and still enjoyable for recreational players.
Cons: Very few! It was crowded, (but it was 3:00 on the friday before a large tournament) I had to skip hole 4 because there were 11 guys waiting to throw.
I would have liked to have seen more elevation and water or a unique signature hole to give it a 5.
Other Thoughts: If using a navigator DO NOT search for Parmelee in Wilmington. The course is in Castle Hayne. Parmalee in Wilmington is 20 minutes from Parmalee in Castle Hayne

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult, long and challenging

5+    2/1/2009   2/7/2009
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 38  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2009
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fantastic course that forces you to use every throw and every disc in your bag. Equally challenging for lefties and righties. Uses the elevation available. Navigation is usually simple, but it's best to hook up with a local the first time you play; several tees cannot be seen from the basket. Long course that rewards long, accurate throws. Great upkeep and maintenance.
Cons: Water along Hole 8 is deep and eats plastic. Could use more alternate baskets and tees. Navigation is usually simple, but it's best to hook up with a local the first time you play; several tees cannot be seen from the basket.
Other Thoughts: Hot and sticky in the summer, mosquitoes and insects, without much breeze. Course design is excellent. Park includes bathroom facilities, a large playset area for the kids, and a baseball field that is often used for practice throwing.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.