Grenada, MS 
Cemetery Ridge DGC Share
Uploaded By: WSP420 Hole #5 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 216ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Pretty little pitch and putt

1    3/8/2015   3/8/2015
Review By: Wood Chuk
Played: 211  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 35.4 Years
Pros: *Many of the holes (4,5,6,8,9, & 14-18) are really quite pretty and have an intimate feeling utilizing small land features.
*Very little disc golf specific vegetation disruption during course installation and subsequent management.
*Course is easy to navigate.
*All signs and baskets present.
Cons: *Throwing over roads.
*Baskets do not stand out, so you often need to walk ahead to determine basket locations.
*#15 tee sign is too close to the tee pad for a safe RHBH follow through.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty little pitch and putt course in a State Park. While the park is managing vegetation (there was evidence of a nicely executed controlled burn on much of the course), they are not managing vegetation for disc golf purposes. This means you will enjoy tight, overgrown fairways, and several striking patches of tall grass - sometimes very near the basket. It may be frustrating at times, but it can be refreshing to play a course where the challenge has not been manicured away.
It would be cool to have this course's evil twin on the highly groomed ball golf course carved out of the woods less than a 1/4 mile away - who knows what the future holds.

Closing Down

1    7/25/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: wheelthrill
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I must first note that this course is closing down.
I found this out after talking to the personnel at the State Park office, commenting to them about the bad shape the course was in.

The first 4-5 holes are great and playable. I suppose it's this way due to being out in the open, which makes the park look nice.
I liked that it was designed by an Eagle Scout. I hate to see that they are closing it down.
Cons: 6-18 are pretty much unplayable or not safe.
Throwing through thickets because of the course not being kept up with. Grass/weeds are rather tall and great places for snakes.
Some signs are broken and baskets are bent due to trees falling on them.
Other Thoughts: If a state park is going to have a disc golf course, they should definitely keep it up, clean it, and have it always playable. There really isn't any excuse for a course like this to go under. Could have been a great course and I hate to see it closed down. I would rather have it closed though instead of other disc golfers or families go trekking into basically uncharted territory due to maintenance.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short but fun!

1    8/17/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice flow. I never had to search around for the next tee.
-Holes #9 & #18 both loop back around to the parking area.
-Tee signs with distances on every hole
-Most baskets were in excellent condition (#4, #10 & #14 were exceptions)
-Benches on several holes.
Cons: -Not well maintained at all: Very tall grass on #6 & #18. A large tree has fallen in front of the #12 tee. (It's not that bad though... you can play through the tree or take a few steps up to the road and tee-off from there)
-Baskets #10 & #14 look like a trees fell on them and #4 is in disrepair.
-I didn't see a single trash can on the course
-Very short holes
-The lanes/fairways on a few holes are non-existent, or too overgrown to recognize.
Other Thoughts: After reading the single review and seeing the course condition as 'Unplayable,' I was ready for the worst. Turns out, the course isn't nearly as bad as it was made out to be. I had a great time!

Yes, it's overgrown in places and a few baskets need to be replaced/repaired, but all in all it's a nice little course that needs more traffic. If you play George Payne Cossar State Park, it's worth the 30ish minute drive to play this short fun course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not Much here

1    11/18/2008   12/10/2008
Review By: ambroze
Played: 142  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Not much here to report except I was able to play here while passing through MS and it was the only one I had time to play.
Cons: Very hilly and a lot short easy shots. Some shots go over the road into oncoming traffic, which I'm personally not a huge fan of. I would not play it again if I was in the area.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.