Burlington, NC 
Wellspring Share
Uploaded By: Bigbob777 Hole #5 (Taken 4/2015)
3 / 152ft.   3 / 145ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 White Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Disc Golf Oasis

1    7/4/2015   7/4/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 40  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.4 Years
Pros: I wish I could review Cedarock-Wellspring as one course! They are polar opposites. Cedarock is very long and wide open; Wellspring is short, wooded, and technical. But I can't imagine visiting this park and only playing one of the courses. I mentioned this in my Cedarock review: individually, I'd rate each course as a strong 3.5. But taken together, they compliment each other so well, that the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. Therefore, I give both 4.0's.

The course that's most similar to Wellspring that I've played is Bethesda in Durham. Very similar in length and style; very short and tightly wooded. I used a Leopard on a few holes because I can get a good anhyzer out of it, but otherwise I didn't use any drivers.

What makes Bethesda a 2.0 - 2.5 and Wellspring a 3.5 - 4.0 is elevation (Wellspring has all kinds of elevation, and especially fun downhills), shot variety (hyzers, anhyzers, and straight), different ways to play holes (holes with dual hyzer and anhyzer fairways), and, oh yeah, Wellspring has Cedarock next door for another great 18 holes. Also, Wellspring has less underbrush. Even though you're in pretty dense woods, I never felt like there was a great risk of losing discs.

Other positives:
- There's a pro shop where you can buy discs and snacks. So cool. All courses should have pro shops!
- Great amenities. Clean bathrooms and lots of other activities at the park (fishing, beach volleyball, canoeing, grilling out).
- This is a pro for me: I was inches away from my first ace! I threw an anhyzer that zoomed right over the basket, hit a tree, bounced back and rattled the chains. So close! Would have been an epic first ace.
Cons: If this were a standalone course, I'd dock Wellspring a half a point because it is pretty short. However, as mentioned, when paired with Cedarock, you really get everything you could want out of 36 holes of disc golf.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a pro or a con, but one oddity of Wellspring is the last two holes. You emerge from the forest for the first time after the 16th hole. #17 is a very long, wide open par 4. #18 is a shorter than #17, but it's another wide open downhill hole. These two holes feel like they belong on the Cedarock course, not Wellspring. If the geography and navigation made sense, I'd add #17 and #18 to Cedarock, make it a 20-hole course, and make Wellspring a 16-hole course. Anyway, it doesn't matter because you should play both courses together as a 36-hole round.

I've seen the "figure eight" mentioned in previous reviews, where you play part of either Wellspring or Cedarock, then jump to the other course on a parallel hole, play that entire course, then finish on the one you started on. I honestly don't see the reason to do this. The two hole #1's are maybe a quarter of a mile apart. You can walk it or drive to the other parking lot easily. I would suggest playing one and then the other for a completely different feel.

However you chose to play the Cedarock courses, consider them a 36-hole disc golf oasis and leave yourself enough time to play all of them.

Good Technical Course

1    5/31/2015   6/4/2015
Review By: GSquare44
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: Good Tee Signs, Concrete Pads, Multiple Routes to Pin, Elevation changes
Cons: No trash cans, Holes are pretty close together and bad kicks get you into other fairways.
Other Thoughts: Enjoy it a lot, the first course I ever played in high school. Right next to Cedarock Course - knock out two courses side by side.

 Not much left to say.

5+    8/13/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: Tenacious EJ
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 22 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -A wooded course with clear throwing lanes (how novel)
-Holes are well-defined and well-planned
-No holes that make you feel cheated
-Perfect compliment to Cedarock
-Recently groomed, so a lot of the low brush has been removed
Cons: -Trashcans? Not here, sir!
-Benches need replacing
-Frequently damp and muddy
-Several fallen trees in the fairways need to be removed
Other Thoughts: Well, as a set, Cedarock and Wellspring represent just about all you can hope for in 32 holes of golf. Wellspring by itself is certainly a lot of fun, however. Its a wooded course done right, at least, its nearly done right.

