Greer, SC 
Century Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #9 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

5+    1/26/2011   1/26/2011
Review By: goldenpecan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has lots of curves and elevation changes. Great woods course. Nice and cool on hot summer days. Plenty of birdie opportunities on front half, harder to come by on back 9.
Cons: Because its an above average course it is fairly busy. Could use a few longer holes.
Other Thoughts: Very friendly people, great tee boxes. Larger area than most other courses.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Jeckyl & Hyde with a fun side

1    10/4/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 6.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great tees and great signs with cool blue disc-catchers.
A great confidence builder on the front 9 with a way tougher back 9 which is great fun.
Cons: Front 9 is kind of back and forth so there is a chance of drives coming into your fairway.
14 can punish you but hey...punishment is all part of the game right?
Other Thoughts: The front 9 will give you a lot of birdie shots which is a good thing because you will need them on the back 9! Hole 11 requires you to shoot a tight gap or end up in the ravine, the hole plays down, through the gap and then steeply uphill...a really fun hole.
Hole 12 is right next to the railroad tracks and you get to choose a tunnel or a tunnel (supposedly light pole is a mando so you aren't supposed to go over the baseball field).
Hole 14 has a double mando and then finishes with the basket tucked in next to the blue lagoon...ok, brown lagoon.
Hole 16 Is a sweet short downhill that you want to unload all your putters and short mids on and 17 is a rather tight fairway (for those who like to flex) with a fence on the left and a tree line on the right.

There are a lot of cool holes, even the front has some (I liked 3).

This is a fun course and the kind I would play all the time if I lived in the area. I look forward to bringing my wife here to see how she does.

It's not the hardest course in the world, sure, but it is a blast and that is what this game is supposed to be about isn't it?

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good play

2-4    8/17/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: Justin Garr
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good place to test distances and curves and diff flight paths. Not very many trees but there are some.
Cons: Rather long and alot of cudzoo and areas to loose your disc.
Other Thoughts: As i never lost a disc my step father has lost a couple.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for all levels

1    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was a fun round for me and my wife. It has great tee boxes on every hole (I love the wide back ends on a tee box). There are great wooden benches and nice wood covered trash cans about every two holes. Each hole has a "hole map" sign at the tee box that accurately shows the hole and layout. *Another pro for me was that this was a shorter course so my wife (who throws pretty straight, just not super far) was racking up pars and having legitimate birdie putts every now and again. The course was in great shape, no littering or anything of that sort. I love the entrance to the course where you walk under the "Century Park Disc Golf Course" sign and straight into the first tee box. No wandering asking where the first tee is here. The holes link up nicely, I don't think we ever went the wrong way lookging for a tee box. The baskets were all in great shape also.
Cons: Although I like an easy course just for good scoring, this one is pretty easy. Most holes are pretty short and fairly straight. If you're a decent player looking for a challenge, then look elsewhere (but if you want to have fun and make pars and birdies come on out). I didn't really have a "trademark hole" when I was thinking back about the course, no holes really stood out for me. It could really use some holes that really turn left or right.
Other Thoughts: *Dogs are not allowed, even though there are no signs posted by the disc golf entrance, there are on the entrance to the kid area. We took our dog (luckily didn't get fined) but the lady at the concession stand said a lot of people had been ticketed lately.

This could have easily been a 3.0 but it is so clean and with the benches/trashcans, "hole maps" it really makes the experience better for me. Once again, it isn't the most challenging, but when I'm in the area I'll definately play it and Timmons park again without hesitation.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 good average course

2-4    6/30/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: discgirly
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Like the concrete tee pads and cleanlyness of the park, the trash cans are good but some were full, discatchers are very good pins
Cons: to short on most of the holes and too easy. Needs more challange in doglegs and more par 4 holes

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Pleasant

1    6/5/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: trentdk
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Just like the rest of the park, the upkeep was tremendous. Nice little gate welcoming you to the first hole. Every tee box is a concrete pad with a layout map, trash can, and bench. Perfect layout (no question about where the next hole lies, and start/finish at the parking lot).
Cons: Not really a con... but its kind of easy. Actually, it was a 'pro' for me because it made me feel like I was awesome :). Don't come here for a challenge, come here for a relaxing game.
Other Thoughts: I feel like I've played all over the place now, and the rests at the top for "enjoyment". This course, and Crooked Creek.

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/29/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 115  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 11.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So much fun to be had here!
The course is great for everyone, beginners and pros alike. Beginners will like it because there are less tunnel shots/ tight threads, and the pros will like it for the same reason. After a couple rounds here, you should be taking a few strokes off your scorecard.
Teepads are some of the best I've ever played on, as are the baskets and the signs that show the holes at the tee, illustrating mandos, OB, obstacles, and different lines.
The benches are incredible, as are the trashcans(wood built around cans using same wood as the benches -- padlocks on them too, very well done). Seems like they had some money to spend on the finer things for this course. The bridges are excellent, too.
Front nine sets you up for the back nine. You can get your muscle memory going on the front, then step it up on the tougher back 9. I love courses like this.
Park itself is well taken care of, and the playground is INCREDIBLE!
Only a few places to really lose a disc, not much OB that you couldn't find a disc after a little hunting. Pin for 14 is next to a deeper part of the creek, but it's usually clear to see to the bottom. Thunderstormed last night, and we could still see everything in the water.
Cons: Front 9 is almost all straight. Not such a bad thing, as there are elevation changes and trees to make them a bit different, but still pretty straight.
Some poison ivy. Hey, it's the South, deal with it.
Par 4s could be long 3s. Nothing approaching a par 5.
Other Thoughts: This course is just great, you will love all the amenities that make this more than just another disc golf outing. Concession stand, soda machines, even a water mister area in the playground to cool off with!
If there were a little more variety, this would be a 4 star. Well worth it if you're in Greenville. So many great courses nearby too. Hit this one and Timmons for a confidence-boosting day!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth The Drive

