Cullowhee, NC 
Catamount Links Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #12 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 280ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Decent

5+    6/20/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: Sersan43
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of hole types. Predominantly wide open drive shots. Some uphill/downhill drive shots. A couple very technical putt shots will be needed. As another reviewer stated, power drives are definitely rewarded. Not even super power, just anybody who can semi accurately drive 350+ will have a huge edge over the guys in the 300 range.
Cons: Not a full 18 holes. the marching band monopolizes hole 1 a lot for practice. Long walk to the last hole then long walk back to the parking lot by the first hole.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot to offer to an experienced player just passing through town. Holes require too much power for beginners to even begin to think about parring a hole.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A fun course

5+    8/1/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: das1330
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a course that is wide open (1,6-12) with shots downhill (2,5) and uphill (3) and wooded (4) with water on play(13, 5 and 8 and 9 I believe if you shank a shot right).

It's well maintained and it's a fun course. Distance is rewarded, but even a player without a lot of power can par the holes if they focus.
Cons: 13 holes? WCU charged me enough in student services fees in my years at WCU to make a 36 hole course with concret teepad's and private lessons from your favorite disc golf pro - So no clue why it's sit at 13 holes forever. ...5 more WCU...5 more.

It can be a pain in the rear to play M-F...Band can practice on hole #1, and intramurals can take up the field too. If you play it on a sunday, you'll never run into these problems usually.

Other Thoughts: It's a fun course to play, but it eventually becomes Drive/Putt towards the end.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Now with 13 holes

5+    5/30/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: McFer
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a good, solid course that offers plenty of challenge even though it's in the midst of a college campus. Pedestrian activity is predictable - during breaks in classes and during the summer, the course is mostly empty. During the school year, a nice Friday night can be problematic because the students are out enjoying the same areas the course makes use of.

Holes 2-5 make good use of the available obstacles. Hole 2 makes use of large power poles to impede right to left shots. Hole 3 involves a pedestrian walking path and a small terrace. Hole 4 features a tight tunnel into a sideways hillside, and hole 5 is a drive to a basket close to the lake. The open holes on the back half are a great opportunity to power up, though even those holes reward accuracy. Hole 9 seems wide open, until one of you drives goes towards the trees and bushes that are near the river. The course is easy to navigate, and is an easy place to bring the kids.

While this isn't a wooded course where expert shot-making is required, there's a nice combination of fun and challenge to be found here. Also, they've recently reconfigured the 9th hole to accommodate a 13th hole.

There's now a mando on hole #4, which prevents players from laying up and taking their 3 from the pedestrian past at the back of the hole. Makes a great hole even better, IMO.
Cons: 13 holes is 5 short of ideal. There are some long walks between holes, especially between #12 and #13. If you don't know when to play there, pedestrian interference can be annoying. I can imagine a day when the band is practicing on #1, the power company is performing maintenance disrupting #2, students walking to the dorms disrupt #4, students hanging out in the back of the residence hall disrupt #6, a full parking lot or the rugby team disrupts #7. If this isn't a local course for you, plan accordingly to avoid issues.

Tees are well worn in, sunk in dirt in most places. Standing water can be an issue on the field holes. Trees in play are few and far between.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and it's a solid course great for learning and especially great for learning distance in an open setting. The holes are fun - the course designer tried his best to incorporate the few natural features available for the course's use. If you pick the right times to play, interactions can be kept to a minimum.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Home course

5+    12/3/2011   12/4/2011
Review By: jjwhitton1
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Very open so great for practicing you long drives.
-A few short shots with some obstacles
-Hole #4 is a challenging hole with a narrow gap to hit and you must land pretty flat or you can roll to the bottom of the hill.
-good elevation change on most of the holes.
Cons: -not very many tough shots, being as the course is very open.
- 13 holes =(
-Tee pads
-Tighter fairways on some new holes if we ever get them.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and i love playing here.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Leaves you wanting more

2-4    11/28/2009   9/22/2011
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 78  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic setting with mountain views. Mostly open grass fields with just a few trees in play. Pins set on angled hillsides on many holes making roll-aways a real possibility. Some elevation but mostly flat holes. Tee signs on every hole. Short & long shots. Water hazard (#5). Elevated basket (#10). Beautiful tall pines (#4). I imagine the students really enjoy the course since it's right on campus!
Cons: Dirt tee pads (I prefer concrete). No benches. There is a paved walking trail along the entire course. This could be good & bad. Easy walk but lots of potential for pedestrians/disc interaction. It's a very good design but only 12 holes leaves me wanting more. #12 is a beautiful hole but the round is over way too quick.
Other Thoughts: #4 is a very tricky shot. Its a short shot but you have to thread your disc through the tall pine trees. Then you have to land your disc on a small area that is sloping severely. Awesome stuff! Then #5 with it's long downhill shot to a pin situated at the edge of a pond.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open with a few Intersting Shots

