Greer, SC 
Century Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #11 (Taken 9/2009)
4 / 396ft.   3 / 396ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice change of pace for the area

5+    7/16/2011   8/16/2011
Review By: TOURNEYPLAYER
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a lot of fun to play without having to devote a large amount of time or energy into playing a rd. there is a concession stand right by hole 1 and the course flows quite well. the front and back nines are pretty much opposites with the front being a birdie fest and the back quite longer and more technical. I like to come to this course for a change of pace from the other course that is close by, Timmons. Although this course is longer its not as technical or up and down hill as Timmons.
Cons: The front for some people can be a con. it is pretty easy and if you dont get a bunch of birds there then you are prob not going to have a great rd. I personally think its fun because you have about 5 ace runs that arent too short. and there is some elevation changes. the only other con I can think of is the walk from 18 back to the lot. this couldnt be avoided though because of the giant playground.
Other Thoughts: I mentioned the playground and that is another positive. for those who have kids they can make it a family day with some DG and park time. nice overall park with all amenities needed. bathroom. concession. water.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Century Park DGC

1    7/1/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Great medium-length 18-hole course in a clean community park
- Mostly open with lots of trees requiring carefully placed/shaped shots
- HUGE concrete tee pads
- Excellent variety of lefty/righty holes
- Good use of the mild rolling elevation
- Creek in play on several holes
- Well placed mandos on several holes
- Easy to follow layout and excellent flow from hole to hole
- New DisCatcher baskets all around
- Beginner-friendly and fun for intermediate/advanced players
- For the family: the best playground I have ever seen
- Ice cream stand, drink machines, and rest rooms near hole #1 and #9
Cons:
- No wide open boomer holes if you want to show off the longball
- May not be challenging for the most advanced players
- Park probably gets crowded when baseball games are going on
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy medium-length courses that are more technical than distance oriented, so Century Park became an instant favorite of mine when I recently played it for the first time. While there are lots of nice little goodies such as the massive trapezoidal tee pads, there is no one big thing that stands out--the course just works. The designers have really hit a home run when it comes to fun factor. While there are certainly birdie opportunities, they are not gimmies. If this were a local course, I would be one happy disc golfer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A DG dandy

5+    6/30/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: JBryant
Played: 54  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great tees and to compliment fun/challenging holes with cool blue disc-catchers.

The front is where the money is. Birdies galore on the front. You'll need them for a way tougher back 9.

Great resting areas on almost every hole. Well thought out design.
Cons: Some of the teesigns are missing or in bad shape. Other than that there isn't much to say. It is rather easy going here but don't let that fool you. If you let your guard down it can punish you.
Other Thoughts: Designing a second set of tees to add a little more length would be a great idea. It would put Greer on the map for sure.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/22/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course for beginning players. Lots of very short holes to help build the confidence of new players. Tee pads are long and wide, most giving you a variety of angles to approach the basket from. The course is pretty open, but does have a few trees to contend with. Thankfully all but one of the holes have multiple lines to shoot at the basket through.
Cons: Not the prettiest course. It's kind of scub oaky and sand (at least on the front 9). The back nine is definitely nicer. And on the front 9 you have a lot of baskets that feel like you're zigzagging back and forth, up and down the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Super kids playground to keep the wife and kids occupied so you can play in peace!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 191  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 19.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Friendly locals, ice cream concession stand by hole 1, nice fit in small area
Cons: Holes are on top of each other (watch for errant throws), huge kids park nearby (kids wander onto course)
Other Thoughts: Variety (shots) - 3.5/5 - some good lines. Nothing jaw-dropping in the layout but nothing dull either

Variety (length) - 2.5/5 - mostly very short. Fun for ace runs. Some longer runs on back 9

Beauty - 2.5/5 - not the course's fault, it's just in a red-dirt mess. An extra 1/2 point for the hot moms at the park

Trackability - 4/5 - When the holes are this close, it's tough to get lost. Only a few where I even had to look around.

Lost Disc Hazard - 3/5 - Some shallow water, some dangerous rough (17) but mostly easy

Vibe - 3/5 - The locals were great. Held my dog's leash while I threw, everyone asked me if I wanted to play through, told me briefly about the course history. The folks on the outside of the park are kinda Deliverance-sketchy

Safety - 4/5 - Too crowded for too much to go wrong. Saw my first snake of the year (6' black snake).

