St. Louis (St. John), MO 
Endicott Park Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #5 (Taken 4/2009)
-- / --   3 / 328ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee (downhill drive; basket is just out of frame on left side)



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Endi

5+    11/17/2013   11/21/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 1.3 Years
Pros: Endi offers a wide variety of shots for everyone out there. For the most part I would consider endicott to be more of a technical course, though there are a few opportunities to air your arm out a bit. There are quite a few birdie-able hole out there however, if you get off of the fairway at all on some.. you are scrambling for your bogey..Endicott it an older park so.. the woods are made up of very large matured trees.

Added Pros include: Concrete Tee pads, 3/4 pin locations, trash cans, bathrooms, full electric pavilions, practice basket, metal tee signs, park benches etc etc.
Cons: - doesnt loop
-sometimes crowded.. One of STL's most popular courses (not necessarily a bad thing)
-sometimes there are family reunions, bbq's etc at the pavilion that can get a bit loud
Other Thoughts: Thank you Dave Mac for designing this one all those years ago!! One of my favorite courses though it kills me all of the time

It's the Endicott of the world as we know it

1    11/25/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice signs with Hole #, Par, Distance, Next Tee arrows. Some of the signs had paper clips to indicate which pin is being used but it was inconsistently done. Perhaps people have taken the clips off of some holes and left others.
2) Next tee arrows on little concrete pieces near the baskets. These are inconsistent but they will help more than they will hurt.
3) Multiple pins available on this course which is an awesome feature. The holes can change dramatically.
4) Excellent use of the elevation change on this course. There are some extreme rises and falls, but overall there are hardly any level holes. Basically elevation change is an integral feature of this courses design.
5) The turf seems to be in decent shape. Most of the fairways are in good shape so any of your drives that hit an early tree you will have decent footing.
6) There are some benches available on the course. Feel free to have a seat and enjoy the view.
7) The two retaining walls I encountered seemed to have been done professionally. This is something that rarely happens on disc golf courses. Usually some volunteer just offers up their time and they build a wall . . . too often those will fail due to improper procedures. This is all part of raising the bar in disc golf course design, installation, and maintenance. I am all for things being done properly which makes them sustainable.
8) Practice basket available in between #1 and #18. I didn't see the basket because I took a shortcut across a field, but when I was on #9 I heard people practice putting and saw where the basket was located.
9) Strong bag hooks located on some of the tee sign posts. While I wouldn't use these because my bag weighs so much, I can see their value on the wet days .
10) Excellent distance variation here with some holes playing in the 200's, 300's, and even 400's. There are a lot of different shots and discs needed on this awesome variety so bring everything you have got.
11) Beginner friendly on most holes because it is only moderately wooded. Sure there are a couple tougher holes but that is ok to expose people to a little bit of everything.
12) Foliage density is a key design feature here also with some mildly wooded, to some moderately wooded, to those few tight dense holes. This type of variety can only be considered a positive.
13) Nice big concrete tee-pads. I always appreciate a full run-up on concrete and good solid area for my plant foot.
14) While this course is in a typical park setting, there are really very few places where the interaction with other park users could be negative.
15) Plenty of garbage cans available on this course.
16) Very nice park with tennis, baseball, playgrounds, bathrooms, a pavilion, etc etc etc . . . a typical city or county park . . . but it looks to be well maintained.
17) A river/drainage swale is used as an integral feature on half a dozen holes. Skips or roll-a-ways can lead to difficult shots in this drainage swale filled with underbrush.
18) Gateway Titan baskets are in good shape. They seem to catch a little more narrow than other manufacturers baskets which I do not like (because it means missed putts). However if you hit the right spot they catch just fine. The 24 chains are helpful for that if you hit the sweet spot.
Cons: 1) Pin indicating system was inconsistently used. I am not sure if maybe someone came with a paper clip to mark a specific hole or two, but I sure wish they all were indicated if not for visual identification of the baskets . . . for the distance. I am a travelling disc golfer who plays many courses only once. The best courses will no create frustration due to lack of info for non-locals and first timers.
2) There are some areas of wear which are due to compaction and lead to erosion. I think the standard for disc golf could be to put in a 10' diameter circle of mulch around every tee. It will help with compaction and thus erosion. It will look better than worn out turf. It will really improve the image of disc golf when there are no areas of no turf/mud.
3) The most egregious areas of conflict with other park users would be around #18 tee and the sidewalk towards the practice basket . . . and also when the course plays across the outfield of a baseball field.
4) Hole #5 and #6 are a little goofy. The basket I could see from #5 tee was actually #6's basket. Fortunately for me . . . I cannot throw that far so I ended up only 25' short of the #5 basket even though I was trying to reach the further one. Then #6 tee is tucked way back to the right. I would say that #6 fairway is in danger of tee shots on #5 depending on the basket location.
5) The neighborhood looks to be a tad bit sketchy. I didn't have any problems but it looks like you might want to be careful with your vehicle and stuff inside.
6) The homes along # and #6 look to be in play with some really bad shots . . . Fortunately I threw towards #6 on #5 or my disc might have been further over to the left. I imagine plenty of discs end up in their yard . . . I wonder how many get retrieved.
7) There are a couple of holes that do run parallel to others and on a slope so it is possible to end up in the wrong fairway.
8) I did notice one thing with the Gateway baskets . . . I feel like the way they attached the chains could have been done better. Basically they attached the chains with a weld of the last chain link directly to the basket framework. The problem with this is that the chains always seem to settle on the inner part of the welded chain link. If they settled on the outer edge of that chain link the basket would effectively be 1-2" wider at the top. This might be the difference I was noticing. I am sending Dave a message right now to see if this is something they have experimented with or possibly corrected.
Other Thoughts: Another solid St. Louis course. I had to choose this one because of proximity and I am glad I made it here. I had already played the cave courses as well as Jefferson Barracks. This is a decent design and it is fun with a little bit of challenge. It is also beginner friendly so it gets knocked up because of that aspect. It is in good shape (for the most part). There are a few safety and navigation issues so it settles in as a solid 3.5 disc course for me. It could be better with some better signage and a little bit more maintenance. Jefferson Barracks just seemed to be in better shape overall and the elevation was more dramatic there too. It just seemed like a cleaner course. Either way I would return to either.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Endicott

