Cullowhee, NC 
Catamount Links Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #9 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 480ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
As beautiful as it gets

2-4    5/3/2015   5/3/2015
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 57  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: -I had fun today just looking around the campus. It's not too big and it's in the middle of the city, which I like. Western Carolina hosts a very well designed 13 hole course. It's very well maintained and it has a lot of variety. Even a couple of elevated baskets. It wasn't hard to find either, at the entrance, just take a left and park in one of the parking spots available once you get up the hill.
-Course starts with a nice warm up hole in the field. It's a nice midrange shot. I'm sure it's less than 322'. It's a very easy par to say at the least. Then it gets really interesting, #2 is slightly downhill that throws over the fence and around the telephone wires and plays to an elevated basket on a drop off. Definitely the most unique on the course. Holes 3,4 both play uphill and are both <200'. The next hole is probably the best on the course.
-#5 is a medium length par 3 but it's down a huge hill and plays way less. It's just a very scenic shot from the woods. The basket placement is great too because a pond is just a few feet past it. Definitely the signature hole on the course.
-A lot of things are closed here on campus Sundays because Sunday is the Sabbath day and some people prefer to rest but the locals don't mind you playing whenever as long as you do not cause a disturbance.
-Plenty of good options for food just further up the road on campus. They have a Moe's! Which is one of my favorites but they have many other options as well at the food court.
-Locals are friendly! There was a student who was reading Sadie Robertson's book in her eno right by #5's tee. Very pretty girl, she didn't mind me being in her way. To add to it, there are many church goers that attend Western so this school is definitely a thought for me.
-There is a pitch and putt nearby at Jackson Park rec. I passed on that because it seemed boring and I was mainly here to look around campus but it's another course to add to, you can play two courses in one day in this area.
-It ends well with a good hole 13. It ends right at the entrance, even though hole 1 is a good bit past it. #13 is a cool downhill hole, kind of short and it has a cool drop off behind the basket. #13 is not the added hole however. #13 is the old #12. The added hole is #10. #10 was a good change to the course, it has plenty of vegetation but it is a short hole, no more than 250'. It's flat but it's a blind shot because of all the bushes in the fairway. Definitely another unique hole.
-Lot of good places nearby for gas. There are also a few grocery stores nearby.
Cons: -The elevation is awesome. That's NEVER a con, if anything, flat is a con, but this course needs stairs, especially on the first five holes because they all have steep hills. #1 can be dangerous if you overthrow, don't think you can't because it did with a roc! There is a really steep hill that the basket is on and I got on top of it. It felt like rock climbing, except without the rocks. Same with 2-5, there are drop offs, hillside fairways, etc without stairs and it's scary, especially walking down. Do NOT wear sperries.
-As cool as #4 may look, the double mando is really gimmicky. As interesting as it may look, it's almost impossible to clear because the tree to the left is about 15' further ahead than the tree to the right, and with a straight throw, you will likely still miss it because from the pad it looks like the gate is only 2 feet wide. It's really silly and forced.
-#7 is too close to the parking lot, it's also a driver shot at 462' long. The basket is also too close and you could easily nail a car if you are not careful. There are also pedestrians on the walking trail that is in play on holes 8-13. #9 may be the biggest issue, as good as a hole it is, it's really close to the trail.
Other Thoughts: -Catamount Links is a great course on a great campus. I have thoughts of attending college here because it has a good selection of classes that I'm interesting in taking and the fact that it isn't large, but has many Churches and Bible Clubs, to add to that, it has a disc golf club and I would be honored to join it if it so happens that I attend college here.
-Favorite hole(s): #2, #5 and #11, very cool hole with an elevated basket. Just an interesting look to the course.
Least favorite hole(s): #7: Kind of boring and it's a hindrance to the parking lot. It kind of blows your opportunity to throw as far as you can.
Fun factor: 100/130. Very good, probably the best around the area.

