Greer, SC 
Century Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #11 (Taken 9/2011)
4 / 396ft.   3 / 396ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 good average course

2-4    6/30/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: discgirly
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Like the concrete tee pads and cleanlyness of the park, the trash cans are good but some were full, discatchers are very good pins
Cons: to short on most of the holes and too easy. Needs more challange in doglegs and more par 4 holes

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Pleasant

1    6/5/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: trentdk
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Just like the rest of the park, the upkeep was tremendous. Nice little gate welcoming you to the first hole. Every tee box is a concrete pad with a layout map, trash can, and bench. Perfect layout (no question about where the next hole lies, and start/finish at the parking lot).
Cons: Not really a con... but its kind of easy. Actually, it was a 'pro' for me because it made me feel like I was awesome :). Don't come here for a challenge, come here for a relaxing game.
Other Thoughts: I feel like I've played all over the place now, and the rests at the top for "enjoyment". This course, and Crooked Creek.

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/29/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 100  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So much fun to be had here!
The course is great for everyone, beginners and pros alike. Beginners will like it because there are less tunnel shots/ tight threads, and the pros will like it for the same reason. After a couple rounds here, you should be taking a few strokes off your scorecard.
Teepads are some of the best I've ever played on, as are the baskets and the signs that show the holes at the tee, illustrating mandos, OB, obstacles, and different lines.
The benches are incredible, as are the trashcans(wood built around cans using same wood as the benches -- padlocks on them too, very well done). Seems like they had some money to spend on the finer things for this course. The bridges are excellent, too.
Front nine sets you up for the back nine. You can get your muscle memory going on the front, then step it up on the tougher back 9. I love courses like this.
Park itself is well taken care of, and the playground is INCREDIBLE!
Only a few places to really lose a disc, not much OB that you couldn't find a disc after a little hunting. Pin for 14 is next to a deeper part of the creek, but it's usually clear to see to the bottom. Thunderstormed last night, and we could still see everything in the water.
Cons: Front 9 is almost all straight. Not such a bad thing, as there are elevation changes and trees to make them a bit different, but still pretty straight.
Some poison ivy. Hey, it's the South, deal with it.
Par 4s could be long 3s. Nothing approaching a par 5.
Other Thoughts: This course is just great, you will love all the amenities that make this more than just another disc golf outing. Concession stand, soda machines, even a water mister area in the playground to cool off with!
If there were a little more variety, this would be a 4 star. Well worth it if you're in Greenville. So many great courses nearby too. Hit this one and Timmons for a confidence-boosting day!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth The Drive

