Southaven, MS 
Central Park Share
Uploaded By: Conar7 Hole #7
3 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    5/24/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 12.5 Years
Pros: -Large tee pads
-Benches on several holes
-Baskets are in great shape
-Fairly well marked course with a couple of exceptions
-Baskets are marked with hole number
Cons: -Grass needed to be cut
-No trashcans on the course
-No restrooms
-Repetitive at times
-Several tee signs are broken or missing. The Hole # and distance is all that hasn't faded away on the ones that are still intact
-Holes #5 & #6 have no tee signs. This makes the already confusing layout of these two holes, (as mentioned in several other reviews) even more difficult to figure out.
-Previous reviews mentioned scorecards... with maps. I saw no scorecards; a map would have come in handy at times.
Other Thoughts: Although, this course could use a little work, (like replacing tee signs), overall I think it's a pretty solid course.

 nice grass

1    5/26/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nicely manicured. Grass is cut short--looks nice. No Undergrowth--easy to find discs. Best scorecards I have ever seen--with a map, graph of hole lengths, rules and etiquette. Decent variety on holes.
Cons: The tee signs appear to have been well made and contain the necessary information, however, the maps on the signs have faded in the weather and are mostly unreadable. Par 3s? really? Every hole is a par 3, even the hole on the front 9 that is almost 700 ft long. Here is a document from the PDGA website that gives recommended pars according to skill level, hole length and amount of foliage: http://www.pdga.com/files/doc...uidelines.pdf even for gold tee holes (pro players) light foliage holes over 600 ft should be par 4. In the Memphis area there is this notion that every hole should be par 3 no matter what. I know from watching the pros play on youtube that they play plenty of par 4 and 5 holes--they really do exist. Don't get me wrong, l enjoy long holes, but I want the psychological reward of making par or birdie if I do a good job. Show me someone who can birdie this 700 ft hole with two shots and I will shut up. Anyway, I do love this course, it is well designed and maintained, but our community needs to move past the par 3 mentality. Sorry about the rant.
Other Thoughts: Hole 17 is one of the most memorable holes I have ever played. the fairway is a beautiful, flat, grassy plateau that drops off steeply on the sides and behind the green. There are equally good flight paths for forhand or backhand, but an errant drive will land you in a ravine. Great course

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Open

2-4    4/24/2012   5/4/2012
Review By: jdogg884him
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is open. The back nine has some pretty easy shots to allow you to improve your score from the front nine. Decent course, well manacured, and well designed.
Cons: Front nine is way long if you are not a distance thrower. I believe 2 holes over 600 and another that is 500. As you end hole 5 hole 6 is back beyond the tee box at 5 to the north so don't get confused by that. (5 is a relatively short hole)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/19/2012   5/2/2012
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic hidden gem of a course just outside Memphis in MS. It is set in a very nice and spacious city park. Other than a section of a walking trail, the course land is only for disc golf and the holes are pretty well spread out with no danger or interference of other players. The fairways were mowed and well-manicured. The baskets and concrete tees were in great shape. Navigation was logical fairly simple to follow the first time with relatively short walks to the next tee, and there are even scorecards with a map in a tube at the kiosk by #1 tee. This park was easy to find and to get to off the Interstate and there is ample parking near hole 1 .

The course offers a wide variety of challenges- 1) it plays like a typical parks-style with grassy fairways filled with several trees; 2) distances of all kinds ranging from 200'-700'; 3) a creek in a small ravine plays along half the holes; 4) mostly flat but a few holes have decent elevation used well, both up and down. Excellent design as the course comes back near the parking lot after 9 and again after 18. I appreciate the variety here as no two holes were the same.

Errant throws may cause you to have to throw from behind a big tree or to end up in the small ravine, however, there is no thick undergrowth making discs easy to find as long as they did not land in a deep spot in the creek. Intermediate players can enjoy the challenges here without getting frustrated, as many of the fairways are pretty wide with a lot of room to work you shot shapes, yet it is tough enough to satisfy experienced players and pros as well.
Cons: If all 18 tee signs were in good shape, the design of them would be a pro, but unfortunately several are broken, and a couple were missing altogether.

There are a couple of long holes and a couple of blind holes which make finding the basket a little tough the first time you play here. The lake is big and pretty but is not a factor for any holes, and can only be seen a couple of times.

Course flow is a little strange from #5-7: #5 plays short and blind up a big hole towards the lake (borders on a being a filler hole), then you backtrack to get to #6. But I almost missed 6 and 7 which are kind of hidden as they play parallel to the tree line running perpendicular to the road- I instead headed for the first tee I saw which was #8. (Thankfully a kind local was a hole behind and pointed it out to me, and then was kind enough to join me and be my guide for the rest of the course.)
Other Thoughts: I found this course to be surprisingly enjoyable and challenging. As far as free public parks courses go, this one is top notch. Even though being in a park prevents it from having that "epic journey feel" characteristic of the top tier national courses and a rating of 4+ from me, I still highly recommend playing here if you are in the Memphis area, as there are 3 decent courses in this corner of MS as well as the ones in Memphis.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/21/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 223  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course in a picturesque city park with large mature trees and little if any underbrush. The course is more open than wooded, but there are trees to think about on almost every hole. The baskets and tee pads are in good condition. Navigating the course is very easy with the exception of one hole.

There's an excellent variety of hole distances here and although the course is mostly flat, it utilizes what little elevation there is. There are a couple of 600-700ft par 4's in the front 9.

The most interesting feature of this course is a stream that's recessed maybe 10-15 lower than the surrounding area. In most places it has long gentle slopes allowing you to easily walk down it and retrieve you disc. This comes into play on many of holes throughout the course (mostly in the back 9) forcing you to really think about your shots. To make things even more interesting, hole 17 is on a peninsula surrounded by the creek, very cool!
Cons: Tee signs are old, faded and a few are broken.

