Hanford, CA 
Centennial Park Share
Uploaded By: lion Hole #8 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great for a quick round

1    7/3/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 93  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1.3 Years
Pros: 1. chances to air it out and get close to pin for birdie chances

2. no signs but easy to find pads that have distance on them

3. concrete pads

4. Long pad and short pad

5. Great to take someone new to the game( I took my dad and he shot +3 from the short tees)

6. A few different good spots to tee off

7. Good pin placements(one is under a willow tree by a small lttle half creek water area)

8. Easy to find discs with virtually no chance to lose one

Cons: 1. Too wide open in certain spots

2. holes are too short

3. concrete pads are a little short






Other Thoughts: Solid little 9 hole par 3 course. players with years of experience wouldnt care much for this course I wouldnt think. Ive been playing for 4 months and enjoy city park style courses.

Quick and Easy

5+    9/2/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: wyldeman99
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best thing about this course is after you play it you generally feel very confident in your game since the longest basket away is under 300'. Lots of shots under 200' means that hopefully you are getting lots of birdie chances. Last time I was played there, the guy i was playing with nailed an ace and almost got another one on his next shot. That's right, back to back aces. He didn't get it but still, pretty sweet
Cons: the con of the course is also the pro of the course. The lack of technical shots and distance means that you can get away with throwing lots of the same shots and getting results that won't improve your game as much over time. Also the park isn't just for golfers. there's a large picnic area, water park area, jogging trails and the traffic can disrupt your game.
Other Thoughts: all around a course that doesn't need to be on a wishlist unless you want to see a card with lots of 2's on it!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rec Course With Two Teepads Per Hole!

1    4/4/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 668  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Centenniel Park in Hanford is another of your typical neighborhood pitch and putt courses. It starts in the right corner as you enter the park. There are two teepads per hole giving you the option of playing either a Rec course or a Super Rec course. There are no signs but they really aren't needed here. This is an ideal course for families, beginners, aging rec players such as myself or anyone just wanting to get a quick round in. There are plenty of chances for ACES. The baskets are older DGA models and showing signs of age but they catch well.
Cons: It was dry and quite windy the day I played so all the drainage ditches were empty and not a factor. There is a possibility of having the wind carry your disc over the chain link fence on #'s 5, 8 and 9.
Other Thoughts: # 6 is the longest hole on the course and it's just maybe 250' across a grassy area.

The course is what it is. That is, a fun little throw. Don't expect to be challenged! or especially motivated. Do go for those ACES! I guess during the wetter season, the water would add to the challenge.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Quicky

5+    11/6/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: Johnny Rokketts
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice little technical course for newbies and vets alike with very well maintained fairways. Holes 2,3, and 8 make for a few interesting drives as well as putts especially in the warmer months when water is present.
Cons: The park tends to be more congested with walkers, joggers and picnic parties on weekends, so your best bet is to play earlier morning rounds prior to the rush.
Other Thoughts: Park is well maintained with clean restrooms, and there are no fees to enter the park. While alcohol consumption is permitted, there are relatively few trash cans outside of the picnic areas, so please pack out your trash. There are also two convenience stores/gas stations about 1/4 mile west of the park, as well as HWY 198 east or west to exit home.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/17/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: DiscGolfinTheD
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a good technical shot course for any skill level. Only two really long shots most are tight fairways or over water shots. Easy to follow layout makes it a fast play. You can easily play 27 in about an hour and a half.
Cons: It is not the only thing in the park. Many tees have you waiting for walkers to go by before you can tee off. On busier days it seems this could really back up the course since most of the people there know you are there but just sit down anyways.
Other Thoughts: I went during the dry season so there water was completely gone. If water was there a few holes would have been much more difficult. On my way back thru I would definitely hit this course if I had 30min to kill and wanted to play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Small ball

2-4    2/7/2009   2/24/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Permanent Holes in Hanford
-Good to introduce ppl to the game
Cons: Short, real short. Only way to make it harder is to trick it up with a bunch of OB's. Advanced players might like it to tune the short game

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/31/2009   2/21/2009
Review By: KENDOG
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very nice and short technical course. It plays fast and easy. Great for the beginner and advanced player alike. It is my home course and I play it a lot.
Cons: Short 9 hole 2 tee settings. Not good for tournaments.
Other Thoughts: If you are out and about and looking for a fun course stop by and play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.