Pella, IA 
Central College DGC Share
Uploaded By: yearofrolling Hole #8 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 256ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee & Sign: This hole dog legs to the left around some pretty dense brush.



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Pitch and Putt

5+    4/22/2013   4/23/2013
Review By: RestonDG
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice little course tucked behind the college. Good signs, concrete tee-pads, and nice baskets. Gets a decent amount of play, but is never really busy. Lots of tight wooded holes juxtaposed against some wide open shots with tough access baskets. Makes good use of a few key elevation changes around the course. Mature trees and a creek running through the course add to the difficulty as well as some tall weeds on a few of the hole. Since it is right next to the athletic fields it finds itself well maintained.
Cons: Kinda short. 13 is the only hole that forces me to get out a distance driver. Right next to a soccer field, football field, and has a cross country track running through much of the course. These can become both a distraction and a hazard at any given time. I've never really found this to be a difficult course. It's not uncommon for me to shoot 7 or 8 under here. Can get really sloppy with any amount of rain.
Other Thoughts: Most of the time this will be a fun course to play, but sometimes there is just too much going on all around for my tastes. With all the shorter holes this is a good course for putter rounds. Just grab a couple of your favorite putters and see how well you fare hitting 250ft shots through the woods!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!

5+    12/26/2011   1/14/2012
Review By: holein1
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is well maintained. It has a variety of holes, some long some short. I really like the holes that aren't just a wide open shot, it make for a fun but challenging course. Holes are easy to find...one leads to the next.
Cons: When it rains the course gets pretty sloppy. If your not experienced the trees will be a big can be tough to miss. Strong disc plastics are encouraged! Everyone hits a tree sometimes. The weeds during the summer season get very bad, Much easier to loose discs when their tall.
Other Thoughts: I love this course! It very fun to play, I recommend trying this course out. Don't give up on it right away either, it tough to master. I am a little biast because this is my home course! Im pretty good at it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course

2-4    10/23/2010   8/25/2011
Review By: RockStarValkyrie
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: good signs, tee pads and baskets, layout is decent, good mix of shot types, lots of fun
Cons: quite a few opportunities to lose a disc
Other Thoughts: I always love playing this course, pretty diverse hole types, worth checking out,

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 On the edge of Central College

1    7/25/2008   10/28/2010
Review By: cydisc
Played: 169  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 18.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -18 holes
-Concrete tees
-Fairly descriptive signs in good shape
-Good balance of shot shapes and a variety of hole lengths

Cons: -Basically only two types of holes
-Can get overgrown in the Summer
-A few bright spots, but can get tedious
-No chance for bathroom or water until you're done with the course.
Other Thoughts: Located at the edge of Central College's athletics campus, you begin the course by throwing over a wide-open field normally used for field events for track and field. This is the first type of hole you will see. As you travel through the course, you will be required to either 1) throw unobstructed to an open basket somewhere in the distance, or 2) thread your disc through sometimes inpossibly tight fairways. There doesn't seem to be any middle ground. Mind you, there are a couple of exceptions, but this is the basic crux of the course.

Generally, the course is laid out in a logical progression, starting from the track complex parking lot, winding through various portions of other athletic dept facilities ranging from soccer fields to golf range to cross-country course. The spine of the course seems to follow a creek that is lined with a buffer of trees and you will be required to throw along the edges or right through the middle of these trees. Latter part of the course brings you back to the parking lot along a couple of soccer fields. The holes that use the available elevation do a good job with it and are the more fun to play. However, there are a lot of flat holes that get a little boring.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cental College DGC

5+    8/10/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: mrkvnmnn
Played: 42  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are many forehand and backhand throws that will challenge players. There are also many long and short shots. The signs are very well marked and the tee are very easy to find.
Cons: If you are not accurate you can spend a lot of time looking for discs. At the middle and end of summer the undergrowth gets a bid ridiculous on some of the holes. If it rains the course is guaranteed to be muddy. There is water but it doesn't really affect your play other than the fact that you might get wet retrieving a disc.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. With a little extra maintenance this course would get atleast a 4.5 from me. But sometimes the challenge is what makes it so rewarding when you do play good.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good all around course.

5+    7/18/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: jesse_v_m
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers many different shots that will challenge LH and RH players throwing both backhand and forehand throws. This course offers open longs shots and also tight wooded shots.
Cons: It would be nice to have the poison ivy and brush cleaned up on some of the holes. It can be very easy to lose a disc on some of the holes if you throw it in the woods. the underbrush is often very heavy.

