Corning, NY 
Denison Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 284ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Mostly Finished Course

5+    7/6/2014   12/11/2013
Review By: Akedos
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2014
Pros: Mostly finished course in a public park. Fairway lengths are amateur to beginner friendly, while the course itself is definitely more demanding and requires some skill. There are old growth trees that make many holes challenging and the majority of holes are lefty friendly, hope you have a good anheizer shot or flick. The front 12 holes (The Harley Miller Course) are off the water and make for a good challenge for beginners. The last 6 are all thrown over/near water and through trees, adding a bit of difficulty to the course. Newly installed red tee pads on the water holes will make these last ones a bit easier for beginners who don't want to lose their discs in the swamp. The course used to get confusing to navigate between holes 6 and 7 and again between 11 and 12. But the recent addition of signs and basket arrows make it much more friendly to navigate.
Cons: There are also blue tee pads (4x4's) which extend the playability of the course, but do not really ad much more than 50-100ft in fairway distance. Unfortunately this is a public park and a tight one at that. There are many out of bounds areas and multi-use areas. Watch out for kids, runners, dog walkers, cars, fishermen, skateboarders, etc. The crossing fairways on 1&2, 5&6, 7&8, and 14&15 are obnoxious but should not be a problem generally speaking as long as the park isn't running a tournament.
Other Thoughts: The course is well maintained year round and all of the white and red tee pads are poured concrete. A fun course for daily play.

Bring a Map

1    10/23/2013   10/23/2013
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Denison Park is well maintained and has many other amenities other than disc golf. The course has many fun holes and you will need a variety of shots to be successful. Water comes into play on the last 6 holes. Many of these have a low ceiling which adds even more challenge. There are 2 tee options per hole, most tee areas have 1 tee per hole that has a concrete pad which is nice sized.

Other Pros:
- clean bathrooms at the start
- island in play
- friendly, helpful locals
Cons: There are too many criss-crossing holes. Depending on which tee you use, you may cross another fairway up to 5 times. A map is necessary for 1st time players and you will need to check it often. The alternate tees are natural and marked with spray paint but are very tough to find sometimes. The flow was confusing and navigation became aggravating. You not only need the map to find the tees but to determine which basket to throw at. There are some long walks too, BRING THE MAP!

The biggest con is the safety concerns for the non-disc golfers. Holes play near: roads, playgrounds, basketball court, baseball field, pavilions, picnic areas, etc.

Other Cons:
- some missing tee signs
- funky smell from a factory
- murky water
Other Thoughts: The course was actually really fun to play. I played a weekday morning so many of the safety issues weren't a problem. However, those issues are there. I pulled the map up on my phone right away and never put it away. I would recommend playing here, just choose a logical tee time if possible.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

a confusing afternoon

1    4/10/2013   10/2/2013
Review By: Jabumbo
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park is maintained fairly well and the tee pads were great. Hole variety for being in such a tight area was nice, even if only moderate in length, and forced me to try all sorts of different shots.
Cons: A number of the holes didn't have signs and so I found myself wandering around looking for a basket and backtracking to a tee a lot. Since things are so tight within the park, it was very confusing to get around. When I finally found hole 12 I was a bit frustrated and skipped over 13-15 due to the crowd of kids running around nearby. The proximity of the baskets to play areas and all of the fairway crossovers are the biggest negatives in my book.
Other Thoughts: Being that there were no other courses anywhere close, it was nice to have an opportunity to play while out of town. There is a lot of potential here if the signage was kept in place and some tree pruning was completed to provide some clean throwing lanes. I also can't imagine many times when you wouldn't have to worry about hitting someone outside of winter. If I had the course map, I probably would have had a better experience.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Dance Combo: Limbo and Twist

1    6/20/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Most holes have 6'x10' teepads
Cons:
When the two mandos on the course are the backstop of a baseball field, and the lamppost of a basketball court, you know there will potentially be frequent chances to negatively interact with the non-playing public. Fairways are also close to roads, walkways, skate park, benches, gazebo, fishing spot.