2-4    4/14/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: DGHacker2010
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes are well defined with placards showing basket locations and obstacles.
Tees are concrete and spacious, the wide angle at the back takes a little getting used to!
A couple of long par 4s which give me an opportunity to rip a throw without having a narrow path to navigate.
Cons: Front 9 do get a little repetitious.
Managed to hit trees on what should've been open throwing areas! Oh wait, that's a con of my game, not the course!
Most of the holes are on dirt and could use some landscaping and grass seed! Limited access to the baseball field to retrieve your disc.
Other Thoughts: I played terribly both times, but still enjoyed the course enough to go back for more! I also should specify that I mostly play on weekdays so I don't have problems with crowded parks and parking. Great all around park for the family with playgrounds that my son absolutely loves.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/27/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 203  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 11.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a solid, enjoyable course. Front 9 more open, back 9 more wooded and challenging.
- Back nine has some very enjoyable holes. #11 & 12 are two of the tougher, longer holes on the course. #14 has a double mando, playing right along the creek. #16 is a short, tight shot throwing to a basket right along the creek.
- This is a good course for beginners. It's not a long course, presents plenty of birdie chances.
- Course is easy to navigate. A big course map is at the kiosk by #1. Good tee signs, and great angled tee pads to accommodate all shots. There are also plenty of benches and trash cans throughout the course.
- Park has tremendous amenities. There a concession stand (it's not always open), drinking fountains, soda machines, restrooms. Park also has baseball fields (kept in great condition) and the largest playground I can remember for the kids. The whole family can enjoy the park while you're playing. You have to love small towns that have lots of money for their parks.
Cons: The front 9 was too repetitive. From #4 - 9, every hole is a wide open, straight shot. They're all in the 200 - 250 foot range, except #6 at 300 feet. I threw Roc off the tee on that entire stretch, followed by birdie putts. 1 or 2 open, straight holes in a row is ok, 6 was a bit much.
- The front 9 has been over-cleared of trees, rough, grass - pretty much everything. It's all dirt. The local message board mentioned the land was originally going to be used for a dog park instead of the front 9. Sounds about right. It really needs some trees, grass, rough to help with the aesthetics and challenge.
- When the weather is nice, and all the activities for kids, I have a sense the course gets way too crowded. There's an overflow parking lot on a side street, meaning it may be difficult to get in a round, without a lot of hustle and bustle.
- There are fences running alongside several holes on the back 9. Throw over those, and you'll have a long walk to get around them.
Other Thoughts: The course is almost 2 different courses from the front 9 to the back. As soon as I got to #10, and away from the cleared out portion, it was night and day how much better the course got. Even the shorter holes on the back 9 are more challenging.
- Most of the course is played around/near other parts of the park. It's not until #13 that you start getting a sense of being away from everything else, and get a sense of nature.
- My favorite hole is #12. It's a 390-foot downhill hole, with split fairways, and a big hill on the side. The right fairway comes close to the baseball field, so be cautious if there's a game taking place.
- As mentioned, the park has something for everyone. But the park seems to have crammed so much into its space that it takes away from the disc golf experience.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice family friendly park

1    1/18/2010   1/18/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 234  Reviewed: 215  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2012
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Multipe tee pads 1 cement, 2 gravel.
Course was family friendly but still offered challenge to amatuer level players (if played at all par 3). Course had good flow and navigation was easy. There was a large map at hole 1 also.
Holes varied in distance, several featured slight elevation changes and just enough water to cause a penalty, but never lose your disc. Risk of disc loss is minimal.
Vending machine, water fountain, and bathrooms available at the large children's park. Concession stand near the parking lot.
Course had excellent signage.
Several unique holes made the most of the limited space.
First 9 are very short, back 9 are more challenging.
Cons: It's a pretty short course average distance is around 275 ft.
Hole 17 throws towards a main road, but it is a minimal safety concern
Other Thoughts: This course was built to entertain the widest range of players from elementary school children to experienced players.
several of the first holes taunt you with a possible ace attempt. Holes 10 and 11 are challenging, with 11 being a memorable downhill tunnel shot with the basket being back up another hill. Hole 14 had featured a double mando where you had to throw between the arrows, but avoid the small amount of water. Hole 17 was interesting with OB on 3 sides. Course never got monotonous and featured a lot of variety in limited space, over all a good design.
This course is lightly wooded with some water hazards, but the water is clear and shallow. Course was enjoyed by everyone in my party from the 8 year old to the 55 year old.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.