Navigation is an issue between hole 5 and 6. The tee pad for hole 6 is behind hole 5's forcing you to backtrack after that hole. Navigating the rest of the course is easy.

Hole 14's basket is right in the middle of hole 15's fairway. I'm not sure if there's a mando I didn't see or what but it didn't make any sense to me and seemed very awkward.

Hole 2 plays dangerously close to a sidewalk so beware of walkers.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice fun course that is suitable for all levels of play and I would play here frequently if this course was close to my house.

The course was in great condition and all 18 baskets were in the ground when I played here on 3/21/11.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 oh hum

1    2/27/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice Tee pads

good baskets.

pretty good use of the land given.

Several long holes for those that really like to air it out.

Pretty easy to follow course, with one exception listed in the con's.
Cons: The course has recently been redesigned or something, some of the tee signs did not reflect the hole.

A few of the tee signs were damaged.

Ok, hole number 5 is a good hole, but after playing the hole, you have to walk back behind 5's tee pad to play #6 that tee's off the other direction. That really annoyed me. It took me more than 5 min to figure it out because it was not marked anywhere.

Long holes are long just to be long. They are OK holes, but I am NOT a fan of 600ft holes. (BTW, I 3'd both of them)
Other Thoughts: I would not play this course again. I did not enjoy my round.

There were two major design flaws, the tee for #6 is 100 ft behind the tee for #5. I figured that #6 tee was #7 when I saw it. I mean who designs a hole that throws one way, then you walk back past the tee to tee off on the next hole?

The next design flaw was #14's basket vs #15's fairway. It was not a crossing fairway, but a direct flight to the basket would nearly go over #14's basket. There was no mando marked on any of the tree's or the tee sign. Even then, it still would be a bad design because rec players don't play mando's (or out of bounds for that matter)

Don't get me wrong, there were several good holes. #3 and #5 come to mind right off the bat. The rest were not horrible, just not memorable.

In general, I would say play one of the other courses in the area like Latimer Lakes, Shelby Farms, Shelby Forrest or Bud Hill.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/4/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 65  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers several challenges. The first is the length. There are several holes that you are going to be either very luck to get par or else have a cannon for an arm and accuracy. I like the feel of the park. Some courses just don't feel like they used a very nice piece of land for the course and just put it wherever it could be out of the way. This course is on an excellent and well maintained piece of property.

The course has a nice flow and gets you close to your car to start the back nine. It is a bit of a walk from 18 to your car but nothing outrageous. The park also has nice facilities as it is a multiuse park on the periphery of the course.

I loved the use of elevation. Being from Florida I am not used to that. It didn't overdo the elevation changes like Wall Doxey.
Cons: The length would be a con to some. There were city workers all over hole 4 and they blocked the only really viable line to get par. So we had to shoot way around them which made this 625 foot hole play like it was 725.

This course was very, very dirty when I played it. This may just be being from Florida and being used to sand but the wind would kick up all kinds of dirt. It was not nearly as lush as when these course photos were taken.
Other Thoughts: This park was very enjoyable. The creek was dry when I played it and that would have made for more challenge. Hole 17 is the signature hole, especially if water is present. I would gladly play this course again if I am back in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/8/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: shyguy30
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good variety of hole lengths and shapes, especially on the front 9
-Several pin placements that take full advantage of the landscape, particularly 5 and 17.
-Well-maintained park
-Nice tee pads
Cons: -Back 9 seemed to get redundant as it runs down one side of the creek and then back (creek was on the right of every hole)
-Signage was a little lacking, took some time to find the #6 tee
Other Thoughts: Really nice course that seems to get quite a bit of traffic. It seemed like a few holes really suited my eye while others really did not. Has some long holes (all marked par 3) that will force you to throw some accurate, long shots to get there in 2. Fortunately no one was behind us when we played 15, as other reviewers mentioned the only route goes right past the #14 basket. Definitely stop by if you are in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A tale of two courses

1    10/8/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very interesting and fun front 9 with a couple of great holes and the rest are high quality. Extremely challenging...the course is park like setting throughout with very few elevation changes (with the exception of one hole) but they made the best with what they had. # 5 is a blind shot straight uphill..with water behind it...very cool. Really liked 17 as well...kinda plays like a poor mans island green. Attacking the green on 17 can be high risk/reward. There were NO mosquitos...which was a major change from most of the other areas courses. It was very easy to navigate the course....
Cons: The back 9 really flopped compared to the front 9. Holes became redundant and kinda boring...and much easier. Would much rather it have been the reverse. Quite frankly, I was ready to be done by the time we got to 17 which was the one highlight of the back nine for me.
Other Thoughts: It is definitely worth playing...another nice course in the memphis area, but this is the most redundant course I played. A longer version of the course at Arkabutla Dam.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    8/1/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: rolltidegopokes
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 9...long distance throws and challenging. Water hazards all over the place. 5 is a pretty fun blind shot. Fun for long distances, and then the back 9 is fun for short, accurate throws. ALSO THE LOCALS ARE VERY FRIENDLY! Thanks for the conversation guys.
Cons: Potential flash flooding in the ditches could lose discs. No restrooms, and when I went, the grass was about 16" tall in some places due to excessive raining lately.
Other Thoughts: Southaven is a stopping point in our trip from Alabama to visit family in Missouri and Oklahoma. Even though there is no restroom, there is a great gas station with awesome fountain drinks and clean restrooms less than 1/4 miles away. It's also a great warm up round for our stops later down the road in Tupelo.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.