Disc Golf Center
Wilmington, NC 
Castle Hayne Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 341ft.   3 / 341ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 A for Awesome! Best Flat Course I Have Played

5+    4/22/2005   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- B
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 excellent tournament course

1    4/17/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: prerube
Played: 205  Reviewed: 187  Exp: 7.1 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent Course! It has a nice set up and uses the woods well. Great variety of distances.
Course has nice signage and is relatively easy to navigate, especially if you print the map.
There are cement tees or elevated wooded tees at all of the holes. Very clean bathroom facilities. Clean course with garbage cans present.
Course lends itself very well to tournament play and the difficulty level makes the course fun for advanced players and still enjoyable for recreational players.
Cons: Very few! It was crowded, (but it was 3:00 on the friday before a large tournament) I had to skip hole 4 because there were 11 guys waiting to throw.
I would have liked to have seen more elevation and water or a unique signature hole to give it a 5.
Other Thoughts: If using a navigator DO NOT search for Parmelee in Wilmington. The course is in Castle Hayne. Parmalee in Wilmington is 20 minutes from Parmalee in Castle Hayne

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult, long and challenging

5+    2/1/2009   2/7/2009
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic course that forces you to use every throw and every disc in your bag. Equally challenging for lefties and righties. Uses the elevation available. Navigation is usually simple, but it's best to hook up with a local the first time you play; several tees cannot be seen from the basket. Long course that rewards long, accurate throws. Great upkeep and maintenance.
Cons: Water along Hole 8 is deep and eats plastic. Could use more alternate baskets and tees. Navigation is usually simple, but it's best to hook up with a local the first time you play; several tees cannot be seen from the basket.
Other Thoughts: Hot and sticky in the summer, mosquitoes and insects, without much breeze. Course design is excellent. Park includes bathroom facilities, a large playset area for the kids, and a baseball field that is often used for practice throwing.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course on NC's Coast

5+    12/7/2008   1/7/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 2/6/2010
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long holes, difficult, well maintained, easy to navigate. All shots required to score well. This course has it all, really. Legitimate par 4s and 5s that force you to think out the hole rather than pitch and putt, open, wooded, the best kept fairways I've ever seen, turnovers, spike and sweeping hyzers, you name it you'll have to throw one. Lots of holes feature throwing in and out of woods, which is great (hole 11, prime example). Nice large concrete tees, benches at every tee, ample trash cans, bathrooms. Some tees alternate between long and short.
Cons: None really, one of the best I've ever played. Can get crowded on weekends. Beginners need a wetsuit for hole 8's little creek on the right. Occasional road block at the park entrance to catch all you boozers. This course does get crowded because it is the only game in town, for now. There are 2 new courses going up in Wilmington in the next couple of years so that should alleviate some congestion.
Other Thoughts: My hole-by-hole analysis:
1. Moderately wooded, when in short position a hyzer down middle; long, turnover or flick.
2. A little dogleg left, a big hyzer or a flexed flick right around the mando gives you a bird.
3. Wooded in just the right places to bother your line, slopes gradually down to a creek. I advise a hyzer-flip that turns just past trees on right but contains enough fade to stay straight thru flight. A tough par 3, even tougher when long.
4. A par 4 that yields itself only to careful flex shots. Basket has drop off behind it to a creek.
5. A sharp curve right, great for big annhyzers or flicks. Very wooded, tight lines to the basket.
6. The epitome of a sweeping hyzer, slightly down hill and lazily lists to the left. A long par 3 with just the right number of trees in the fairway to ruin your day.
7. 3 big pines just 15' or so in front of the tee. When short, a long straight drive with slight fade serves well, basket guarded by trees. When long, the basket lies down hill past the short pin and to the right of the fairway, still guarded by trees. Takes a heck of a turnover or flick to get there in one throw. Usually played as a 4 when long.
8. Long, par 5. Drive with a big gliding hyzer, beware of disc eating creek that lines the right. Fairway slightly S-curves, eventually to the right. A birdable hole, if you play smart.
9. A big annyzer or flick to the right, basket lies just outside of the gap.
10. Plays similar to 6 except flat. Basket lies either to the left on a pyramid or to the right behind a line of big trees.
11. Requires a controlled flex or hyzer-flip to shoot out of woods and back in. Basket lies deep in left curve.
12. A very birdable par 5. A safe flick across the creek and leaving it just short of the drop off leaves you with a tunnel shot with the basket just to the right.
13. A hard 3 to bird. Fairway tightens to a point that only a flexed sidearm works well here.
14. Long hole that L's to the right. A tough 3.
15. Horseshoes to the right, with steady dose of trees. When in short position, hole resembles an L but in long the hole continues right in horseshoe. Forehander's dream.
16. A short, very tree lined hole. A gentle flex shot serves well.
17. Long and straight and dotted with big trees. Trees tend to stay in middle of fairway. The bomb line is to weave through them starting left with a big flex.
18. Another in & out of woods type hole. A big flick or turnover off the drive to the hole that lies inside the right curve. A tough 3 as well. Rough on right side is nasty with thick underbrush.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/24/2008   12/31/2008
Review By: OldAL
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course map by hole #1. The holes are marked clearly and flow very well. The fairways are fairly wide and lined with thick groves of trees. There are canals that run parallel to the fairways on couple of the longer holes. If the canals are used for out of bounds, you better be very precise in keeping your disc in the fairway. The wind is usually is a factor and couple of holes have trees you have to deal with right in front of the tee. I am not a very strong player, but I love the challenge that Castle Hayne makes use of about all the discs in my bag. I like courses that I can throw long approach shots. Also some of the baskets are guarded by trees. Par 64 is about right for Castle Hayne.
Cons: After a storm, the back nine can have a lot of standing water for a few days after it rains. This would be expected by the close proximity to the ocean and the soil
Other Thoughts: This is the only course in a 40 mile radius of Wilmington[that I know of] but it is a definite must if you are in the area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Glad I Visited this one

9/29/2007   3/23/2008
Review By: kpkirishy
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very Challenging and beautiful setting. Each hole is different from the previous and takes various types of shots to stay safe. This course keeps you thinking if isn't mastered easily.
Cons: In the middle of summer, once the foliage is thick, getting a disc caught in the rough is just plain devastating to your score. It can be extremely hard to bounce back.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course. Easily worth a trip if you are anywhere near the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  castle pain

3/9/2004   3/9/2008
Review By: davidtucker12345
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.4 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: you don't have to have a big arm to shoot par, there is not a lot of OB, and harlod duvall designed it
Cons: millions of trees and akward lines for those who attempt to make twos
Other Thoughts: extremely fun course that takes some skill, luck, and patience. some local pros have played the course everyday for years and still haven't mastered it. It keeps you coming back for more.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.