Greer, SC 
Century Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #12 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 225ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Cozy and Comfy

1    2/17/2013   2/18/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 234  Reviewed: 122  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Century Park is fast and fun 18 hole course that gets more interesting on the back nine. Lots of chances to get under par on the front nine. 1, 2, 3 were nice holes, different lengths and shapes, 4 and 5 both short and straight, 6 is longer but totally within reach, then 7, 8, and 9 short and straight. I shot 25 on the front, but if I had a few more rounds and was putting well, a low 20's could be realistic.

The back nine starts with a nice turnover shot for RHBH throw, missed that putt, too. 11 is a good long hole with a narrow gap halfway in, maybe the first hole where I felt good making a 3. 12 is another great hole, difficult tee shot, longer and elevation dropping considerably. Got the first bogey there. Followed it up by skipping into the water on 13, another bogey, but on an easy hole. 14 has a good nice fairway along the other side of the creek with mandos on both sides around 125'. Par on that and 15, a long open hyzer. 16 is a short hole downhill, and across a zig-zag bend in the creek. I threw right side, but lucked out and stayed dry on a sandbar, two-putted for a par. 17 is a long straight fairway with a fence on the left side, and trees to the right. I threw a terrific low line-drive that started on the left and turned over gently to the right, then skipped and slid 6 feet past the pin. Feel good birdie! 18 is a solid finishing hole, long and slightly uphill, and some mature trees dotting the fairway. Threw a terrible approach and ended with another bogey.

The flow of this course is very good, the tee boxes are concrete, and have signs, baskets are nice with cool blue rims, and nice benches and trash cans are furnished on every tee also.
Cons: A few of the holes on the front nine are very simple, not necessarily a con, but lacking any serious challenge and detracting from overall quality. Brush had been nicely cleared in most cases, but there are some spots, as well as well as water in play on a few holes. I managed not to lose any plastic. May have children and families in the park for the playgrounds and ball park. Train tracks alongside holes 4 and 12, but none passed while I was there.
Other Thoughts: I shot even, but missed three short birdie putts, and there are more to be had. You could really post great scores if you put a bunch in the bank early and stay clean on the back nine.

First time playing here was a fun day. I played the day after some snowfall, but it was a beautiful day and the course was reasonably dry, and in very nice condition. Several other groups playing, everyone was courteous, and two let me play through. Great amenities, interesting park, a few really nice holes. Good mix of left, right, middle, and varied distance wise, with touches of elevation changes. Similar to Earlewood Park in Columbia or Timmons Park in Greenville, but easier with less elevation. There are some better courses in the area, but I would recommend this course if you have the time and motivation.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/22/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: gatorfan8807
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a great course and glad to call it my home course! It is great for all skill levels. It is not a long course however, I just play everything as par 3's, some might think this as a con but I enjoy it. Almost impossible to get lost between the basket and the tee pad (except between 13 and 14, just go over the bridge). Overall it is a fun course
Cons: I wish there was one more long hole like 15. One thing that keeps this course challenging, and make me coming back is that there are so many trees and if you don't throw it just right then you're just praying it doesn't hit a tree.
Other Thoughts: There are many chances for aces, but also for 4 or 5's. THere are some holes Ive never really found a line I can hit consistently but that makes the course fun. If your in town, and have nothing else to do stop by and play a round or even nine holes (back nine are more fun and challenging)!!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Century Park DGC

1    7/1/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Great medium-length 18-hole course in a clean community park
- Mostly open with lots of trees requiring carefully placed/shaped shots
- HUGE concrete tee pads
- Excellent variety of lefty/righty holes
- Good use of the mild rolling elevation
- Creek in play on several holes
- Well placed mandos on several holes
- Easy to follow layout and excellent flow from hole to hole
- New DisCatcher baskets all around
- Beginner-friendly and fun for intermediate/advanced players
- For the family: the best playground I have ever seen
- Ice cream stand, drink machines, and rest rooms near hole #1 and #9
Cons:
- No wide open boomer holes if you want to show off the longball
- May not be challenging for the most advanced players
- Park probably gets crowded when baseball games are going on
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy medium-length courses that are more technical than distance oriented, so Century Park became an instant favorite of mine when I recently played it for the first time. While there are lots of nice little goodies such as the massive trapezoidal tee pads, there is no one big thing that stands out--the course just works. The designers have really hit a home run when it comes to fun factor. While there are certainly birdie opportunities, they are not gimmies. If this were a local course, I would be one happy disc golfer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good play

2-4    8/17/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: Justin Garr
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good place to test distances and curves and diff flight paths. Not very many trees but there are some.
Cons: Rather long and alot of cudzoo and areas to loose your disc.
Other Thoughts: As i never lost a disc my step father has lost a couple.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for all levels

