Disc Golf Store
St. Louis (St. John), MO 
Endicott Park Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #6 (Taken 4/2009)
-- / --   3 / 405ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee (plays L to R with significant shule and shallow creek down length of right side)



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Awesome Park Course

1    5/13/2014   5/21/2014
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.7 Years
Pros: -Baskets are Gateway Titans that are in good shape and catch well
-Nice concrete tee-pads
-Multiple pin positions on each hole help to add variety to the holes if you play the course a lot.
-Tee-signs are in very good shape. They show a good layout of each hole, each pin-position, the distance to each position, and there is a screw on each tee-pad marking what pin-placement the basket currently is in.
-Good use of the trees to make some tight wooded fairways and then some more wide-open holes. The course has a good variety of more open holes and tightly wooded holes.
-Course has a lot of good elevation change incorporated. The front nine especially makes really good use of the elevation in the park.
-The foliage on the course helps to add risk/reward and punishment for a bad shot.
-This course has some really fun pin-positions. My favorite pin-position was hole 7, where the basket was on a small wooden plateau. There were also quite a few tucked into alcoves in the trees.
-The course requires a pretty good variety of different shots, rather than one specific course, which is nice.
Cons: -Lots of erosion on this course. It gets very muddy after the rain and it was quite slippery.
-Hole 14 plays a little too close to the baseball field for my liking.
-A couple of navigational issues. After the basket for 7 there was a well-worn path that ran to tee 12 rather than hole 8. On hole 15 I ended up at the basket first rather than the tee-pad. Also some of the tee-pads are really close to each other so it can sometimes be hard to know which tee-pad is next.
-Some baskets are hard to spot at they blend in with the foliage well.
-Shorter than some of the other courses in the area. The longest hole I saw was under 500 feet. The distances on the course start to feel a little repetitive. This course could definitely use 1 or 2 longer holes.
-Some neighboring backyards come into play on holes 5+6.
-Some of the park users seemed unaware of the course and there could be conflicts with other park users.
-A bit of a long walk back to the parking lot from Hole 18.
-Some of the holes play a little close to each other
Other Thoughts: Overall, this was a really fun course with a lot of variety and good hole design. There are a couple flaws, but overall if you are in the St. Louis area make sure you play this course.

Enjoyable Course

1    4/26/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: brekko
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course layout, good signage and good use of the existing land, there is a good effort to avoid holes overlapping on any of the throws but still utilize the land efficiently.

I was forced to throw each type of shot in my bag at various times, flicks, long anhyzers, low ceilings, you name it.

Almost all the baskets seemed fairly placed, where a perfect tee shot would give you a chance at birdie, there were identifiable paths and fairways on every hole.

All concrete pads oriented properly make for enjoyable tee shots on almost every hole.
Cons: It seemed like a common theme in most of the St Louis area courses to use the heavy duty Gateway Titan baskets, but I just dislike the feel of putting into the really heavy chains and the super deep baskets, but this isn't a knock on the course specifically.
Other Thoughts: The course could use a few longer holes, there were only 2 holes I really uncorked drives on, other than that it's a lot of placement and you can score pretty well.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Technical Juggernaut

5+    9/8/2013   9/8/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 117  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 13.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical - Challenging - Great Variety of Shots - Elevation Changes - Mental Test - Concrete Tee Pads - Good Baskets - Water Fountains - Trash Cans - Restrooms - Gas Station at Park Entrance - Easy to get to

Endicott is a very challenging course with a lot of technical shots. There are very few (if any) "gimmie holes" even with pins in their shortest positions. Please do no be swayed by the inaccurate review below. Each hole has its own set of basket placements and none of them are shared by other holes. Some of the furthest placements can get close to the next tee pads, but I would never say you're in any sort of danger of being hit.
The holes are spread through trees that create very narrow fairways. Some of them are cut through the woods and only provide a 30' wide fairway. I'll say it again, this is a very technical course and not for the faint of heart. You're need to bring accuracy and patience to shoot well at Endicott. That said, playing Endicott on a regular basis will absolutely make you a better disc golfer. The course amenities are also pretty good with concrete tee pads, Mach 3 baskets, restrooms, water fountains, trash cans and retaining walls and steps where there are hills. Also, there is a Quick Trip (the Wal-Mart of gas stations) at the entrance of the park, so you can stop for anything you need or run there between rounds if you need anything. Endicott is also right off Interstate 170 and only minutes from highway 70 and the airport so it is very easy to get to from just about any part of town.
Cons: Parking - Graffiti - Corwded at times

