Disc Golf Store
St. Louis (St. John), MO 
Endicott Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #12 (Taken 3/2012)
-- / --   4 / 428ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    6/14/2012   6/16/2012
Review By: MightyJeff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Excellent workout! The course goes uphill, downhill, and you get the occasional flat hole just when you need to catch your breath
-Nice variety of holes regarding tree obstacles,layout, etc.
-Easily accessible from the freeway if you're an out-of-towner; not too hard to get lost
-Strikes a balance between being challenging but not overly challenging... a hard balance to achieve
Cons: -The navigation can be difficult for first-timers. I got lost a few times, but was always able to find my way eventually. A previous reviewer mentioned the bricks with arrows pointing to the next tee, but I had a hard time finding them, and when I did, the paint was so raided that it was difficult to make out where I was supposed to go next.
-While there is a great variety of wooded and open holes (and everything in between), it felt like almost every hole had the same length. I would have loved to have seen a technical 150-footer or two mixed in, not to mention a tight 500-600 hole.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course - if it were my home course, I'd be spoiled when trying others for the first time. While I wasn't able to try out other courses in the St. Louis area, I wouldn't be surprised if Endicott is among the best in the city.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Endicott

5+    4/7/2012   4/8/2012
Review By: twiggycdxx
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I nice, challenging course. There are some nice open shots and some very challenging wooded shots. The course has concrete tee pads and multiple pin placements as to change it up.
Cons: Course can be a little muddy at times.
Other Thoughts: This is probably my favorite course in St. Louis. it is very challenging and fun to play!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good addition to a road trip

1    3/4/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 101  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: While Endicott Park is not a course you would make a roadtrip around, it is a great inclusion for those who have just gotten done playing slightly more epic courses like Jefferson Barracks. Here's what I liked:

Elevation: This course's specialty... elevation was the key factor of every hole. i like this because even if a course lacks trees (which this one doesn't) uphill shots are still challenging and downhill bombs are still fun!

Treeeeees: Lots of trees with little underbrush. makes for fun challenges, without the risk of lost discs

Difficulty... Not overly challenging. Definitely some deuce opportunities, but there are also a few holes (7,12) that are very very difficult! Makes for fun round

Cons: Signage!!! This was the only thing holding my review of Jefferson Barracks back, and the signage here is just as bad, and is even more needed since there are some baskets that look like they are on the fairway of other holes!! Lame! As at jefferson Barracks, the flow here was bad :(

Personally, I like feeling a bit isolated from other things like baseball games, roads, houses, etc when I disc golf, and unfortunately that factor just isn't present here... feels like youre playing in a busy park.
Other Thoughts: Fun course! Definitely a good warmup/cooldown from other more challenging courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very Diverse, Exciting Course

5+    8/15/2011   2/3/2012
Review By: south city flyer
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This may be the most diverse course in St. Louis. There are short, wooded holes as well as a few long, wide open distance holes. They weave together perfectly and make for one of the more unique courses in the STL area.
-Like the other courses in St. Louis, there are multiple pin positions for each hole and they are changed quite frequently. The distances are marked at the tee pad and you can see most of the holes from the tee pad or a few steps off.
-The flow and layout of the holes is very nice. It is very smooth and you will have very little trouble other than finding the first hole, which is by the big patio type thing right by the playground.
-All the baskets are Gateway Titans, and there is a practice Titan by the playground with putting markers that spiral out from 10 feet to 50 feet, one of the most unique features of this course.
- Can be very difficult. You can go from being under par to ruining your round in just a few holes, so think about all your throws before you throw.
Cons: -While a lot of people think this is one of, if not the best course in the area, I still think JB is far and away better. Even though there are some long holes here, the average length of a hole is probably somewhere around 300 feet.
-The course can get backlogged sometimes during the summer and can result in some very slow play.
-The tee pads of some holes are directly behind the pins of some holes. This can result in people having to putt with a person driving in their background. This may not be a problem for some people, but I like to have nothing behind the basket to focus on the chains themselves.
Other Thoughts: While this is a great course, I still believe JB or Sioux are the 2 best courses in St. Louis. However, this course is a lot closer to the city than Sioux is and it is still a great course that is different than both the other 2. Absolutely check this out if you find yourself in the STL area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Signs NEEDED