Fairly flat.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in and around in the limited open spaces of a small, long-n-narrow, multi-purpose park. Holes 1-6, 12-18 play in the main part of the park, while 7-11 are accessed via tunnels that run under a major road.

While the course is certainly not wooded, control is called for, as medium/large hardwoods will come into play on most every hole. The branches of these hardwoods will come into play at various times in the flightpath of the drive - early and/or middle and/or late - so keeping the disc low is a must. The trees aren't so close together that the flightpaths are unfair, but are close enough together that swinging high-n-wide isn't typically an option.

In addition to staying low, most holes will also require some type of turn, usually mid or late flight. Even mixture of lefts (mostly the earlier holes) and rights (back nine) - straight off the tee only happens a few times.

The hole that typifies low/left is #10. While only ~230', a score of randomly scattered small trees are directly between the tee and basket. A low, hyzered Wraith, thrown into a dip to the right, then skipping left around the trees, was the best way to reach the basket with the drive.

Water potentially comes into play on the last six holes, although for the experienced player, it typically comes down to a simple choice - take the most direct line, and accept some risk of hitting a tree and ending up in the drink, or swing wide/conservatively, and take the water out of play. Number-18 is the best example of it, as the direct line to the basket requires you to cross the corner of the pond, and split two large hardwoods on the opposite bank.

A map is critical when attempting to navigate this course for the first time. In particular:
- No tee sign at #1 (at corner of roads t-junction)
- Most visible tee from basket-3 is tee-5 - need to backtrack to find tee-4
- Most visible basket from tee-5 is basket-6 - basket-5 is farther, and left
- Basket-7 is up-n-over rise
- No tee signs for back nine
- From basket-11, turn right to find tunnel which leads to tee-12 - if you go straight, you'll find basket-13
- Tee-12 is nar fire hydrant, diagonal from tee-1
- Tees 13-15 are dirt, with wooden toe boards. Tee-14 is next to large hardwood next to road
- Three crossing fairways (1-2, 7-8, 14-15)

Despite the courses many shortcomings, it does challenge you to throw shots that have both distance and shape, while keeping a low altitude.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Some TLC Needed

5+    8/10/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: LSC player
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy to get to.
-A relatively "open" course.
-Fairly easy to navigate.
-Grass is well maintained.
- Holes 1-12 are newbie friendly
Cons: -Why on Earth do you have to throw in/around/over the same body of water 6 times in a row?
-Is it really necessary to have a hole location next to a gazebo? Most times there are families using it for picnics.
-Too many holes are close to multi-use recreational areas (i.e. basketball courts, skate parks, playgrounds, baseball/softball fields, etc.). I understand that the course is built in a town park, but there are ways to avoid throwing directly at things like skate parks.
-Low hanging branches need to be cut. Several of the water holes have small enough windows as it is to get your disc over. Low hanging foliage creates a much higher risk vs high reward factor. After losing a disc (for a throw that really didn't deserve to get wet) and nearly losing several others, I've found myself laying up to a couple of holes to mitigate risk.
Other Thoughts: Very average course overall. Some fun long holes on the front nine keep me coming back. A wide variety of shots can be played on several holes which helps you mix up your approach. Decent course to work on some things. I know I sound like a whiner, but the last 6 holes are really poorly planned. Throwing my disc over a disgusting canal 6 times in a row is bad enough... when I have to throw around little kids with their parents is worse. If your disc gets wet, little to no chance of finding it. Plus the water smells REALLY bad. You will need to take 3-5 showers to get the smell out. Bottom line: A good place to bring someone new to the area to warm up; but not a destination course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Scorning Corning!