Due to the location of the course in the park, there isn't really any good place to park near the course. The "disc golf" parking lot is at the end of hole 18, so you can't really run to the car between the front and back without a little hike. This isn't really a problem, because you can always re-fill your water bottle at the drinking fountain by hole 1, which is at the top of hole 9.
There seems to be a lot of graffiti on the course, especially on picnic tables at secluded/wooded tee pads. Unfortunately, this is not from outside sources, but rather from idiotic disc golfers that sit at these tables to "chill" and draw stupid shit on the tables that make us all look like idiots. Its not a "con" of the course, but does annoy me to see this crap at what is otherwise a very clean, well-maintained park/course.
Endicott can be crowded at times, but there were only a handful of people playing there this Sunday afternoon, so its not always packed, like some other courses are.


Other Thoughts: If you're visiting St. Louis, this is a must play. The challenge with have you thinking and re-thinking almost every shot. The tight fairways will get in your head and challenge even the most accurate players. There is a good reason we have the Final 9 at Endicott every year for the St. louis Open A-Tier

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 2nd only to JB in STL

1    6/18/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: Jonnykatz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 31.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I rate this course a solid 4. Of the courses I've played around STL I'd rate it second only to Jefferson Barracks, which is probably my favorite course I've played anywhere as far as hole layout. The tees are excellent with good markers to the next treat the baskets on some more confusing ones. Love the variety and challenge. Hole 7, I think, had a unique tee location on top of a knoll.
Cons: Although I enjoyed the challenging layouts it would help first timers to have maps at the tees to avoid having to guess or scout ahead. Lacks long distance holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/14/2012   6/16/2012
Review By: MightyJeff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Excellent workout! The course goes uphill, downhill, and you get the occasional flat hole just when you need to catch your breath
-Nice variety of holes regarding tree obstacles,layout, etc.
-Easily accessible from the freeway if you're an out-of-towner; not too hard to get lost
-Strikes a balance between being challenging but not overly challenging... a hard balance to achieve
Cons: -The navigation can be difficult for first-timers. I got lost a few times, but was always able to find my way eventually. A previous reviewer mentioned the bricks with arrows pointing to the next tee, but I had a hard time finding them, and when I did, the paint was so raided that it was difficult to make out where I was supposed to go next.
-While there is a great variety of wooded and open holes (and everything in between), it felt like almost every hole had the same length. I would have loved to have seen a technical 150-footer or two mixed in, not to mention a tight 500-600 hole.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course - if it were my home course, I'd be spoiled when trying others for the first time. While I wasn't able to try out other courses in the St. Louis area, I wouldn't be surprised if Endicott is among the best in the city.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Diverse, Exciting Course

