Saugus, CA 
Central Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: SLUSHIE Hole #3
3 / 176ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee (Front 9)



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Central Park

1    8/8/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: The Meat Truck
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front 9 was recently redone, decent tee pads, and nice growth.
Back 9 has some very very long shots.
Free to play.
A great beginner course, place to work on your short game.
Cons: Where you park is far away from the first hole and then hole 10 is on the complete opposite side of the park.
Front 9 is very short but fun nonetheless.
Back 9 is poorly done as of right now, first 4 shots or so we had people sitting the fairways and lots of them, dogs, joggers.
and the next 5 are severly overgrown with weeds.
Other Thoughts: If you happen to be in the area or live in Santa Clarita area, go play, but unless your a beginner or looking to bring someone new, I wouldnt recommend going out of your way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 good beginner course

1    3/20/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: huskerfan74
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: went to this course to take my girlfriend for her first time playing and it was a great short open course for this. good baskets marked well and easy to find(cause they are so close to the tee) This course was perfect to show her how the game works and let her get a feel of it without having water hazzards and other difficulties a better course would have. so great to teach and take the kids to.
Cons: it is very short and open course with very few obstcles so no real challenge for regular players. the tee pads are a bit rough to throw on filled with wood chips. not a lot of shade so will be a very hot course in the summer.
Other Thoughts: they have another 9 holes put out on the opposite side of the park. no tee pads just a piece of wood down, and no markers yet were they are. this side will have better long throwing but it starts by the dog park and runs along the sidewalk so lots of traffic and waiting for people. some of these holes look to be much longer but still not a lot of obstcles or real challenges but at least ability to let one go and 18 holes is better than 9.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I learned on this course

5+    10/4/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: Smelvis
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Complete Review Rewrite to add Back 9:
Front 9 (no updates)
- Good beginners.
- Hole 1 has a decent 256 ft drive.
- Hole 3 no obstacles at all and short.
- Hole 5 is great for tomahawk.
- Hole 8 better now that trees have grown into a good obstacle.
Back 9 (added March 2010):
- 9 more holes! Thank you Santa Clarita.
- First 5 holes easy to follow, near parking lot, along sports fields and dog park.
- Hole 6: Great long drive. Hard to see basket from tee. Walk thru gate and ignore the no tresspassing sign.
Overall:
- Beautiful park, best in Santa Clarita.
- Bathrooms and water fountains avail.
- Tons to do at the park, baseball, soccer, basketball, football and jogging. Lots of sidewalks for skateboarding.
Cons:
- Front 9 does not flow to Back 9.
- Back 9 in completely different area approx .25 mile walk.
Front 9:
- Too short.
- Hidden in back of park, bring course map for first time.
- Tee signs are a fiberglass yellow stick, the number of the hole is sometimes missing.
- Hole distances not posted. However, I measured the distances with my GPS and posted the distances under hole info tab.
Back 9:
- Tee pads are dirt with a 2 x 6 in front.
- No markers at all, but new baskets have numbers.
- First 5 holes run the perimeter of busy sports fields. There was always someone standing clueless in the fairway.
- Distance from Front 9 to Back 9 is LONG. Took 9 minutes and I drove.
- Holes 6 thru 9 are in the future planned tennis court complex. It will most likely change when Santa Clarita adds the tennis courts. Will be very hot in summer with no tree cover.
- Hole 7 missing pad marker. I added rocks.
- Hole 8 is dangerous for joggers. I almost hit someone as they came around a blind curve right into my drive. Be careful.
- Hole 9 has no obstacle.
- Back 9 ends far from Hole 1 Front 9.
Other Thoughts:
- I mapped the front and back 9 with my GPS, see new course map in the links tab.
- Its nice to have 18 holes. But the Front and Back 9 are poorly designed. I hope Santa Clarita will update the entire course when the tennis and sports complex are added sometime in the future.
- But, I cant complain too much. I have 18 holes close to home. ;)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Central Park

5+    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: surefee
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I've played this course probably 40+ times and it never gets old. I am always trying to challenge my self to get 2s because these are easy threes for most people (exept beginners). This is a great course for begginers because they aren't too long and there aren't many trees. Its also FREE!
Cons: It is very dusty and can get very windy on the open holes. Right now, Hole 3 has huge piles of woodchips on the fairway. So I suggest to start somewhere else so you don't go hiking in those mounds. The teeboxes don't have any footing, so you slip.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for people who just want to try disc golf. If you need more of a challenge, try the difficult disc golf course at Veterans Park (Sylmar).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.