1    9/26/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really nice concrete tees on a few holes in a nice local park. Several types of shots required and a few interesting lines needed to score well as well as some fun skyzers and low ceilings. There is definetely some interesting shots here. Plenty of risk/reward elements. Many possible but not easy ace chances here as well. Low ceiling, rollers, air it out up and over, spike hyzers, anhyzers, skip shots, 5 legit water holes, Course is free from any schule as it plays through a manicured public park.
I really enjoyed hole 10 with its tangled tree laden fairway or the sneaky skippy hyzer route to the right.....I swear theres a destroyer skip ace here.
Many of the pond holes were interesting requiring low ceiling shots over water, soft landings on a steep bank, and despite the clockwise direction around the pond multiple types of tee shots were required from hyzers, low ceilings, anhyzers, and flex shots. It wasn't just bomb it past the water. Playing a tourney here is probably intense as every hole seems to employ some serious OOB potential and thus crazy risk/reward.
In hinsight and lookback hole 17 has a great flex line with ample landing zones.
Good variety of shot making here.
Cons: Despite the variety and the surprising challenge here there are some major flaws. Many of the tees are natural and unmarked. The flow employs 8 holes that literally criss cross so in addition to danger from other tees you are often confused where to throw to. The majority of holes have access roads nearby. 4 holes play next to a highway with an oob fence literally feet from the basket or fairway. Skate Park, Baseball Field, Access Roads, Basketball Court, Picnic Grove, Playground, ooooh the danger never ceases. You will get lost it's inevitable even with a map I got spun around after hole 11 and had to backtrack to find hole 13 and finally 12. (Hint: tunnel under highway to tee 12 is to the right of basket 11 and not the left) I personally am not a fan of deep canals and bottomless ponds that could feasibly empty your bag of your plastic. I was up to my waist in the canal retrieving my floater on 15.....finished my round barefoot and stinking swampy. despite making good throws you can still get cabbaged by some leaves like I did and get doinked into the canal. (maybe wasnt that good of a throw) In a nutshell too much danger to the public with many holes playing around or near park activities, other Dgers with the crossing fairways, and to your bag as you might lose plastic to the deeep pond. Too much stress with the risk and navigation problems for me to have a relaxing round.
Other Thoughts: Definetely not a first time friendly course and if I was a local I would not like all the risky water holes on a regular basis either. It's a shame cause there are some actually really good shots here if you can phase out the negatives. Best played early AM or in colder weather as crowds would be slimmer and in winter the pond and canal would be surely be frozen and disc loss would be mitigated. Just not my type of place and I was warned by more than one player to not go here but due to it's proximity to major highways I could not resist the temptation. You've been warned.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Avoid at all costs

1    7/24/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 146  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 14.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really there is nothing good I can say about this course. I wish I could say the lake/pond was a nice addition.
Cons: I honestly don't understand the reviews of this course. This course is simply one of the most dangerous courses I have ever played, and there is no elevation involved. Not only do 5 or 6 holes criss-cross fairways, but many holes play right through the busy section of the park. I couldn't find 2 holes (hole 12 was nowhere to be found after hole 11, as I was only able to locate hole 13's basket without finding the tee), and three holes were basically unplayable because of being in such busy areas of the park because I was afraid of throwing and hitting someone. I am a pretty good player, and I would be worried about beginners playing this course. Also, some of the holes get dangerously close to the busy highway in town. More than half of the holes don't even have tee signs, and some of the baskets aren't even facing the right way to indicate which way the teepad would even be found (I couldn't find some of the teepads). The criss-crossing fairways were a joke - I can't remember ever seeing that on multiple holes. Holes 13 through 15 were such a ridiculous mess that even a bystander just sitting in the park asked why I kept running in circles. Unless you are a local who plays the course all the time (and if you are, something should be done about this course), avoid this course at all costs. Not only is this course dangerous, but it is literally impossible to navigate. Many holes also get dangerously close and even go right over walking paths in the park. My katana on hole 5 about nailed a guy moving around in a wheelchair that came out of nowhere.
Other Thoughts: Even if you are passing through town and want to just play a new course (what I was doing), avoid this course at all costs. This course is really really bad, and is nearly impossible to follow. Not only is it dangerous and impossible to navigate, but most of the holes weren't even fun, and the criss-crossing fairways made it laughable.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Low-Ceiling Course in Lower NY

2-4    1/14/2010   1/14/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The course has several water hazards that are pretty easy to clear but are fun nevertheless! #14 and 15 criss-cross over a stream and the remaining three have water come into play as the baskets are lined up near a pond.