1    9/1/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: Awol
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2013
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: This was a really interesting course. Loved the design and variety of shots. A lot of wooded areas, with some more open areas. Elevation change on a few of the holes.
Cons: No signage whatsoever. We spent more time wandering for the next hole that we did throwing.
Other Thoughts: Without signage, this course was almost unplayable. Hopefully someone steps up and gets signage done.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/10/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: GatewayDiscSports
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 25.2 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Very well-maintained, thoughtful layout combining tight short shots with long bomb drives. Variety of pins can make for a different challenge every time you play. Not overly long but not overly easy.
Cons: If pins are in C or D locations, can be awfully difficult for a beginner.
Other Thoughts: Only one of a few courses inside of the I-270 loop in St. Louis County, which makes for easy access. Has hosted St. Louis Open tournaments. Despite being one of the oldest courses in Missouri (play took place here long before baskets were installed in 1996), it is still one of the best.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Endicott hits the spot. (sorry)

5+    5/30/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 43  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'll start by saying that this was the first disc golf course that I ever played (not counting the few I played in the late 80's early 90's) and I hated it the first time. I understand why I wasn't excited that time and I like it much better now.
The course was just the right length for 18 holes that don't leave you exhausted and had lots of creative use of the terrain to create shot variety. As with most St. Louis area courses, Endicott has most holes surrounded by brushy/wooded areas, but it does NOT suffer from the thick, unforgiving honeysuckle and kudzu vines that make finding a lost disc impossible on many other courses. It's also nice that the pin positions on this course change frequently and they're all good spots.
The grass was well maintained (for a city/county park) and the concrete tees kept the mud down to a very respectable minimum for this area. The 5 or so holes that are actually "in the woods" were very nicely manicured to allow clean shots with reasonable margin for error and, again, finding errant shots was no real issue. You'll get a very specific opportunity to use just about every technique and disc you have (with the exception of really monstrous throws).
As a final Pro for this course - it was nice and shady. A very welcome addition for the summer weather and there's a QT about a block away for refreshments.
Cons: Some of the things that turned me off so badly the first time I played Endicott are still present... but not as much of an issue. The majority of the holes on the course take you through a series of low valleys that obviously get very wet and nasty at times. It was fine this time, but in early March, this place was all mud and really unsightly. There are no trash receptacles at the actual tees. This leads to every tee's bag hook being used as a place to hang bags of empty beer cans and those seem to start overflowing onto the ground frequently. The crowd here was mostly "cool" and mature, but there are a often a few jerks and drunks to make it awkward. There is also little to no way to know where to go for the next tee on any of the holes and a few of them weren't marked... make sure you download the map or you will wander aimlessly. Similarly, the baskets are just a dull metal and very hard to see until you're almost on top of them.
Other Thoughts: While I love having a lot of big, open holes to try to pound out big drives - and Endicott doesn't really have any really long holes (with 445 being the maximum and 290 being the average), I didn't really miss it because one good, well aimed power-drive can get you to putting range on the longer holes here.
With some improvements in drainage and vigilance on the littering, this park could easily be a real gem.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety

1    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly disc golf exclusive area of a large multi-use park. The front 9 has some really nice hills to play up and down, with some tough uphill shots and some fun shots back down. Most of the holes play through grassy park areas with lots of nice mature trees. These holes often have some brushy rough in play off the fairway but plenty of different lines to hit through the trees if you're accurate. A few holes play in the wooded area with tighter lanes through the brush and trees for a little variety.

There is a good mix of hole shapes here that will force you to have a balanced game to score well. A nice balance of left and riight turning holes with some straight shots and one s-shaped fairway through the woods makes for a pretty fair set of holes for righties or lefties. There are a few ace runs and a few longer holes mixed in to keep things interesting.

There are multiple pin placements that seemed like they would really change up the holes. Locals told us that they move reasonably often, so that would keep the course fresh, and offer some really nice tournament layouts with more of the toughest placements in use. The concrete tees were in good shape, as were the baskets.
Cons: The course gets a little repetitive, especially on the back 9. The end of the course has much less elevation and just starts to feel a little too similar to holes you've already played. There's not a ton of real challenge for better players here unless most of the pins are in the tougher settings, and it seemed like they're usually in more of a mix. The signs had bolts to say which pin placement was in use, but many were incorrect, and with no hole layout they don't keep you from having to walk up the hole anyway unless you know the course pretty well already. There were some pretty muddy spots in the lower sections of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course, and definitely worth a stop in the St. Louis area. There are some fun holes and good use of elevation, and some wooded holes to balance out the park-style holes. Beginners will find it challenging but approachable, only the few wooded holes are really punishing for errant shots. More experienced players won't find it too challenging, but there are enough fun holes and some tight lines to keep it interesting.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Trees

