Centerville, IA 
Centerville DGC Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #2 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 223ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Hidden Gem

5+    10/19/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: Cargo55
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful setting in a fairly quiet wooded park.
-Great terrain and elevation changes, especially on the front nine.
-Nice variety of holes and difficulty, never felt like i was playing the same type of hole twice.
-Pars seemed appropriate.
-Back nine is a little more beginner friendly if you have novices/kids in your group.
-Unlikely to lose discs to water. there is a remote possibility on 4 based on recent rainfall
- They've added trash cans and next tee signs.
-Course has a logical flow around the park.
-#9 and #18 are reasonably close to #1
Cons: -Tee pads are a little short. only a factor if the course is wet.
Baskets are a little inconsistent in size and height.
Bridge on 7 has been washed out. You have to navigate the gully to get to the basket.
Other Thoughts: Really a nice 18 in a beautiful setting without a lot of non DG activity in the way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tee signs and teepads are now installed

1    8/6/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a beautiful multi-use park in the center of town
Varying terrain with rolling hills and sparse to medium woods
Concrete teepads, Very sharp looking tee signs with Par, Distance and Fairway picture with preferred route and tee location. The tall white tee signs are highly visible and help when locating the next tee.
Good balance of Right hand/Left Hand shots
Good balance of long distance shots, finesse shots, mild short tunnel shots and a couple ace runs.
A Couple of risk/reward shots that consist of throwing over a wooded ravine as well as few blind doglegs
A few of Canyon/Valley shots
Easy to navigate. The tee signs really stand out!
There are a number of different holes that you can start on.
One really nice long downhill Ace Run
6 shots over 300ft, two of which are over 400ft, 3 more are in the 290's. The rest are under 250ft. Only one is less than 200ft.
Had a High Fun Factor for me!
FWIW
Playground, Swimming pool, and basketball courts on site
Cons: Could see a number of Non-DG park attendee interactions.
I could see this as a very busy park on the weekend
Could use a few more trash cans around the course.
Perhaps some next tee arrows on some holes. (but really, that's a first time issue only)
May want to consider having some beginner tee's on some of the longer, more difficult holes. Could be frustrating to newer players.

Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised when I showed up. Given the previous reviews, I wasn't sure what to expect. If you've not played here in a couple of years, you may want to revisit this course. Concrete tee pads have been installed, and tee signs are now in place. It's not a difficult course per say, but it does have a few signature holes that really require finesse and a long arm. Holes #4 & #6 are definitely on my 'favorite fairway' list! I had a great time and I'm looking forward to when I can play here again. I would say that Edmundson in Oskaloosa is a close comparison.
I'd say if you live in Ottumwa, then it'd be worth a drive to check it out. Any further out, just put it on your list for if and when you are in the area. If you are going camping at Lake Rathbun, then definitely swing up and check it out.
I have to give props to the local Centerville DG league! My case with all of my vaporizor's and eliquids (E-cig stuff) fell out of my bag. Didn't realize I lost it until I got back to my truck! These guys found it and got it back to me! I cannot thank them enough!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Good Course

2-4    10/13/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: MonkeyJones
Played: 41  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -concrete teepads on all holes
-nice signage
-tall white post (6'-7') next to every teepad--easily seen from the previous basket
-logical flow--easy to go from hole to hole since the post nearest the basket shows the next tee.
-tee pads in line with each basket so that you can pretty easily spot which basket you're throwing to.
-great variety of shots--keeps it interesting
-baskets in good condition
-numbers on baskets,though not readable from a distance
-lots of varied elevation
-lots of mature trees that shape the holes
Cons: -many shorter holes (180'-300')--only a con if you don't like that. 5 holes with distances of 300'-400'+, though none at 500+.
-baskets seem a bit tall and the gap between the bottom of the chains and the top of the basket portion is inconsistent from hole to hole--sometimes oddly large.
-tee pads are short--maybe 8'. This is not a problem for most of the holes, or any of them if the ground is dry behind them...
-a few trash cans in the park, but none at the tee pads (haven't been there in a while)
Other Thoughts: -signage has been added since I played last and by the pics, they look nice.
-I listed "mostly short holes" as a con because I'm used to shorter holes being higly technical at my home course, Wilbur Young DGC. I will say that the holes with greater distances were very fun to throw.
-Beware the gully on the fairways of 4, 6, and possibly 7. I lost one and found [a different] one on 4. There were dark pools of water in it when I played.
-I used to have a friend who lived here and looked forward to playing it every time I visited. Sadly, I will probably never play this course again, unless I take a DG road trip to that area of Iowa. It's a bit off the beaten path. Still, it was fun in the middle of winter and it was fun with every tread under my shoes filled with mud after a rain.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    7/9/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: iblanchard
Played: 180  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Looked like they were in the process of installing cement tee pads, where there in half the holes and were putting one in as we were playing.
-Had a variety of holes using the elevation and the trees in the park.
-Has a couple holes where you can air it out
-Baskets were in good shape (red instead of yellow top)
-Plenty of shade
Cons: -Hard to find a few tee pads because the steaks are small and there are no signs. We had to guess at the distances
-17 is close to the public pool
Other Thoughts: It looks like they are in the process of upgrading the course. If they add signs I'd move this to a 3.5. Get ready to go hike on some hills because you will walk up about 5 hills and one is steep. I would definently play this course again, but I dont see myself going near Centerville anytime soon.
The basket for hole 5 was hard to see, it was on top of the hill to the right by the trees

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/13/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: bengalsfan11
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good elevation. Great mixture of shots for both backhand and forehand throwers. Fairly well maintained park. Attainable distances for beginners and amateurs.
Cons: Tees are wooded posts in the ground not often #'d. Some baskets are hard to judge as they pertain to the tees. Hole 4 and 7 require crossing a potentially hazzardous ravine depending on your drive.
Other Thoughts: Overall a pretty good course to play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/9/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: jlane
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good elevation. You definitely get a workout when you play here because you are constantly going from hill to hill. This course also had a good nature factor, there were a countless number of squirrels climbing the various trees.
Cons: Confusing. My brother and I played this course for the first time, and we couldn't find where to tee off on hole 4 because tee-off spots were just wooden steaks in the ground without any numbers on them. We also didn't find hole 9 at all.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.