Burlington, NC 
Wellspring Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 252ft.   3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not much left to say.

5+    8/13/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: Tenacious EJ
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -A wooded course with clear throwing lanes (how novel)
-Holes are well-defined and well-planned
-No holes that make you feel cheated
-Perfect compliment to Cedarock
-Recently groomed, so a lot of the low brush has been removed
Cons: -Trashcans? Not here, sir!
-Benches need replacing
-Frequently damp and muddy
-Several fallen trees in the fairways need to be removed
Other Thoughts: Well, as a set, Cedarock and Wellspring represent just about all you can hope for in 32 holes of golf. Wellspring by itself is certainly a lot of fun, however. Its a wooded course done right, at least, its nearly done right.

What they got right: the holes themselves. Most of the baskets are visible from the tees, and there are clear paths to them. This doesn't make the holes simple, though- you still have to hit the throwing lanes to score well. Thankfully, missing those fairways or deflecting off trees into the brush doesn't triple your score like it might at say, Anderson Park in Carrboro. Its no picnic, but the opportunities for recovery are more plentiful here. Does this make Wellspring easy? Well, yes, relatively, but it also leaves you with no one to blame when you leave the fairways. Back on point, Wellspring boasts some great elevation changes, "water hazards" in the form of a meandering creek and a large pond (off 17, which is not really in play), and a challenging 18 holes of play.

What's wrong with Wellspring? Well, the little things, mostly. The course has newer tee signs that provide hole maps and distances for blue and white tees, but the tees themselves are marked as blue and red. These tees have been called small, which I guess I can see, but it was the design choice to cement in large, slick quartz stones into the pads that I question. Overall they aren't a big problem because most holes are short enough that you don't need a huge pad. The lack of trashcans is a problem- we played at 9:30 am on a 99% humidity day, and water was a necessity, but there was no place to place our empty water bottles. The benches are old, rotten, and falling apart, at least, when they weren't falling over.

Yes, its often damp, as a result of the creek and runoff areas the course weaves around, and yes there are the obligatory ticks and mosquitoes of a course in the Carolina woods, but its very easy to forget all that because Wellspring is simply a fun course to play.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Take the opposite of Cedarock and improve it to get Wellspring

1    8/5/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 207  Reviewed: 187  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy flow and navigation, excellent tee signs. Multiple tee pads, some provided totally different looks and lines, 9 and 17 are good examples of well placed second tee pads. Good use of elevation and terrain. More isolated than Cedarock, even though they share land. Plenty of shade. Many interesting holes, #3 may have been my favorite, throwing over the dried up creek twice from the elevated tee (wish I could play while the water was rushing)

Cons: Not many, course was very solid, but not much stands out to create a wow factor. The holes begin to get repetitive with tight short shot after another. Not much variety in distance, with the exception of hole 7. The course is short with the blue tees averaging 250 feet (reds 227). Hole 8 was my least favorite hole on the course. There was no fairway from the blue tee and the 5 trees surrounding the basket were cheesy.
The tee pads were a touch too small, several had large rocks sticking up that the tee pad was built around. Tees were 7.5'x 3' if I recall correctly.
Other Thoughts: NO ALCOHOL PERMITTED at Cedarock or Wellspring. Wellspring was far superior to Cedarock, but the Terrain is pretty rough, so leave the kids next door.
Be warned hole 14 has some tight merciless woods on the left, stay in the fairway or pay!

There was a shop in between courses, I hear they sell snacks, drinks and even discs.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun nice wooded

1    1/19/2011   1/19/2011
Review By: BigBig5
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2011
4 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Tight wooded course that requires technical shots. Holes 17 and 18 have open fairways making it a nice ending. It uses its terrain very well with a bunch of hills. Some tees are on hills where you can get out some nice shots. Paths and fairways are marked clearly by paint on trees. There are 2 sets of tee boxes making it nice for any level of player. See some park workers doing maintains by cleaning fairways and fixing things up.
Cons: Some hole tee marker numbers are faded and need to be repainted. Some bridges need to be repair, but I see some guy going around doing some work on the course. Baskets need to have some color, because they blend in too much with the terrain. Needs a map on the entrance sign to the course.
Other Thoughts: Over all its a really fun course to play by making you want to come back over and over again.

