Burlington, NC 
Wellspring Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 200ft.   3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Red Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    5/28/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: 11abush11
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Solid woods course
-Easy to navigate
-Field course Cedarock close by.
-Beautiful park for animals,horsebacking,hiking,and of course lots of Disc golf.
-New signs!
-Left and right/ up and down
-Squirrel watching ;)
Cons: -Old baskets with no color tend to blend in with the surrounding forestry.
-Nothing over 300ft at this course until 17 which IMO might be the signature hole for me here.
Other Thoughts: Played both courses on the same day for the first time. I wish the discatchers were in the woods course though.
17 is an awesome hole for sure.
-The biggest downside for Am's and Pro's is that the two courses should have really been combind to make an Above average course with a little of everything. But instead the course layouts seem to be generated more towards recs. Dont get me wrong distance from the gold/blues adds difficulty, There is still no risk reward or those really hard "I want to get par" holes at either course. All about the birds.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Into the woods

5+    5/6/2012   5/12/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The thing that makes Wellspring so great is that it's the yin to Cedarock's yang. The duality of the courses which sit directly beside each other makes them a perfect dg combo.

Wellspring is short and wooded, and probably the best of its kind in Central NC. It offers a great atmosphere inside of Cedarock park where you're right in the mix of an old growth forest which has good elevation changes and a small creek running throughout the course.

The layout for most of the course is very well done, and uses the space in a way that doesn't make you feel like you're crammed in there. It also uses the elevation changes from short but steep hills to make a lot of the shots unique.

The course isn't overly wooded and not incredibly difficult with the exception of some of the holes which will provide a challenge for even intermediate level players. It will force you to use a variety of shots (break out your thumber) and offers multiple lines on many of the holes.

The course is designed so that horrid drives will be punished but having a not good drive will leave you with a chance to save par. It's really all about the birdies here.

The baskets are very well placed on a lot of holes which makes drive precision a key and your putts possibly difficult no matter if you're inside 30' or not.

Personally I like the white layout the most out of the two and not really because it's the easiest.

For 17 and 18 you do pop out in to a more open area and 17 is a long downhill bomber with a pond on the right. It's a really fun and well designed hole.

Brand new Discatchers, yes they finally replaced the baskets here.
Cons: The pads are short and not very wide; the shortness isn't really the problem because it's a short course but the width does bother me sometimes.

I don't really like the blue layout as much. I can see why they put it in (to add a more difficult counterpart) but essentially they just stuck a tee pad right behind a group of trees. It makes the first 30' the hardest part of a lot of the holes.

There are also some holes on both courses that will really make you scratch your head as to what to do, I guess that might be a good thing for some but for me it goes a little to far.

Other Thoughts: A great way to play this course is to make one giant loop with it and Cedarock. You can start at 1 on Cedarock and play through 8; you then turn left and walk in to the woods where you'll find 16 on Wellspring (it hugs the right side of the woods). You play 16-18 then go right to 1-15 on Wellspring and then pop back out of the woods and continue Cedarock on 9.

Holes I love -

#1 - it starts you off with one of the harder holes on the entire course (both layouts). i like the challenge right off the bat.

#3 White - it's a great valley shot with the basket tucked in on the right in a cluster of trees, watch out for roll aways.

#9 White - R to L hyzer shot off a small cliff, just a nice looking shot

#11 Both - one of the longer wooded holes on the course, it's an L to R shot over a slight valley and the basket sits up on a hill guarded by trees.

#14 Both - not a terribly difficult hole, you have to maneuver a gap near the begging and once you're past it you should be fine. it's a great looking hole.

#17 Both - a long downhill bomber that's more open, you've got dense woods on the left and a pond on the right, plus large trees in the middle. If you can get it down and past the obstacles should be a 3.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth a round