What they got right: the holes themselves. Most of the baskets are visible from the tees, and there are clear paths to them. This doesn't make the holes simple, though- you still have to hit the throwing lanes to score well. Thankfully, missing those fairways or deflecting off trees into the brush doesn't triple your score like it might at say, Anderson Park in Carrboro. Its no picnic, but the opportunities for recovery are more plentiful here. Does this make Wellspring easy? Well, yes, relatively, but it also leaves you with no one to blame when you leave the fairways. Back on point, Wellspring boasts some great elevation changes, "water hazards" in the form of a meandering creek and a large pond (off 17, which is not really in play), and a challenging 18 holes of play.

What's wrong with Wellspring? Well, the little things, mostly. The course has newer tee signs that provide hole maps and distances for blue and white tees, but the tees themselves are marked as blue and red. These tees have been called small, which I guess I can see, but it was the design choice to cement in large, slick quartz stones into the pads that I question. Overall they aren't a big problem because most holes are short enough that you don't need a huge pad. The lack of trashcans is a problem- we played at 9:30 am on a 99% humidity day, and water was a necessity, but there was no place to place our empty water bottles. The benches are old, rotten, and falling apart, at least, when they weren't falling over.

Yes, its often damp, as a result of the creek and runoff areas the course weaves around, and yes there are the obligatory ticks and mosquitoes of a course in the Carolina woods, but its very easy to forget all that because Wellspring is simply a fun course to play.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Play well at Wellspring

1    7/2/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This park has a playground, a farm, homestead and a museum as well as two fun courses. This is the wooded course at Cedarock. It's the shorter course but it's got some difficult ways to get birdies.
-Great 28 chain disCatchers that are in very good shape. They catch well, I made some good birdie putts.
-Place is pretty secluded. I like it that way but that can also be a con. Crowds can get in my way. It's happened at Cornelius Road and Hornet's Nest. I like it when the place is to myself usually.
-Great chance for an ace! Many holes are under 200'. One hole however, is very long and that hole is #17! #17 is an awesome downhill bomber over 600'. That hole was definitely the signature hole because it isn't like the others. It's open and you can just launch your driver over 300'.
-Construction is great! The creek is in play on many holes and there are bridges on every hole that has water in play.
-Yes it's almost completely wooded but the holes are different. They require different strategies to get a 2. This course reminds me of Reedy Creek in Charlotte. The holes are all different and unique.
-There is some good elevation here. Throwing off small cliffs, big hills or throwing up some hills definitely gets a teenager like me hooked on disc golf. #2 comes to mind. It's a very fun ace run with an elevation drop of maybe 25 feet.
-Wellspring's friendly yet bigger and stronger older brother Cedarock is also at this park. They are completely different from each other and Cedarock is the place to air it out but you still got #17 on this course.
-Benches and trash cans on just about every hole. That's why both of these courses are very clean.
-#13 is not a typical ace run. It's a very tricky downhill sidearm hole with a C shaped fairway. It's only about 150 feet long. You'd maybe get frustrated if you don't get a 2 on it, but it takes a good precise flick to get your birdie.
Cons: -You may be wondering why I did not put dual sets of tees in the pros section and the reason why is because some of the long tees are beside the shorts or just a few feet back. Some of them are not close which is good but not many of the long tees are really different from the shorts.
-You can't take very small tee pads seriously. They are more of a problem at Cedarock but if you need a run up, you will have to start your run up about five feet behind the tee pad so you won't foot fault.
-#18's tree in the middle of the fairway is literally a disCatcher. It caught my pro starfire, so I had to climb up over 20 feet in the tree just to get it out, to make things worse, it was raining. Expect to get dirty here when it rains because I did.
-Erosion is not really a problem except on #16. It's a mess on #16 but that's it. This place is heavily wooded and clear cutting never occured here. This course was around before I was born so it could be much worse.
Other Thoughts: -Well, this course is the opposite of Cedarock. It's not the "Air it out" course. It has what a great course needs, it has elevation, it has an open hole, it's got a creek, and it's a beautiful walk in the woods. I enjoyed this course and I think it's the easier place to play but yet, it can be more punishing if you miss your line. At Cedarock, it's easy to get out of trouble, you just need a long throw but this course is still forgiving nevertheless. There is a low chance in losing a disc on both courses, you can easily see where you disc will land at Cedarock and the holes here are very short, well most of them and you throw will likely be better than it looked to be. This place is definitely worth the stop and I will say that it's something better than most courses over twenty years old.
-Again, #17 rocks! Downhill 600+ footers are always a +. That's a hole you will remember for sure at Wellspring.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course

