Saugus, CA 
Central Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #4 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 170ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee (Front 9)



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Odd

1    11/10/2013   11/14/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 751  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is basically two 9 hole courses on opposite ends of a large multi-use park. The front 9 is short and beginner friendly with a few scattered trees and two baskets with fun rollaway potential around the green. The tees are nice paver pads and this part of the course is easy to follow.

The back 9 is much longer and even more open. A couple holes have one or two trees in play, the rest are wide open. there are some chances to throw some big bombs over on this side. The baskets are in nice shape.
Cons: The front 9 is all under 200', there are a couple shots that have some interest but it's basically a beginner level pitch n putt. There aren't enough obstacles to force any really interesting lines and you don't need anything but a putter.

The back 9 has a walking path in play on several of the holes, and it seems to be pretty heavily used. The holes have some more challenge than the front just by virtue of being longer, but they're not any more exciting. The tees are just toe boards with natural pads, most are quite rutted out and don't make for good footing. Navigation is tricky on the back 9 with no signs for the tees and a pretty crappy map online.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will enjoy the front 9, it's not punitive but has a couple obstacles and really reasonable lengths. More experienced players won't find any challenge or variety here, it's just not a course that tests any different skills. I wouldn't recommend a trip here, there's not much to recommend it and the layout is really awkward making for more walking than throwing.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/3/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: Daniel Pratt
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long drives on the back nine baskets. if u need the room to practice you accuracy for your drives this is the course for my self.

The front nine baskets where fun but really short. still a whole lot of fun for my self and my kids.
Cons: BACK nine could have snakes around.
and can be hard to follow course, but i had a local walk me threw it so it made it easy for me.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the front nine and back nine. helped me learn how to hone my game better.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Recreational Add-on

2-4    3/9/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: TeetersMcClain
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets are clearly visible
-Front nine is well maintained, mowed and free of garbage
-Drinking fountains, restrooms and garbage cans located nearby
-Short holes offer a good opportunity to work on approach shots and putting
-Nearby fields offer ample opportunity to practice drives
Cons: -Course is located near a fairly busy dog park; dogs off leash are common
-There is no clear connection between the front and back nine
-Mandatories are not posted for holes where they border the parking lot or roadways
Other Thoughts: -As indicated in earlier reviews, this course is a great opportunity to practice one's short game, or introduce friends to the game. The risk of losing a disc is minimal, so newer players can feel free to experiment with unfamiliar lines, rollers, or thumbers without risking their plastic.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Central Park

1    8/8/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: The Meat Truck
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front 9 was recently redone, decent tee pads, and nice growth.
Back 9 has some very very long shots.
Free to play.
A great beginner course, place to work on your short game.
Cons: Where you park is far away from the first hole and then hole 10 is on the complete opposite side of the park.
Front 9 is very short but fun nonetheless.
Back 9 is poorly done as of right now, first 4 shots or so we had people sitting the fairways and lots of them, dogs, joggers.
and the next 5 are severly overgrown with weeds.
Other Thoughts: If you happen to be in the area or live in Santa Clarita area, go play, but unless your a beginner or looking to bring someone new, I wouldnt recommend going out of your way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It is LA...

1    5/6/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Easy to get a tan with no trees or obstacles around
*Some diversity of shots
*Good course to pracctice/learn on if just beginning
*Conveiniently close
Cons: *Dry and dusty dirt
*Very direct shots
*Runs through and next to soccer feilds making some holes impossible to play with alot of people around
*Poorly marked
*Back 9 is a hike from the front
Other Thoughts: Despite the obvious simplicity of the course its not the worst course ive played, with a few improvements it could deffinately be alot better but t is what it is. If your nearby and looking for a quick easy round go for it. #6 is a cool shot through a chunnel and out of the trees

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It's A Long Walk In!

1    3/27/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is set in a large sprawling, multi-use park. It starts out behind the fences of one of the four softball fields. In the current nine hole configuration, the first hole plays the longest (250 +) and they each seem to get progressively shorter ending with the 9th which is about 75 ft. The baskets are single chain discatchers. The pads are natural enclosed by 2" x 4"s. They are designed with a run-up in mind but then again you don't really need one here. The signs are just simple yellow plastic strips with the # on them. The course was easy for me to follow once I located #1. I observed some park workers picking up even the tiniest pieces of litter. They are installing a second nine towards the back of the park. They will add some distance and when complete make this a full 18. Most of the holes had a little personality or challenge to them. Like everyone has said, this is a great place to bring a girlfriend, a newbie or just to work on your short game or like I came for, just to rack up another course. And every hole is a possible ace run.
Cons: Obviously, right now it's pretty much a pitch and putt. The pads are not good. I'd like to see them, at least fill with them building blocks that many courses use. I could see this course being very hot and dusty on warmer days. I thought # 3 was a real throw-a-way hole. It's just a 200 ft throw across a bare earthen fairway to a basket out in the open. Something should be done to improve this hole.
Other Thoughts: Okay, this is NOT a destination course. But it does serve a purpose in our sport. It provides a place to play for those who live closeby. It might provide some exposure to disc golf. Come here and practice certain aspects of your game. You won't be disappointed if you're not expecting the full fledged disc golfing experience! As previously promised, I've increased my rating by a half ponit now that they have completde the back nine.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 good beginner course

1    3/20/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: huskerfan74
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: went to this course to take my girlfriend for her first time playing and it was a great short open course for this. good baskets marked well and easy to find(cause they are so close to the tee) This course was perfect to show her how the game works and let her get a feel of it without having water hazzards and other difficulties a better course would have. so great to teach and take the kids to.
Cons: it is very short and open course with very few obstcles so no real challenge for regular players. the tee pads are a bit rough to throw on filled with wood chips. not a lot of shade so will be a very hot course in the summer.
Other Thoughts: they have another 9 holes put out on the opposite side of the park. no tee pads just a piece of wood down, and no markers yet were they are. this side will have better long throwing but it starts by the dog park and runs along the sidewalk so lots of traffic and waiting for people. some of these holes look to be much longer but still not a lot of obstcles or real challenges but at least ability to let one go and 18 holes is better than 9.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 No "D" here

