Murray, KY
Central Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Chain_Raper Hole #5 (Taken 2/2014)
3 / 355ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
nice course

5+    10/12/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: KyNitro
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice course, bring all the shots you know, some of the holes really makes a player think about their shot. Lots of left to right holes, also several holes with birdie opportunities. Plenty of parking with a well used practice basket. Tees are long and trippy and signs at the pad show the next tee.
Cons: Some of the trails can become slick during and after a rain. The last day we played footing on some holes was tricky because of all the acorns falling but this won't be a problem during the rest of the season. Hole 3 could be a problem because of ppl being at the pavilion also on 17 you have to play around the dog park.
Other Thoughts: Great course, with plenty of challenges but also several chances for birdies.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Thru the Woods

1    5/5/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 27  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 1.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. The park itself was a nice place. Lots of trees and the paths that cut through the course were very nice.

2. The designer did a very good job of using the property to make this course.

3. The front side is moderately wooded seemed to be the easier side to score for me.

4. The Back side was VERY wooded with very small windows to play into. I found this 9 to be a great challenge.

5. The tee pads were in nice shape and allowed for long run-ups.

6. The signs on each hole were pretty accurate descriptions of the holes.

7. I found that this course required a wide array of shots. Unfortunately I was missing a few of them. :)

8. Parking and the practice putting area were nice as well.

9. This course will make you think. I felt that several of the holes begged you to bite off too much while playing safe was the better option.
Cons: 1. Finding the next tee was a problem on a couple of holes.

2. We had problems with a few kids on the course and some fans for the ballparks that are very close to some holes on the front 9.

Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing a course that I would consider to be HEAVILY wooded. While this course in no way suites my game, I must admit that I really enjoyed playing it. Only 1 hole was I able to get on the tee and just let it fly. Every other hole, I was trying to find the right line and evaluating the risks vs the rewards of different shots. Playing this course will greatly strengthen the technical aspects of my game. I look forward to a return visit in the near future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Better than rated

1    5/5/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: DG addict24
Played: 22  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice, technical course that requires all the shots. You got holes that go from the open to the woods, from the woods to the open, stay in the woods, and stay in the open. There were BIG left to right holes, and BIG right to left holes. For as tight of a course as it was, it had some pretty good length, and that made it a tough course. There are some birdie opportunities too though. There is a good use of elevation, and it makes for some fun shots. The elevation can cause trouble, on 11 for example, and make you avoid ending up in certain places. It punishes you when you miss your line, and you'll be scrambling for par. It also rewards you with birdie opportunities if you hit your line. The course was very well kept, and the teepads were nice and long.
Cons: Navigation can be an issue, with multiple paths near the basket on some holes that lead to nowhere. And as previous reviews have stated, there is a long walk from 10 to 11. There was a softball game going on while we were there, and some people were pretty close to the fairway. There is also a dog area that you really need to throw over on 17 that you don't want to throw in and it gets in your way.
Other Thoughts: I came here expecting a decent course and it turned out to be one of the better courses I've played. Probably my 2nd favorite in western Kentucky, behind Madisonville. I really enjoyed my round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good college town course

1    9/3/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 218  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: While not situated on the campus of MSU, this course is only a hop-skip-and-jump away from it. A well used practice basket is placed adjacent to the parking lot and first hole. This technical course forces shot shapes and distance control to have a shot at birdie. The tee pads are adequate sized and grippy. The tee signs are exceptional about OB, tree lines, creeks, and whatnot. They even indicate where the next tee pads are. The baskets are typical Innova discatcher with chastity belts included that are fairly easy to spot in the woods. Holes range from very short and technical to mostly open and long though there are no true par fours here. The elevation is used well here for several down then up shots (1, 9, 10), a couple with severe drop offs (11, 12) and others that use the gradual slope to add or subtract effective distance.
Cons: Unless you look at the tee signs to see where the next tee pad is, navigation here is a problem. There are multiple points on both the front and back nine where walking trails intersect the greens and one path leading you to the next tee while the others to oblivion. There are no signs to point the golfers in the right directions. As others have mentioned, after number 10 you have to walk all the way around the swimming pool to get to number 11. This is a needlessly long walk that could have been avoided. While this course forces multiple shot shapes, all of the hyzer holes (for RHBH) are roughly the same distance. Throw a ~265-275' shot and you'll be within the 10m circle on every single one of these holes. With the amount of walking trails that come into play on the course, several are on blind shots causing a safety issue for non-golfers. Number 3 has no gap to get to the basket but to get there, the thrower has to go over and back from a walking trail and a shelter where other park users may be cooking out or picnicking. This is not a quiet course, especially on the back nine. The large swimming pool on busy days is flooded with parents and lots of loud kids. Good luck concentrating with that going on.
Other Thoughts: Murray gives a decent challenge and can be lots of fun for casual golf in-between classes or in your spare time. Playing here in tournaments will cause the gaps to tighten up, the trees to grow bigger and the baskets smaller but with good clean driving, lots of birdie chances await. This is a good beginner course that forces the player to learn shot shapes and touch on several of the fast greens. It plays well for advanced players to land their shots in certain places and hit their putts through the woods.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 murray disc golf course

