Burlington, NC 
Wellspring Share
Uploaded By: Bigbob777 Hole #15 (Taken 4/2015)
3 / 207ft.   3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 White Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Tight, wooded, fun

1    5/30/2016   5/30/2016
Review By: asromatifoso
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Benches and good signage.
Good use of terrain and elevation changes.
Quite a few ace/birdie opportunities if you can hit a line and maybe get a little luck. I had a 6 foot birdie putt on #9 after a fairly big hyzer through the trees. You will need to be accurate off the tee, though, and command a forehand, anny, and hyzer.
Hardly a level basket placement in the bunch. You really have to consider whether that 35 footer for birdie is worth it because a skip or rollaway can cost you greatly here. Makes for some tense moments.
Not crowded.
No ticks!!!!
Great as the second 18 of a Cedar Rock/Wellspring day.
Cons: Some holes are kind of samey. We got to #12 and thought for a minute that we had already played it due to it's similarity to several others.
#17 and #18, while fun, don't feel like they belong in the same course. #1 through #16 are thematically cohesive in that they are tight, wooded,tests of accuracy. The final two are pretty wide open bombers. If these two holes were somewhere in the middle, they would be a great change of pace but having both at the finish makes them seem tacked on.
Short tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a course I will return to, especially on a day that I want to get in two rounds; one at Cedar Rock and one at Wellspring.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Oasis

1    7/4/2015   7/4/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 82  Reviewed: 75  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I wish I could review Cedarock-Wellspring as one course! They are polar opposites. Cedarock is very long and wide open; Wellspring is short, wooded, and technical. But I can't imagine visiting this park and only playing one of the courses. I mentioned this in my Cedarock review: individually, I'd rate each course as a 3.5. But taken together, they compliment each other so well, that the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. As 36 holes, I'd give Cedarock-Wellspring a 4.0.

The course that's most similar to Wellspring that I've played is Bethesda in Durham. Very similar in length and style; very short and tightly wooded. I used a Leopard on a few holes because I can get a good anhyzer out of it, but otherwise I didn't use any drivers.

What makes Bethesda a 2.0 - 2.5 and Wellspring a 3.5 - 4.0 is elevation (Wellspring has all kinds of elevation, and especially fun downhills), shot variety (hyzers, anhyzers, and straight), different ways to play holes (holes with dual hyzer and anhyzer fairways), and, oh yeah, Wellspring has Cedarock next door for another great 18 holes. Also, Wellspring has less underbrush. Even though you're in pretty dense woods, I never felt like there was a great risk of losing discs.

Other positives:
- There's a pro shop where you can buy discs and snacks. So cool. All courses should have pro shops!
- Great amenities. Clean bathrooms and lots of other activities at the park (fishing, beach volleyball, canoeing, grilling out).
- This is a pro for me: I was inches away from my first ace! I threw an anhyzer that zoomed right over the basket, hit a tree, bounced back and rattled the chains. So close! Would have been an epic first ace.
Cons: If this were a standalone course, I'd dock Wellspring a half a point because it is pretty short. However, as mentioned, when paired with Cedarock, you really get everything you could want out of 36 holes of disc golf.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a pro or a con, but one oddity of Wellspring is the last two holes. You emerge from the forest for the first time after the 16th hole. #17 is a very long, wide open par 4. #18 is a shorter than #17, but it's another wide open downhill hole. These two holes feel like they belong on the Cedarock course, not Wellspring. If the geography and navigation made sense, I'd add #17 and #18 to Cedarock, make it a 20-hole course, and make Wellspring a 16-hole course. Anyway, it doesn't matter because you should play both courses together as a 36-hole round.

I've seen the "figure eight" mentioned in previous reviews, where you play part of either Wellspring or Cedarock, then jump to the other course on a parallel hole, play that entire course, then finish on the one you started on. I honestly don't see the reason to do this. The two hole #1's are maybe a quarter of a mile apart. You can walk it or drive to the other parking lot easily. I would suggest playing one and then the other for a completely different feel.

However you chose to play the Cedarock courses, consider them a 36-hole disc golf oasis and leave yourself enough time to play all of them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Play well at Wellspring