1    1/12/2012   1/14/2012
Review By: climbtoo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was my first round @ Wellspring and did not have a lot of time so it was a (shorter) red tee round for me. I played alone and found it very easy to get around the course - only had to walk up a few holes to see the exact basket location. The signs look new and make it easy to determine distance and locate the basket. It plays pretty short - throw out the par 4, 600 foot plus 17 hole and the average hole length from the red tees is about 204 feet and 220 from the blues. I checked out a some of the blue tee pads and it looks like they would add a number of strokes to your round with more difficult angles and tighter lines. All but 2 holes are in the woods and many of the tee shots are tight so in spite of the short length, Wellspring still offers plenty of challenge. It must be from growing up playing ball golf but I hate like random obstacles that come into play off the tee. @ Wellspring, the designer did a great job laying out almost all of the fairways so if you put the disc where you are aiming, you can get a lot of birdie opportunities. If you can throw 200 down a tight line and can shape it both left and right, you will easily best par but if you tend to spray T-shots, I promise you won't be showing off your scorecard. There is a good mix of left and right tee shots and a variety of dog leg angles so if you play this course a lot, your approaches on longer courses are sure to improve. It's a great 2nd option and totally different experience to the parks other course.
Cons: Tee pads are a little narrow (but you don't really need a lot of room to T a 200' hole) and a few holes are too close so you could get hit by an errant t-shot. It was just a little wet when I played and the hills and creek banks were slick - play next door @ Cedarock in wet weather.
Other Thoughts: Wellsping is a blast to play and I can't imagine anyone thinking that they would not like to come back for another round. Locals should feel very fortunate to have these two different courses to enjoy.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/31/2011   1/2/2012
Review By: BHDragn4207
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pros: Nice for beginners due to it being a shorter course. Fun to play with some interesting shots to the left and right and helps to develop aim skill. Most baskets can be made in 2 good throws. This course covers a nice path through the woods.
Cons: Cons: Course be slippery after rain. There is a horse trail on the last 2 holes and we had to be careful and wait for riders to come through. I could see a rouge disc from the woods causing some trouble there. Careful on the back area of the woods, disc can end up in the pasture with the goats.
Other Thoughts: Other Thoughts: Overall, very nice and easy to play. Quite enjoyable.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/10/2011   11/6/2011
Review By: Disc Golf Greg
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dual tee's that not just make holes longer but also change angle of shot
-Good use of elevation including both uphill and downhill shots
-Mando on one of the holes
-Course gives that you that secluded feeling and is not interfered by other park amenities
-Hole 3 and 17 are personal favorites of mine and make great use of the land. Hole 3 being a semi-short technical shot. A RHBH player needs a gentle turnover shot and can score an easy birdie that way. A bad drive will leaving you trying to save Par. And 17 is a 600ft long shot with a pond that comes into play. On the other side is the thick woods, and in the middle lies mature oak? trees. Great hole which is very hard two get a 3 on.
-Trash cans, and litter is never an issue.
-The tiny creek that winds through the course is a great touch.
-Cement tees
-Nice variety of shots, course neither favors lefty or righty.
-Disc Shop where you can buy snacks and discs
Cons: -Lacks tee signs. With tee signs I would have given this course a 4.0 rating.
-Cement tees could be a little wider/longer
-Could use a few longer holes, hole 17 is the only one where you can air it out.
-Some of the walking bridges need new boards to repair existing gaps
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice course which is for sure worth a drive out to play. This park also has a second course which is more open called Cedarock.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/21/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a mostly wooded course with only 2 open shots. Most holes are relatively short with one hole being a 600 foot bomb. The park actually has two 18 hole courses which is a big plus.

Other Pros:
- elevation used
- dual tees
- nice variety of turns
- was not crowded
- very clean
Cons: There weren't tee signs, which would have made navigation a bunch easier. Yes, most holes are rather short but the woods is also fairly tight.

Other Cons:
- #4's basket and #5's tee play kind of close to each other
- tee pads were concrete but too short
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course and plenty of disc golf in the area, so it's worth a stop by. I do like short wooded courses and this did not disappoint. Bring a map if you're a first timer!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Reedy Creek lite

