Burlington, NC 
Wellspring Share
Uploaded By: Bigbob777 Hole #15 (Taken 4/2015)
3 / 207ft.   3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 2 Courses, 1 Round

1    6/14/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 409  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 15.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
-Polar Opposite to Cedarock. Wellspring is the exact opposite of Cedarock: a short, wooded course that places the focus on accuracy and shot selection.
- Short, but Demanding. Wellspring was on the shorter end, especially as compared to Cedarock. However, it is still demanding in that you must hit your lines in order to have a shot at a birdie. The woods and rough are thick enough that you can be punished for errant drives, but the holes are short enough that you will be rewarded with a birdie opportunity when you hit the fairway with the proper shot.
- Dual Tee-Pads. Every hole at Wellspring had two sets of tee-pads: Blue and White, with the Blues being slightly harder (usually by angle of approach than added distance). This allows players to select the tees that match their level of play, or just to switch it up a little.
- Two Courses, One Park. I love when I can bag two new courses in one great location. Especially two courses that are completely different from one another. At Cedarock / Wellspring, you can jump-on / jump-off of each course mid-round and hook into the other course to make a 36 hole round. Otherwise you'd have to drive to the other courses' parking lot to start your second round. To do so, start at Cedarock... after finishing Cedar's 8th hole, jump onto Wellspring at Hole 16 (gap in the woods)... play out Wellspring through Hole 15 and then jump back onto Cedarock at Hole 9 and complete the round. This worked for me... and helped to break up the monotony of the relatively wide-open Cedarock.
Cons:
- Blue are a Little Quirky. The Blue holes seemed to have some interesting tee-pad placements, sometimes requiring awkward tee-shots to get through the fairway. The White pads seemed like much more straight forward golf shots. A local recommended that I play the Blues (thinking that the Blues were harder and better for me), but I think I have chosen to play the Whites if I would have known how funky some of the Blues lines would have ended up being.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. The combination of having two distinctly different courses in one park definitely adds to the flavor of the location and desirability to bag them. Aside from that, Wellspring is a fun course that is suited for beginners and advanced players alike. Beginners will enjoy the shorter holes and opportunities for birdies, whereas advanced players will enjoy the demanding lines and putter/midrange driving practice.
My Score: -7 (Blues)

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/28/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: 11abush11
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Solid woods course
-Easy to navigate
-Field course Cedarock close by.
-Beautiful park for animals,horsebacking,hiking,and of course lots of Disc golf.
-New signs!
-Left and right/ up and down
-Squirrel watching ;)
Cons: -Old baskets with no color tend to blend in with the surrounding forestry.
-Nothing over 300ft at this course until 17 which IMO might be the signature hole for me here.
Other Thoughts: Played both courses on the same day for the first time. I wish the discatchers were in the woods course though.
17 is an awesome hole for sure.
-The biggest downside for Am's and Pro's is that the two courses should have really been combind to make an Above average course with a little of everything. But instead the course layouts seem to be generated more towards recs. Dont get me wrong distance from the gold/blues adds difficulty, There is still no risk reward or those really hard "I want to get par" holes at either course. All about the birds.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Reedy Creek lite