 Decent

5+    6/20/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: Sersan43
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of hole types. Predominantly wide open drive shots. Some uphill/downhill drive shots. A couple very technical putt shots will be needed. As another reviewer stated, power drives are definitely rewarded. Not even super power, just anybody who can semi accurately drive 350+ will have a huge edge over the guys in the 300 range.
Cons: Not a full 18 holes. the marching band monopolizes hole 1 a lot for practice. Long walk to the last hole then long walk back to the parking lot by the first hole.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot to offer to an experienced player just passing through town. Holes require too much power for beginners to even begin to think about parring a hole.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A fun course

5+    8/1/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: das1330
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a course that is wide open (1,6-12) with shots downhill (2,5) and uphill (3) and wooded (4) with water on play(13, 5 and 8 and 9 I believe if you shank a shot right).

It's well maintained and it's a fun course. Distance is rewarded, but even a player without a lot of power can par the holes if they focus.
Cons: 13 holes? WCU charged me enough in student services fees in my years at WCU to make a 36 hole course with concret teepad's and private lessons from your favorite disc golf pro - So no clue why it's sit at 13 holes forever. ...5 more WCU...5 more.

It can be a pain in the rear to play M-F...Band can practice on hole #1, and intramurals can take up the field too. If you play it on a sunday, you'll never run into these problems usually.

Other Thoughts: It's a fun course to play, but it eventually becomes Drive/Putt towards the end.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Now with 13 holes

5+    5/30/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: McFer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a good, solid course that offers plenty of challenge even though it's in the midst of a college campus. Pedestrian activity is predictable - during breaks in classes and during the summer, the course is mostly empty. During the school year, a nice Friday night can be problematic because the students are out enjoying the same areas the course makes use of.

Holes 2-5 make good use of the available obstacles. Hole 2 makes use of large power poles to impede right to left shots. Hole 3 involves a pedestrian walking path and a small terrace. Hole 4 features a tight tunnel into a sideways hillside, and hole 5 is a drive to a basket close to the lake. The open holes on the back half are a great opportunity to power up, though even those holes reward accuracy. Hole 9 seems wide open, until one of you drives goes towards the trees and bushes that are near the river. The course is easy to navigate, and is an easy place to bring the kids.

While this isn't a wooded course where expert shot-making is required, there's a nice combination of fun and challenge to be found here. Also, they've recently reconfigured the 9th hole to accommodate a 13th hole.

There's now a mando on hole #4, which prevents players from laying up and taking their 3 from the pedestrian past at the back of the hole. Makes a great hole even better, IMO.
Cons: 13 holes is 5 short of ideal. There are some long walks between holes, especially between #12 and #13. If you don't know when to play there, pedestrian interference can be annoying. I can imagine a day when the band is practicing on #1, the power company is performing maintenance disrupting #2, students walking to the dorms disrupt #4, students hanging out in the back of the residence hall disrupt #6, a full parking lot or the rugby team disrupts #7. If this isn't a local course for you, plan accordingly to avoid issues.

Tees are well worn in, sunk in dirt in most places. Standing water can be an issue on the field holes. Trees in play are few and far between.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and it's a solid course great for learning and especially great for learning distance in an open setting. The holes are fun - the course designer tried his best to incorporate the few natural features available for the course's use. If you pick the right times to play, interactions can be kept to a minimum.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Home course

5+    12/3/2011   12/4/2011
Review By: jjwhitton1
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Very open so great for practicing you long drives.
-A few short shots with some obstacles
-Hole #4 is a challenging hole with a narrow gap to hit and you must land pretty flat or you can roll to the bottom of the hill.
-good elevation change on most of the holes.
Cons: -not very many tough shots, being as the course is very open.
- 13 holes =(
-Tee pads
-Tighter fairways on some new holes if we ever get them.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and i love playing here.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Leaves you wanting more

2-4    11/28/2009   9/22/2011
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 91  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 11 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic setting with mountain views. Mostly open grass fields with just a few trees in play. Pins set on angled hillsides on many holes making roll-aways a real possibility. Some elevation but mostly flat holes. Tee signs on every hole. Short & long shots. Water hazard (#5). Elevated basket (#10). Beautiful tall pines (#4). I imagine the students really enjoy the course since it's right on campus!
Cons: Dirt tee pads (I prefer concrete). No benches. There is a paved walking trail along the entire course. This could be good & bad. Easy walk but lots of potential for pedestrians/disc interaction. It's a very good design but only 12 holes leaves me wanting more. #12 is a beautiful hole but the round is over way too quick.
Other Thoughts: #4 is a very tricky shot. Its a short shot but you have to thread your disc through the tall pine trees. Then you have to land your disc on a small area that is sloping severely. Awesome stuff! Then #5 with it's long downhill shot to a pin situated at the edge of a pond.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open with a few Intersting Shots