1    9/18/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2011
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Endicott has some very solid baskets (they are Titans after all), good tees, and well cut grass. This is a tough course; I rank it as a Pro because when I play I want to be challenged and this is one course that will do it. Most of the trees there are mature, so the shots will hardly change in the coming years. This course is also easy to get to; it is no more than a mile off of the interstate. Hitting a tree was definitely a penalty here (something you don't always see at a course). This must be a St. Louis theme but there were usually three pin placements on the holes, and the tee sign would tell you which one it was currently at. This course had a decent amount of elevation changes. It also required that you have a good hyzer, anhyzer, forehand and possibly hyzer-flip in your arsenal to produce a solid score. The holes were fairly average in distance; a few of the holes when they were in the "C" pin placement were long though.
Cons: To me this course fell short in a few areas. In a lot of situations I found some shots required luck vs. skill to get close to the pin. Hole 7 was planted all the way atop a hill near 12's tee; seeing as it was already a long shot you ran the risk of throwing onto someone on 12 if you made a poor shot. That whole shot until the last 100ft was riddled with pointless trees on the outer edges of the fairway. Some of them could be cleaned up but in no way should all of them be removed as they are still young and it would hurt the condition of the course. In some cases I got lost looking for the next tee, some better signage could fix that (this goes for most STL area courses). The elevation changes on the front 9 were great; up and down as well as some side hill angles. When I got to the back 9 though I was really let down, the hill played neutral on almost all the holes as you shot across it on almost every shot. The course took its biggest hit on the rating from me because of the poor use of the hill on the back, like I said it really took the wind out of my sail. There is also a hole where you throw very close to a ball field, during the summer it may be unplayable or you might even throw into some people that are using the field.
Other Thoughts: This is not a course for someone to really enjoy on a one-time play; you need to play it once and then digest it, come back a second time then I think you can appreciate its design. I felt that a lot of the shots required someone to have played there a few times to get some muscle memory. If I lived in St. Louis and played this course more I am sure I would enjoy it more than I did my first time I played it. For people that are just stopping through it might be a frustrating course, but stick with it; the course is a different challenge that you don't see a lot of places. Holes 4-6 were my favorite of the course because they incorporated some things I really enjoy at courses uphill/downhill shots and hyzer/anhyzer shots. Despite being a tough and challenging course I didn't leave feeling like I had to play it again.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    9/5/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 418  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a hilly park with lots of mature trees. Good use of the available space to maximize hole length and variety.
- Almost every hole has a large number of high canopy trees to avoid off the tee and through the fairways, which adds significant challenge and demands good accuracy. There are also many spots with extremely dense rough that must be avoided at all costs. This provides a large number of pretty well protected baskets, so nearly every shot has some tree or forested area to contend with.
- Elevation changes are a factor on many holes, both through the fairway and near the baskets. Many long, sloping fairways add to the challenge and the overall fun factor. There are some longer uphill and downhill bomber holes to let it rip, a pretty good mix overall. The sloped greens add even more challenge to already protected baskets.
- Other hazards include a very small creek on a few holes, not really a major factor but still something to watch out for.
- The alternate pin positions add pretty significant length and challenge on many holes. I can see why this park is qualified to host top-tier events, with downright nasty pin placements (in a good way, of course).
- Good tees and baskets.
Cons: - The terrain is pretty consistent throughout the entire park, so you better get used to lots of trees and thick rough. From the start to the finish, not much changes in terms of the scenery.
- There are holes that have an obvious lane to the basket, but most of the time it is just a matter of avoiding trees and the rough. Line shaping is definitely key, but there are usually many different lines that can be taken. So, there aren't too many holes that require a specific type of shot.
- Tee signs are very basic - a list of the different positions and distances, with a bolt to signify the current placement. Bolts were sometimes in the wrong hole, or missing altogether, which could be frustrating the first time through. Course can be tricky to navigate the first time, make sure to get a scorecard or study the map.
Other Thoughts: - A very solid course that uses the hilly terrain to its full potential. Lots of trees and other hazards to avoid along the way, with some protected baskets and fast greens. Personally, I really liked the layout and was very pleased with the variety of holes. Even though the land and obstacles are pretty uniform throughout the park, each hole had its own challenge and feel. I felt it definitely rewarded accuracy over length, though a combination of both can lead to some pretty low scores.
- A good course for all skill levels, especially with the different pin positions.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.