Burlington, NC 
Wellspring Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 252ft.   3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 2 Courses, 1 Round

1    6/14/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 302  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Polar Opposite to Cedarock. Wellspring is the exact opposite of Cedarock: a short, wooded course that places the focus on accuracy and shot selection.
- Short, but Demanding. Wellspring was on the shorter end, especially as compared to Cedarock. However, it is still demanding in that you must hit your lines in order to have a shot at a birdie. The woods and rough are thick enough that you can be punished for errant drives, but the holes are short enough that you will be rewarded with a birdie opportunity when you hit the fairway with the proper shot.
- Dual Tee-Pads. Every hole at Wellspring had two sets of tee-pads: Blue and White, with the Blues being slightly harder (usually by angle of approach than added distance). This allows players to select the tees that match their level of play, or just to switch it up a little.
- Two Courses, One Park. I love when I can bag two new courses in one great location. Especially two courses that are completely different from one another. At Cedarock / Wellspring, you can jump-on / jump-off of each course mid-round and hook into the other course to make a 36 hole round. Otherwise you'd have to drive to the other courses' parking lot to start your second round. To do so, start at Cedarock… after finishing Cedar's 8th hole, jump onto Wellspring at Hole 16 (gap in the woods)… play out Wellspring through Hole 15 and then jump back onto Cedarock at Hole 9 and complete the round. This worked for me… and helped to break up the monotony of the relatively wide-open Cedarock.
Cons:
- Blue are a Little Quirky. The Blue holes seemed to have some interesting tee-pad placements, sometimes requiring awkward tee-shots to get through the fairway. The White pads seemed like much more straight forward golf shots. A local recommended that I play the Blues (thinking that the Blues were harder and better for me), but I think I have chosen to play the Whites if I would have known how funky some of the Blues lines would have ended up being.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. The combination of having two distinctly different courses in one park definitely adds to the flavor of the location and desirability to bag them. Aside from that, Wellspring is a fun course that is suited for beginners and advanced players alike. Beginners will enjoy the shorter holes and opportunities for birdies, whereas advanced players will enjoy the demanding lines and putter/midrange driving practice.
My Score: -7 (Blues)

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/28/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: 11abush11
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Solid woods course
-Easy to navigate
-Field course Cedarock close by.
-Beautiful park for animals,horsebacking,hiking,and of course lots of Disc golf.
-New signs!
-Left and right/ up and down
-Squirrel watching ;)
Cons: -Old baskets with no color tend to blend in with the surrounding forestry.
-Nothing over 300ft at this course until 17 which IMO might be the signature hole for me here.
Other Thoughts: Played both courses on the same day for the first time. I wish the discatchers were in the woods course though.
17 is an awesome hole for sure.
-The biggest downside for Am's and Pro's is that the two courses should have really been combind to make an Above average course with a little of everything. But instead the course layouts seem to be generated more towards recs. Dont get me wrong distance from the gold/blues adds difficulty, There is still no risk reward or those really hard "I want to get par" holes at either course. All about the birds.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/18/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful location. I played the other course here when on business last time. You could really play 36 different.holes in a few hours. Great up and down walks. Baskets are good at securing discs. Very friendly locals around on this afternoon. I highly recommend this complex with the bathrooms and scenery.
Cons: Absolutely no markings. Thanks to the locals I could find my way around. Needs new markers and tee painting.. A printed off the internet hole guide is a must. These are the reasons why I only gave a 3.
Other Thoughts: If you love outdoors you have got to come and if you have time play both courses. I was there around from 2 to about 4 in the afternoon. Locals from teens to old guys like me were super friendly and helpful. You MUST be able to climb up and down. Bring some peanuts for the chip monks.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Technical Course

5+    6/26/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: vonDrehle
Played: 45  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - This is a fun little technical course to work on your short game and even more your accuracy, especially on the longer pads.
- There is a fairly good variety of shots that can be used from the tee. This is one of the few courses where on a hole or two I will actually pull out a thumber on a drive.
- The shorter tees offer an easy course that is pretty straightforward and the longer tees make you think a little more by having some strategically placed trees.
- I really liked hole #17 because after an entire course of tightly wooded holes you get to play a long open hole that you can grip it and rip it.
- This course has two teepads for I believe every hole.
Cons: - The biggest and most obvious con for this course is no tee signs. With several semi-blind hyzer/anny holes you have to essentially walk the fairways on a lot of holes to see where the basket is.
- This course used Mach V (or that type) of basket. This along with no tee-signs makes some baskets very hard if not impossible to spot from the tee pad.
Other Thoughts: I find this course to be very fun to play. It is short enough for a beginner to attempt and tight enough to test more advanced players, especially if playing the longer tees. If you are passing through Burlington I would def. stop by for a round at both of the courses in the park.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Wellspring

2-4    8/26/2008   1/14/2009
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 16 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Beautiful Park
-Great use of Elevation
-Is in same park as Cedarock which is another great course, get a 2 for 1 deal.
-Very Clean and well taken care of.
-Great Variety of Shots
-Park has great facilites and has camping areas.
Cons: Only negative to the course would be that the course can be hard to navigate the first time thru.
Other Thoughts: Great technical course. Alot of the holes are shorter in length but require good accuracy and placement of shots. OB Creek and elevation changes make this a challenging course despite the distance. Very much worth the drive, especially when you factor in Cedarock is in the same park.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.