2-4    9/8/2012   9/9/2012
Review By: birdman101
Played: 52  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/17/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays through a county park, with several other amenities right with it, but the course is for the most part off on its own.

It is an 18 hole course with 3 pin placements on each hole to change it up from time to time(I can't attest to how often they get moved, but at other courses in the area some get moved weekly)

Concrete tees are in great shape and perfect size.

In the two rounds I played I used 12 of the 14 discs in my bag so it requires a variety of different shots.

The front 9 is played through mature trees, and on some rolling hills, so there is a good use of elevation. Several tough uphill shots, along with nice downhill shots. Holes 5 and 6 play near some backyards which add difficulty with those yards being OB.

The back 9 is a little bit tighter playing in and out of the woods, and forcing a little more accuracy off the tee.

There is a practice basket next to the playground near hole 1.

There are tee signs (see cons) and benches at each hole
Cons: Tee signs are the same crappy ones that are at most St. Louis courses they just have the distances and a bolt telling you which position its in, so if you have never played it before you may have to walk some fairways to find the baskets. I HAVE HEARD AND SEEN PICS OF NEW TEE SIGNS NOT SURE WHEN I WILL GET UP THERE TO SAY THEY ARE ALL IN THOUGH

I don't remember seeing any trash cans on the course, but there wasn't much trash laying around either.

One of the pins for 18 is on the other side of a walking path, so be careful.

a few fairways play extremely close to one another, so there could be a bit of a safety concern with errant throws.

