Disc Golf Store
St. Louis (St. John), MO 
Endicott Park Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #12 (Taken 4/2009)
-- / --   4 / 428ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Fun Course

1    2/9/2009   2/17/2009
Review By: tdortch
Played: 61  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is another great St. Louis course. There are elevation changes, wooded and open holes, hyzer and anhyzer shots. The layout is pretty easy to follow, but I did get turned around a few times (more on that in the cons). This course will challenge you, which I think makes a course fun. The tees were mostly in the long position when I played it. If I remember correctly, there are 3 pin locations per hole. Definitely worth stopping by if you're in the area, or even if you are planning a DG trip, add this one to your list!
Cons: As seems to be the norm in St Louis, there are no signs telling you where to go to the next hole. I took pics with my phone of the layout, which helped to some extent, but the alt. pin locations are written on there and the sign is kind of old, so i had to kinda look around sometimes. Especially going from hole 12 (which I think is the "Blair Witch" hole), to hole 13. I took a little trail near the pin on 12 and I ended up at the basket for 13. Not a huge deal, but after a hole like that, it would be nice to know where to go. That one is tough...
The course was really, really muddy when I was there, but a recent snowstorm melt-off did that. I don't think it would hold water for an extended period of time. I only saw one guy out there and he gave me a scorecard (which he found on the ground - the box at tee one was empty) and it had a map on it, so that helped too. Of course, these types of things only affect the first time you play, but it still makes you spend time figuring out where to go instead of just playing on. The parking was a little confusing too. You can't park anywhere near hole one. Most of the spots are near 18's basket and there is no sign telling you where hole one is. I was told by a friend where to go, but if you didn't know, you could walk around for some time before finding the first tee.
Other Thoughts: With all that being said, i really liked this course and hope to play it again soon.

FYI - the first tee is behind the rec area building to the left of the main drive. Follow the little park road to that buliding and it's right there behind it.

There are spots right when you pull in, which is where I parked, or you can pull down to the right and be near the 18 basket. Either place puts you on the wrong side of the park to get to hole 1.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 At least hole #1 is downhill

1    9/13/2008   1/15/2009
Review By: peabody
Played: 44  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like this course better than Jefferson Barracks. It flows so much better from one hole to the next. Lots of different shots required here. This is Nikko's home course and he is there on Mondays a lot of the time. The harder shots were through wooded areas that were slightly uphill. The back 9 has the more strange holes. Blair Witch and the Ball Diamond holes didn't bother me at all , In fact I liked both. You go from one extreme to the next. I just love the pin placements back in the gnarly bushes and behind trees. Very fun course for beginner and novice alike.
Cons: Police are driving their cruisers around to see where you are. I don't know if this is a good thing or a bad thing. Do they know something I don't? The area surrounding the park is a little seedy but we didn't have any trouble there. I didn't like the highway sounds on the East side of the park but that is only for a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: Only playing this once is a disservice to the course. I hate it that I live so far away. If I were to live in St.Louis, I would make this my first choice. JB is pretty nice too and I haven't tried Souix Passage.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Trees and More Trees

2-4    11/14/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: REDARMY
Played: 32  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2009
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great facilities; there a bench to sit at at every hole, trash cans at every hole, and the 4x4's that show the hole number and yardage have iron hooks on them to hang one's bag - a nice little touch.

A challenging layout for people who can't drive very far like myself; (accurate) bombers will get multiple birdies.

Very good course map at the first tee which even shows where all the different pin locations are at; another nice touch.

Well laid out in that there are only a couple places where (errant) shots might cross paths.

Great variety of uphill/downhill, left/right, into/out of trees shots. NOT for beginners, but definately a blast for intermediates/advanced. Hole 7 in particaular is a great test of accuracy (first 1/2 is wide open, but last1/2 is a bitchin tunnel fairway).
Cons: Parking lot will get awful crowded during peak use, and that lot could use a sign to point you towards the first tee.

The park is roughly shaped like a bowl, and the lower holes of the course don't seem to have anyplace for water to drain off. Bring a spare pair of socks (or shoes) if you plan on playing after it rains.
Other Thoughts: No indication at the tees what the standard pars are for the holes. Experience says they're all par 3's.

No hole maps on the tee signs either, but you can see the pins from most of the tees so this doesn't really matter.

Trees EVERYWHERE! Frustrating, but a fun challenge.

Signs of some sort to point you towards the next tee wouldn't hurt.

No water fountains in sight, but the road to the park takes you right past a gas station.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Terrific Technical Challenge

5+    8/28/2008   8/30/2008
Review By: AceMcLemur
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Pleasantly wooded park; it always feels about 10 degrees cooler than in the city

- Deliciously difficult technical requirements; you'll be using every disc in the bag (except maybe your distance drivers)

- Beautifully maintained course with fine concrete tee pads

- 3 or 4 rotating pin positions per hole, so it's never the same course twice

- Not nearly as difficult to navigate as some of these other reviews suggest. Most holes are right next to the antecedent fairway and marked by posts
Cons: - Will not be your favorite course if you simply like to throw it really far. Requires some skill!

- Easier course for forehanders than backhanders

- It's a difficult course, so it can be frustrating if you have a short temper. If you play this course a few times, chances are you'll lose at least one disc in the woods.