1    11/28/2009   12/18/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 323  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Pin Position. What would otherwise be considered a wide-open course becomes much tighter due to the pin positions. Almost every pin position had some form of trouble - 6/12 water, 6/12 OB (concrete sidewalk, parking lot, road, sport facility). 4/12 elevation.
Hole 5 is a gem: 300' extreme downhill with a pin that's 10' in front of a murky pond (I fluffed my putter off the tee and it floated over the basket and into the pond). Hole 11 is a huge flick shot with a pin located 20' from the edge of a deep, crystal clear pool in the river.
- Navigation. Even though the linked map shows 9 holes when this course has 12 holes, navigation was extremely easy due to the distinct 6x6 tee-sign posts…. However, the course follows the flow of the map (except map 9 is actually 12)… you'll see the rest.
Cons:
- Only 12. I realize that 12 holes are better than no holes… but, I saw plenty of land out there and don't understand why they stopped at 12. Although, I've heard of plans for expansion.
- Hole 12's Location in General. The hole is actually a gem… but, the walk from 11's pin to 12's Tee is ridiculous… and then you shoot away from the car, finish the hole, and then have to turn around and hike your ass back up the fairway and up the hill to your car???
- Natural Tees. When asked to throw 400+ foot drives, anything less than concrete tees do not cut it for me; especially when the tees are muddy and/or on a slick grass field. Also, tee 4 was heavily rooted.
- Potential for Traffic. I played this course during the school vacation and therefore there weren't too many students hanging around in places where there could be a conflict. However, there is the potential for traffic during the semester and peak usage hours.
Other Thoughts:
- Student Life. This course will hopefully expose a lot of kids to the sport, and since it's wide open it should make it conducive to beginners (although, it may be a tad too long).
- Expansion. The school looks like it has a lot of money. I hope the students appreciate and use the course so that the school will expand the course to a full 18.
- Overall we had a good time. It's a wide open course with lots of trouble in terms of OB. Every hole had something that tweaked it from being a regular, open hole into something a little more interesting.
- My Score: Even

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 good college course

1    11/8/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.8 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: practice basket w/ a 15 foot painted circle around it, good for practice. mostly open shots but elevation is a factor on the whole course. not crowded, and nice baskets. a good variety of shots , uphill, downhill, water, and a raised basket.
Cons: hole 12 was alittle hard to find , but was probably my favorite hole. no concrete tee pads.
Other Thoughts: a good little course with a variety of shots, nice surroundings, a couple holes you can really air out#7 and#9 hole #5 was a downhill water shot . hole 12 was across the road where you drive in. the basket is not visible from the tee, so find it first becausethere is a creek behind it

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 wcu

2-4    1/3/2001   8/27/2009
Review By: robbiepitzer
Played: 119  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: All of the pretty girls is a plus for me (being on campus) I like the creek, Cause I found 3 disc with no names. ( write your name on your disc)
Cons: Really wish that there were more than just 12 holes.
Other Thoughts: You need to skip #1 if the band is on the field

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  catamount

5+    8/9/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: kdog
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Holes 2-5 and 12 were my favorite due to the changes in elevation and shot selection. I disagree with the reviewer that claims this course is a "driving contest" - I drove with a midrange on 4 of the holes and my putter on 2 of them. I liked the elevated basket on hole 10 and rarely had to deal with user conflicts. Parking is right next to the course and the putting basket was nice to see.
Cons: More holes and some concrete tee boxes would be a huge plus. Fun to play, but not designed for a 1000 rated player.
Other Thoughts: For a campus course, this was a lot of fun to play. I give it a 5 for the impact on the campus and surrounding community and a 3 for its play. If you want a real challenge, play the Asheville course (Richmond Hill) located an hour East of this one.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.