22.5/7 = 3.21 = 3

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My Everyday Course

5+    2/27/2011   3/2/2011
Review By: jdawgl
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The each tee has an informative and subtle sign. Subtle because they are short 4x4 board with a nice graphic encased in Plexiglas. Some of the tee boxes have retaining walls to keep dirt from eroding onto the tee boxes. This course is constantly maintained! Trash cans have been placed inside a wooden 'locker' for safe keeping. Variation between an easy front nine and harder back nine. The course may seem short but tee shots must be precise to miss trees and traverse elevation. A course architect from Innova came to map the course out so there are some challenges. Bathroom facilities are close by with concession stands. Century Park lies next to course and is great for kids yet far enough that you don't have to worry about discs hitting kids. If the course were longer and tougher I would rate it a 5.
Cons: Short holes. Less than a handful of holes over 320ft. No practice basket yet. I've been told the addition of a practice basket is in the works. You may throw your disc into the baseball fields on two holes. Not a big deal because there is an access.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/26/2011   1/26/2011
Review By: goldenpecan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has lots of curves and elevation changes. Great woods course. Nice and cool on hot summer days. Plenty of birdie opportunities on front half, harder to come by on back 9.
Cons: Because its an above average course it is fairly busy. Could use a few longer holes.
Other Thoughts: Very friendly people, great tee boxes. Larger area than most other courses.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Jeckyl & Hyde with a fun side

1    10/4/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great tees and great signs with cool blue disc-catchers.
A great confidence builder on the front 9 with a way tougher back 9 which is great fun.
Cons: Front 9 is kind of back and forth so there is a chance of drives coming into your fairway.
14 can punish you but hey...punishment is all part of the game right?
Other Thoughts: The front 9 will give you a lot of birdie shots which is a good thing because you will need them on the back 9! Hole 11 requires you to shoot a tight gap or end up in the ravine, the hole plays down, through the gap and then steeply uphill...a really fun hole.
Hole 12 is right next to the railroad tracks and you get to choose a tunnel or a tunnel (supposedly light pole is a mando so you aren't supposed to go over the baseball field).
Hole 14 has a double mando and then finishes with the basket tucked in next to the blue lagoon...ok, brown lagoon.
Hole 16 Is a sweet short downhill that you want to unload all your putters and short mids on and 17 is a rather tight fairway (for those who like to flex) with a fence on the left and a tree line on the right.

There are a lot of cool holes, even the front has some (I liked 3).

This is a fun course and the kind I would play all the time if I lived in the area. I look forward to bringing my wife here to see how she does.

It's not the hardest course in the world, sure, but it is a blast and that is what this game is supposed to be about isn't it?

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good play

2-4    8/17/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: Justin Garr
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good place to test distances and curves and diff flight paths. Not very many trees but there are some.
Cons: Rather long and alot of cudzoo and areas to loose your disc.
Other Thoughts: As i never lost a disc my step father has lost a couple.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for all levels

1    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was a fun round for me and my wife. It has great tee boxes on every hole (I love the wide back ends on a tee box). There are great wooden benches and nice wood covered trash cans about every two holes. Each hole has a "hole map" sign at the tee box that accurately shows the hole and layout. *Another pro for me was that this was a shorter course so my wife (who throws pretty straight, just not super far) was racking up pars and having legitimate birdie putts every now and again. The course was in great shape, no littering or anything of that sort. I love the entrance to the course where you walk under the "Century Park Disc Golf Course" sign and straight into the first tee box. No wandering asking where the first tee is here. The holes link up nicely, I don't think we ever went the wrong way lookging for a tee box. The baskets were all in great shape also.
Cons: Although I like an easy course just for good scoring, this one is pretty easy. Most holes are pretty short and fairly straight. If you're a decent player looking for a challenge, then look elsewhere (but if you want to have fun and make pars and birdies come on out). I didn't really have a "trademark hole" when I was thinking back about the course, no holes really stood out for me. It could really use some holes that really turn left or right.
Other Thoughts: *Dogs are not allowed, even though there are no signs posted by the disc golf entrance, there are on the entrance to the kid area. We took our dog (luckily didn't get fined) but the lady at the concession stand said a lot of people had been ticketed lately.

This could have easily been a 3.0 but it is so clean and with the benches/trashcans, "hole maps" it really makes the experience better for me. Once again, it isn't the most challenging, but when I'm in the area I'll definately play it and Timmons park again without hesitation.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.