2-4    4/14/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: DGHacker2010
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes are well defined with placards showing basket locations and obstacles.
Tees are concrete and spacious, the wide angle at the back takes a little getting used to!
A couple of long par 4s which give me an opportunity to rip a throw without having a narrow path to navigate.
Cons: Front 9 do get a little repetitious.
Managed to hit trees on what should've been open throwing areas! Oh wait, that's a con of my game, not the course!
Most of the holes are on dirt and could use some landscaping and grass seed! Limited access to the baseball field to retrieve your disc.
Other Thoughts: I played terribly both times, but still enjoyed the course enough to go back for more! I also should specify that I mostly play on weekdays so I don't have problems with crowded parks and parking. Great all around park for the family with playgrounds that my son absolutely loves.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/27/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 176  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 10.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a solid, enjoyable course. Front 9 more open, back 9 more wooded and challenging.
- Back nine has some very enjoyable holes. #11 & 12 are two of the tougher, longer holes on the course. #14 has a double mando, playing right along the creek. #16 is a short, tight shot throwing to a basket right along the creek.
- This is a good course for beginners. It's not a long course, presents plenty of birdie chances.
- Course is easy to navigate. A big course map is at the kiosk by #1. Good tee signs, and great angled tee pads to accommodate all shots. There are also plenty of benches and trash cans throughout the course.
- Park has tremendous amenities. There a concession stand (it's not always open), drinking fountains, soda machines, restrooms. Park also has baseball fields (kept in great condition) and the largest playground I can remember for the kids. The whole family can enjoy the park while you're playing. You have to love small towns that have lots of money for their parks.
Cons: The front 9 was too repetitive. From #4 - 9, every hole is a wide open, straight shot. They're all in the 200 - 250 foot range, except #6 at 300 feet. I threw Roc off the tee on that entire stretch, followed by birdie putts. 1 or 2 open, straight holes in a row is ok, 6 was a bit much.
- The front 9 has been over-cleared of trees, rough, grass - pretty much everything. It's all dirt. The local message board mentioned the land was originally going to be used for a dog park instead of the front 9. Sounds about right. It really needs some trees, grass, rough to help with the aesthetics and challenge.
- When the weather is nice, and all the activities for kids, I have a sense the course gets way too crowded. There's an overflow parking lot on a side street, meaning it may be difficult to get in a round, without a lot of hustle and bustle.
- There are fences running alongside several holes on the back 9. Throw over those, and you'll have a long walk to get around them.
Other Thoughts: The course is almost 2 different courses from the front 9 to the back. As soon as I got to #10, and away from the cleared out portion, it was night and day how much better the course got. Even the shorter holes on the back 9 are more challenging.
- Most of the course is played around/near other parts of the park. It's not until #13 that you start getting a sense of being away from everything else, and get a sense of nature.
- My favorite hole is #12. It's a 390-foot downhill hole, with split fairways, and a big hill on the side. The right fairway comes close to the baseball field, so be cautious if there's a game taking place.
- As mentioned, the park has something for everyone. But the park seems to have crammed so much into its space that it takes away from the disc golf experience.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice family friendly park

1    1/18/2010   1/18/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2012
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multipe tee pads 1 cement, 2 gravel.
Course was family friendly but still offered challenge to amatuer level players (if played at all par 3). Course had good flow and navigation was easy. There was a large map at hole 1 also.
Holes varied in distance, several featured slight elevation changes and just enough water to cause a penalty, but never lose your disc. Risk of disc loss is minimal.
Vending machine, water fountain, and bathrooms available at the large children's park. Concession stand near the parking lot.
Course had excellent signage.
Several unique holes made the most of the limited space.
First 9 are very short, back 9 are more challenging.
Cons: It's a pretty short course average distance is around 275 ft.
Hole 17 throws towards a main road, but it is a minimal safety concern
Other Thoughts: This course was built to entertain the widest range of players from elementary school children to experienced players.
several of the first holes taunt you with a possible ace attempt. Holes 10 and 11 are challenging, with 11 being a memorable downhill tunnel shot with the basket being back up another hill. Hole 14 had featured a double mando where you had to throw between the arrows, but avoid the small amount of water. Hole 17 was interesting with OB on 3 sides. Course never got monotonous and featured a lot of variety in limited space, over all a good design.
This course is lightly wooded with some water hazards, but the water is clear and shallow. Course was enjoyed by everyone in my party from the 8 year old to the 55 year old.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Clean, short and clear.

1    1/6/2010   1/6/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice little park with big playground and facilities for the family. Nice, big concrete tee pads on all holes. Good signs for each hole, and easy navigation. Very few opportunites to lose plastic. Good place for beginners and less than advanced players to learn the game. Mature trees provide the hazards, but almost all the brush and undergrowth has been cleared.
Cons: Many holes that are straight shots with a few obstacles. Very repetitive. Not many fairways that make you create a line to the basket. Course should be very easy for advanced players with big arms. Most holes range from 200-300'. First 10 holes are pretty dull.
Other Thoughts: A lot of work has been done, and this course is a great place for new players, or players that want to work on a certain part of their game without a lot of frustration. Holes 12 and 14-17 are the holes that have some real character. 12 is a long down hill with a narrow gap between two sets of trees. Baseball field on right could cause risk for those that try to go around trees. Double mando on 14 with a creek on th eleft. 15 is long and straight, but the basket is on a small hill that will create rolls on your approaches and putts. 16 is a nice short ACE run, but has a small creek and some tress guarding the basket. 17 is long and straight, but has an OB fence on left and an OB road on the right.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Southern Beauty has it all

