Burlington, NC 
Wellspring Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 252ft.   3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Play well at Wellspring

1    7/2/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 46  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This park has a playground, a farm, homestead and a museum as well as two fun courses. This is the wooded course at Cedarock. It's the shorter course but it's got some difficult ways to get birdies.
-Great 28 chain disCatchers that are in very good shape. They catch well, I made some good birdie putts.
-Place is pretty secluded. I like it that way but that can also be a con. Crowds can get in my way. It's happened at Cornelius Road and Hornet's Nest. I like it when the place is to myself usually.
-Great chance for an ace! Many holes are under 200'. One hole however, is very long and that hole is #17! #17 is an awesome downhill bomber over 600'. That hole was definitely the signature hole because it isn't like the others. It's open and you can just launch your driver over 300'.
-Construction is great! The creek is in play on many holes and there are bridges on every hole that has water in play.
-Yes it's almost completely wooded but the holes are different. They require different strategies to get a 2. This course reminds me of Reedy Creek in Charlotte. The holes are all different and unique.
-There is some good elevation here. Throwing off small cliffs, big hills or throwing up some hills definitely gets a teenager like me hooked on disc golf. #2 comes to mind. It's a very fun ace run with an elevation drop of maybe 25 feet.
-Wellspring's friendly yet bigger and stronger older brother Cedarock is also at this park. They are completely different from each other and Cedarock is the place to air it out but you still got #17 on this course.
-Benches and trash cans on just about every hole. That's why both of these courses are very clean.
-#13 is not a typical ace run. It's a very tricky downhill sidearm hole with a C shaped fairway. It's only about 150 feet long. You'd maybe get frustrated if you don't get a 2 on it, but it takes a good precise flick to get your birdie.
Cons: -You may be wondering why I did not put dual sets of tees in the pros section and the reason why is because some of the long tees are beside the shorts or just a few feet back. Some of them are not close which is good but not many of the long tees are really different from the shorts.
-You can't take very small tee pads seriously. They are more of a problem at Cedarock but if you need a run up, you will have to start your run up about five feet behind the tee pad so you won't foot fault.
-#18's tree in the middle of the fairway is literally a disCatcher. It caught my pro starfire, so I had to climb up over 20 feet in the tree just to get it out, to make things worse, it was raining. Expect to get dirty here when it rains because I did.
-Erosion is not really a problem except on #16. It's a mess on #16 but that's it. This place is heavily wooded and clear cutting never occured here. This course was around before I was born so it could be much worse.
Other Thoughts: -Well, this course is the opposite of Cedarock. It's not the "Air it out" course. It has what a great course needs, it has elevation, it has an open hole, it's got a creek, and it's a beautiful walk in the woods. I enjoyed this course and I think it's the easier place to play but yet, it can be more punishing if you miss your line. At Cedarock, it's easy to get out of trouble, you just need a long throw but this course is still forgiving nevertheless. There is a low chance in losing a disc on both courses, you can easily see where you disc will land at Cedarock and the holes here are very short, well most of them and you throw will likely be better than it looked to be. This place is definitely worth the stop and I will say that it's something better than most courses over twenty years old.
-Again, #17 rocks! Downhill 600+ footers are always a +. That's a hole you will remember for sure at Wellspring.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mixing it Up

2-4    5/20/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 200  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2013
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's a typical North Carolina-style disc golf course. It's just done really well. I get the feeling while playing, that the builders took their time with this one. It wasn't rushed, so that it would be playable while it was in progress. They could just play on Cedarock until this one was done. So they took their time and found the best lines through the woods that would make for a great experience. This is speculation, but that's the impression I get while playing.

Wellspring doesn't have a signature hole as much as a signature type. Many of the holes feature high tees, throwing over a valley to a highly placed basket. While that requires a bit of walking on relatively steep descents and climbs, the bridges over the swampy areas.

The best part, however, may be the existence of Cedarock. Others have mentioned the figure 8, but the opportunity to combine, eighteen technical, wooded holes, with 18 out in the open is fantastic.
Cons: As much as I like the throw-across-the-valley type of hole, it may be overdone here. There are a ton of them. There's a dry creek bed that runs through most of the course, and a lot of time is spent crossing back and forth.

