Greer, SC 
Century Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #11 (Taken 9/2009)
4 / 396ft.   3 / 396ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Ace central

1    3/30/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: Drewpy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice course, good signage, you can ace all but like 3 holes. Loved the 700 ft hole out toward the railroad tracks. Also the trains going by make it an interesting setting.
Cons: Very wet. No real challenge. Too many short holes. I had to play the whole freaking course with my Buzz.
Other Thoughts: Good course for beginners. Nice and open.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/10/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for a group of players with different abilities. The holes aren't too long or too short. There is an awesome playground to drop the kids at. The front 9 loops back so you can get those kids something from the ice cream stand.

Other Pros:
- perfect, large concrete tees
- perfect tees signs
- blue ringed DisCatchers
- creek in play but not too deep
- mandos used
- elevation used
- course map at kiosk
- garbage cans, benches
Cons: My biggest complaint- I saw a lot of broken glass on the back 9.

While I was in the parking lot I saw an errant throw from hole #1. The hole plays close to the parking lot. There is a mando and a wall but, it is a left turning hole and a RHBH can easily land a disc on a car.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole was #14, it has a double mando with a creek to the left. There was a lot of money put into this park.

I think they did a great job making this course. This is definitely a good play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Play if for fun

1    1/21/2012   1/28/2012
Review By: ssittler
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: > Short course that can be fun for all ages and skill levels
> Good tees, baskets and signs
> Great signs and benches. Course is also full of trash cans - no excuse for missing one!
Cons: > Many holes on the front 9 are similar length/play
Other Thoughts: Not a destination course but a great place to bring kids and/or new people to the sport.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice change of pace for the area

5+    7/16/2011   8/16/2011
Review By: TOURNEYPLAYER
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a lot of fun to play without having to devote a large amount of time or energy into playing a rd. there is a concession stand right by hole 1 and the course flows quite well. the front and back nines are pretty much opposites with the front being a birdie fest and the back quite longer and more technical. I like to come to this course for a change of pace from the other course that is close by, Timmons. Although this course is longer its not as technical or up and down hill as Timmons.
Cons: The front for some people can be a con. it is pretty easy and if you dont get a bunch of birds there then you are prob not going to have a great rd. I personally think its fun because you have about 5 ace runs that arent too short. and there is some elevation changes. the only other con I can think of is the walk from 18 back to the lot. this couldnt be avoided though because of the giant playground.
Other Thoughts: I mentioned the playground and that is another positive. for those who have kids they can make it a family day with some DG and park time. nice overall park with all amenities needed. bathroom. concession. water.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/22/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 27  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course for beginning players. Lots of very short holes to help build the confidence of new players. Tee pads are long and wide, most giving you a variety of angles to approach the basket from. The course is pretty open, but does have a few trees to contend with. Thankfully all but one of the holes have multiple lines to shoot at the basket through.
Cons: Not the prettiest course. It's kind of scub oaky and sand (at least on the front 9). The back nine is definitely nicer. And on the front 9 you have a lot of baskets that feel like you're zigzagging back and forth, up and down the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Super kids playground to keep the wife and kids occupied so you can play in peace!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 194  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 19.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Friendly locals, ice cream concession stand by hole 1, nice fit in small area
Cons: Holes are on top of each other (watch for errant throws), huge kids park nearby (kids wander onto course)
Other Thoughts: Variety (shots) - 3.5/5 - some good lines. Nothing jaw-dropping in the layout but nothing dull either

Variety (length) - 2.5/5 - mostly very short. Fun for ace runs. Some longer runs on back 9

Beauty - 2.5/5 - not the course's fault, it's just in a red-dirt mess. An extra 1/2 point for the hot moms at the park

Trackability - 4/5 - When the holes are this close, it's tough to get lost. Only a few where I even had to look around.

Lost Disc Hazard - 3/5 - Some shallow water, some dangerous rough (17) but mostly easy

Vibe - 3/5 - The locals were great. Held my dog's leash while I threw, everyone asked me if I wanted to play through, told me briefly about the course history. The folks on the outside of the park are kinda Deliverance-sketchy

Safety - 4/5 - Too crowded for too much to go wrong. Saw my first snake of the year (6' black snake).

22.5/7 = 3.21 = 3

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Raw But Nice And Will Be Better With Time!

1    7/19/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I can see this course is still in the develomental stage. It's in a multi-use park with ballfields, kids tot lot, little snack shop, etc. Very nice informative tee signs on thick (12" X 12") poles low to the ground. If the sign is damaged, it will be easy to replace it with another laminated one. The teepads were fine and there were a few next tee signs, also. Navigation was pretty smooth. There were a lot of interesting, fun holes on this course. # 6, I think, is a long straight downhill shot where you really would like to carry your tee shot across a fairly, deep creek before pitching up to the basket which is up the hill ahead. To me, the signature hole on the course is # 16. It's looks like a simple little ACE run, maybe 200 ft. But the basket is guarded by a creek with steep banks on two sides. It's a very birdable hole but one that probably ends up yielding quite a few bogies, as well.
Cons: The earth on the front seems raw, as if it's just been scraped by a dozer or something. Also, the entire front nine is littered with small branches. I'm sure the locals are working on cleaning these up.
Other Thoughts: There are a couple of holes listed as par 4's which are probably closer to 3's or maybe 3.5's. Two holes ( # 13 and # 14) play up and down a creek giving you the lost disc in the water experience. The second of these has the basket set fairly close to the creek so you have to be extra careful of your approach. I liked this course, enjoyed playing it. Thought it was fair and had some very well thought out holes. Try it! You'll like it, I'm sure. Nice course design work by whoever designed it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Still Closed

2-4    3/15/2009   12/24/2008
Review By: bethehole
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I am updating my review as I have been back to the course and played it on Saturday and Sunday this past weekend. I LOVE IT! Kudos to all the hard work that Bill, Carla, Nathan, and others have done to transform this course into one of the best in the area. This course combines bombs and finesse and should be fun for any level of player.
Cons: Still a work in progress but thanks to the above mentioned people, this course is coming around nicely. Still need signs on the tee pads but the new cement pads are quite nice!
Other Thoughts: This has become my favorite course in the Greenville area. See you at the Iron Man this weekend!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.