1    5/14/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2012
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wellspring is a classic disc golf course. You feel like you're stepping back to the earlier days of disc golf, and can sense of how far it has come since the 1980s. That said, enjoy the tradition, but don't expect to be wowed, or overwhelmed by anything the course has to offer.
- Solid, heavily wooded course. The first 16 holes are all in the woods, ranging from narrow/nearly non-existent fairways to more open, ho-hum layouts.
- Very good use of elevation. There aren't any extreme elevation holes, but a majority has solid aspects of uphill or downhill shots, or a little bit of both. You see this from the very beginning, with #1, being a tight uphill layout, and have it continue throughout the round.
- Course has plenty of birdie, and ace chances. It's short enough that on most holes, you can be aggressive with putters and mid-range discs off the tee. It's almost a great course for beginners.
- Along those lines, I really appreciated that you had a chance to salvage any shots that went off the fairway. On most of the wooded holes, if your shot strayed into the trees, there was still enough room to make a shot towards the basket, instead of being forced to simply throw back into the fairway. It still brings in a solid risk/reward factor, but it's not going to automatically mean you're looking at a bogey.
- Course has 2 sets of tees. For the most part this is a pro, but there's a slight negative to them. Having two tees is always good, but there's only one hole that offers truly different look from the tees - #13. On several holes, the pro & amateur tees are right next to each other, or one behind the other, where you're essentially throwing the exact same shot.
- I loved having the small creek weave its way through the course. On almost every wooded hole, there's a small bridge, or bridges, over the creek. It's mostly shallow, so no real chance to lose a disc. Only potential risk area I noticed was on #4, where it was up to 2 feet deep.
- Very nice scorecards and maps online. Not that you'll need the map, because the course flows so well. The maps is more handy on some of the holes with blind tee shots.
Cons: Tee pads are, ahem, antiquated. They're short and narrow. It's not a problem on every hole because many are so short, but on other holes where a run up is needed, you might be better off throwing from the dirt next to the pad.
- Metal baskets in the woods are always a bad combination. They're hard to see in the shadows or among the trees.
- A couple holes are squeezed too close together. The biggest culprit is #4 basket is only about 30 feet from #5 tee. If you're on #5 tee and there are people behind you, you'll need to keep a close eye to make sure no discs are flying your direction.
- The course is almost too short. If you take away #17, the short tees average only 205 feet, the longs average only 222 feet. Along the lines, it'd be nice to see a little more variety in the tee pad layouts.
- It's also a slight letdown to have 16 straight wooded holes, only to end with the only two open holes. It'd be a much better finish if you ended with one of the more of the difficult wooded holes, such as #1 or #15.
Other Thoughts: After several holes, I was having major deją vu. Then I realized this course is a slightly scaled down version of Reedy Creek - from distance, fairways width & challenge. The only major difference is that Wellspring isn't overcrowded with college kids.
- I really enjoy the isolation and beauty of the course. You really feel out at nature playing both here and Cedarock.
- It's great coming to a park and having two good courses to play. The fact they're polar opposites means you're going to get a little bit of everything playing both.
- There were some really fun, and challenging holes here. If you're throwing straight, you're going to see plenty of birdies and score low. #3 stood out to me as the epitome of this course has to offer. It's a 208 foot hole (205 from short tees), tight fairway over a slight ravine. A good tee shot will give you a tap-in birdie, an average tee shot may give you a long, difficult birdie putt, and a bad tee shot will find the trees, forcing you to scramble for par.
- This is a solid course. It's more fun than challenging. All things considered this is a good, average course. Nothing overly special or unique here that you won't find at other courses - Reedy Creek, Cornwallis in Durham are similar.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun nice wooded

1    1/19/2011   1/19/2011
Review By: BigBig5
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2011
4 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Tight wooded course that requires technical shots. Holes 17 and 18 have open fairways making it a nice ending. It uses its terrain very well with a bunch of hills. Some tees are on hills where you can get out some nice shots. Paths and fairways are marked clearly by paint on trees. There are 2 sets of tee boxes making it nice for any level of player. See some park workers doing maintains by cleaning fairways and fixing things up.
Cons: Some hole tee marker numbers are faded and need to be repainted. Some bridges need to be repair, but I see some guy going around doing some work on the course. Baskets need to have some color, because they blend in too much with the terrain. Needs a map on the entrance sign to the course.
Other Thoughts: Over all its a really fun course to play by making you want to come back over and over again.

4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult But Fun

2-4    9/2/2010   1/19/2011
Review By: napoleangunner
Played: 19  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great if you like tight, wooded courses because there are very few open holes. Lots of elevation change as well. You almost feel like you are hiking and playing disc golf at the same time. But the course is a blast to play.
Cons: Could be better marked, but there are usually plenty of locals out there to follow around.
Other Thoughts: Played with two friends last time out. To illustrate how tight some of the lanes are, one of my buddies, teeing off on 13, hit a tree less than halfway down the fairway. His disc bounced off the tree, off the ground, and into the basket for 12. We got free beer that night!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/18/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful location. I played the other course here when on business last time. You could really play 36 different.holes in a few hours. Great up and down walks. Baskets are good at securing discs. Very friendly locals around on this afternoon. I highly recommend this complex with the bathrooms and scenery.
Cons: Absolutely no markings. Thanks to the locals I could find my way around. Needs new markers and tee painting.. A printed off the internet hole guide is a must. These are the reasons why I only gave a 3.
Other Thoughts: If you love outdoors you have got to come and if you have time play both courses. I was there around from 2 to about 4 in the afternoon. Locals from teens to old guys like me were super friendly and helpful. You MUST be able to climb up and down. Bring some peanuts for the chip monks.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.