And while the fairways are all perfect, the rough isn't quite rough enough. It's too easy to get out of trouble on most holes here. Because most of the holes are short, from most bad drives, it's typically easy to get back up to save par. That means that drives are essentially parked or not parked. Decent drives don't mean too much.
Other Thoughts: It's a very good eighteen at Wellspring. It's a great thirty-six in combination.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

I Was There When It Was Built

5+    4/14/2013   4/29/2013
Review By: BuzzSharpe
Played: 50  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 44.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A GREAT counterpoint to adjacent Cedarock. New DISCatchers are much easier to see through the forest than the original Machs and the newly installed tee signs are among the best I've ever seen. Though I'm more of a fan of open courses, Wellspring is among the best wooded courses of which I know.
Cons: No real cons for this course for me, despite the woodiness. A few of the holes could use more than the one tee sign. And there are three minor design flaws...Number 7 should have been built as a straight up the hill run to that nice little grove, that would shorten the walk to #8, and eliminate that arbitrary mando, which was only wanted by the hole's builder, who had a shot and a disc that he could park in it existing position. Number 14 needs a second tee pad and basket 16 should be moved about 40' to the right to increase its distance from tee 14. When the course was built, there was a THICK foliage fence that separated them.
Other Thoughts: This is the course where I got my first ace, on what is now #10, then #14, with a 90 degree right dogleg and an appropriate mando tree. It was the group's consensus that I hit the phone pole in the paint. It was on that same hole, in its present position that I got a 150' ricochet ace off of that aforementioned mando tree

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Must Play

5+    4/11/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: Jawa
Played: 34  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wellspring is short and wooded, It has good use of elevation changes and a creek running throughout the course.

The layout is great. It loops back so 18 finishes back at 1. It uses the elevation to make the shorter shots more of a challenge.


Left handed players have it slightly easier on the red tees. Blue tees are about 50/50. So have your anhyzer or thumber shots ready if your a righty.

I only use a putter and a midrange for every hole except 17. Break out the driver, just beware of the pond on the right and the woods on the left.
Cons: The pads are short and not very wide compared to a lot of the newer courses; the shortness isn't too bad since you don't have to crank on your disc much.

I don't really like the blue layout as much. I can see why they put it in (to add a more difficult counterpart) but essentially they just stuck a tee pad right behind a group of trees. It makes the first 30' the hardest part of a lot of the holes.

There are also some holes on both courses that will really make you scratch your head as to what to do, I guess that might be a good thing for some but for me it goes a little to far.

Other Thoughts: A great way to play this course is to make one giant loop with it and Cedarock. You can start at 1 on Cedarock and play through 8; you then turn left and walk in to the woods where you'll find 16 on Wellspring (it hugs the right side of the woods). You play 16-18 then go right to 1-15 on Wellspring and then pop back out of the woods and continue Cedarock on 9.

Holes I love -

#1 - it starts you off with one of the harder holes on the entire course (both layouts). i like the challenge right off the bat.

#3 White - it's a great valley shot with the basket tucked in on the right in a cluster of trees, watch out for roll aways.

#9 White - R to L hyzer shot off a small cliff, just a nice looking shot

#11 Both - one of the longer wooded holes on the course, it's an L to R shot over a slight valley and the basket sits up on a hill guarded by trees.

#14 Both - not a terribly difficult hole, you have to maneuver a gap near the begging and once you're past it you should be fine. it's a great looking hole.

#17 Both - a long downhill bomber that's more open, you've got dense woods on the left and a pond on the right, plus large trees in the middle. If you can get it down and past the obstacles should be a 3.
Other Thoughts: I play this course a couple time a week. I love it. I 've started to switch between the tees to change things up. You can play the figure 8 by stepping out at hole 15 and start playing Cedarock at hole 9 then jump back to 16 in Wellspring.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/28/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the little brother to the Cedar Rock course in the same park. But don't confuse short with "inadequate". This is a tight, twisty, woodsy course that is a lot of fun. It has a lot of elevation changes on every hole (I believe), and even has two open grassy runs on the final two holes. The greens are usually sloped and somewhat treed, so they always keep you thinking.