1    2/13/2010   2/15/2010
Review By: howardb
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ok, So if you have an arm for distance not a good course to let-r-fly, holes here are short, great course to Pitch and Putt. Ace Run on many holes, tee pads are toooo short and are gravel but this course you do not use the "X" step for distance. park itself is beautiful, course is set way in the back, quite a walk from car to first tee, clean with very little traffic, i only seen 2 other Dgers there. 9 hole with nice newer baskets. no trash anywhere which i was surprised cause there are very few trashcans. lots of people in park area playing soccer and practicing softball, the course was not to difficult to navigate, overall , my experince is this course is beginner friendly.
Cons: TOOOO SHORT. Long walk from car to first tee, no map available at park, so if your a first timer, print out map prior to playing. tee boxes need improvement. by the time you get done playing you are at the opposite end of the course, does not end up anywhere close to where you started, so if you wanted to play it backwards you could make some safari holes and get back to hole one.
Other Thoughts: Not a go out of your way course, but if your local and want to work on your short game, this is the place, no distance here.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners, Kids, Girlfriends, Up-Shots, and "Cubby" Aces

1    1/2/2010   1/9/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 256  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Great Beginner Course. With only one hole being over 250' (Hole 1) and the rest of the holes averaging about 120, this is a great place for beginners, kids, and girlfriends to learn the game.
- Short Game Practice. If you lived close by, this course would be a good place to work on your short game or go for some "cubby" aces.
- Exposure. This course is in a major park with lots of athletic fields as well as down the street from a high school. Hopefully it will get some exposure in the community and a demand for a better course, or more courses in the Santa Clarita Valley in general, will evolve.
Cons:
- Too Short for Advanced Players. Unless you want to add courses to your courses played list, or are looking to add some "illegitimate" aces to your ace count, this course is not worth the drive. It's too short, mostly wide open, and lacks hole quality. I shot -7 with two spit "birdie" putts (provided that the holes are Par 3's).
All the things that make this a good course for beginners, make it bad for advanced players.
Other Thoughts:
- Possible Re-Design. There is plenty of room around the park to make a better course, and I was told that possibly the course could be overhauled by Bamba Rico (one of the owners of Sylmar's course).

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Two separate 9 hole courses

2-4    1/18/2011   12/17/2009
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front 9:
-Easy for beginners to follow
-Nice brick tee pads
-Holes get easier and easier to play, thus boosting confidence in new players
-DISCatcher baskets
-A 'fun' course to bring a beginner to

Back 9:
-Long, long throws
-More DISCatcher baskets
-Holes 6 - 9 are disc golf exclusive
-Lost discs are rare
-Holes 1 - 5 lit up enough for night play
Cons: -The front and back 9 are a good half mile apart from each other.
-Natural tee pads on the back 9
-Back 9 goes through potentially busy areas
-Front 9 not compelling enough to maintain any interest from experienced golfers
Other Thoughts: These courses sit in a large multi-use park on the outskirts of Saugus. While the majority of the park is grass, the courses are mostly on dirt, save for holes 1 to 5 on the back 9. Hazards are more prominent on the shorter front 9 while the back 9 has less obstruction but much more distance.

Seriously, these two 9 hole courses are polar opposites from each other. They are numbered separately, there is a ten minute walk in between them, and they play differently. For reviewing purposes, they really are two separate courses.

The front nine is a great beginners course to practice disc control on. Hole 1 is the longest hole, with each one progressively getting shorter. Hole 9 can't be more than 80 feet long.

New since my last visit are concrete tees. The vertical post is gone but the pad is very easy to see. The number of the hole is made out of different colored bricks on the pad, and it's very cool and different.

While short, each hole has its own personality and challenge. A few of them have a row of trees about halfway between the tee and pin which add challenge. Elevation and bushes also come into play at times, however the elevation does not exceed more than 15 foot on any one hole.

As others have stated, the front 9 is a great place to introduce somebody to the sport, and to have a good casual time at.

The newly constructed back nine at the opposite end of the park is a completely different breed. Currently, tee signs are not present and the pads are just 2x4's and a worn spot in the grass. We had a map and had no issues navigating.

The back 9 holes were all quite long and much more more difficult to par. While more open, a few trees exist on the first few holes to help force lines. High shots can pretty much clear all of the trees but they are not always ideal. The forced lower shots are generally the best route to the pin and are satisfying. Holes 1 to 5 play very much like holes at Prado.

Holes 6 to 9 exist outside of the fenced part of the park in some kind of flat dusty wasteland. I am not sure what this land is for, but it's for DG now and nobody else seems to be back there.

Hole 6 is very, very long. The tee pad sits just outside of the fenced in park and the basket is about 700 feet away around a right turning dogleg. Throws too far to the right will go into residential back yards, which look undesirable to say the least for wall jumping.

7, 8, and 9 are all just wide open field shots with a slight elevation gain or loss. Nothing really to write home about other than long, wide open 'watch it fly' holes. The ground is uneven and feels like a construction zone so rollers would not be ideal out here, but any other throw involving the sky should do just fine.

Hole '18' is a good mile from Hole '1' just so you know. Not far enough to car shuttle it between the few courses, but far enough to warrant lots and lots of walking. I hope DG takes off in this area and they find a better way to connect these two completely unrelated courses that happen to be in the same park.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.