The layout of the course could be confusing for first time players, so you may want a map or a guide. Guide may be preferred with the tee signs. There are square blocks by each pin with an arrow pointing to the next tee, but I say 1 pointing the wrong way, and several you could barely make out the arrow at all.
Other Thoughts: It was a little wet from the rain the day before, and seems that after a lot of rain it could stay swampy for a long period of time

First tee is near the pavilion in the middle of the park, and 18 ends by the tennis courts.

This is a nice course and worth playing, but there are others in the area I would recommend over Endicott

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very Solid 18

5+    8/5/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: ervin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 3/14/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really nice variety of in wooded and semi-open holes. Really nice terrain shots, and some really fun tunnel in the woods kind of shots. The hole that got me the first time I played it was 15, which is in the back of a culdesac of trees and is almost impossible to find unless you're with someone who knows where they're going.
Cons: The course layout is pretty top notch, but the challenge is in finding where you're headed. If you don't know your way around, or where the next hole is, you can wander all over the place. It's a better course to play with someone who knows where they're going--having played there three times, I'm still not totally sure I know where the holes go. Holes 2-8 feel like they're on top of one another, and that you can really hit someone on drives and approaches. It's a fun course, but unless you're with a someone who has played this course before, you might want to play with the league so they can show you around.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good addition to a road trip

1    3/4/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 99  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: While Endicott Park is not a course you would make a roadtrip around, it is a great inclusion for those who have just gotten done playing slightly more epic courses like Jefferson Barracks. Here's what I liked:

Elevation: This course's specialty... elevation was the key factor of every hole. i like this because even if a course lacks trees (which this one doesn't) uphill shots are still challenging and downhill bombs are still fun!

Treeeeees: Lots of trees with little underbrush. makes for fun challenges, without the risk of lost discs

Difficulty... Not overly challenging. Definitely some deuce opportunities, but there are also a few holes (7,12) that are very very difficult! Makes for fun round

Cons: Signage!!! This was the only thing holding my review of Jefferson Barracks back, and the signage here is just as bad, and is even more needed since there are some baskets that look like they are on the fairway of other holes!! Lame! As at jefferson Barracks, the flow here was bad :(

Personally, I like feeling a bit isolated from other things like baseball games, roads, houses, etc when I disc golf, and unfortunately that factor just isn't present here... feels like youre playing in a busy park.
Other Thoughts: Fun course! Definitely a good warmup/cooldown from other more challenging courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Endicott hits the spot. (sorry)

5+    5/30/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 43  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'll start by saying that this was the first disc golf course that I ever played (not counting the few I played in the late 80's early 90's) and I hated it the first time. I understand why I wasn't excited that time and I like it much better now.
The course was just the right length for 18 holes that don't leave you exhausted and had lots of creative use of the terrain to create shot variety. As with most St. Louis area courses, Endicott has most holes surrounded by brushy/wooded areas, but it does NOT suffer from the thick, unforgiving honeysuckle and kudzu vines that make finding a lost disc impossible on many other courses. It's also nice that the pin positions on this course change frequently and they're all good spots.
The grass was well maintained (for a city/county park) and the concrete tees kept the mud down to a very respectable minimum for this area. The 5 or so holes that are actually "in the woods" were very nicely manicured to allow clean shots with reasonable margin for error and, again, finding errant shots was no real issue. You'll get a very specific opportunity to use just about every technique and disc you have (with the exception of really monstrous throws).
As a final Pro for this course - it was nice and shady. A very welcome addition for the summer weather and there's a QT about a block away for refreshments.
Cons: Some of the things that turned me off so badly the first time I played Endicott are still present... but not as much of an issue. The majority of the holes on the course take you through a series of low valleys that obviously get very wet and nasty at times. It was fine this time, but in early March, this place was all mud and really unsightly. There are no trash receptacles at the actual tees. This leads to every tee's bag hook being used as a place to hang bags of empty beer cans and those seem to start overflowing onto the ground frequently. The crowd here was mostly "cool" and mature, but there are a often a few jerks and drunks to make it awkward. There is also little to no way to know where to go for the next tee on any of the holes and a few of them weren't marked... make sure you download the map or you will wander aimlessly. Similarly, the baskets are just a dull metal and very hard to see until you're almost on top of them.
Other Thoughts: While I love having a lot of big, open holes to try to pound out big drives - and Endicott doesn't really have any really long holes (with 445 being the maximum and 290 being the average), I didn't really miss it because one good, well aimed power-drive can get you to putting range on the longer holes here.
With some improvements in drainage and vigilance on the littering, this park could easily be a real gem.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety

1    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly disc golf exclusive area of a large multi-use park. The front 9 has some really nice hills to play up and down, with some tough uphill shots and some fun shots back down. Most of the holes play through grassy park areas with lots of nice mature trees. These holes often have some brushy rough in play off the fairway but plenty of different lines to hit through the trees if you're accurate. A few holes play in the wooded area with tighter lanes through the brush and trees for a little variety.

There is a good mix of hole shapes here that will force you to have a balanced game to score well. A nice balance of left and riight turning holes with some straight shots and one s-shaped fairway through the woods makes for a pretty fair set of holes for righties or lefties. There are a few ace runs and a few longer holes mixed in to keep things interesting.

There are multiple pin placements that seemed like they would really change up the holes. Locals told us that they move reasonably often, so that would keep the course fresh, and offer some really nice tournament layouts with more of the toughest placements in use. The concrete tees were in good shape, as were the baskets.
Cons: The course gets a little repetitive, especially on the back 9. The end of the course has much less elevation and just starts to feel a little too similar to holes you've already played. There's not a ton of real challenge for better players here unless most of the pins are in the tougher settings, and it seemed like they're usually in more of a mix. The signs had bolts to say which pin placement was in use, but many were incorrect, and with no hole layout they don't keep you from having to walk up the hole anyway unless you know the course pretty well already. There were some pretty muddy spots in the lower sections of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course, and definitely worth a stop in the St. Louis area. There are some fun holes and good use of elevation, and some wooded holes to balance out the park-style holes. Beginners will find it challenging but approachable, only the few wooded holes are really punishing for errant shots. More experienced players won't find it too challenging, but there are enough fun holes and some tight lines to keep it interesting.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Trees

1    9/18/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2011
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Endicott has some very solid baskets (they are Titans after all), good tees, and well cut grass. This is a tough course; I rank it as a Pro because when I play I want to be challenged and this is one course that will do it. Most of the trees there are mature, so the shots will hardly change in the coming years. This course is also easy to get to; it is no more than a mile off of the interstate. Hitting a tree was definitely a penalty here (something you don't always see at a course). This must be a St. Louis theme but there were usually three pin placements on the holes, and the tee sign would tell you which one it was currently at. This course had a decent amount of elevation changes. It also required that you have a good hyzer, anhyzer, forehand and possibly hyzer-flip in your arsenal to produce a solid score. The holes were fairly average in distance; a few of the holes when they were in the "C" pin placement were long though.
Cons: To me this course fell short in a few areas. In a lot of situations I found some shots required luck vs. skill to get close to the pin. Hole 7 was planted all the way atop a hill near 12's tee; seeing as it was already a long shot you ran the risk of throwing onto someone on 12 if you made a poor shot. That whole shot until the last 100ft was riddled with pointless trees on the outer edges of the fairway. Some of them could be cleaned up but in no way should all of them be removed as they are still young and it would hurt the condition of the course. In some cases I got lost looking for the next tee, some better signage could fix that (this goes for most STL area courses). The elevation changes on the front 9 were great; up and down as well as some side hill angles. When I got to the back 9 though I was really let down, the hill played neutral on almost all the holes as you shot across it on almost every shot. The course took its biggest hit on the rating from me because of the poor use of the hill on the back, like I said it really took the wind out of my sail. There is also a hole where you throw very close to a ball field, during the summer it may be unplayable or you might even throw into some people that are using the field.
Other Thoughts: This is not a course for someone to really enjoy on a one-time play; you need to play it once and then digest it, come back a second time then I think you can appreciate its design. I felt that a lot of the shots required someone to have played there a few times to get some muscle memory. If I lived in St. Louis and played this course more I am sure I would enjoy it more than I did my first time I played it. For people that are just stopping through it might be a frustrating course, but stick with it; the course is a different challenge that you don't see a lot of places. Holes 4-6 were my favorite of the course because they incorporated some things I really enjoy at courses uphill/downhill shots and hyzer/anhyzer shots. Despite being a tough and challenging course I didn't leave feeling like I had to play it again.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 nice, challenging city park