This was a great challeng for the approach game and could be considered a pitch and putt course. I really like pitch and putt, because I still find myself using high speed drivers to turn sharp corners, along with my fairway drivers and midranges.

This was my first time here, and had no problem finding my way around without a map. All signs were superb and other equipment nice as well.
Cons: Much of the hole design seemed to be a bit repetitive but by no means degraded my enjoyment.
Other Thoughts: Here's an idea (a fantasy) - please don't beat me up for the suggestion: If you were to combine the two courses and create a single course, of, say, 27 holes - this place would be world class! Just take the weak holes away from Cedar Rock, and lengthen a few of the Wellspring holes (Nevin or Rennaissance style) and this would have the sickest variety of holes ever. But heck, what's there now are two very different, but homogenous courses that will keep you more than entertained.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Into the woods

5+    5/6/2012   5/12/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 138  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The thing that makes Wellspring so great is that it's the yin to Cedarock's yang. The duality of the courses which sit directly beside each other makes them a perfect dg combo.

Wellspring is short and wooded, and probably the best of its kind in Central NC. It offers a great atmosphere inside of Cedarock park where you're right in the mix of an old growth forest which has good elevation changes and a small creek running throughout the course.

The layout for most of the course is very well done, and uses the space in a way that doesn't make you feel like you're crammed in there. It also uses the elevation changes from short but steep hills to make a lot of the shots unique.

The course isn't overly wooded and not incredibly difficult with the exception of some of the holes which will provide a challenge for even intermediate level players. It will force you to use a variety of shots (break out your thumber) and offers multiple lines on many of the holes.

The course is designed so that horrid drives will be punished but having a not good drive will leave you with a chance to save par. It's really all about the birdies here.

The baskets are very well placed on a lot of holes which makes drive precision a key and your putts possibly difficult no matter if you're inside 30' or not.

Personally I like the white layout the most out of the two and not really because it's the easiest.

For 17 and 18 you do pop out in to a more open area and 17 is a long downhill bomber with a pond on the right. It's a really fun and well designed hole.

Brand new Discatchers, yes they finally replaced the baskets here.
Cons: The pads are short and not very wide; the shortness isn't really the problem because it's a short course but the width does bother me sometimes.

I don't really like the blue layout as much. I can see why they put it in (to add a more difficult counterpart) but essentially they just stuck a tee pad right behind a group of trees. It makes the first 30' the hardest part of a lot of the holes.

There are also some holes on both courses that will really make you scratch your head as to what to do, I guess that might be a good thing for some but for me it goes a little to far.

Other Thoughts: A great way to play this course is to make one giant loop with it and Cedarock. You can start at 1 on Cedarock and play through 8; you then turn left and walk in to the woods where you'll find 16 on Wellspring (it hugs the right side of the woods). You play 16-18 then go right to 1-15 on Wellspring and then pop back out of the woods and continue Cedarock on 9.

Holes I love -

#1 - it starts you off with one of the harder holes on the entire course (both layouts). i like the challenge right off the bat.

#3 White - it's a great valley shot with the basket tucked in on the right in a cluster of trees, watch out for roll aways.

#9 White - R to L hyzer shot off a small cliff, just a nice looking shot

#11 Both - one of the longer wooded holes on the course, it's an L to R shot over a slight valley and the basket sits up on a hill guarded by trees.

#14 Both - not a terribly difficult hole, you have to maneuver a gap near the begging and once you're past it you should be fine. it's a great looking hole.

