St. John, MO 
Endicott Park Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #13 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 328ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee (Mando to Left of '3-Fingered' Tree in Center of photo)



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Very Solid 18

5+    8/5/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: ervin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 3/14/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really nice variety of in wooded and semi-open holes. Really nice terrain shots, and some really fun tunnel in the woods kind of shots. The hole that got me the first time I played it was 15, which is in the back of a culdesac of trees and is almost impossible to find unless you're with someone who knows where they're going.
Cons: The course layout is pretty top notch, but the challenge is in finding where you're headed. If you don't know your way around, or where the next hole is, you can wander all over the place. It's a better course to play with someone who knows where they're going--having played there three times, I'm still not totally sure I know where the holes go. Holes 2-8 feel like they're on top of one another, and that you can really hit someone on drives and approaches. It's a fun course, but unless you're with a someone who has played this course before, you might want to play with the league so they can show you around.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 2nd only to JB in STL

1    6/18/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: Jonnykatz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 33.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I rate this course a solid 4. Of the courses I've played around STL I'd rate it second only to Jefferson Barracks, which is probably my favorite course I've played anywhere as far as hole layout. The tees are excellent with good markers to the next treat the baskets on some more confusing ones. Love the variety and challenge. Hole 7, I think, had a unique tee location on top of a knoll.
Cons: Although I enjoyed the challenging layouts it would help first timers to have maps at the tees to avoid having to guess or scout ahead. Lacks long distance holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/14/2012   6/16/2012
Review By: MightyJeff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 20.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Excellent workout! The course goes uphill, downhill, and you get the occasional flat hole just when you need to catch your breath
-Nice variety of holes regarding tree obstacles,layout, etc.
-Easily accessible from the freeway if you're an out-of-towner; not too hard to get lost
-Strikes a balance between being challenging but not overly challenging... a hard balance to achieve
Cons: -The navigation can be difficult for first-timers. I got lost a few times, but was always able to find my way eventually. A previous reviewer mentioned the bricks with arrows pointing to the next tee, but I had a hard time finding them, and when I did, the paint was so raided that it was difficult to make out where I was supposed to go next.
-While there is a great variety of wooded and open holes (and everything in between), it felt like almost every hole had the same length. I would have loved to have seen a technical 150-footer or two mixed in, not to mention a tight 500-600 hole.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course - if it were my home course, I'd be spoiled when trying others for the first time. While I wasn't able to try out other courses in the St. Louis area, I wouldn't be surprised if Endicott is among the best in the city.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Endicott

5+    4/7/2012   4/8/2012
Review By: twiggycdxx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I nice, challenging course. There are some nice open shots and some very challenging wooded shots. The course has concrete tee pads and multiple pin placements as to change it up.
Cons: Course can be a little muddy at times.
Other Thoughts: This is probably my favorite course in St. Louis. it is very challenging and fun to play!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good addition to a road trip

1    3/4/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 118  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 12.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: While Endicott Park is not a course you would make a roadtrip around, it is a great inclusion for those who have just gotten done playing slightly more epic courses like Jefferson Barracks. Here's what I liked:

Elevation: This course's specialty... elevation was the key factor of every hole. i like this because even if a course lacks trees (which this one doesn't) uphill shots are still challenging and downhill bombs are still fun!

Treeeeees: Lots of trees with little underbrush. makes for fun challenges, without the risk of lost discs

Difficulty... Not overly challenging. Definitely some deuce opportunities, but there are also a few holes (7,12) that are very very difficult! Makes for fun round

Cons: Signage!!! This was the only thing holding my review of Jefferson Barracks back, and the signage here is just as bad, and is even more needed since there are some baskets that look like they are on the fairway of other holes!! Lame! As at jefferson Barracks, the flow here was bad :(

Personally, I like feeling a bit isolated from other things like baseball games, roads, houses, etc when I disc golf, and unfortunately that factor just isn't present here... feels like youre playing in a busy park.
Other Thoughts: Fun course! Definitely a good warmup/cooldown from other more challenging courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very Diverse, Exciting Course

5+    8/15/2011   2/3/2012
Review By: south city flyer
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This may be the most diverse course in St. Louis. There are short, wooded holes as well as a few long, wide open distance holes. They weave together perfectly and make for one of the more unique courses in the STL area.
-Like the other courses in St. Louis, there are multiple pin positions for each hole and they are changed quite frequently. The distances are marked at the tee pad and you can see most of the holes from the tee pad or a few steps off.
-The flow and layout of the holes is very nice. It is very smooth and you will have very little trouble other than finding the first hole, which is by the big patio type thing right by the playground.
-All the baskets are Gateway Titans, and there is a practice Titan by the playground with putting markers that spiral out from 10 feet to 50 feet, one of the most unique features of this course.
- Can be very difficult. You can go from being under par to ruining your round in just a few holes, so think about all your throws before you throw.
Cons: -While a lot of people think this is one of, if not the best course in the area, I still think JB is far and away better. Even though there are some long holes here, the average length of a hole is probably somewhere around 300 feet.
-The course can get backlogged sometimes during the summer and can result in some very slow play.
-The tee pads of some holes are directly behind the pins of some holes. This can result in people having to putt with a person driving in their background. This may not be a problem for some people, but I like to have nothing behind the basket to focus on the chains themselves.
Other Thoughts: While this is a great course, I still believe JB or Sioux are the 2 best courses in St. Louis. However, this course is a lot closer to the city than Sioux is and it is still a great course that is different than both the other 2. Absolutely check this out if you find yourself in the STL area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Signs NEEDED

1    9/1/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: Awol
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2013
0 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: This was a really interesting course. Loved the design and variety of shots. A lot of wooded areas, with some more open areas. Elevation change on a few of the holes.
Cons: No signage whatsoever. We spent more time wandering for the next hole that we did throwing.
Other Thoughts: Without signage, this course was almost unplayable. Hopefully someone steps up and gets signage done.