5+    11/21/2009   11/25/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 362  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -endicott has a lot of nice amenities such as 4x10 concrete tees, seasonal bathrooms, a nice kiosk w/scorecards, ample parking, and a large shelter.
-the park has great uses of elevation, not only uphill and downhill shots, but a lot of fall away greens too, giving some of the flatter holes more character.
-although the park is a city park, it has enormous amounts of trees and large honeysuckle-type bushes, which allows the holes to be shaped in such a way that there is a lot of shot variety, a lot of straight shots but also r-->l and l-->r
-holes 7 and 12 are great holes. 7 has a tight fairway for the first 300 then up a steep hill to an elevated green, threes are a premium here, 12 is the blairwitch hole...400', S tunnel shot ending in a protected green, 3 is also a good score. The course is worth checking out just for these holes if nothing else.
-3 pin placements that are moved regularly and really vary the shots.
-a couple mando holes.
-a nice practice basket setup with a spiraling set of blocks at different distances from 8' to 50'
Cons: -I have the same beef with the course signs here that I have with all STL courses...they stink. They have the A, B, C placement distances and a bolt by the current placement, but no accompanying map, it hurts the person who hasn't played there before as they have to walk about half the holes before shooting.
-holes 3-7 are all super soggy along the draw during spring and fall. There has been some effort to alleviate this but it is still bad.
-Navigation can be a bit hairy, bring a course map.
Other Thoughts: This course is great. It really has a nice secluded feel even though it is in the city and right on an interstate.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    2/9/2009   2/17/2009
Review By: tdortch
Played: 61  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is another great St. Louis course. There are elevation changes, wooded and open holes, hyzer and anhyzer shots. The layout is pretty easy to follow, but I did get turned around a few times (more on that in the cons). This course will challenge you, which I think makes a course fun. The tees were mostly in the long position when I played it. If I remember correctly, there are 3 pin locations per hole. Definitely worth stopping by if you're in the area, or even if you are planning a DG trip, add this one to your list!
Cons: As seems to be the norm in St Louis, there are no signs telling you where to go to the next hole. I took pics with my phone of the layout, which helped to some extent, but the alt. pin locations are written on there and the sign is kind of old, so i had to kinda look around sometimes. Especially going from hole 12 (which I think is the "Blair Witch" hole), to hole 13. I took a little trail near the pin on 12 and I ended up at the basket for 13. Not a huge deal, but after a hole like that, it would be nice to know where to go. That one is tough...
The course was really, really muddy when I was there, but a recent snowstorm melt-off did that. I don't think it would hold water for an extended period of time. I only saw one guy out there and he gave me a scorecard (which he found on the ground - the box at tee one was empty) and it had a map on it, so that helped too. Of course, these types of things only affect the first time you play, but it still makes you spend time figuring out where to go instead of just playing on. The parking was a little confusing too. You can't park anywhere near hole one. Most of the spots are near 18's basket and there is no sign telling you where hole one is. I was told by a friend where to go, but if you didn't know, you could walk around for some time before finding the first tee.
Other Thoughts: With all that being said, i really liked this course and hope to play it again soon.

FYI - the first tee is behind the rec area building to the left of the main drive. Follow the little park road to that buliding and it's right there behind it.

There are spots right when you pull in, which is where I parked, or you can pull down to the right and be near the 18 basket. Either place puts you on the wrong side of the park to get to hole 1.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.