Greer, SC 
Century Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #3 (Taken 9/2009)
4 / 410ft.   3 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    4/10/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for a group of players with different abilities. The holes aren't too long or too short. There is an awesome playground to drop the kids at. The front 9 loops back so you can get those kids something from the ice cream stand.

Other Pros:
- perfect, large concrete tees
- perfect tees signs
- blue ringed DisCatchers
- creek in play but not too deep
- mandos used
- elevation used
- course map at kiosk
- garbage cans, benches
Cons: My biggest complaint- I saw a lot of broken glass on the back 9.

While I was in the parking lot I saw an errant throw from hole #1. The hole plays close to the parking lot. There is a mando and a wall but, it is a left turning hole and a RHBH can easily land a disc on a car.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole was #14, it has a double mando with a creek to the left. There was a lot of money put into this park.

I think they did a great job making this course. This is definitely a good play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    12/27/2011   2/23/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I thought there were a good mix of shots on this course, lots of elevation changes which allow for rollers and thomahawks. Trees come into play a good bit on the front 9 but that has a lot to do with how you choose to shape your shots. I enjoyed playing this course and brought along two people who had never played before and they enjoyed the course as well. There is water, and I'm sure it gets worse when if it rains a lot but nothing that warrants losing a disc. Lots of signage and the course was easy to navigate. I especially like the fact that it's build around the park and baseball/softball fields since there's not a lot of people walking through your shots. There are several long holes that are more open and really let you go for distance. Need to be able to control your shots and putt if you want birdies. Benches at most tee boxes and the tee pads are in good shape.
Cons: The only real draw back is probably more of a personal preference than a course flaw. I wish the course had a little more distance, you get that in a few of the holes but the park itself doesn't really allow for that factor. The use of elevation and somewhat narrow fairways is a good test of your skill. I agree with the guy who said adding another set of tees for a little more distance.
Other Thoughts: I think they've done a great job using the landscape to maximize the courses potential. A couple holes are a little short but they play to pins that are tucked behind trees. Overall I thought this was a really good course and worth playing if you're in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Play if for fun

1    1/21/2012   1/28/2012
Review By: ssittler
Played: 32  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 18.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: > Short course that can be fun for all ages and skill levels
> Good tees, baskets and signs
> Great signs and benches. Course is also full of trash cans - no excuse for missing one!
Cons: > Many holes on the front 9 are similar length/play
Other Thoughts: Not a destination course but a great place to bring kids and/or new people to the sport.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    9/18/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: WaterLogged
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very forgiving and fun for all skill levels. Good length holes and a variety of terrain and curves. I would recommend this course to anyone.
Cons: The only negative thing i can say is that the course can be crowded on weekend afternoons, but i have only had to wait once and i decided to play the back nine first.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice change of pace for the area

5+    7/16/2011   8/16/2011
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a lot of fun to play without having to devote a large amount of time or energy into playing a rd. there is a concession stand right by hole 1 and the course flows quite well. the front and back nines are pretty much opposites with the front being a birdie fest and the back quite longer and more technical. I like to come to this course for a change of pace from the other course that is close by, Timmons. Although this course is longer its not as technical or up and down hill as Timmons.
Cons: The front for some people can be a con. it is pretty easy and if you dont get a bunch of birds there then you are prob not going to have a great rd. I personally think its fun because you have about 5 ace runs that arent too short. and there is some elevation changes. the only other con I can think of is the walk from 18 back to the lot. this couldnt be avoided though because of the giant playground.
Other Thoughts: I mentioned the playground and that is another positive. for those who have kids they can make it a family day with some DG and park time. nice overall park with all amenities needed. bathroom. concession. water.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Century Park DGC