It can also get very wet and muddy if it has rained that day and sometimes the rain sits or pools.
Other Thoughts: Great course overall. Once you play it once to get the hang of it you will want to come back again and again!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    7/21/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: jwetter
Played: 50  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 6/26/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -good use of change in elevation
-good use of woods, many holes start in an open area and end in the woods
-good mix of longer open shots to shorter skill shots
-many of the throwing lanes are tough but there is a definate opening for good throws
-good tee pads and baskets
-well maintained course
Cons: -it is easy to lose a disc in many of the tall weeds (it really sucks to look for the discs when the weeds get tall)
-after rain the course can get kind of sloppy
Other Thoughts: There are scorecards and maps by the building next to hole one.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 For more advanced players

1    6/13/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: TreeSkipper
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course as far as layout. Definitely for more experienced players. Nice signage on course. Tells you where the next hole is.
Cons: Tall grass, and small creek is in range almost every hole. Be prepared to do some searching if you are not an accurate thrower. Wooded areas were very muddy and had water flowing over the course from recent rain. Many of the holes had an uphill shot at the basket. If you tend to roll at the end of your throws, you could get very frustrated.
Other Thoughts: May try again after I get some more experience.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

DGC in Pella

2-4    5/9/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: yearofrolling
Played: 55  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees, baskets and tee signs are all top notch. Large concrete tees, Mach 5 baskets and signs on every tee. The signs tell the distance to the basket and the direction to the next tee; information that comes in handy in between holes 16 and 17.
I don't recall any benches, but there were trash bins at almost every tee off area.
The course map said that the Kuyper Athletic Center (just East of the parking lot) has water and restrooms and vending machines; didn't utilize.

Many of the holes, 9 to 10 of them, are nothing more than straight shots.
You get some fun technical shots on 7 to 8 of the holes.
About half of the holes are basically open with the other half quire wooded or have notable tree obstacles.
I feel this course presents a fair mix of open distance shots and challenging tight shots.

The terrain varies from grassy open parks, tall prairie grass to wooded underbrush.
On 6-7 holes there is notable elevation change, e.g. elevated tee offs, up hill approach shots, down hill putting.

I can't complain about the layout. Its a good use of the space within the Central College athletic fields. Hole 13 plays right along side 14 and 15 with only a thin barrier of trees between their fairways, but 14 and 15 are "in the woods" so you don't feel like you're playing at people.
A few of the holes (8, 12, 13, 15 and 16) feel like they have undefined fairways or are blind shots, so if you are unfamiliar with the hole layouts you might not be sure where to place your drive. The signs do what they can to direct you but sometimes it still feels like you're throwing off aimlessly into a field.

There are a few picturesque views from the first couple tees. I also enjoy seeing the neat tree-fort you play under on hole 4. Otherwise the course looks just like beautiful central Iowa.

Traffic: We saw 3 other groups that Sunday afternoon in May, for a total of 6 other.
The weather was pretty nice, too, not overly windy which is quite a treat in Iowa in the springtime.

Foliage Maintenance: Where there was grass it was mowed, but much of the course, holes 3, 4, 7, 9, 11, 14 and 15 are played almost exclusively "in the woods" so there could definitely be some brushy undergrowth issues later in the season. It was very nice in May. I played the last 6 holes barefoot because I ended up calf-deep in mud while retrieving a wayward drive from the small creek. Even barefoot I was able to traverse the wooded holes comfortably. It was very clean, to litter.




There is camping a few miles away at Roberts Creek State Park, and there's disc golf there, too!


This course is challenging and fun. I can't really drive further than 275' so making par on hole 13 wasn't really going to happen for me. I do love the challenging, short, tunnel shots and curving technical shots on holes 3, 4, 7, 11, 14, 15 and 16.
Parking is ample and right by tee 1 or basket 18.
The one group of players we interacted with let us play through wile they looked for a disc and were friendly and nice enough.
If you're driving through on 163 ,or not too far away, I'd give this course a shot.
Cons: Somewhat ambiguous sign-age on blind shots.
Tight fairways could punish some players.
Muddy water hazards.
Tall grass can hide wayward drives.
Its a pretty good car ride away from Des Moines.
Other Thoughts: I can't think of anything specific I'd change about this course and there's not a lot of reasons to rate it any lower.
The few cons listed above are merely challenges that will grow you as a player and refine your shot selection process.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.