1    11/28/2009   12/18/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 256  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 12.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Pin Position. What would otherwise be considered a wide-open course becomes much tighter due to the pin positions. Almost every pin position had some form of trouble - 6/12 water, 6/12 OB (concrete sidewalk, parking lot, road, sport facility). 4/12 elevation.
Hole 5 is a gem: 300' extreme downhill with a pin that's 10' in front of a murky pond (I fluffed my putter off the tee and it floated over the basket and into the pond). Hole 11 is a huge flick shot with a pin located 20' from the edge of a deep, crystal clear pool in the river.
- Navigation. Even though the linked map shows 9 holes when this course has 12 holes, navigation was extremely easy due to the distinct 6x6 tee-sign posts…. However, the course follows the flow of the map (except map 9 is actually 12)… you'll see the rest.
Cons:
- Only 12. I realize that 12 holes are better than no holes… but, I saw plenty of land out there and don't understand why they stopped at 12. Although, I've heard of plans for expansion.
- Hole 12's Location in General. The hole is actually a gem… but, the walk from 11's pin to 12's Tee is ridiculous… and then you shoot away from the car, finish the hole, and then have to turn around and hike your ass back up the fairway and up the hill to your car???
- Natural Tees. When asked to throw 400+ foot drives, anything less than concrete tees do not cut it for me; especially when the tees are muddy and/or on a slick grass field. Also, tee 4 was heavily rooted.
- Potential for Traffic. I played this course during the school vacation and therefore there weren't too many students hanging around in places where there could be a conflict. However, there is the potential for traffic during the semester and peak usage hours.
Other Thoughts:
- Student Life. This course will hopefully expose a lot of kids to the sport, and since it's wide open it should make it conducive to beginners (although, it may be a tad too long).
- Expansion. The school looks like it has a lot of money. I hope the students appreciate and use the course so that the school will expand the course to a full 18.
- Overall we had a good time. It's a wide open course with lots of trouble in terms of OB. Every hole had something that tweaked it from being a regular, open hole into something a little more interesting.
- My Score: Even

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 good college course

1    11/8/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 95  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: practice basket w/ a 15 foot painted circle around it, good for practice. mostly open shots but elevation is a factor on the whole course. not crowded, and nice baskets. a good variety of shots , uphill, downhill, water, and a raised basket.
Cons: hole 12 was alittle hard to find , but was probably my favorite hole. no concrete tee pads.
Other Thoughts: a good little course with a variety of shots, nice surroundings, a couple holes you can really air out#7 and#9 hole #5 was a downhill water shot . hole 12 was across the road where you drive in. the basket is not visible from the tee, so find it first becausethere is a creek behind it

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 wcu

2-4    1/3/2001   8/27/2009
Review By: robbiepitzer
Played: 118  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: All of the pretty girls is a plus for me (being on campus) I like the creek, Cause I found 3 disc with no names. ( write your name on your disc)
Cons: Really wish that there were more than just 12 holes.
Other Thoughts: You need to skip #1 if the band is on the field

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  catamount

5+    8/9/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: kdog
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Holes 2-5 and 12 were my favorite due to the changes in elevation and shot selection. I disagree with the reviewer that claims this course is a "driving contest" - I drove with a midrange on 4 of the holes and my putter on 2 of them. I liked the elevated basket on hole 10 and rarely had to deal with user conflicts. Parking is right next to the course and the putting basket was nice to see.
Cons: More holes and some concrete tee boxes would be a huge plus. Fun to play, but not designed for a 1000 rated player.
Other Thoughts: For a campus course, this was a lot of fun to play. I give it a 5 for the impact on the campus and surrounding community and a 3 for its play. If you want a real challenge, play the Asheville course (Richmond Hill) located an hour East of this one.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 So close, and yet so far.

5+    8/4/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: Tin Machine
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Geographically, the course it set in a beautiful valley with great views of the surrounding mountains. There are public restrooms nearby, along with a few food options and easy parking. Each hole is clearly marked and easy to spot, so there's no real hunting for where you're going if you've never been there before.
Cons: The course starts out so nicely. Holes 1-5 are the best the course has to offer (assuming the band is not practicing on #1 as Oso has previously mentioned). From then on, though, you lose the elevation changes and get out in the flats where all you do is throw your arm out a bunch due to the length of the holes and absence of obstacles. The later holes that follow the creek give you the pleasure of having to search through tall, disc-eating grass and weeds to find your disc if you're unfortunate enough to land in them. At least the course ends with an interesting hole on #12 where you're throwing blind over a small drop off... Just don't throw too hard, or you're back in the tall weeds or wading through the creek to find your plastic.

Also, due to the fact that it IS a college campus and there are students and student housing around the course, you'll most likely have to contend with students walking through some fairways causing delays in your game.
Other Thoughts: This was my home course for a while, as I was a student at WCU for many years. I say that this course could have been so much better because the land really is awesome. Too bad they don't try to make a full 18 holes by continuing the course through the back (and much more interesting / challenging) end of campus.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.