5+    1/22/2011   9/20/2009
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 90  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean, beautiful park setting with woods. Good for novice or pro players. Huge tee pads. All new tee signs, baskets. Large benches & trash cans. Course map & lock box at the entrance for found (lost) discs. Easy to navigate. Friendly locals. Shots include rights, lefts, short, long & straight. Slight elevation creates uphill & downhill looks. #15 through #18 are played in mown grass fairways. Some water (creek), OB's & Mandos. Great parking & concessions, bath rooms, etc. Great course design/layout/use of land with #8 & #18 finishing at the parking lot.
Cons: Errant drives on hole #1 could hit players teeing off on #2. Multiple pins and/or tee pads would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Get your birdies early on the front 9 as the back 9 will surely add a couple. I keep making the excuse to travel back to this course to throw. It has a great vibe & I cant wait to go there again!
My favorite holes: #6, #14, #16
My toughest holes: #3, #11, #12, #18

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Road Trip Perfection

1    9/5/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 294  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- This is the kind of course you want to get out of your car and play when you're on a road trip. Beautiful, challenging holes... not too long, not too short, not too open, not too tight - perfect. Almost all the holes are between 220-340' (with some hovering at 200 and others hovering at 400) and either require some sort of gap to hit, a mandy to be made, or OB to avoid... or all three. Fun times.
- Beautiful tee-pads... nice and long concrete pads with wider bases than fronts. Gives you the ability to really shape your run-up.
- Nice signage, benches, baskets, trashcans, park setting, etc... Just really nice.
- Some of the holes are gems... 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 17. With hole 12 being a world class golf hole.
- Great use of the limited elevation available.
- Although there was great signage and a good map... they were un-needed. The course had great flow.
Cons:
- None really... I can nit-pick though.
- Some trash laying around the course.
- I would say most of the holes are straight... some require shaping, but nonetheless straight. There were no real serious doglegs.
Other Thoughts:
- Like I said before... if you're on a road trip this is the type of course you want to play. Definitely better than the other 3 courses I played in the Greenville area.
- As mentioned by the ValkKid... the Par 4's are really 3's... they're just not quite long enough to be 4's, although (I would imagine) rarely 2'd.
- This course has low numbers to be shot... but, you'll have to shoot well, nothing is given to you freely. Only good/great shots (depending on the hole) will yield realistic birdie opportunities.
- My Score: -9

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Raw But Nice And Will Be Better With Time!

1    7/19/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I can see this course is still in the develomental stage. It's in a multi-use park with ballfields, kids tot lot, little snack shop, etc. Very nice informative tee signs on thick (12" X 12") poles low to the ground. If the sign is damaged, it will be easy to replace it with another laminated one. The teepads were fine and there were a few next tee signs, also. Navigation was pretty smooth. There were a lot of interesting, fun holes on this course. # 6, I think, is a long straight downhill shot where you really would like to carry your tee shot across a fairly, deep creek before pitching up to the basket which is up the hill ahead. To me, the signature hole on the course is # 16. It's looks like a simple little ACE run, maybe 200 ft. But the basket is guarded by a creek with steep banks on two sides. It's a very birdable hole but one that probably ends up yielding quite a few bogies, as well.
Cons: The earth on the front seems raw, as if it's just been scraped by a dozer or something. Also, the entire front nine is littered with small branches. I'm sure the locals are working on cleaning these up.
Other Thoughts: There are a couple of holes listed as par 4's which are probably closer to 3's or maybe 3.5's. Two holes ( # 13 and # 14) play up and down a creek giving you the lost disc in the water experience. The second of these has the basket set fairly close to the creek so you have to be extra careful of your approach. I liked this course, enjoyed playing it. Thought it was fair and had some very well thought out holes. Try it! You'll like it, I'm sure. Nice course design work by whoever designed it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.