5+    12/2/2011   5/6/2011
Review By: pchoukalas
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 12/4/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great course. has 18 holes 12 of them with alternate pin locations and one has an alternate pad. Right near the university so easy access. Some tough holes with some hard lines but mostly if you shoot a well placed shot you will get your deuce. The holes with alternate pin locations are nice. They add a variety of shots and challenges to the course. The parks do a great job of keeping the course nice and neat. The course has a lot of potential for new pin locations and new pad locations.The tee pads are very nice as well as the tee signs. great guys around the area and there is usually always someone who will play with you. there are a couple of local pros in the area as well.
Cons: The only cons at this course are the potential opportunities to lose your disc. All in the woods so a lot of leaves to deal with. Writing on tee signs and basket for aces.
Other Thoughts: There is a club that meets every sunday at 1:30 and tuesday at 5 oclock.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Racer Course

1    7/24/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: DriveCrusher2
Played: 20  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
Pros: Concrete pads are a plus and the use of the land is very good, tee signs are great as well, didn't get lost almost at all not over grown at all, very technical course as well makes you learn to place your drives. Parks office sells Innova discs, problem is finding it. Fun short, but a little tougher than most recreational courses, and it doesnt bother any of the playgrounds at all except the walk from hole 9 to hole 10.
Cons: Local player at hole 1 asked him if I could play a round with him and he told no and to just go on thought it was rude of him and didn't express the fun of playing the game either way he was the only local I had a problem with if it rains that place will be very very muddy. all the trails are worn down and even most of the fairways in the woods are just dirt. Hole 4 says it is a par 4 should be a 3, on this website it says its a 3 and thats how I played it. other than that it was a fun course.
Other Thoughts: Leave the big drivers at home! Unless you throw sidearm and use big drivers for that, used my roc for basically every hole, also when it hit the dirt with an elevated pin the it and skidded up the hill, gave me an extra 30 to 40 feet to my drive

 Fun but get out your hiking shoes

2-4    5/24/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: makisoccer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
Pros: There is nice variety of shots from wooded areas, to grassy and hilly areas. Def not a boring course. Nicely defined markers with arrows to show where next tee off is. Well maintainted course. Nice community of local disc golfers as well.
Cons: There are many ravines that make retrieving your disc difficult. Also, (I think its tee 17), there is a restricted electrical fenced off area that if your disc goes in, you are unable to get it out.
Other Thoughts: --I did see a lot of mosquitos and poison ivy, but I guess that is just the wilderness for ya.

 Well maintained and defined

1    4/4/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: astrowolf67
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.7 Years
Pros: Course is very well maintained, great signs, and good flow from one hole to the next. All but two holes are well placed to avoid interference from other park activities. Plenty of challenges with trees, and elevation changes. Lots of variety throughout.
Cons: Hole three is a blind tee shot, dog leg to the right. The tee pad is aligned in a manner, if you throw straigt off the pad, and go too far, there is a possibility of going in to a hidden pavilion, possibly full of people. Hole 17, dog legs to the left, with a fenced in dog area straight ahead off the tee. There's very little margin for error on this one. The fairway is only 15-20 feet wide at the bend. Throw too far and your disc could become a dog's toy.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course for a woodsy course. The area is maintained well enough to easily find discs that leave the fairways. Finding your way from one hole to the next is easy, just follow the beaten path. And, if you over throw hole 11, it's a steep drop just a few feet past the pin.

Great technical challenge with poor upkeep

5+    11/23/2012   9/27/2009
Review By: UKfan
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a very challenging layout and most of the holes are heavily wooded. This could be one of the best courses in the area. Most of the holes are fair and require skill. For good players this should be a great course. The design of the course itself would justify a higher rating if not for the 'cons' issues. But for the maintenance issues, this course would be a 3.5 or higher rated course for good players.
Cons: The maintenance of the disc golf course in this park has become deplorable. The Park appears to refuse to clean up the dead trees located on the edge of the fairways. There have been dead trees along the 1st fairway for at least three years. There has been a tree down across the fairway on holes 12 & 14 for over two years. The tree in the middle of hole 7 and the dead tree in the middle of hole 6 have finally been cut down. In light of the superior upkeep of other parks in the area (Mike Miller & Kess for example), the MCCPB should be embarrassed. Money is not an excuse because the park continues to spend money in many other ways. For example, the Park installed a prefab building in front of the tee pad on hole 6 and nearly a year later has yet to follow through on the promise to install a replacement tee pad.
The Park a few years ago also put in a dog park in direct line with the 17th hole which creates dangerous conditions. Some innocent disc golfer will someday be attacked or suffer a dog bite while retrieving a disc from the dog park area.

A couple holes require long straight shots through trees. The course, the front 9 in particular, can be very difficult for a beginner.

A rogue former club president installed alternate basket locations which are as a whole poorly designed. The alternate basket locations have also caused destruction of trees which has changed some of the lines created by the original course design. I would rate this course with the alternate pins no better than a 2 rating.
Other Thoughts: There are innova and gateway discs for sale at the Park Office located on Payne Street at the old Chestnut Street Park. The park office is open on weekdays.

This course makes it tough for a first timer. However, this could and should be a great course. The design (until the dog park) is very good.

You should be careful to look out for walkers/hikers randomly walking the wrong way on holes (mainly on the back 9).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 In The Woods

5+    8/2/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: SharpshootersDiscGol
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Makes you have to play to the best of your game. Very well defined tee boxes and plenty of shade.
Cons: Very heavily wooded with some invisible pin placements off the tee's. Trees trees and more trees...
Other Thoughts: I love the wooded layout of this course but unsure players will be spending some time looking in the brush for badly thrown discs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.