5+    8/15/2011   2/3/2012
Review By: south city flyer
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This may be the most diverse course in St. Louis. There are short, wooded holes as well as a few long, wide open distance holes. They weave together perfectly and make for one of the more unique courses in the STL area.
-Like the other courses in St. Louis, there are multiple pin positions for each hole and they are changed quite frequently. The distances are marked at the tee pad and you can see most of the holes from the tee pad or a few steps off.
-The flow and layout of the holes is very nice. It is very smooth and you will have very little trouble other than finding the first hole, which is by the big patio type thing right by the playground.
-All the baskets are Gateway Titans, and there is a practice Titan by the playground with putting markers that spiral out from 10 feet to 50 feet, one of the most unique features of this course.
- Can be very difficult. You can go from being under par to ruining your round in just a few holes, so think about all your throws before you throw.
Cons: -While a lot of people think this is one of, if not the best course in the area, I still think JB is far and away better. Even though there are some long holes here, the average length of a hole is probably somewhere around 300 feet.
-The course can get backlogged sometimes during the summer and can result in some very slow play.
-The tee pads of some holes are directly behind the pins of some holes. This can result in people having to putt with a person driving in their background. This may not be a problem for some people, but I like to have nothing behind the basket to focus on the chains themselves.
Other Thoughts: While this is a great course, I still believe JB or Sioux are the 2 best courses in St. Louis. However, this course is a lot closer to the city than Sioux is and it is still a great course that is different than both the other 2. Absolutely check this out if you find yourself in the STL area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    9/5/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 419  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a hilly park with lots of mature trees. Good use of the available space to maximize hole length and variety.
- Almost every hole has a large number of high canopy trees to avoid off the tee and through the fairways, which adds significant challenge and demands good accuracy. There are also many spots with extremely dense rough that must be avoided at all costs. This provides a large number of pretty well protected baskets, so nearly every shot has some tree or forested area to contend with.
- Elevation changes are a factor on many holes, both through the fairway and near the baskets. Many long, sloping fairways add to the challenge and the overall fun factor. There are some longer uphill and downhill bomber holes to let it rip, a pretty good mix overall. The sloped greens add even more challenge to already protected baskets.
- Other hazards include a very small creek on a few holes, not really a major factor but still something to watch out for.
- The alternate pin positions add pretty significant length and challenge on many holes. I can see why this park is qualified to host top-tier events, with downright nasty pin placements (in a good way, of course).
- Good tees and baskets.
Cons: - The terrain is pretty consistent throughout the entire park, so you better get used to lots of trees and thick rough. From the start to the finish, not much changes in terms of the scenery.
- There are holes that have an obvious lane to the basket, but most of the time it is just a matter of avoiding trees and the rough. Line shaping is definitely key, but there are usually many different lines that can be taken. So, there aren't too many holes that require a specific type of shot.
- Tee signs are very basic - a list of the different positions and distances, with a bolt to signify the current placement. Bolts were sometimes in the wrong hole, or missing altogether, which could be frustrating the first time through. Course can be tricky to navigate the first time, make sure to get a scorecard or study the map.
Other Thoughts: - A very solid course that uses the hilly terrain to its full potential. Lots of trees and other hazards to avoid along the way, with some protected baskets and fast greens. Personally, I really liked the layout and was very pleased with the variety of holes. Even though the land and obstacles are pretty uniform throughout the park, each hole had its own challenge and feel. I felt it definitely rewarded accuracy over length, though a combination of both can lead to some pretty low scores.
- A good course for all skill levels, especially with the different pin positions.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best par 3 in St. LOuis

5+    5/21/2010   5/21/2010
Review By: discoholic
Played: 87  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really fun course. Snake through the trees, or try to find an alternate approach. Elevation change and lots of trees make all holes a challenge. Most holes offer a chance for birdie, but all holes can easily be a bogey. Even if you don't have a big arm you can still post it up on #5's 350' downhill bomb. If you do have a big arm try to post it up on #14's open 425'. #3 is probably my favorite. It is a 300' downhill shot with lots of trees. You can find a line backhand or forehand. Watch out for #7 and #12, par will feel like a bird. You will use all of your shots and all of your disks on this course.

This is one of the courses that is home to The St. Louis Open. There are 4' x 10' concrete tee pads, with 3 different pin placements. Amenities include; benches at every hole, a practice basket, toilets and drinking fountain at the 1st tee / 10th tee, and bbq grills at the pavilion.
Cons: There are only 2 problems. It is muddy in the spring. However, The St. Louis Disc Golf Club has done work to redirect the runoff water. It is also hard to navigate for the first time player. Get a score card from the kiosk at the 1st tee.
Other Thoughts: They have a league on Monday night. I don't know if they close the course or not.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Fun

1    9/16/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: bogeybogey
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2009
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: wonderful course very hilly in some parts, a few open up, but for the most part the majority of the shots are in and out of trees, accuracy is a must off the tee, 12, is crazy fun a tunnel shot, easy to find any disc going left or right. Print a map off on the links tab on this page it helped my first time..and good luck finding the number 7 basket a really tough par 3.
Cons: parking is near 18 not 1
Other Thoughts: great park always busy with plenty of DG's. There is a practice cage near the tee pad for 15 on your way to 1. Use that instead of 18.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice but challenging

2-4    7/24/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: klenglfr
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice park in a not too bad of a neighborhood. Excellent variety of shots. Multiple pin placements and signs have bolts next to the one it is at.
Cons: Some holes are just a little too hard. If you are a beginner you will be taking a LOT of shots
Other Thoughts: This course is very challenging and takes a lot of patience and concentration. Park by tennis courts and walk to the big pavilion for first tee. Course ends back at the lot.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.