Wilmington, NC
Castle Hayne Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 330ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  The Castle

5+    3/24/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: shorebreak
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is clean and has added a practise basket right near the 1st tee pad.. Clean bathrooms.Each hole has a bench by the tee box. Also has good signage for each hole. The course members do a good job keeping this course maintained well. Front nine easier than the back nine. Has a good mix of play. It is pretty much all in the woods, but the course uses the woods just right for its dog legs and opens up for log straight drives. Be sure to look at the information board at the first tee box showing the course, it will show you where the back nine starts which will make it easier for you if you haven't played this course. Course opens at 8am and closes at 11pm so you can play at night using glow lights.
Cons: This course gets really busy. A little hard for first timers who play this course to find the back nine. Some players who bring their dogs with them while playing and let them just run loose, so watch out where you step.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area be sure to play this course or even near by. The back nine gets really muddy after a good rain and takes a while to dry out. I play lots of courses and this one I would place on my top ten. It is best to play this course early in the day if you don't like crowds. Weekends this course gets really crowded. For a county course it is really nice. Watch out for the stream on hole eight, the stream has taken lots of discs including mine. Most of the times players who get in there and retrieve them will call you, so make sure you put your name and phone number on your disc.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best of Eastern North Carolina

5+    9/30/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: Toomes
Played: 95  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The biggest strength of this course is it's fairways. It is an extreme fair wooded course that will punish you if you get off it's nicely cut fairways.
- Accuracy is king here. You don't have to have a huge arm here. If you hit your lines and putt well, you will score well.
- Two layouts are used with two pins on holes 1,3,7,10,15. Par 64 or 65 depending on the layout.
- The signage is really nice and the course is really easy to follow minus the walk from 9 to 10.
- A bunch of different shots are needed to score well here. Multiple dogleg fairways, some to the left, some to the left.
- A bunch of great holes. Hole 8 and 12 are both par 5s and probably the signature holes.
Cons: - No elevation, but what do you expect at course near the coast of NC. Alt Pin 10 is a raised basket, Hole 4 has a drop off behind the basket, Hole 5 has a lowered tee, ditch on 12 etc, so they do try to make some elevation as best they can.
- The transition from Hole 9 to 10 can be confusing for newcomers.
Other Thoughts: Must play if you're in the area, especially since there are not any other options at moment. This my home away from home course since I grew up in Wilmington, so I have a soft spot for it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mini Winthrop

1    7/26/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Kiknwitcooper
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Starts out pretty nicely but gradualy gets tougher as you go along the course. Many top players around there, such as Jason Land and Dave George
Cons: Many shots that you have to watch unless you want to lose a disc
Other Thoughts: Very Fun to play and if you haven't played it, make plans to come visit this course

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring all your trick shots

1    8/10/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: zud00
Played: 112  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 5.8 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course! Excellent baskets and tee signs as well as tee pads. Great vareity of holes in length and difficulty. The course is very well taken care of and it shows. Restrooms available as well as trash cans at many tee stations.
Cons: No practice basket. Long walk from 9 basket to 10 tee-can be difficult for a first timer to find. Other than that, it's all good:)
Other Thoughts: This course is beautiful with awesome fairways in the woods. It offers a variety of holes with different lengths (ranging from 240'ish to 700'). But don't be fooled by distances; if you don't hit the right line, a 300' hole will seem like it's 400'.

Going along with the distances and level of difficulty, you will see true par 3's, 4's, and 5's. But only with a great tee shot will you have a look at eagle. Otherwise, if you find yourself off of the fairway, you're going to have to work some magic to get your par. Also included in the course design are many double doglegs and 90 degree turn holes. You will need to pull every shot out of your bag: hyzers, anhyzers, forehand, backhand, turnovers, flex shots, tomahawks, thumbers, etc...you name it, you will probably have to throw it.

The fairways are awesome at this course. They are not too thick nor too open. A lot of the fairways were somewhat tight towards the tee box, opened up in the middle (for a landing area per'say) and closed in a little tigher towards the basket making for many challenging shots. Your shots have to be precise to score well.

This course is very well taken care of and it shows. There are benches at every tee box and the craftsmanship in them is immaculate. The club has done an excellent job keeping the course clean and you can see evidence of the projects they are working on such as cutting out new paths through the woods and leveling off banked slopes by the train tracks.

If you get the opportunity, I strongly suggest you play this course. I heard from a local that the course designer is going to be designing 2 more courses in the area in the near future, so I plan on keeping an eye out for these as should you.


8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    7/25/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: JasonP
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I am biased. I play here all of the time. The course is gorgeous. It's long and tough, but very rewarding. Concrete pads are a plus. Friendly locals.
Cons: I can't sleep here! LOL
Other Thoughts: Please, be considerate of our park. We have worked hard to get it where it is today.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/7/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: MichaelWebster
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the most fair courses I have ever played. Lots of risk/reward shots on a mix of par 3, 4, and 5 holes. Fairways are wide enough to tempt long drives, but the rough is punishing if your drive carries off the fairway. Every shot in your bag will be tested, especially tricky escape shots. The course is designed expertly to demand a variety of throws and reward those that stay in the fairway. Tee signs and benches installed.
Cons: Some areas get a little muddy after alot of rain. Wish there could be more elevation, but there is none in Wilmington.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in NC. Do not come out expecting to get many 2s.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Times

1    7/25/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: BunkWilly74
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Extraordinary course, great scenery open well kept up. Wooded canopy is a plus on a hot summer day. This course will make you utilize every disc and throw in your arsenal. If you every are in the Wilmington area bring your disc you will not be sorry.
Cons: The heat in July is very humid, just bring lots of H20 or Gatorade.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a great course wide open just becareful of whole 8 it is a disc eater unless you are a ringer. Cheers!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome (when dry)

5+    5/25/2007   6/22/2009
Review By: BigJ198
Played: 84  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Designed well for the terrain. Amazing what thinking people can do with a flat parcel of swamp! Benches, excellent tee boxes, trash cans....alot of effort from the locals; "Thanks," from us out-of-towners.
Cons: Swampiness after the rain. However, play the course anyway and drive home barefoot. The course is worth a pair of soaked shoes.
Other Thoughts: I broke my first any only disc at this park my second time out. Still love it! Need a couple of more courses in the area to make a great day trip from Jacksonville while the wife shops in town!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Exceptional design

5+    12/26/2008   4/27/2009
Review By: Mtn Huckin
Played: 73  Reviewed: 12
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Epic course design at work. Distance, but technical. You will use everything in the bag. Shot diversity is mandatory to score here. A true test and a test of the overall Golf theory. Placement is key on all shots as the designer was on his game when he built this. All the power applied will be utterly useless if you cant place a disc on the right spot for an upshot. Thats right, upshot - there are many par 3's, 4's and 5's with well built landing zones.
Smart Golf is the payment for the reward of good round here. For a place at sea level, they have managed to integrate elevation change when ever possible and used if wisely.
Excellent job by Harold Duvall et al.
Cons: Nothing - except I dont live there.
Other Thoughts: Year round disc golf love!!
Even though this course is in a city park, it is rarely busy and when it is, it's busy with serious Disc Players who are respectful and informative.
No mindless hikers/walker/bikers wandering everywhere - just players. I live in Colorado and I travel to play this course EVERY year

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A for Awesome! Best Flat Course I Have Played

5+    4/22/2005   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- B
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.