1    7/2/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 78  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This park has a playground, a farm, homestead and a museum as well as two fun courses. This is the wooded course at Cedarock. It's the shorter course but it's got some difficult ways to get birdies.
-Great 28 chain disCatchers that are in very good shape. They catch well, I made some good birdie putts.
-Place is pretty secluded. I like it that way but that can also be a con. Crowds can get in my way. It's happened at Cornelius Road and Hornet's Nest. I like it when the place is to myself usually.
-Great chance for an ace! Many holes are under 200'. One hole however, is very long and that hole is #17! #17 is an awesome downhill bomber over 600'. That hole was definitely the signature hole because it isn't like the others. It's open and you can just launch your driver over 300'.
-Construction is great! The creek is in play on many holes and there are bridges on every hole that has water in play.
-Yes it's almost completely wooded but the holes are different. They require different strategies to get a 2. This course reminds me of Reedy Creek in Charlotte. The holes are all different and unique.
-There is some good elevation here. Throwing off small cliffs, big hills or throwing up some hills definitely gets a teenager like me hooked on disc golf. #2 comes to mind. It's a very fun ace run with an elevation drop of maybe 25 feet.
-Wellspring's friendly yet bigger and stronger older brother Cedarock is also at this park. They are completely different from each other and Cedarock is the place to air it out but you still got #17 on this course.
-Benches and trash cans on just about every hole. That's why both of these courses are very clean.
-#13 is not a typical ace run. It's a very tricky downhill sidearm hole with a C shaped fairway. It's only about 150 feet long. You'd maybe get frustrated if you don't get a 2 on it, but it takes a good precise flick to get your birdie.
Cons: -You may be wondering why I did not put dual sets of tees in the pros section and the reason why is because some of the long tees are beside the shorts or just a few feet back. Some of them are not close which is good but not many of the long tees are really different from the shorts.
-You can't take very small tee pads seriously. They are more of a problem at Cedarock but if you need a run up, you will have to start your run up about five feet behind the tee pad so you won't foot fault.
-#18's tree in the middle of the fairway is literally a disCatcher. It caught my pro starfire, so I had to climb up over 20 feet in the tree just to get it out, to make things worse, it was raining. Expect to get dirty here when it rains because I did.
-Erosion is not really a problem except on #16. It's a mess on #16 but that's it. This place is heavily wooded and clear cutting never occured here. This course was around before I was born so it could be much worse.
Other Thoughts: -Well, this course is the opposite of Cedarock. It's not the "Air it out" course. It has what a great course needs, it has elevation, it has an open hole, it's got a creek, and it's a beautiful walk in the woods. I enjoyed this course and I think it's the easier place to play but yet, it can be more punishing if you miss your line. At Cedarock, it's easy to get out of trouble, you just need a long throw but this course is still forgiving nevertheless. There is a low chance in losing a disc on both courses, you can easily see where you disc will land at Cedarock and the holes here are very short, well most of them and you throw will likely be better than it looked to be. This place is definitely worth the stop and I will say that it's something better than most courses over twenty years old.
-Again, #17 rocks! Downhill 600+ footers are always a +. That's a hole you will remember for sure at Wellspring.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mixing it Up

2-4    5/20/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2013
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's a typical North Carolina-style disc golf course. It's just done really well. I get the feeling while playing, that the builders took their time with this one. It wasn't rushed, so that it would be playable while it was in progress. They could just play on Cedarock until this one was done. So they took their time and found the best lines through the woods that would make for a great experience. This is speculation, but that's the impression I get while playing.

Wellspring doesn't have a signature hole as much as a signature type. Many of the holes feature high tees, throwing over a valley to a highly placed basket. While that requires a bit of walking on relatively steep descents and climbs, the bridges over the swampy areas.

The best part, however, may be the existence of Cedarock. Others have mentioned the figure 8, but the opportunity to combine, eighteen technical, wooded holes, with 18 out in the open is fantastic.
Cons: As much as I like the throw-across-the-valley type of hole, it may be overdone here. There are a ton of them. There's a dry creek bed that runs through most of the course, and a lot of time is spent crossing back and forth.

And while the fairways are all perfect, the rough isn't quite rough enough. It's too easy to get out of trouble on most holes here. Because most of the holes are short, from most bad drives, it's typically easy to get back up to save par. That means that drives are essentially parked or not parked. Decent drives don't mean too much.
Other Thoughts: It's a very good eighteen at Wellspring. It's a great thirty-six in combination.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