4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult But Fun

2-4    9/2/2010   1/19/2011
Review By: napoleangunner
Played: 19  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great if you like tight, wooded courses because there are very few open holes. Lots of elevation change as well. You almost feel like you are hiking and playing disc golf at the same time. But the course is a blast to play.
Cons: Could be better marked, but there are usually plenty of locals out there to follow around.
Other Thoughts: Played with two friends last time out. To illustrate how tight some of the lanes are, one of my buddies, teeing off on 13, hit a tree less than halfway down the fairway. His disc bounced off the tree, off the ground, and into the basket for 12. We got free beer that night!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 hHOME SWEET HOME

5+    3/29/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.9 Years
0 Helpful / 26 Not
Pros: great course for ams and pros.JAY REDDING SHOT A 2OVER PAR TWO YEARS AGO IN SNEAKY PETE(pro woods). this pass year i won the am title with a 3 under in pro woods. it can eat you alive if you let it. looks deciving to an advanced player, not even worth trying for a newbie. i played the woods 5 years before i learne a back hand and this is where. no hole over 300 except one THE BEST PAR 3 IN DISC GOLF PEROD!. A 686FT AM 746ft PRO work of art. can take any phenomal round and flush it down the drain. harsh woods on left pond on right (probly have 10 or 15 disc in there and one CE WRAITH(poyur a little beer out for you baby). throw a tee bird to roc on this hole and make you putt. the hole as gradual down hill the hole way pobly 75 ft above the pin when you drive.OH YEA BARRY SHULTZ PLAY HERE 5 YEARS AGO AND DIDNT FINSH IN THE MONEY.
Cons: david wiggin jr won his first advanced tourey here and is the youngest person to win a b-tier tourney.
Other Thoughts: i witnessed back to back aces on the same hole here. hole 8 pro pad LEFT HANDED that holes is the most non left handed hole on the course. hits hits the first one, we celbrate wink. he says"let me see if i can do it again" and the mfer did!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DISCS SITTING ON TOP OF EACH OTHER i yell and just for i hav seen history the main man CHRIS SCARLETE SPEACHLESS. and as sure as im riteing this he tried uit a 3rd time and it faded rite b4 it hit it again. BEST 2 SHOTS IVE EVER SEEN I CAN DIE A HAPPY MAN NOW.

0 of 26 people found this review helpful.

 Cedarock's nasty little brother

5+    10/30/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: Trey133
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I personally love this course.
Beautiful heavily worn in woods shots.
Easy to navigate to next tee.
Multiple tee's (red and blue) offer a great challenge to experienced and heavily skilled players.
Easy to shoot well, or terrible, great risk vs. reward.
Good scenic shots, with lovely elevation change.
Cons: Needs signage, thats the only thing keeping this away from a 4.5 for me.
Teepads are a little small, this really hurts run ups.
Watch out for the drunk farmer on hole 10, at times he shoots his Shotgun out towards the course... its really lame, and very scary.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely worth playing!!! This course is a must see for those traveling through, and a regulars dream come true if you're local to the area.
If you can Deuce 17 from the longs, let me know and i'll buy you a drink.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A- = Almost As Good As It Gets

5+    9/18/2007   4/26/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up (from the longs):
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B+ (Appropriate punishment for inaccuracy leaves you struggling to save par on a few holes if you don't get out of the shoot cleanly.)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A- (Several holes are a little short, but many feel great...especially when you can string together multiple deuces. I invariably leave the course feeling that the course got the better of me on several holes....and I really want another round to do just a little better.)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A- (Lots of shot shapes required and the use of the available topography is maximized.)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- A+ (When the streams are flowing and course has been picked up, it is absolutely idyllic! It is a remote location so there is nothing to be heard but birdsong and a running brook)
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- C (17 is only par 4, but it is a beauty - demands accuracy and the pond lurking on the right midway down the fairway is a real risk for lefties.)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 If only I would have played a little better!

2-4    1/3/2009   1/3/2009
Review By: PanicKJ
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A lot of elevation changes, two sets of tees actually do make the course play very differantly. I actually played better on the long tees. A creek running through the middle of the course comes in to play on at least 9 of the 18 holes. (Make sure to water your discs before you get there so they will stay out of the water) And of course right beside this course is the open cedarock course, also you can camp at the park if you wanted to make a weekend out of it!
Cons: Just like Cedarock the lack of signs make it a must for a newcomer to bring a course map. Below Orlin said that one hole has no decent way to approach the basket. He is right if you are lucky you can throw an anny, or forehand and snake it to the basket as I saw two birdies today. But there used to be another lane where you could throw line drive straight at the basket, however this lane is blocked by some new tree growth. (take a handsaw and fix it, will ya!!)
Other Thoughts: If you live within an hour or two this course is a must. Come early and make a day out of it. I went with two other buddies and we played cedarock one round and wellspring two rounds. Honestly even though we could have gotten another round in I was pretty tired and glad we called it a day! If you are farther away it would be a great place to camp out and play disc golf all weekend!

Camping will cost you 10 dollars a day for up to ten people. More than 10 and it is a dollar extra per person. If you are in county camping is free.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.