Burlington, NC 
Wellspring Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 282ft.   3 / 294ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 hHOME SWEET HOME

5+    3/29/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14 Years
0 Helpful / 26 Not
Pros: great course for ams and pros.JAY REDDING SHOT A 2OVER PAR TWO YEARS AGO IN SNEAKY PETE(pro woods). this pass year i won the am title with a 3 under in pro woods. it can eat you alive if you let it. looks deciving to an advanced player, not even worth trying for a newbie. i played the woods 5 years before i learne a back hand and this is where. no hole over 300 except one THE BEST PAR 3 IN DISC GOLF PEROD!. A 686FT AM 746ft PRO work of art. can take any phenomal round and flush it down the drain. harsh woods on left pond on right (probly have 10 or 15 disc in there and one CE WRAITH(poyur a little beer out for you baby). throw a tee bird to roc on this hole and make you putt. the hole as gradual down hill the hole way pobly 75 ft above the pin when you drive.OH YEA BARRY SHULTZ PLAY HERE 5 YEARS AGO AND DIDNT FINSH IN THE MONEY.
Cons: david wiggin jr won his first advanced tourey here and is the youngest person to win a b-tier tourney.
Other Thoughts: i witnessed back to back aces on the same hole here. hole 8 pro pad LEFT HANDED that holes is the most non left handed hole on the course. hits hits the first one, we celbrate wink. he says"let me see if i can do it again" and the mfer did!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DISCS SITTING ON TOP OF EACH OTHER i yell and just for i hav seen history the main man CHRIS SCARLETE SPEACHLESS. and as sure as im riteing this he tried uit a 3rd time and it faded rite b4 it hit it again. BEST 2 SHOTS IVE EVER SEEN I CAN DIE A HAPPY MAN NOW.

0 of 26 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/23/2010   3/24/2010
Review By: AdamCaudle
Played: 25  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.1 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - This course has a good mix of left and right turning shots, as well as a few good overhands and a few straight shots.
- The fairways are tight enough to punish errant throws, but they are well defined, and fair.
- A few holes can be played with multiple routes.
- Very good use of elevation. A few holes play from a hill then across the creek, then back up a hill. A few play downhill the whole way (17, and 18.) Then 8 plays pretty steep uphill.
- It's right next to Cedarock Disc Golf Course, it's polar opposite.
- A few holes really stand out as fun to me: 8 is pretty neat where the fairway goes up a hill for about 75-100 feet, and then cuts 90 degrees left and another 75 to the basket. There's a mando right around the big tree at the corner. 17 really stands out because of how you just come right out of the woods to a big, fairly open downhill bomber. There's a big pond to the right and down the hill and a few mature trees in the middle to punish a shot that fades to early or is too high. And then 18 right after that is fun. It's a cut out of the woods and you throw over or around a 30 foot tall tree that sits in the middle of the fairway about 2/3 of the way down, with basket sitting to the back left edge of the opening, with a 15 foot drop off into the woods about 30 feet behind it.
- The course seems to be kept pretty well, I didn't see too much trash the last time out.
- The two sets of tees offer a few different looks on some holes with a bit of extra length from the blue tees.
- The course is pretty scenic with creek running through it and the hilly terrain. 17 is a beautiful shot with the pond to the right.
Cons: - Some of the tees have rocks embedded into them, it's not a huge deal but it makes the footing somewhat awkward on a few holes. I think it's more mental than anything, though.
- The holes could use some nice tee signs showing length from each tee.
- I think a few trash cans out on the course we keep this course from having any trash (though it's not really a problem.)
Other Thoughts: Just when you start doing pretty good, this course can eat away at your score with a few bad throws. A really nice course that I have a ton of fun when I play.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Typical NC woods

5+    2/20/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in Cedarock Park which also houses the Cedarock course. You can play 2 totally different courses right next to each other. There are also bathrooms, a playground, basketball court, and picnic areas in the park. Course is set back in the woods and is mostly secluded from the rest of the park. Mutliple concrete tee pads for 2 different layouts. Short tee pads are fun to play as they change not only the length on some holes, but change the angles and lines you need to hit. Several of the holes use the hills well. You need to throw uphill several times, but also need to be able to control your throws going downhill. No repetitive feel to this course like some wooded courses. Every hole feels like a new and different shot.
Cons: Navigation can be difficult your first few times on the course. I got lost a few times when I started playing this course. No signs telling you where to go. There is also no signage to help determine basket location or distance. That would be a great area where they could improve this course.
Other Thoughts: This course is exactly what I think of when I think of a wooded course. There are ace and birdie runs available, but there are also tight enough fairways to punish you if you are not accurate. You must be able to thow shots that break left and right. Definitely a course that makes you learn to shape some shots. Mostly a putter and mid course. But hole #17 changes everything with a huge long bomb hole overlooking the fishing pond. Hole #18 is also relatively open compared to the rest of the course. I really like having 2 totally different style holes to finsih the round. Even though this is a heavily wooded course I never fell like it's unfair or overly punishing. It's just a straight-up well designed course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Cedarock's nasty little brother

