Wilmington, NC 
Castle Hayne Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
4 / 480ft.   4 / 480ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Feel the Payne

5+    5/10/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: takman
Played: 76  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Designed by Harold Duvall to be a championship caliber course.
-benches & signs on every hole
-I've played 50+ courses and CHP has some of the best transitions of any of them, flows perfectly.
-fairways are very defined and fair to teeshots.
-local club keeps entire course well groomed in preparation for April sanctioned event.
Cons: -busy course especially on weekends.
-some low areas hold water but club is on it.
-dog crap, dog walkers, college kid 9-somes.
Other Thoughts: Castle Hayne tests every shot in your bag and emphasizes placement and course management. It's addictive and the Azalea Tournament fills every year.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to the Castle

1    5/5/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2010
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros
-This is Professional course that is the pride and joy of Wilmington Residents.
-Well maintained, landscaped and manicured, as well as very clean.
-Bathrooms at the start, which you will pass again between 9 and 10, and plenty of garbage cans
-There is a practice basket.
-Some holes have multiple pin placements
-This course defines the phrase "It's all about the second shot"
-Concrete Tees, The tee signs were well done with maps and yardage. There are also benches at the tee's.
- All the holes require strategic approaches, and accurate disc placements.
-The course is nicely divided to play 9 holes on the front or back. This is convenient if you are looking for a short quick round. This also allows for a pit stop at the car, bathroom, breather, etc…
-The fairways tight and they are well defined, but they are not too tight. This allows you to work the fairway with either a tight S-Shot, or a flex shot. But don't get too cocky, there are trees on this course that will try to derail your confidence! A bad shot or an errant throw will have you trying to tomahawk out of the woods.
-This course requires accuracy over power. Castle Hayne has a variety of doglegs, bends, and turns that will require a perfectly placed drive. In fact, a drive that is too long can make your next shot a play out of the woods.
-Professionals, Advanced, Recreational and Casual players should all find this course challenging and fun.
-Beginners could struggle to keep up here, especially if it's busy. If you are beginner, make sure you adhere to the protocol of letting others "play through". Of course the people here are nice enough, that they might offer you some beginner tips.
-8 is a 700ft monster that snakes through the woods. Be mindful of the creek off to the side, I was told that it is deep, and it can flood.
For What it's worth
-There is a playground, so if you have kids maybe the other parent will be kind enough to watch the youngins while you take in a round
-Other activities here as well: Baseball, Tennis, Soccer, etc
Cons: Cons
DISCLAIMER: I don't believe these actually detract from the course, but I feel they are worth the mention
-No course map. Perhaps a bigger map, that I could snap a picture of with my phone. Of course, this Castle Hayne is busy enough, finding someone to either hook up with, or at least point you in the right direction shouldn't be hard. (Sidenote: After playing here once, navigation shouldn't be a problem)
-Possibly putting a sign or directions to 10 would help, it is rather hidden. Again… Once you played it, you should remember where it's at for the next time. In the meantime, Go to the Links/Files tab and print off the map.
-Course gets real busy. I was really surprised to see that many players out on a weekday afternoon. This isn't a bad thing! This simply means, they need to install another course like Castle Hayne! ;)
Other Thoughts: This course will let you know how accurate you are with your throws. If you are used to playing in an open course, then this course might require some getting used to. You won't need any big drives here, because it's all about the accuracy. As I said earlier, this course gives meaning to the phrase "It's all about the second shot!" Once you have finished this course, you will feel like you have had an accomplishment, because it will force you to dial back, and consider your shots. Having said that, this course had a fantastic "fun factor" for me! I really enjoyed playing with strategy, and accuracy! I drove an hour and a half to get here, and I felt it was worth the drive! This is a course you would want to drive out of your way for. I look forward to the day I can get back up here to play again.
Bring some Gatorade or water with you, because it can get hot. Also, I preferred my Merrell's hiking shoes, but I don't think that there is any special footwear required to play here. Also, I didn't see any restaurants nearby, so you might want to bring a snack or two. You can work up an appetite here. I will also repeat what Prerube said earlier. If using a navigator, the park is in Castle Hayne, NC, not Wilmington. I just did the intersection of Parmele and Old Ave.
Russ's Final Thought: I think the elevation opinion, depends on where you come from. I'm from Myrtle Beach, and the courses I've played along the coast, here in SC, are flat! (I.e. Trophy Lakes and The Sarge. Both fantastic courses, but they are flat. …literally.) So, when I played here, I noticed that there was some slightly elevated terrain. But if you are from other areas, I can see where you would say it's flat.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 SCHWEBIES HOME

5+    10/31/2009   3/31/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.2 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: great course for the advanced and above. i played it a few years ago wen i was bad, and i hatedthis course. we called it CASTLE PAYNE. but if u can throw a roc,flick, thumber and tomahawk, you might finish 4 over. my friend lives there and can only shoot even par. THE fairways are nice as well as the benches. great tee boxes and signs. play 1st nine come back to the parking lot then play the back nine. if its your first time play doubles for this course will eat u alive. this is the stomping ground of the best THUMBER DISC GOLFER IN THE WORLD brian schwebeger. so u might see a team star member during your round
Cons: none unless ur an amature. this course will test you roc game but most of all your mental game.
Other Thoughts: this course has par 3s 4s and 5s one is over 1000 in the woods on long placement....HAVE FUN!