1    6/9/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: chillbro15
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: challenging, tight, wooded fairways which force you to place your shots well. its awesome. i also like how you can "figure 8" the course and shwitch from cedarock to wellspring. its really awesome in tems of layout. all the holes felt similar but yet required different tactica and strategies
Cons: tees could be a little better colored and located
kind of slightly overgrown
holes 17 and 18 felt a little out of place with the feel of the rest of the course. its strange going from short hole 16 then to long hole 17. its odd.
Other Thoughts: best course ive ever played

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Mixing it Up

2-4    5/20/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 239  Reviewed: 234  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2013
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's a typical North Carolina-style disc golf course. It's just done really well. I get the feeling while playing, that the builders took their time with this one. It wasn't rushed, so that it would be playable while it was in progress. They could just play on Cedarock until this one was done. So they took their time and found the best lines through the woods that would make for a great experience. This is speculation, but that's the impression I get while playing.

Wellspring doesn't have a signature hole as much as a signature type. Many of the holes feature high tees, throwing over a valley to a highly placed basket. While that requires a bit of walking on relatively steep descents and climbs, the bridges over the swampy areas.

The best part, however, may be the existence of Cedarock. Others have mentioned the figure 8, but the opportunity to combine, eighteen technical, wooded holes, with 18 out in the open is fantastic.
Cons: As much as I like the throw-across-the-valley type of hole, it may be overdone here. There are a ton of them. There's a dry creek bed that runs through most of the course, and a lot of time is spent crossing back and forth.

And while the fairways are all perfect, the rough isn't quite rough enough. It's too easy to get out of trouble on most holes here. Because most of the holes are short, from most bad drives, it's typically easy to get back up to save par. That means that drives are essentially parked or not parked. Decent drives don't mean too much.
Other Thoughts: It's a very good eighteen at Wellspring. It's a great thirty-six in combination.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I Was There When It Was Built

5+    4/14/2013   4/29/2013
Review By: BuzzSharpe
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 45.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A GREAT counterpoint to adjacent Cedarock. New DISCatchers are much easier to see through the forest than the original Machs and the newly installed tee signs are among the best I've ever seen. Though I'm more of a fan of open courses, Wellspring is among the best wooded courses of which I know.
Cons: No real cons for this course for me, despite the woodiness. A few of the holes could use more than the one tee sign. And there are three minor design flaws...Number 7 should have been built as a straight up the hill run to that nice little grove, that would shorten the walk to #8, and eliminate that arbitrary mando, which was only wanted by the hole's builder, who had a shot and a disc that he could park in it existing position. Number 14 needs a second tee pad and basket 16 should be moved about 40' to the right to increase its distance from tee 14. When the course was built, there was a THICK foliage fence that separated them.
Other Thoughts: This is the course where I got my first ace, on what is now #10, then #14, with a 90 degree right dogleg and an appropriate mando tree. It was the group's consensus that I hit the phone pole in the paint. It was on that same hole, in its present position that I got a 150' ricochet ace off of that aforementioned mando tree

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Must Play

5+    4/11/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: Jawa
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wellspring is short and wooded, It has good use of elevation changes and a creek running throughout the course.