I Was There When It Was Built

5+    4/3/2016   4/29/2013
Review By: BuzzSharpe
Played: 69  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 46.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2016
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A GREAT counterpoint to adjacent Cedarock and almost as old. New DISCatchers are much easier to see through the forest than the original Machs and the newly installed tee signs are among the best I've ever seen. Newly installed metal benches spread throughout. Though I'm more of a fan of open courses, Wellspring is among the best wooded courses of which I know. It is a solid, stable White/Blue layout, with well shaped and defined fairways through the forest, offering a wide variety of shots through the eighteen. Because of its layout, it is easy to play a couple of variations of a very well flowing 'skip through nine', as well as a half and half round with nine holes on Cedarock and nine on Wellspring. (WS 1, 4, 7, 10, 13, 14, 15, CR 9, 10, 16, 17, 18, 1, 2, 5, 6, WS 17 &18). One reviewr says that finishng on 17 and 18 is contrary to the character of the course, ending with two open holes, especially with 17's length. Remember though, that those were originally 3 and 4, as the course began on what is now #15, and that overgrown grass area just outside the woods to the right of 15 was the parking lot for both courses, with Cedarock starting at present Hole 9 and that big, open field that is now Cedarock 7 and 8 was our marked and measured driving range and practice putting green. But I think that ending with those two holes adds to the course's overall variety and toughness.
Cons: No real cons for this course for me, despite the woodiness. A few of the holes could use more than the one tee sign. And there are three minor design flaws...Number 7 should have been built as a straight up the hill run to that nice little grove, that would shorten the walk to #8, and eliminate that arbitrary mando, which was only wanted by the hole's builder, who had a shot and a disc that he could park in its existing position. Number 14 needs a second tee pad and basket 16 should be moved about 40' to the right to increase its distance from tee 14. When the course was new, there was a THICK foliage fence that separated them.
Other Thoughts: This is the course where I got my first ace, on what is now #10, then #14, with a 90 degree right dogleg and an appropriate mando tree. It was the group's consensus that I hit the phone pole in the paint. It was on that same hole, in its present position that I got a 150' ricochet ace off of that aforementioned mando tree

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Must Play

5+    4/11/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: Jawa
Played: 39  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wellspring is short and wooded, It has good use of elevation changes and a creek running throughout the course.

The layout is great. It loops back so 18 finishes back at 1. It uses the elevation to make the shorter shots more of a challenge.


Left handed players have it slightly easier on the red tees. Blue tees are about 50/50. So have your anhyzer or thumber shots ready if your a righty.

I only use a putter and a midrange for every hole except 17. Break out the driver, just beware of the pond on the right and the woods on the left.
Cons: The pads are short and not very wide compared to a lot of the newer courses; the shortness isn't too bad since you don't have to crank on your disc much.

I don't really like the blue layout as much. I can see why they put it in (to add a more difficult counterpart) but essentially they just stuck a tee pad right behind a group of trees. It makes the first 30' the hardest part of a lot of the holes.

There are also some holes on both courses that will really make you scratch your head as to what to do, I guess that might be a good thing for some but for me it goes a little to far.

Other Thoughts: A great way to play this course is to make one giant loop with it and Cedarock. You can start at 1 on Cedarock and play through 8; you then turn left and walk in to the woods where you'll find 16 on Wellspring (it hugs the right side of the woods). You play 16-18 then go right to 1-15 on Wellspring and then pop back out of the woods and continue Cedarock on 9.

Holes I love -

#1 - it starts you off with one of the harder holes on the entire course (both layouts). i like the challenge right off the bat.

#3 White - it's a great valley shot with the basket tucked in on the right in a cluster of trees, watch out for roll aways.

#9 White - R to L hyzer shot off a small cliff, just a nice looking shot

#11 Both - one of the longer wooded holes on the course, it's an L to R shot over a slight valley and the basket sits up on a hill guarded by trees.

#14 Both - not a terribly difficult hole, you have to maneuver a gap near the begging and once you're past it you should be fine. it's a great looking hole.

#17 Both - a long downhill bomber that's more open, you've got dense woods on the left and a pond on the right, plus large trees in the middle. If you can get it down and past the obstacles should be a 3.
Other Thoughts: I play this course a couple time a week. I love it. I 've started to switch between the tees to change things up. You can play the figure 8 by stepping out at hole 15 and start playing Cedarock at hole 9 then jump back to 16 in Wellspring.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/28/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 192  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 24.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the little brother to the Cedar Rock course in the same park. But don't confuse short with "inadequate". This is a tight, twisty, woodsy course that is a lot of fun. It has a lot of elevation changes on every hole (I believe), and even has two open grassy runs on the final two holes. The greens are usually sloped and somewhat treed, so they always keep you thinking.

This was a great challeng for the approach game and could be considered a pitch and putt course. I really like pitch and putt, because I still find myself using high speed drivers to turn sharp corners, along with my fairway drivers and midranges.

This was my first time here, and had no problem finding my way around without a map. All signs were superb and other equipment nice as well.
Cons: Much of the hole design seemed to be a bit repetitive but by no means degraded my enjoyment.
Other Thoughts: Here's an idea (a fantasy) - please don't beat me up for the suggestion: If you were to combine the two courses and create a single course, of, say, 27 holes - this place would be world class! Just take the weak holes away from Cedar Rock, and lengthen a few of the Wellspring holes (Nevin or Rennaissance style) and this would have the sickest variety of holes ever. But heck, what's there now are two very different, but homogenous courses that will keep you more than entertained.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Into the woods

5+    5/6/2012   5/12/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The thing that makes Wellspring so great is that it's the yin to Cedarock's yang. The duality of the courses which sit directly beside each other makes them a perfect dg combo.