1    7/1/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
- Great medium-length 18-hole course in a clean community park
- Mostly open with lots of trees requiring carefully placed/shaped shots
- HUGE concrete tee pads
- Excellent variety of lefty/righty holes
- Good use of the mild rolling elevation
- Creek in play on several holes
- Well placed mandos on several holes
- Easy to follow layout and excellent flow from hole to hole
- New DisCatcher baskets all around
- Beginner-friendly and fun for intermediate/advanced players
- For the family: the best playground I have ever seen
- Ice cream stand, drink machines, and rest rooms near hole #1 and #9
- No wide open boomer holes if you want to show off the longball
- May not be challenging for the most advanced players
- Park probably gets crowded when baseball games are going on
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy medium-length courses that are more technical than distance oriented, so Century Park became an instant favorite of mine when I recently played it for the first time. While there are lots of nice little goodies such as the massive trapezoidal tee pads, there is no one big thing that stands out--the course just works. The designers have really hit a home run when it comes to fun factor. While there are certainly birdie opportunities, they are not gimmies. If this were a local course, I would be one happy disc golfer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A DG dandy

5+    6/30/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: JBryant
Played: 93  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great tees and to compliment fun/challenging holes with cool blue disc-catchers.

The front is where the money is. Birdies galore on the front. You'll need them for a way tougher back 9.

Great resting areas on almost every hole. Well thought out design.
Cons: Some of the teesigns are missing or in bad shape. Other than that there isn't much to say. It is rather easy going here but don't let that fool you. If you let your guard down it can punish you.
Other Thoughts: Designing a second set of tees to add a little more length would be a great idea. It would put Greer on the map for sure.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    3/22/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 66  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course for beginning players. Lots of very short holes to help build the confidence of new players. Tee pads are long and wide, most giving you a variety of angles to approach the basket from. The course is pretty open, but does have a few trees to contend with. Thankfully all but one of the holes have multiple lines to shoot at the basket through.
Cons: Not the prettiest course. It's kind of scub oaky and sand (at least on the front 9). The back nine is definitely nicer. And on the front 9 you have a lot of baskets that feel like you're zigzagging back and forth, up and down the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Super kids playground to keep the wife and kids occupied so you can play in peace!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 200  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 20.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Friendly locals, ice cream concession stand by hole 1, nice fit in small area
Cons: Holes are on top of each other (watch for errant throws), huge kids park nearby (kids wander onto course)
Other Thoughts: Variety (shots) - 3.5/5 - some good lines. Nothing jaw-dropping in the layout but nothing dull either

Variety (length) - 2.5/5 - mostly very short. Fun for ace runs. Some longer runs on back 9

Beauty - 2.5/5 - not the course's fault, it's just in a red-dirt mess. An extra 1/2 point for the hot moms at the park

Trackability - 4/5 - When the holes are this close, it's tough to get lost. Only a few where I even had to look around.

Lost Disc Hazard - 3/5 - Some shallow water, some dangerous rough (17) but mostly easy

Vibe - 3/5 - The locals were great. Held my dog's leash while I threw, everyone asked me if I wanted to play through, told me briefly about the course history. The folks on the outside of the park are kinda Deliverance-sketchy

Safety - 4/5 - Too crowded for too much to go wrong. Saw my first snake of the year (6' black snake).

22.5/7 = 3.21 = 3

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My Everyday Course

5+    2/27/2011   3/2/2011
Review By: jdawgl
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The each tee has an informative and subtle sign. Subtle because they are short 4x4 board with a nice graphic encased in Plexiglas. Some of the tee boxes have retaining walls to keep dirt from eroding onto the tee boxes. This course is constantly maintained! Trash cans have been placed inside a wooden 'locker' for safe keeping. Variation between an easy front nine and harder back nine. The course may seem short but tee shots must be precise to miss trees and traverse elevation. A course architect from Innova came to map the course out so there are some challenges. Bathroom facilities are close by with concession stands. Century Park lies next to course and is great for kids yet far enough that you don't have to worry about discs hitting kids. If the course were longer and tougher I would rate it a 5.
Cons: Short holes. Less than a handful of holes over 320ft. No practice basket yet. I've been told the addition of a practice basket is in the works. You may throw your disc into the baseball fields on two holes. Not a big deal because there is an access.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.