Burlington, NC 
Wellspring Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 207ft.   3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Wellspring

2-4    8/26/2008   1/14/2009
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Beautiful Park
-Great use of Elevation
-Is in same park as Cedarock which is another great course, get a 2 for 1 deal.
-Very Clean and well taken care of.
-Great Variety of Shots
-Park has great facilites and has camping areas.
Cons: Only negative to the course would be that the course can be hard to navigate the first time thru.
Other Thoughts: Great technical course. Alot of the holes are shorter in length but require good accuracy and placement of shots. OB Creek and elevation changes make this a challenging course despite the distance. Very much worth the drive, especially when you factor in Cedarock is in the same park.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Hellspring

5+    1/7/2009   1/7/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, very scenic, lovely little creek. Elevation makes it challenging. Very wooded fairways. The baskets are now numbered sufficiently to avoid confusion.
Cons: Blue tees aren't all that more difficult or longer than red tees, just different angles a bit. Seriously need a sign pointing the way to hole 11. You go up hill and down hill a lot so it feels a little like hiking, especially with the rocky ground.
Other Thoughts: The gas station at the intersection of US 49 and Friendship Patterson Mill Rd sells discs. No really. It would be nice if they used the lake along hole 17 more, perhaps a throw over it. I don't know, still one of the better course I've played, just needs some polish in the nature of signage.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 If only I would have played a little better!

2-4    1/3/2009   1/3/2009
Review By: PanicKJ
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A lot of elevation changes, two sets of tees actually do make the course play very differantly. I actually played better on the long tees. A creek running through the middle of the course comes in to play on at least 9 of the 18 holes. (Make sure to water your discs before you get there so they will stay out of the water) And of course right beside this course is the open cedarock course, also you can camp at the park if you wanted to make a weekend out of it!
Cons: Just like Cedarock the lack of signs make it a must for a newcomer to bring a course map. Below Orlin said that one hole has no decent way to approach the basket. He is right if you are lucky you can throw an anny, or forehand and snake it to the basket as I saw two birdies today. But there used to be another lane where you could throw line drive straight at the basket, however this lane is blocked by some new tree growth. (take a handsaw and fix it, will ya!!)
Other Thoughts: If you live within an hour or two this course is a must. Come early and make a day out of it. I went with two other buddies and we played cedarock one round and wellspring two rounds. Honestly even though we could have gotten another round in I was pretty tired and glad we called it a day! If you are farther away it would be a great place to camp out and play disc golf all weekend!

Camping will cost you 10 dollars a day for up to ten people. More than 10 and it is a dollar extra per person. If you are in county camping is free.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/18/2008   12/22/2008
Review By: kerplunk
Played: 31  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mixture of skills required. Good elevation changes. Creek in play on many holes. Scorecard/map available online. Friendly locals. Nice contrast to Cedarock in the same park.
Cons: No signs. All holes but 17 and 18 are short woods holes, so not a lot of variety.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing this course, but it could have been difficult if I didn't have a map and meet some locals. The combination of this course with Cedarock in the same park is a nice contrast, but I think maybe they would be better combined into a really good 27 hole course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Woods Course

5+    4/25/2009   11/12/2008
Review By: Tyson
Played: 61  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2009
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course with great set up and lines. Shorts are a dream and easy to score well on. Just keep in in the fairway. Longs are challenging and offer a good layout. Very good hike, friendly locals and great park amenities. There is great elevation change as you play the course. All holes have two tee pads, except hole 14, which shares a tee pad for both the short and long set up. There is usually a weekly on monthly on the weekend and you can go to www.cedarockdgc.com to check on the schedule. Have fun!
Cons: Not much to say here. Very good course.
Other Thoughts: Love this place. It is the sister of Cedarock and in the same 100+ acre park. Good times to be had, if you have not been there. There is also a scenic waterfall that you can visit within a few hundred yards of the parking lot, just head down the concrete path on the north end of the parking lot and listen for the running water.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A really fun, but short, woods course!

1    7/7/2007   10/12/2007
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2010
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really fun course to play! The first 16 holes are all in the woods. The woods holes require accuracy and they have some nice elevation changes and a good mixture of left and right shots. The wooded terrain and the creek make for some very scenic and soothing holes. There's a creek that comes into play on 11 holes, but it's usually pretty dry.
The long, majestic, downhill 17th hole is one of my favorite holes in NC. You huck your disc with all you've got downhill toward the basket far away. Although it's pretty open over a wide grassy meadow there are trees to avoid and you don't want to go left into the thick trees or right into the pond. You also let your approach shot fly with all you've got and watch it float down the hill, hopefully toward the basket. You can also let it rip on the pretty open 18th hole as well.
The alternate Long tee pads add considerable challenge to the course.
Cons: Some will think the course is too short.
One hole has a fairway without a good route to the basket.
Trash can build up from careless people.
Other Thoughts: Course Levels: Regular & Long = White
Wellspring provides a very satisfying contrast to the mostly open Cedarock course. Taken together you can indulge in a full disc golf banquet.

You be the judge-
Some longer throwers think that this course is too short. Shorter throwing players will appreciate the opportunity to score well if they're throwing consistent, accurate shots.

See the Files Section for my complete evaluation notes.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.