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  The Castle

5+    3/24/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: shorebreak
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is clean and has added a practise basket right near the 1st tee pad.. Clean bathrooms.Each hole has a bench by the tee box. Also has good signage for each hole. The course members do a good job keeping this course maintained well. Front nine easier than the back nine. Has a good mix of play. It is pretty much all in the woods, but the course uses the woods just right for its dog legs and opens up for log straight drives. Be sure to look at the information board at the first tee box showing the course, it will show you where the back nine starts which will make it easier for you if you haven't played this course. Course opens at 8am and closes at 11pm so you can play at night using glow lights.
Cons: This course gets really busy. A little hard for first timers who play this course to find the back nine. Some players who bring their dogs with them while playing and let them just run loose, so watch out where you step.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area be sure to play this course or even near by. The back nine gets really muddy after a good rain and takes a while to dry out. I play lots of courses and this one I would place on my top ten. It is best to play this course early in the day if you don't like crowds. Weekends this course gets really crowded. For a county course it is really nice. Watch out for the stream on hole eight, the stream has taken lots of discs including mine. Most of the times players who get in there and retrieve them will call you, so make sure you put your name and phone number on your disc.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best of Eastern North Carolina

5+    9/30/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: Toomes
Played: 95  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The biggest strength of this course is it's fairways. It is an extreme fair wooded course that will punish you if you get off it's nicely cut fairways.
- Accuracy is king here. You don't have to have a huge arm here. If you hit your lines and putt well, you will score well.
- Two layouts are used with two pins on holes 1,3,7,10,15. Par 64 or 65 depending on the layout.
- The signage is really nice and the course is really easy to follow minus the walk from 9 to 10.
- A bunch of different shots are needed to score well here. Multiple dogleg fairways, some to the left, some to the left.
- A bunch of great holes. Hole 8 and 12 are both par 5s and probably the signature holes.
Cons: - No elevation, but what do you expect at course near the coast of NC. Alt Pin 10 is a raised basket, Hole 4 has a drop off behind the basket, Hole 5 has a lowered tee, ditch on 12 etc, so they do try to make some elevation as best they can.
- The transition from Hole 9 to 10 can be confusing for newcomers.
Other Thoughts: Must play if you're in the area, especially since there are not any other options at moment. This my home away from home course since I grew up in Wilmington, so I have a soft spot for it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mini Winthrop

1    7/26/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Kiknwitcooper
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Starts out pretty nicely but gradualy gets tougher as you go along the course. Many top players around there, such as Jason Land and Dave George
Cons: Many shots that you have to watch unless you want to lose a disc
Other Thoughts: Very Fun to play and if you haven't played it, make plans to come visit this course

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring all your trick shots

1    8/10/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: zud00
Played: 119  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course! Excellent baskets and tee signs as well as tee pads. Great vareity of holes in length and difficulty. The course is very well taken care of and it shows. Restrooms available as well as trash cans at many tee stations.
Cons: No practice basket. Long walk from 9 basket to 10 tee-can be difficult for a first timer to find. Other than that, it's all good:)
Other Thoughts: This course is beautiful with awesome fairways in the woods. It offers a variety of holes with different lengths (ranging from 240'ish to 700'). But don't be fooled by distances; if you don't hit the right line, a 300' hole will seem like it's 400'.

Going along with the distances and level of difficulty, you will see true par 3's, 4's, and 5's. But only with a great tee shot will you have a look at eagle. Otherwise, if you find yourself off of the fairway, you're going to have to work some magic to get your par. Also included in the course design are many double doglegs and 90 degree turn holes. You will need to pull every shot out of your bag: hyzers, anhyzers, forehand, backhand, turnovers, flex shots, tomahawks, thumbers, etc...you name it, you will probably have to throw it.

The fairways are awesome at this course. They are not too thick nor too open. A lot of the fairways were somewhat tight towards the tee box, opened up in the middle (for a landing area per'say) and closed in a little tigher towards the basket making for many challenging shots. Your shots have to be precise to score well.

This course is very well taken care of and it shows. There are benches at every tee box and the craftsmanship in them is immaculate. The club has done an excellent job keeping the course clean and you can see evidence of the projects they are working on such as cutting out new paths through the woods and leveling off banked slopes by the train tracks.

If you get the opportunity, I strongly suggest you play this course. I heard from a local that the course designer is going to be designing 2 more courses in the area in the near future, so I plan on keeping an eye out for these as should you.


8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    7/25/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: JasonP
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I am biased. I play here all of the time. The course is gorgeous. It's long and tough, but very rewarding. Concrete pads are a plus. Friendly locals.
Cons: I can't sleep here! LOL
Other Thoughts: Please, be considerate of our park. We have worked hard to get it where it is today.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/7/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: MichaelWebster
Played: 45  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the most fair courses I have ever played. Lots of risk/reward shots on a mix of par 3, 4, and 5 holes. Fairways are wide enough to tempt long drives, but the rough is punishing if your drive carries off the fairway. Every shot in your bag will be tested, especially tricky escape shots. The course is designed expertly to demand a variety of throws and reward those that stay in the fairway. Tee signs and benches installed.
Cons: Some areas get a little muddy after alot of rain. Wish there could be more elevation, but there is none in Wilmington.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in NC. Do not come out expecting to get many 2s.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Times

1    7/25/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: BunkWilly74
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Extraordinary course, great scenery open well kept up. Wooded canopy is a plus on a hot summer day. This course will make you utilize every disc and throw in your arsenal. If you every are in the Wilmington area bring your disc you will not be sorry.
Cons: The heat in July is very humid, just bring lots of H20 or Gatorade.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a great course wide open just becareful of whole 8 it is a disc eater unless you are a ringer. Cheers!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.