- Poison ivy, especially on the back nine

- Woods = Mosquitoes. Also tends to be a little bit muddy after rain
Other Thoughts: I've played this course hundreds of times in the past few years, yet it keeps bringing me back for more

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

7/17/2008   7/23/2008
Review By: ferretdance03
Played: 74  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Endicott is a shorter wooded-esque course with a good bit of elevation. It can provide a challenge for most skill levels, and there's a fair amount of variety in the shot selection.
- Excellent concrete tee pads
- Interesting pin placements on sides of hills
- An equal amount of left/right shots, although mostly straight
- A fair mix of woods with the open; most holes incorporate the woods
- Multiple shot options off the tee on most holes
Other Thoughts: Endicott is not the course to play if you want to throw monster drives, but there are a few opportunities.
- It can be confusing to find the next hole, as most are running right next to each other.
- I found myself shooting at the wrong basket twice, a combination of no tee signs, no visible numbers on the basket from the tee, holes that play close together, and my unfamiliarity with the course.
- Playing over the ball field is interesting I'm sure in mid summer.

Endicott is the type of course you could play everyday and still be challenged.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

7/3/2008   7/7/2008
Review By: CaptainKickAss
Played: 23  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.5 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers players a very decent amount of variety, ranging from wide open elevated tee shots that soar for days to very long and tight fairways through the woods that gobble up errant discs left and right. Multiple tee placements offer additional variety, and the holes make great use of the terrain.

To truly master this course you will need a good combination of distance, control and patience. The park is full of trees, and there are very few holes where they do not come into play.

A creek runs along many of the holes, and can come into play on the poorly placed shot.

Overall, very fun and challenging.
Cons: There is a bit of repetition on some of the holes on the back 9. The course can also be a bit hard to navigate, but common sense will get you through it. A few fairways run a little close together, so keep your head on a swivel.

Make sure you bring the bug spray as the mosquitoes, particularly along the creek, tend to be quite thick.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely one that should be avoided by the easily discouraged or short tempered player, as it really does require a lot of patience to enjoy. There are tons of trees...which you will hit...often. There are lots of places to lose discs...which you will lose.

If you can deal with that...definitely play this course. If you can't...try somewhere else.


12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

1    3/25/2008   6/26/2008
Review By: Chucktown
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2009
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very challenging course, the trees and elevation changes will test you skills. Great elevation changes that will make you think about what to throw. Right off the bat you are faced with a 300 ft downhill with trees all the way down, then the second hole is a huge uphill hole that you have to put everything you have into to make it to the basket in two. Three different pin placements make the course different every time you play it. Corridor hole that is over 400 feet, will make you want to quit!!
Cons: Can be hard to navigate if its your first time. situated at the bottom of a hill so it takes some time to dry out.
Other Thoughts: Great place to learn the game, there is always someone you can partner up with.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not quite sure

4/16/2008   4/16/2008
Review By: Shaggy
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.1 Years
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The challenge is, as would be put best, challenging. I'm not used to playing courses with so many thin trees in the middle of each hole, therefore creating a little variety. Distances vary and allow for tough ace shots or long pars. If the "blair witch" hole is the one i remember, 12, it was actually alot of fun. The tunnel view between tree and shrubbery was something completely new to me. In a way, 18 seemed sort of epic. But only in the matter that you finish 17, walk up the far corner of the park on a slight hill looking down on a reachable but tree-hounded hole. There is no post for the hole either, but that's just my look on it.
Cons: TREES... look left TREES look right TREES, right in front of you TREES. Pain in the arse. Unforgiving rough areas. Evil creeks that will hurt you if you wear shoes with holes in them.
Other Thoughts: All in all an ok course, little annoying at time, rewarding at times.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 More fun than an Amish rake fight.

5+    3/24/2008   2/12/2008
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 19.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2008
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a difficult course to review, as I really enjoy playing here. It has some nice variety in elevation, many wooded and some other more open holes, and a couple of the pin placements are treacherous. The course has nice concrete tees and multiple pins that are usually arranged with a nice variety of short and long placements.

On a historic note: This park has been used for disc golf for a long time, as it is the park Dave McCormack of Gateway Disc Sports used to set up object courses on back in the 70's & 80's. You can still see some object markings on trees if you know where to look.
Cons: There is a safety dogleg and on a couple of holes you can easily end up in the next fairway. There is also a hole that plays across the ball field outfield, which can be uncomfortable when people are using the field. On the front nine holes the elevation is used to give some tough uphill shots and some fun elevated tee shots, but on the back you mostly play across the hills negating some of the effect of the elevation variation. This course used to be nine holes, and much of the original design is now in the front nine. The new holes making up the back nine get kind of repetitive.
Other Thoughts: Overall, as an Intermediate AM player this course really give me all I am looking for in a course. From a personal perspective, I can play here every day and be very happy. However, I've seen better players tear this course up. Somewhere between my skill level and a 970 rated player, a lot of the challenge seems to disappear from this course. Given that I can't rate it as high as I would like. However I think most players will enjoy this course.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

8/6/2005   7/6/2007
Review By: Raoul Duke
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of variety in the landscape of this park - first few holes go down and up a hill moderately covered with trees. Later holes include wide open downhill pulls and tunnel shots to hard to reach greens with elevated pins. The front 9 are solid holes.
Cons: The "Blair Witch" hole brings the course down for me - it is a tight hyzer tunnel shot right down beside the Interstate. Just not a fun hole.
Other Thoughts: Two of the three times I've been here there have been police cruisers by the ball diamond catching z's.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.