St. John, MO 
Endicott Park Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #6 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 405ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach ('C' Basket Placement)



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Nice variety

1    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly disc golf exclusive area of a large multi-use park. The front 9 has some really nice hills to play up and down, with some tough uphill shots and some fun shots back down. Most of the holes play through grassy park areas with lots of nice mature trees. These holes often have some brushy rough in play off the fairway but plenty of different lines to hit through the trees if you're accurate. A few holes play in the wooded area with tighter lanes through the brush and trees for a little variety.

There is a good mix of hole shapes here that will force you to have a balanced game to score well. A nice balance of left and riight turning holes with some straight shots and one s-shaped fairway through the woods makes for a pretty fair set of holes for righties or lefties. There are a few ace runs and a few longer holes mixed in to keep things interesting.

There are multiple pin placements that seemed like they would really change up the holes. Locals told us that they move reasonably often, so that would keep the course fresh, and offer some really nice tournament layouts with more of the toughest placements in use. The concrete tees were in good shape, as were the baskets.
Cons: The course gets a little repetitive, especially on the back 9. The end of the course has much less elevation and just starts to feel a little too similar to holes you've already played. There's not a ton of real challenge for better players here unless most of the pins are in the tougher settings, and it seemed like they're usually in more of a mix. The signs had bolts to say which pin placement was in use, but many were incorrect, and with no hole layout they don't keep you from having to walk up the hole anyway unless you know the course pretty well already. There were some pretty muddy spots in the lower sections of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course, and definitely worth a stop in the St. Louis area. There are some fun holes and good use of elevation, and some wooded holes to balance out the park-style holes. Beginners will find it challenging but approachable, only the few wooded holes are really punishing for errant shots. More experienced players won't find it too challenging, but there are enough fun holes and some tight lines to keep it interesting.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Trees

1    9/18/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2011
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Endicott has some very solid baskets (they are Titans after all), good tees, and well cut grass. This is a tough course; I rank it as a Pro because when I play I want to be challenged and this is one course that will do it. Most of the trees there are mature, so the shots will hardly change in the coming years. This course is also easy to get to; it is no more than a mile off of the interstate. Hitting a tree was definitely a penalty here (something you don't always see at a course). This must be a St. Louis theme but there were usually three pin placements on the holes, and the tee sign would tell you which one it was currently at. This course had a decent amount of elevation changes. It also required that you have a good hyzer, anhyzer, forehand and possibly hyzer-flip in your arsenal to produce a solid score. The holes were fairly average in distance; a few of the holes when they were in the "C" pin placement were long though.
Cons: To me this course fell short in a few areas. In a lot of situations I found some shots required luck vs. skill to get close to the pin. Hole 7 was planted all the way atop a hill near 12's tee; seeing as it was already a long shot you ran the risk of throwing onto someone on 12 if you made a poor shot. That whole shot until the last 100ft was riddled with pointless trees on the outer edges of the fairway. Some of them could be cleaned up but in no way should all of them be removed as they are still young and it would hurt the condition of the course. In some cases I got lost looking for the next tee, some better signage could fix that (this goes for most STL area courses). The elevation changes on the front 9 were great; up and down as well as some side hill angles. When I got to the back 9 though I was really let down, the hill played neutral on almost all the holes as you shot across it on almost every shot. The course took its biggest hit on the rating from me because of the poor use of the hill on the back, like I said it really took the wind out of my sail. There is also a hole where you throw very close to a ball field, during the summer it may be unplayable or you might even throw into some people that are using the field.
Other Thoughts: This is not a course for someone to really enjoy on a one-time play; you need to play it once and then digest it, come back a second time then I think you can appreciate its design. I felt that a lot of the shots required someone to have played there a few times to get some muscle memory. If I lived in St. Louis and played this course more I am sure I would enjoy it more than I did my first time I played it. For people that are just stopping through it might be a frustrating course, but stick with it; the course is a different challenge that you don't see a lot of places. Holes 4-6 were my favorite of the course because they incorporated some things I really enjoy at courses uphill/downhill shots and hyzer/anhyzer shots. Despite being a tough and challenging course I didn't leave feeling like I had to play it again.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    9/5/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 460  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a hilly park with lots of mature trees. Good use of the available space to maximize hole length and variety.
- Almost every hole has a large number of high canopy trees to avoid off the tee and through the fairways, which adds significant challenge and demands good accuracy. There are also many spots with extremely dense rough that must be avoided at all costs. This provides a large number of pretty well protected baskets, so nearly every shot has some tree or forested area to contend with.
- Elevation changes are a factor on many holes, both through the fairway and near the baskets. Many long, sloping fairways add to the challenge and the overall fun factor. There are some longer uphill and downhill bomber holes to let it rip, a pretty good mix overall. The sloped greens add even more challenge to already protected baskets.
- Other hazards include a very small creek on a few holes, not really a major factor but still something to watch out for.
- The alternate pin positions add pretty significant length and challenge on many holes. I can see why this park is qualified to host top-tier events, with downright nasty pin placements (in a good way, of course).
- Good tees and baskets.
Cons: - The terrain is pretty consistent throughout the entire park, so you better get used to lots of trees and thick rough. From the start to the finish, not much changes in terms of the scenery.
- There are holes that have an obvious lane to the basket, but most of the time it is just a matter of avoiding trees and the rough. Line shaping is definitely key, but there are usually many different lines that can be taken. So, there aren't too many holes that require a specific type of shot.
- Tee signs are very basic - a list of the different positions and distances, with a bolt to signify the current placement. Bolts were sometimes in the wrong hole, or missing altogether, which could be frustrating the first time through. Course can be tricky to navigate the first time, make sure to get a scorecard or study the map.
Other Thoughts: - A very solid course that uses the hilly terrain to its full potential. Lots of trees and other hazards to avoid along the way, with some protected baskets and fast greens. Personally, I really liked the layout and was very pleased with the variety of holes. Even though the land and obstacles are pretty uniform throughout the park, each hole had its own challenge and feel. I felt it definitely rewarded accuracy over length, though a combination of both can lead to some pretty low scores.
- A good course for all skill levels, especially with the different pin positions.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/13/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: SIQWON-STL
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2010
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: a great place to learn how unforgiving trees can be.keep it low and straight and you should be fine.
Cons: it's hard. can be muddy sometimes and the mosquitos will eat you up! bring bug spray!
Other Thoughts: my home course and my favorite in the city. for those of you saying you can't find the next tee look on the ground next to the hole there is a brick with an arrow pointing to the next tee.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 If you have not you must