1    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was a fun round for me and my wife. It has great tee boxes on every hole (I love the wide back ends on a tee box). There are great wooden benches and nice wood covered trash cans about every two holes. Each hole has a "hole map" sign at the tee box that accurately shows the hole and layout. *Another pro for me was that this was a shorter course so my wife (who throws pretty straight, just not super far) was racking up pars and having legitimate birdie putts every now and again. The course was in great shape, no littering or anything of that sort. I love the entrance to the course where you walk under the "Century Park Disc Golf Course" sign and straight into the first tee box. No wandering asking where the first tee is here. The holes link up nicely, I don't think we ever went the wrong way lookging for a tee box. The baskets were all in great shape also.
Cons: Although I like an easy course just for good scoring, this one is pretty easy. Most holes are pretty short and fairly straight. If you're a decent player looking for a challenge, then look elsewhere (but if you want to have fun and make pars and birdies come on out). I didn't really have a "trademark hole" when I was thinking back about the course, no holes really stood out for me. It could really use some holes that really turn left or right.
Other Thoughts: *Dogs are not allowed, even though there are no signs posted by the disc golf entrance, there are on the entrance to the kid area. We took our dog (luckily didn't get fined) but the lady at the concession stand said a lot of people had been ticketed lately.

This could have easily been a 3.0 but it is so clean and with the benches/trashcans, "hole maps" it really makes the experience better for me. Once again, it isn't the most challenging, but when I'm in the area I'll definately play it and Timmons park again without hesitation.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 good average course

2-4    6/30/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: discgirly
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Like the concrete tee pads and cleanlyness of the park, the trash cans are good but some were full, discatchers are very good pins
Cons: to short on most of the holes and too easy. Needs more challange in doglegs and more par 4 holes

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/29/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 95  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So much fun to be had here!
The course is great for everyone, beginners and pros alike. Beginners will like it because there are less tunnel shots/ tight threads, and the pros will like it for the same reason. After a couple rounds here, you should be taking a few strokes off your scorecard.
Teepads are some of the best I've ever played on, as are the baskets and the signs that show the holes at the tee, illustrating mandos, OB, obstacles, and different lines.
The benches are incredible, as are the trashcans(wood built around cans using same wood as the benches -- padlocks on them too, very well done). Seems like they had some money to spend on the finer things for this course. The bridges are excellent, too.
Front nine sets you up for the back nine. You can get your muscle memory going on the front, then step it up on the tougher back 9. I love courses like this.
Park itself is well taken care of, and the playground is INCREDIBLE!
Only a few places to really lose a disc, not much OB that you couldn't find a disc after a little hunting. Pin for 14 is next to a deeper part of the creek, but it's usually clear to see to the bottom. Thunderstormed last night, and we could still see everything in the water.
Cons: Front 9 is almost all straight. Not such a bad thing, as there are elevation changes and trees to make them a bit different, but still pretty straight.
Some poison ivy. Hey, it's the South, deal with it.
Par 4s could be long 3s. Nothing approaching a par 5.
Other Thoughts: This course is just great, you will love all the amenities that make this more than just another disc golf outing. Concession stand, soda machines, even a water mister area in the playground to cool off with!
If there were a little more variety, this would be a 4 star. Well worth it if you're in Greenville. So many great courses nearby too. Hit this one and Timmons for a confidence-boosting day!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 This is a Great Am Course!

5+    2/14/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: LiquidIce
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (Note: I first played this course in Feb 09, but my updated, current review is 5/28/2010)

- This is a great Am course! Beginners that start here will be introduced to the game they way they should: difficult, but attainable. Am's that dedicate alot of time to the game will find this track to be just right. Pro's will bring their midrange, putter, and maybe a driver (notice: 3 discs can get the job done here) and try for birdies on every hole.
- Tee signs at each hole that are accurate. The layout is not hard to follow either
-The course shows promise for the area (Greer)
- The course is getting alot of foot traffic and the number of younger players is growing, which in turn will intrigue older ones
- Will be able to host small tourney's well
- Adjacent bathrooms and vending machines in the park/playground beside.
Cons: - Holes 3 and 11 are right by a train track that is still in use, so noise can be a factor (this is kinda a cool feature though. How many courses have you played that had a working train near-by? This also pays homage to the area's history, sort of)
Other Thoughts: -The course redesign really has improved the playing experience (I had the chance of playing it before). I have to tip my hat to Russel Schwarz for a nice redesign in the space available.

-This area is also family friendly because of the adjacent, large playground.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.