0 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/10/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: GatewayDiscSports
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 26.9 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Very well-maintained, thoughtful layout combining tight short shots with long bomb drives. Variety of pins can make for a different challenge every time you play. Not overly long but not overly easy.
Cons: If pins are in C or D locations, can be awfully difficult for a beginner.
Other Thoughts: Only one of a few courses inside of the I-270 loop in St. Louis County, which makes for easy access. Has hosted St. Louis Open tournaments. Despite being one of the oldest courses in Missouri (play took place here long before baskets were installed in 1996), it is still one of the best.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Endicott hits the spot. (sorry)

5+    5/30/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 48  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'll start by saying that this was the first disc golf course that I ever played (not counting the few I played in the late 80's early 90's) and I hated it the first time. I understand why I wasn't excited that time and I like it much better now.
The course was just the right length for 18 holes that don't leave you exhausted and had lots of creative use of the terrain to create shot variety. As with most St. Louis area courses, Endicott has most holes surrounded by brushy/wooded areas, but it does NOT suffer from the thick, unforgiving honeysuckle and kudzu vines that make finding a lost disc impossible on many other courses. It's also nice that the pin positions on this course change frequently and they're all good spots.
The grass was well maintained (for a city/county park) and the concrete tees kept the mud down to a very respectable minimum for this area. The 5 or so holes that are actually "in the woods" were very nicely manicured to allow clean shots with reasonable margin for error and, again, finding errant shots was no real issue. You'll get a very specific opportunity to use just about every technique and disc you have (with the exception of really monstrous throws).
As a final Pro for this course - it was nice and shady. A very welcome addition for the summer weather and there's a QT about a block away for refreshments.
Cons: Some of the things that turned me off so badly the first time I played Endicott are still present... but not as much of an issue. The majority of the holes on the course take you through a series of low valleys that obviously get very wet and nasty at times. It was fine this time, but in early March, this place was all mud and really unsightly. There are no trash receptacles at the actual tees. This leads to every tee's bag hook being used as a place to hang bags of empty beer cans and those seem to start overflowing onto the ground frequently. The crowd here was mostly "cool" and mature, but there are a often a few jerks and drunks to make it awkward. There is also little to no way to know where to go for the next tee on any of the holes and a few of them weren't marked... make sure you download the map or you will wander aimlessly. Similarly, the baskets are just a dull metal and very hard to see until you're almost on top of them.
Other Thoughts: While I love having a lot of big, open holes to try to pound out big drives - and Endicott doesn't really have any really long holes (with 445 being the maximum and 290 being the average), I didn't really miss it because one good, well aimed power-drive can get you to putting range on the longer holes here.
With some improvements in drainage and vigilance on the littering, this park could easily be a real gem.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety

1    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly disc golf exclusive area of a large multi-use park. The front 9 has some really nice hills to play up and down, with some tough uphill shots and some fun shots back down. Most of the holes play through grassy park areas with lots of nice mature trees. These holes often have some brushy rough in play off the fairway but plenty of different lines to hit through the trees if you're accurate. A few holes play in the wooded area with tighter lanes through the brush and trees for a little variety.

There is a good mix of hole shapes here that will force you to have a balanced game to score well. A nice balance of left and riight turning holes with some straight shots and one s-shaped fairway through the woods makes for a pretty fair set of holes for righties or lefties. There are a few ace runs and a few longer holes mixed in to keep things interesting.

There are multiple pin placements that seemed like they would really change up the holes. Locals told us that they move reasonably often, so that would keep the course fresh, and offer some really nice tournament layouts with more of the toughest placements in use. The concrete tees were in good shape, as were the baskets.
Cons: The course gets a little repetitive, especially on the back 9. The end of the course has much less elevation and just starts to feel a little too similar to holes you've already played. There's not a ton of real challenge for better players here unless most of the pins are in the tougher settings, and it seemed like they're usually in more of a mix. The signs had bolts to say which pin placement was in use, but many were incorrect, and with no hole layout they don't keep you from having to walk up the hole anyway unless you know the course pretty well already. There were some pretty muddy spots in the lower sections of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course, and definitely worth a stop in the St. Louis area. There are some fun holes and good use of elevation, and some wooded holes to balance out the park-style holes. Beginners will find it challenging but approachable, only the few wooded holes are really punishing for errant shots. More experienced players won't find it too challenging, but there are enough fun holes and some tight lines to keep it interesting.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.