5+    6/9/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: green_hornet915
Played: 101  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2012
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I am updating my review the pros for this course are I think. The variable pin placement, the cleanliness of the park, the course gets harder on the back nine,there is almost always regulars out playing.
Cons: I have ran into some cons to the course. Trees trees trees. Lol Some of the yardages are not marked plainly. For a new person coming in to play the course will be a bit confused I have been a guide on two different occasions but once played it is very easy to find your way
Other Thoughts: A must play if you are in or close to St louis any Tuesday there is a group that plays here if you are looking for a game you will be able to find one for sure.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best par 3 in St. LOuis

5+    5/21/2010   5/21/2010
Review By: discoholic
Played: 93  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really fun course. Snake through the trees, or try to find an alternate approach. Elevation change and lots of trees make all holes a challenge. Most holes offer a chance for birdie, but all holes can easily be a bogey. Even if you don't have a big arm you can still post it up on #5's 350' downhill bomb. If you do have a big arm try to post it up on #14's open 425'. #3 is probably my favorite. It is a 300' downhill shot with lots of trees. You can find a line backhand or forehand. Watch out for #7 and #12, par will feel like a bird. You will use all of your shots and all of your disks on this course.

This is one of the courses that is home to The St. Louis Open. There are 4' x 10' concrete tee pads, with 3 different pin placements. Amenities include; benches at every hole, a practice basket, toilets and drinking fountain at the 1st tee / 10th tee, and bbq grills at the pavilion.
Cons: There are only 2 problems. It is muddy in the spring. However, The St. Louis Disc Golf Club has done work to redirect the runoff water. It is also hard to navigate for the first time player. Get a score card from the kiosk at the 1st tee.
Other Thoughts: They have a league on Monday night. I don't know if they close the course or not.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tight, technical with elevation and length

1    3/26/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: Dwiggy444
Played: 69  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a little bit of everything - shorter technical holes, long uphill holes, and everything in between. As stated in other reviews, hole 12 is an excellent, tight and difficult hole, but I don't think it's the hardest hole on the course. There are just so many good holes here - it's hard to pick a favorite. And you'll probably find the course different every time you play it because there are 3 pin placements for every hole. The park is also easy to find and pretty clean for a neighborhood park.
Cons: Some of the holes on the front 9 can get a little soggy aftr a rain, but the club is currently installing drainage tiles to fix that. It's an older park, so the grass is kinda beaten down, which can make for muddy conditions at times.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend this course if you are in the St. Louis area!!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice, challenging city park

5+    11/21/2009   11/25/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 415  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -endicott has a lot of nice amenities such as 4x10 concrete tees, seasonal bathrooms, a nice kiosk w/scorecards, ample parking, and a large shelter.
-the park has great uses of elevation, not only uphill and downhill shots, but a lot of fall away greens too, giving some of the flatter holes more character.
-although the park is a city park, it has enormous amounts of trees and large honeysuckle-type bushes, which allows the holes to be shaped in such a way that there is a lot of shot variety, a lot of straight shots but also r-->l and l-->r
-holes 7 and 12 are great holes. 7 has a tight fairway for the first 300 then up a steep hill to an elevated green, threes are a premium here, 12 is the blairwitch hole...400', S tunnel shot ending in a protected green, 3 is also a good score. The course is worth checking out just for these holes if nothing else.
-3 pin placements that are moved regularly and really vary the shots.
-a couple mando holes.
-a nice practice basket setup with a spiraling set of blocks at different distances from 8' to 50'
Cons: -I have the same beef with the course signs here that I have with all STL courses...they stink. They have the A, B, C placement distances and a bolt by the current placement, but no accompanying map, it hurts the person who hasn't played there before as they have to walk about half the holes before shooting.
-holes 3-7 are all super soggy along the draw during spring and fall. There has been some effort to alleviate this but it is still bad.
-Navigation can be a bit hairy, bring a course map.
Other Thoughts: This course is great. It really has a nice secluded feel even though it is in the city and right on an interstate.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Fun

1    9/16/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: bogeybogey
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2009
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: wonderful course very hilly in some parts, a few open up, but for the most part the majority of the shots are in and out of trees, accuracy is a must off the tee, 12, is crazy fun a tunnel shot, easy to find any disc going left or right. Print a map off on the links tab on this page it helped my first time..and good luck finding the number 7 basket a really tough par 3.
Cons: parking is near 18 not 1
Other Thoughts: great park always busy with plenty of DG's. There is a practice cage near the tee pad for 15 on your way to 1. Use that instead of 18.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice but challenging

2-4    7/24/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: klenglfr
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice park in a not too bad of a neighborhood. Excellent variety of shots. Multiple pin placements and signs have bolts next to the one it is at.
Cons: Some holes are just a little too hard. If you are a beginner you will be taking a LOT of shots
Other Thoughts: This course is very challenging and takes a lot of patience and concentration. Park by tennis courts and walk to the big pavilion for first tee. Course ends back at the lot.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.