Cullowhee, NC 
Catamount Links Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #6 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 328ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 So close, and yet so far.

5+    8/4/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: Tin Machine
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Geographically, the course it set in a beautiful valley with great views of the surrounding mountains. There are public restrooms nearby, along with a few food options and easy parking. Each hole is clearly marked and easy to spot, so there's no real hunting for where you're going if you've never been there before.
Cons: The course starts out so nicely. Holes 1-5 are the best the course has to offer (assuming the band is not practicing on #1 as Oso has previously mentioned). From then on, though, you lose the elevation changes and get out in the flats where all you do is throw your arm out a bunch due to the length of the holes and absence of obstacles. The later holes that follow the creek give you the pleasure of having to search through tall, disc-eating grass and weeds to find your disc if you're unfortunate enough to land in them. At least the course ends with an interesting hole on #12 where you're throwing blind over a small drop off... Just don't throw too hard, or you're back in the tall weeds or wading through the creek to find your plastic.

Also, due to the fact that it IS a college campus and there are students and student housing around the course, you'll most likely have to contend with students walking through some fairways causing delays in your game.
Other Thoughts: This was my home course for a while, as I was a student at WCU for many years. I say that this course could have been so much better because the land really is awesome. Too bad they don't try to make a full 18 holes by continuing the course through the back (and much more interesting / challenging) end of campus.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 If they planted some trees...

5+    10/5/2008   7/20/2009
Review By: El Oso Peligroso
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course utilizes elevation changes pretty well on several holes, but flattens out as you go along. No. 3 is a great uphill ace run, and no. 5 is a fun downhill, but would be even better if they put the pin on the other side of the pond.
Cons: The course has some major design flaws. No. 1 is unplayable during band practice, no. 11 can be during soccer games, and the whole course would be way better off without that driving range there, although I guess they probably say the same thing.

Some holes are completely forgettable, and wide open. Aside from 4, 8,9 and 12 there are no trees in play, and very few obstacles at all.

No. 7 and no. 8 are wet pretty frequently. There's some pretty bad drainage in that valley, but if they planted some trees or did some sort of landscaping that would help with the water and make the course more interesting. If they moved the driving range they could do some great redesigning of several holes and add some more in there.
Other Thoughts: At last Western students don't have to drive 30 minutes to play disc golf, but Waynesville DGC still makes much better use of some very similar land. But that's a course that coexists with the other uses of the land, and this course is one pushed aside by the other uses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Campus Course

5+    12/25/2008   1/7/2009
Review By: Middy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The new 12 hole layout is a big improvement over the original 9 hole course. A nice college course- right on campus. Some significant elevation changes. Water is in play on several holes. Simple, but massive pressure treated posts used for hole signage, Nice DiscCatcher baskets. A putting basket is located right by the first tee and parking spots.
Cons: Holes are pretty straight and open. The natural tee boxes are fine - unless they are wet.
Other Thoughts: It must be great for the college students and faculty. I wish I had a course right next to my dorm when I was in college.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Open course for college students

1    2/4/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 319  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: NOTE: I played this course in Feb 2008 but the course website says that they now have 12 holes (June '08) so it's probably changed since then. Who knows, the course may be better now than when I played it.

Being out in the mountains it's in a very pretty part of the state. There are some decent elevation changes on 3 holes. Since it's on a college campus it exposes college students to disc golf. Hole 5 is an open huck with a 40 ft elevation drop.
Cons: The tees are dirt and the signs are very basic. There's nice grass, but the holes are way too open and mundane for my taste, plus there are safety issues on some of the holes. Being on a college campus, near buildings, and in the middle of a college town detracted from the natural beauty. Every hole is straight and the one hole with some trees was short and had a quirky little gap that you had to hit.
Other Thoughts: Course Level: White (most suited to Intermediate players rated 875-925.)

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

More detailed "Overall Rating" notes and "Hole-by-hole Ratings" are available in the Files section.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center