1    5/14/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 231  Reviewed: 226  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2017
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wellspring is a classic disc golf course. You feel like you're stepping back to the earlier days of disc golf, and can sense of how far it has come since the 1980s. That said, enjoy the tradition, but don't expect to be wowed, or overwhelmed by anything the course has to offer.
- Solid, heavily wooded course. The first 16 holes are all in the woods, ranging from narrow/nearly non-existent fairways to more open, ho-hum layouts.
- Very good use of elevation. There aren't any extreme elevation holes, but a majority has solid aspects of uphill or downhill shots, or a little bit of both. You see this from the very beginning, with #1, being a tight uphill layout, and have it continue throughout the round.
- Course has plenty of birdie, and ace chances. It's short enough that on most holes, you can be aggressive with putters and mid-range discs off the tee. It's almost a great course for beginners.
- Along those lines, I really appreciated that you had a chance to salvage any shots that went off the fairway. On most of the wooded holes, if your shot strayed into the trees, there was still enough room to make a shot towards the basket, instead of being forced to simply throw back into the fairway. It still brings in a solid risk/reward factor, but it's not going to automatically mean you're looking at a bogey.
- Course has 2 sets of tees. For the most part this is a pro, but there's a slight negative to them. Having two tees is always good, but there's only one hole that offers truly different look from the tees - #13. On several holes, the pro & amateur tees are right next to each other, or one behind the other, where you're essentially throwing the exact same shot.
- I loved having the small creek weave its way through the course. On almost every wooded hole, there's a small bridge, or bridges, over the creek. It's mostly shallow, so no real chance to lose a disc. Only potential risk area I noticed was on #4, where it was up to 2 feet deep.
- Very nice scorecards and maps online. Not that you'll need the map, because the course flows so well. The maps is more handy on some of the holes with blind tee shots.
Cons: Tee pads are, ahem, antiquated. They're short and narrow. It's not a problem on every hole because many are so short, but on other holes where a run up is needed, you might be better off throwing from the dirt next to the pad.
- Metal baskets in the woods are always a bad combination. They're hard to see in the shadows or among the trees.
- A couple holes are squeezed too close together. The biggest culprit is #4 basket is only about 30 feet from #5 tee. If you're on #5 tee and there are people behind you, you'll need to keep a close eye to make sure no discs are flying your direction.
- The course is almost too short. If you take away #17, the short tees average only 205 feet, the longs average only 222 feet. Along the lines, it'd be nice to see a little more variety in the tee pad layouts.
- It's also a slight letdown to have 16 straight wooded holes, only to end with the only two open holes. It'd be a much better finish if you ended with one of the more of the difficult wooded holes, such as #1 or #15.
Other Thoughts: After several holes, I was having major deją vu. Then I realized this course is a slightly scaled down version of Reedy Creek - from distance, fairways width & challenge. The only major difference is that Wellspring isn't overcrowded with college kids.
- I really enjoy the isolation and beauty of the course. You really feel out at nature playing both here and Cedarock.
- It's great coming to a park and having two good courses to play. The fact they're polar opposites means you're going to get a little bit of everything playing both.
- There were some really fun, and challenging holes here. If you're throwing straight, you're going to see plenty of birdies and score low. #3 stood out to me as the epitome of this course has to offer. It's a 208 foot hole (205 from short tees), tight fairway over a slight ravine. A good tee shot will give you a tap-in birdie, an average tee shot may give you a long, difficult birdie putt, and a bad tee shot will find the trees, forcing you to scramble for par.
- This is a solid course. It's more fun than challenging. All things considered this is a good, average course. Nothing overly special or unique here that you won't find at other courses - Reedy Creek, Cornwallis in Durham are similar.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/18/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful location. I played the other course here when on business last time. You could really play 36 different.holes in a few hours. Great up and down walks. Baskets are good at securing discs. Very friendly locals around on this afternoon. I highly recommend this complex with the bathrooms and scenery.
Cons: Absolutely no markings. Thanks to the locals I could find my way around. Needs new markers and tee painting.. A printed off the internet hole guide is a must. These are the reasons why I only gave a 3.
Other Thoughts: If you love outdoors you have got to come and if you have time play both courses. I was there around from 2 to about 4 in the afternoon. Locals from teens to old guys like me were super friendly and helpful. You MUST be able to climb up and down. Bring some peanuts for the chip monks.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Technical Course

5+    6/26/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: vonDrehle
Played: 46  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - This is a fun little technical course to work on your short game and even more your accuracy, especially on the longer pads.
- There is a fairly good variety of shots that can be used from the tee. This is one of the few courses where on a hole or two I will actually pull out a thumber on a drive.
- The shorter tees offer an easy course that is pretty straightforward and the longer tees make you think a little more by having some strategically placed trees.
- I really liked hole #17 because after an entire course of tightly wooded holes you get to play a long open hole that you can grip it and rip it.
- This course has two teepads for I believe every hole.
Cons: - The biggest and most obvious con for this course is no tee signs. With several semi-blind hyzer/anny holes you have to essentially walk the fairways on a lot of holes to see where the basket is.
- This course used Mach V (or that type) of basket. This along with no tee-signs makes some baskets very hard if not impossible to spot from the tee pad.
Other Thoughts: I find this course to be very fun to play. It is short enough for a beginner to attempt and tight enough to test more advanced players, especially if playing the longer tees. If you are passing through Burlington I would def. stop by for a round at both of the courses in the park.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Wellspring

2-4    8/26/2008   1/14/2009
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 18.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Beautiful Park
-Great use of Elevation
-Is in same park as Cedarock which is another great course, get a 2 for 1 deal.
-Very Clean and well taken care of.
-Great Variety of Shots
-Park has great facilites and has camping areas.
Cons: Only negative to the course would be that the course can be hard to navigate the first time thru.
Other Thoughts: Great technical course. Alot of the holes are shorter in length but require good accuracy and placement of shots. OB Creek and elevation changes make this a challenging course despite the distance. Very much worth the drive, especially when you factor in Cedarock is in the same park.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.