Disc Golf Store
Fairmont, MN 
Cedar Creek East Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 200ft.   3 / 234ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The extended tees are a lie

1    7/31/2014   7/31/2014
Review By: TEDIUM
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: GREAT location/scenery
Good variety of shots (mix of wooded and open)
Great signage, intact on every hole
Most baskets are marked with hole #
Cons: 10-13 are separated from the rest of the course
*MAP IS WRONG* the 13th basket is PAST the trail back to 14, look for it about halfway between basket and tee.
The extended tees simply do not exist (I managed to check out the West course, but not play it fully, and it does have dual tees)
The "shortcut" mentioned between 13 and 14 is a STEEP hill, probably around 60 incline
Watch your approach/putts on 9; that same hill is behind the basket and goes all the way down to the creek.
Other Thoughts: I have mixed feelings on this course. I was expecting dual tees so I could play a 36 hole round on just this course. Unfortunately, they don't exist. I also got lost and wasted about half an hour trying to find my way from 13 to 14 due to the inaccurate map. Also when I played, a tree had fallen on the tee pad for 10 and bent the sign pretty badly, but the hole was still playable, and this course is in nice shape, so it'll probably be fixed pretty soon. Other than that, it was a really fun course with great variety and some challenging shots. IMHO some were a bit annoying, such as hole 2 where you tee of from within a tree (kinda cool though) and then about 20 feet ahead of you is a dense thicket of pine trees, so you have to get a bit creative when teeing off. Speaking of pine trees, most of the obstacle trees on this course are pines, which tend to catch discs a lot more often then kicking or dropping them, so you may need to go climbing to get your disc back (I did). It did seem odd for holes 10-13 to be so far away from the rest of the course, but if you are playing here, they are absolutely worth the walk, and were my favorite holes. 10 is a blind drive uphill, 11 a long open hole with a dogleg right, 12 a downhill drive with a dogleg left (I almost aced it with my Banshee) and 13 a fairly straightforward shot along the edge of the lake. Overall, I'd say the course overcomes it's downsides and is definitely worth checking out if you can, however, it does require a bit more fitness than most courses and it may be a bit too much for beginners (and the West course may just cause them to rage quit).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A local fav

5+    10/13/2013   1/13/2014
Review By: bils247
Played: 48  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.2 Years
Pros: Secluded from town, but easy to find
Varying difficulty in holes requiring a variety of shots
Natural landscapes and mild altitudinal changes
Nice course layout end near beginning
A great warmup round to prep for the West course ;)
Cons: Navigational direction to 10 could be better
Could be closer to my house :)
I lack consistent accuracy and there is the bike/walking trail near a few holes....more my fault than the courses.
Other Thoughts: I always enjoy this course. It offers challenge and a nice layout. The size of the course accommodates many people at a time with little worry of interference. I would recommend this course to anyone.

 Not as good as West but fun

1    6/26/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 343  Reviewed: 338  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A few ace runs
-A fair amount of trees but not too many
-Awesome course maps/scorecards which are needed, the layout would otherwise be very confusing.
-Names for every hole gives it a personal and sometimes comical touch
-Big parking lot, bathrooms, shelter for basically just the disc golf course
-Good for beginners but still somewhat of a challenge for experts. If you aren't satisfied just go play West, its a quarter mile walk away and plenty of challenge.
-36 holes of disc golf in one park
-Nice baskets and tees, overall well maintained park
-Elevation is used nicely on a few holes
-Very near I90 and easy to find
-Probably won't lose a disc
Cons: -May have to watch out for walkers, runners, bikers, etc on the path
-Layout would be very confusing without map and requires a lot of walking although the scenery is pretty nice
-Not too long of a course
-The wind can be rough on a few holes
Other Thoughts: This is the easier of the two cedar creek courses. It is located in the main area of the park near the parking lot and shelter. It seems to be geared more towards beginners and West is more advanced. This course is one of those that it is easy to get 3s on most every hole but it takes skill to rack up the twos. These courses are very complimentary of each other. This place is 36 holes of good disc golf and I highly recommend stopping. These courses are kind of a hidden gem when it comes to Minnesota disc golfing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/12/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: mnjugg
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Dual pin locations
* Nice mix of open and wooded holes
* Option to skip holes 10 - 13 for a faster round
Cons: * Hole 10 is not marked on the path, easy to miss
* Maps do not show alt pin length and location

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Must play, dual course park!

1    9/12/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Benak56
Played: 47  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: - Very scenic and fun.
- Paved Tees, signs, and maps.
- Great combination of open long shots and tight accuracy shots.
- Good work out, I enjoyed the walk as much as playing.
- Close parking.
- Bathrooms
Cons: - Trail was steep and overgrown in a couple places.
- Not nearly as difficult as its more westerly companion.
- They have maps, but where out when we were there. Some difficulty finding hole 10 as its down the bike path across a small bridge.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course very much. It is a great compliment to Cedar Creek West. The two courses are well worth a trip and between the two is a large field with an indoor picnic shelter and great parking. It would make a great day of fun for the whole family.

 A Must Play Course in SW MN

5+    6/18/2008   8/15/2008
Review By: Pembertonian
Played: 59  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Cement Tees. Alternate Pin Locations. Bathrooms. Cedar Creek West within Walking Distance. Course is well maintained.
Cons: Many short-Medium length Holes. Holes 11- 14 are a short distance away.
Other Thoughts: I've played about 15- 20 courses, Mostly in minnesota but this is probably still my favorite course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.