5+    10/30/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: Trey133
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I personally love this course.
Beautiful heavily worn in woods shots.
Easy to navigate to next tee.
Multiple tee's (red and blue) offer a great challenge to experienced and heavily skilled players.
Easy to shoot well, or terrible, great risk vs. reward.
Good scenic shots, with lovely elevation change.
Cons: Needs signage, thats the only thing keeping this away from a 4.5 for me.
Teepads are a little small, this really hurts run ups.
Watch out for the drunk farmer on hole 10, at times he shoots his Shotgun out towards the course... its really lame, and very scary.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely worth playing!!! This course is a must see for those traveling through, and a regulars dream come true if you're local to the area.
If you can Deuce 17 from the longs, let me know and i'll buy you a drink.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Short, wooded, and challenging

5+    12/3/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wooded course with distinct fairways. I love these types of wooded courses where what you are supposed to do is clear. The designers did a very nice job of carving out a narrow fairway. The course is well maintained with difficult but attainable birdie chances. Big arms will be able to play almost every hole with a mid range disc or two. Although, the course is highlighted by a very long #17 (700'+) with water in play on the right.
Cons: Very popular course so it's often crowded. Be prepared to play slow. Might like to see a few holes lengthened a bit. Out in the middle of nowhere so it's a long trip to get to it.
Other Thoughts: Nice course for the dogs to run around but overlapping holes means social dogs will interact. There is a way to play both courses in Burlington as a 36 hole loop but only locals really know the route.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/25/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: rossaroo
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: love the choice of open or wooded course. Throw any way you need to and it will get to the basket. open but tough and makes you comite to your shoot. My favorit is 17th hole 686 am and 720 pro par 3.....
Cons: horse poo... on hole 1 and 17.
Other Thoughts: come early to play both or just a figure 8..... Yes it can be a 36 hole course..

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Technical Course

5+    6/26/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: vonDrehle
Played: 43  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - This is a fun little technical course to work on your short game and even more your accuracy, especially on the longer pads.
- There is a fairly good variety of shots that can be used from the tee. This is one of the few courses where on a hole or two I will actually pull out a thumber on a drive.
- The shorter tees offer an easy course that is pretty straightforward and the longer tees make you think a little more by having some strategically placed trees.
- I really liked hole #17 because after an entire course of tightly wooded holes you get to play a long open hole that you can grip it and rip it.
- This course has two teepads for I believe every hole.
Cons: - The biggest and most obvious con for this course is no tee signs. With several semi-blind hyzer/anny holes you have to essentially walk the fairways on a lot of holes to see where the basket is.
- This course used Mach V (or that type) of basket. This along with no tee-signs makes some baskets very hard if not impossible to spot from the tee pad.
Other Thoughts: I find this course to be very fun to play. It is short enough for a beginner to attempt and tight enough to test more advanced players, especially if playing the longer tees. If you are passing through Burlington I would def. stop by for a round at both of the courses in the park.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 woods!

1    5/8/2009   5/8/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Provides great contrast to Cedarock - this is a tight, wooded course that requires much more technical shots. Like Cedarock, it makes great use of terrain - no two holes are alike. There are many bridges in place, and navigating the course is quite easy. Benches on almost every hole are always a nice touch. Multiple tees on each hole allow players of all skill levels to enjoy playing here. This was one of the better wooded courses I've played - while most of the shots were through tight alleys, there were often several options on what you could throw. 17 and 18 are the only open holes on the course, giving you a few chances to air it out before you finish.
Cons: Like with Cedarock, I think that this course could benefit from bigger tees. Being a shorter course though, a run-up is not completely necessary so it doesn't take much away from the course.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course to play right after Cedarock. They are completely different - Cedarock favors those with more distance, while Wellspring will favor those with better accuracy and a good short game. These two parks make for an awesome day of disc golf - well worth the stop if you're passing through town.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A- = Almost As Good As It Gets

5+    9/18/2007   4/26/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up (from the longs):
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B+ (Appropriate punishment for inaccuracy leaves you struggling to save par on a few holes if you don't get out of the shoot cleanly.)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A- (Several holes are a little short, but many feel great...especially when you can string together multiple deuces. I invariably leave the course feeling that the course got the better of me on several holes....and I really want another round to do just a little better.)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A- (Lots of shot shapes required and the use of the available topography is maximized.)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- A+ (When the streams are flowing and course has been picked up, it is absolutely idyllic! It is a remote location so there is nothing to be heard but birdsong and a running brook)
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- C (17 is only par 4, but it is a beauty - demands accuracy and the pond lurking on the right midway down the fairway is a real risk for lefties.)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Beware of hole 10!

1    2/23/2009   2/23/2009
Review By: itsmeanttobe78
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: tech. shots needed for pros and newbies like me. Fun course with great use of natural enviroment.
Cons: BEWARE OF HOLE 10. If you disc flies over the small barbed wire fence, do not touch the barbed wire. You will get and electric shock.
Other Thoughts: The directions getting there were a bit fuzzy. Disreguard the 6.4 miles and after 3-4 miles, start looking for the left at Friendship-Patterson Mill Rd. The wellspring course is past the farm area, not next to it.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.