The layout is great. It loops back so 18 finishes back at 1. It uses the elevation to make the shorter shots more of a challenge.


Left handed players have it slightly easier on the red tees. Blue tees are about 50/50. So have your anhyzer or thumber shots ready if your a righty.

I only use a putter and a midrange for every hole except 17. Break out the driver, just beware of the pond on the right and the woods on the left.
Cons: The pads are short and not very wide compared to a lot of the newer courses; the shortness isn't too bad since you don't have to crank on your disc much.

I don't really like the blue layout as much. I can see why they put it in (to add a more difficult counterpart) but essentially they just stuck a tee pad right behind a group of trees. It makes the first 30' the hardest part of a lot of the holes.

There are also some holes on both courses that will really make you scratch your head as to what to do, I guess that might be a good thing for some but for me it goes a little to far.

Other Thoughts: A great way to play this course is to make one giant loop with it and Cedarock. You can start at 1 on Cedarock and play through 8; you then turn left and walk in to the woods where you'll find 16 on Wellspring (it hugs the right side of the woods). You play 16-18 then go right to 1-15 on Wellspring and then pop back out of the woods and continue Cedarock on 9.

Holes I love -

#1 - it starts you off with one of the harder holes on the entire course (both layouts). i like the challenge right off the bat.

#3 White - it's a great valley shot with the basket tucked in on the right in a cluster of trees, watch out for roll aways.

#9 White - R to L hyzer shot off a small cliff, just a nice looking shot

#11 Both - one of the longer wooded holes on the course, it's an L to R shot over a slight valley and the basket sits up on a hill guarded by trees.

#14 Both - not a terribly difficult hole, you have to maneuver a gap near the begging and once you're past it you should be fine. it's a great looking hole.

#17 Both - a long downhill bomber that's more open, you've got dense woods on the left and a pond on the right, plus large trees in the middle. If you can get it down and past the obstacles should be a 3.
Other Thoughts: I play this course a couple time a week. I love it. I 've started to switch between the tees to change things up. You can play the figure 8 by stepping out at hole 15 and start playing Cedarock at hole 9 then jump back to 16 in Wellspring.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A walk in the woods

1    8/4/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Drew.S
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2012
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great terrain and elevation changes. Clearly marked teepads, each with a sign telling you all the info on the hole, and baskets. Good mix of straight and dogleg shots. Some holes require precision shots, but all baskets are easily reachable.
Cons: There are roots everywhere, its in the woods, so you need to watch you footing while traversing through the course.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Take the opposite of Cedarock and improve it to get Wellspring

1    8/5/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 234  Reviewed: 215  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy flow and navigation, excellent tee signs. Multiple tee pads, some provided totally different looks and lines, 9 and 17 are good examples of well placed second tee pads. Good use of elevation and terrain. More isolated than Cedarock, even though they share land. Plenty of shade. Many interesting holes, #3 may have been my favorite, throwing over the dried up creek twice from the elevated tee (wish I could play while the water was rushing)

Cons: Not many, course was very solid, but not much stands out to create a wow factor. The holes begin to get repetitive with tight short shot after another. Not much variety in distance, with the exception of hole 7. The course is short with the blue tees averaging 250 feet (reds 227). Hole 8 was my least favorite hole on the course. There was no fairway from the blue tee and the 5 trees surrounding the basket were cheesy.
The tee pads were a touch too small, several had large rocks sticking up that the tee pad was built around. Tees were 7.5'x 3' if I recall correctly.
Other Thoughts: NO ALCOHOL PERMITTED at Cedarock or Wellspring. Wellspring was far superior to Cedarock, but the Terrain is pretty rough, so leave the kids next door.
Be warned hole 14 has some tight merciless woods on the left, stay in the fairway or pay!

There was a shop in between courses, I hear they sell snacks, drinks and even discs.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.