Wellspring is short and wooded, and probably the best of its kind in Central NC. It offers a great atmosphere inside of Cedarock park where you're right in the mix of an old growth forest which has good elevation changes and a small creek running throughout the course.

The layout for most of the course is very well done, and uses the space in a way that doesn't make you feel like you're crammed in there. It also uses the elevation changes from short but steep hills to make a lot of the shots unique.

The course isn't overly wooded and not incredibly difficult with the exception of some of the holes which will provide a challenge for even intermediate level players. It will force you to use a variety of shots (break out your thumber) and offers multiple lines on many of the holes.

The course is designed so that horrid drives will be punished but having a not good drive will leave you with a chance to save par. It's really all about the birdies here.

The baskets are very well placed on a lot of holes which makes drive precision a key and your putts possibly difficult no matter if you're inside 30' or not.

Personally I like the white layout the most out of the two and not really because it's the easiest.

For 17 and 18 you do pop out in to a more open area and 17 is a long downhill bomber with a pond on the right. It's a really fun and well designed hole.

Brand new Discatchers, yes they finally replaced the baskets here.
Cons: The pads are short and not very wide; the shortness isn't really the problem because it's a short course but the width does bother me sometimes.

I don't really like the blue layout as much. I can see why they put it in (to add a more difficult counterpart) but essentially they just stuck a tee pad right behind a group of trees. It makes the first 30' the hardest part of a lot of the holes.

There are also some holes on both courses that will really make you scratch your head as to what to do, I guess that might be a good thing for some but for me it goes a little to far.

Other Thoughts: A great way to play this course is to make one giant loop with it and Cedarock. You can start at 1 on Cedarock and play through 8; you then turn left and walk in to the woods where you'll find 16 on Wellspring (it hugs the right side of the woods). You play 16-18 then go right to 1-15 on Wellspring and then pop back out of the woods and continue Cedarock on 9.

Holes I love -

#1 - it starts you off with one of the harder holes on the entire course (both layouts). i like the challenge right off the bat.

#3 White - it's a great valley shot with the basket tucked in on the right in a cluster of trees, watch out for roll aways.

#9 White - R to L hyzer shot off a small cliff, just a nice looking shot

#11 Both - one of the longer wooded holes on the course, it's an L to R shot over a slight valley and the basket sits up on a hill guarded by trees.

#14 Both - not a terribly difficult hole, you have to maneuver a gap near the begging and once you're past it you should be fine. it's a great looking hole.

#17 Both - a long downhill bomber that's more open, you've got dense woods on the left and a pond on the right, plus large trees in the middle. If you can get it down and past the obstacles should be a 3.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth a round

1    1/12/2012   1/14/2012
Review By: climbtoo
Played: 41  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was my first round @ Wellspring and did not have a lot of time so it was a (shorter) red tee round for me. I played alone and found it very easy to get around the course - only had to walk up a few holes to see the exact basket location. The signs look new and make it easy to determine distance and locate the basket. It plays pretty short - throw out the par 4, 600 foot plus 17 hole and the average hole length from the red tees is about 204 feet and 220 from the blues. I checked out a some of the blue tee pads and it looks like they would add a number of strokes to your round with more difficult angles and tighter lines. All but 2 holes are in the woods and many of the tee shots are tight so in spite of the short length, Wellspring still offers plenty of challenge. It must be from growing up playing ball golf but I hate like random obstacles that come into play off the tee. @ Wellspring, the designer did a great job laying out almost all of the fairways so if you put the disc where you are aiming, you can get a lot of birdie opportunities. If you can throw 200 down a tight line and can shape it both left and right, you will easily best par but if you tend to spray T-shots, I promise you won't be showing off your scorecard. There is a good mix of left and right tee shots and a variety of dog leg angles so if you play this course a lot, your approaches on longer courses are sure to improve. It's a great 2nd option and totally different experience to the parks other course.
Cons: Tee pads are a little narrow (but you don't really need a lot of room to T a 200' hole) and a few holes are too close so you could get hit by an errant t-shot. It was just a little wet when I played and the hills and creek banks were slick - play next door @ Cedarock in wet weather.
Other Thoughts: Wellsping is a blast to play and I can't imagine anyone thinking that they would not like to come back for another round. Locals should feel very fortunate to have these two different courses to enjoy.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/31/2011   1/2/2012
Review By: BHDragn4207
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pros: Nice for beginners due to it being a shorter course. Fun to play with some interesting shots to the left and right and helps to develop aim skill. Most baskets can be made in 2 good throws. This course covers a nice path through the woods.
Cons: Cons: Course be slippery after rain. There is a horse trail on the last 2 holes and we had to be careful and wait for riders to come through. I could see a rouge disc from the woods causing some trouble there. Careful on the back area of the woods, disc can end up in the pasture with the goats.
Other Thoughts: Other Thoughts: Overall, very nice and easy to play. Quite enjoyable.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.