- Nice concrete tees. Even in the winter, the footing is excellent.

- A pretty easy course to complete a round. Several birdie opportunities and a couple bogey ones as well if you don't watch some of the trees. I would have no issues taking any beginners here to play. I found the back nine to be more enjoyable, challenging and serene than the front nine -- mostly because of the aforementioned water hazards and increased prevalence of trees by the baskets.
Cons: - Several holes on the course play very close to the highway. In fact, the road actually bisects the park. Fences notwithstanding, a bad sharp anhyzer (on #4) or hyzer (on #12) could go over the fence and into oncoming traffic!

- Not every hole has signage. Some of the signs are missing information on them and other holes lack signs altogether. This was true for hole #1 and it took me a few minutes to find it.

- Park can be pretty busy all year round with a lot of non-disc golfers. I've played here in both August and January and the number of people is about the same.

- The course has virtually no elevation changes and contains only one true 'wooded' hole (#10). Given the lengths of the holes and the lack of obstacles, I'd say that the pars are a little outdated -- go with the pro pars instead!

- A lot of low ceiling shots. I found myself using my teebird on many drives just to avoid hitting branches from nearby trees by the tees. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, but I do think that some trimming could be in order for many of the holes in the park.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty textbook city park disc golf course. Other park patrons/activities must be considered while playing; the elevation is pretty flat; trees line the fairways but do not create wooded holes; and risk/reward is pretty minimal (with the exception of the water holes, of course). With that being said, for being a city park course, I found this course surprisingly difficult to navigate. A map is absolutely essential or you'll be doing a lot of wandering.

I would like to see a 19th hole that utilizes those tunnels that go under the highway; it would give the phrase "tunnel shot" a new meaning!

All in all, I like this course. Arriving here is an oasis after making the long commute on US-15 that is devoid of civilization for 70+ miles.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Fall Classic

2-4    11/11/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: If you really enjoy a challange I think this is a great course. Its a great course to utilize a roller and there aren't many where rollers are so rewarded. There's a ton of o.b. that add to the challenge here.
Cons: The crossing fairways are really the only negative I see when I play.
Other Thoughts: I play this course in november for the haunted waters tourney so I can't speak to any issues the rest of the year.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Risky Course to your discs and the public

1    11/29/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Utilizes a large park for a full 18. cement tee pads for most of the holes. water hazards add an element of risk, especially on hole 18.
Course navigation ok with Map
Hole 8 had 2 tees that were each worth playing.
Cons: Worst offense was hole 13's basket being DANGEROUSLY close to the road (see picture). Also cars were parked around hole 3.

Without a map course is nearly impossible to follow.

Several holes play close to the road, cars, and busy walkways.
Course criss-crosses itself several times.
On hole 14 I saw a group of 5 do their drives, then walk to tee 15 and drive, then finish 14 to walk back to their discs on 15 .
Holes 1 and 2 cross each other as well as do 7 and 8.
Some holes have tee signs, but many are missing or unreadable, The tee sign for 9 was simply wrong.
There is definately a chance of disc loss. The water is pretty clear and shallow in many areas, so you can see the plastic underwater. The group infront of me lost 3 discs and were able to get them all back.
Other Thoughts: There is not another public option with in 35 miles, so take it or leave it.

PRINT A MAP OR STAY HOME.
Most holes can be hit in 3, even though some tee signs may say par is as high as 5.
To get to 7 and 12 you have to go under the hobo bridge to the other side of the park.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.