Greer, SC 
Century Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #6 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 303ft.   3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 B- = Be nice but also a Bit funky

1    9/15/2007   5/1/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- N/A
Cons: Can't put my finger on it exactly, since this course's individual elements that I grade upon add up higher than the rating I gave it. For some reason this was not a fun course for me. I think it had too many funky shaped holes where you had to try to force your disc to fly in ways that were not natural. That is OK for 2-4 holes per course, but it seemed like this course had much more funk than that.
Other Thoughts: I did visit the course while it was newish so maybe/hopefully things have been refined since.

It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 This is a Great Am Course!

5+    2/14/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: LiquidIce
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (Note: I first played this course in Feb 09, but my updated, current review is 5/28/2010)

- This is a great Am course! Beginners that start here will be introduced to the game they way they should: difficult, but attainable. Am's that dedicate alot of time to the game will find this track to be just right. Pro's will bring their midrange, putter, and maybe a driver (notice: 3 discs can get the job done here) and try for birdies on every hole.
- Tee signs at each hole that are accurate. The layout is not hard to follow either
-The course shows promise for the area (Greer)
- The course is getting alot of foot traffic and the number of younger players is growing, which in turn will intrigue older ones
- Will be able to host small tourney's well
- Adjacent bathrooms and vending machines in the park/playground beside.
Cons: - Holes 3 and 11 are right by a train track that is still in use, so noise can be a factor (this is kinda a cool feature though. How many courses have you played that had a working train near-by? This also pays homage to the area's history, sort of)
Other Thoughts: -The course redesign really has improved the playing experience (I had the chance of playing it before). I have to tip my hat to Russel Schwarz for a nice redesign in the space available.

-This area is also family friendly because of the adjacent, large playground.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Still Closed

2-4    3/15/2009   12/24/2008
Review By: bethehole
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I am updating my review as I have been back to the course and played it on Saturday and Sunday this past weekend. I LOVE IT! Kudos to all the hard work that Bill, Carla, Nathan, and others have done to transform this course into one of the best in the area. This course combines bombs and finesse and should be fun for any level of player.
Cons: Still a work in progress but thanks to the above mentioned people, this course is coming around nicely. Still need signs on the tee pads but the new cement pads are quite nice!
Other Thoughts: This has become my favorite course in the Greenville area. See you at the Iron Man this weekend!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.