#17 Both - a long downhill bomber that's more open, you've got dense woods on the left and a pond on the right, plus large trees in the middle. If you can get it down and past the obstacles should be a 3.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth a round

1    1/12/2012   1/14/2012
Review By: climbtoo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was my first round @ Wellspring and did not have a lot of time so it was a (shorter) red tee round for me. I played alone and found it very easy to get around the course - only had to walk up a few holes to see the exact basket location. The signs look new and make it easy to determine distance and locate the basket. It plays pretty short - throw out the par 4, 600 foot plus 17 hole and the average hole length from the red tees is about 204 feet and 220 from the blues. I checked out a some of the blue tee pads and it looks like they would add a number of strokes to your round with more difficult angles and tighter lines. All but 2 holes are in the woods and many of the tee shots are tight so in spite of the short length, Wellspring still offers plenty of challenge. It must be from growing up playing ball golf but I hate like random obstacles that come into play off the tee. @ Wellspring, the designer did a great job laying out almost all of the fairways so if you put the disc where you are aiming, you can get a lot of birdie opportunities. If you can throw 200 down a tight line and can shape it both left and right, you will easily best par but if you tend to spray T-shots, I promise you won't be showing off your scorecard. There is a good mix of left and right tee shots and a variety of dog leg angles so if you play this course a lot, your approaches on longer courses are sure to improve. It's a great 2nd option and totally different experience to the parks other course.
Cons: Tee pads are a little narrow (but you don't really need a lot of room to T a 200' hole) and a few holes are too close so you could get hit by an errant t-shot. It was just a little wet when I played and the hills and creek banks were slick - play next door @ Cedarock in wet weather.
Other Thoughts: Wellsping is a blast to play and I can't imagine anyone thinking that they would not like to come back for another round. Locals should feel very fortunate to have these two different courses to enjoy.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/31/2011   1/2/2012
Review By: BHDragn4207
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pros: Nice for beginners due to it being a shorter course. Fun to play with some interesting shots to the left and right and helps to develop aim skill. Most baskets can be made in 2 good throws. This course covers a nice path through the woods.
Cons: Cons: Course be slippery after rain. There is a horse trail on the last 2 holes and we had to be careful and wait for riders to come through. I could see a rouge disc from the woods causing some trouble there. Careful on the back area of the woods, disc can end up in the pasture with the goats.
Other Thoughts: Other Thoughts: Overall, very nice and easy to play. Quite enjoyable.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/10/2011   11/6/2011
Review By: Disc Golf Greg
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dual tee's that not just make holes longer but also change angle of shot
-Good use of elevation including both uphill and downhill shots
-Mando on one of the holes
-Course gives that you that secluded feeling and is not interfered by other park amenities
-Hole 3 and 17 are personal favorites of mine and make great use of the land. Hole 3 being a semi-short technical shot. A RHBH player needs a gentle turnover shot and can score an easy birdie that way. A bad drive will leaving you trying to save Par. And 17 is a 600ft long shot with a pond that comes into play. On the other side is the thick woods, and in the middle lies mature oak? trees. Great hole which is very hard two get a 3 on.
-Trash cans, and litter is never an issue.
-The tiny creek that winds through the course is a great touch.
-Cement tees
-Nice variety of shots, course neither favors lefty or righty.
-Disc Shop where you can buy snacks and discs
Cons: -Lacks tee signs. With tee signs I would have given this course a 4.0 rating.
-Cement tees could be a little wider/longer
-Could use a few longer holes, hole 17 is the only one where you can air it out.
-Some of the walking bridges need new boards to repair existing gaps
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice course which is for sure worth a drive out to play. This park also has a second course which is more open called Cedarock.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/21/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a mostly wooded course with only 2 open shots. Most holes are relatively short with one hole being a 600 foot bomb. The park actually has two 18 hole courses which is a big plus.

Other Pros:
- elevation used
- dual tees
- nice variety of turns
- was not crowded
- very clean
Cons: There weren't tee signs, which would have made navigation a bunch easier. Yes, most holes are rather short but the woods is also fairly tight.

Other Cons:
- #4's basket and #5's tee play kind of close to each other
- tee pads were concrete but too short
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course and plenty of disc golf in the area, so it's worth a stop by. I do like short wooded courses and this did not disappoint. Bring a map if you're a first timer!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.