Corning, NY
Denison Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
4 / 392ft.   4 / 471ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Dance Combo: Limbo and Twist

1    6/20/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 325  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Most holes have 6'x10' teepads
Cons:
When the two mandos on the course are the backstop of a baseball field, and the lamppost of a basketball court, you know there will potentially be frequent chances to negatively interact with the non-playing public. Fairways are also close to roads, walkways, skate park, benches, gazebo, fishing spot.

Fairly flat.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in and around in the limited open spaces of a small, long-n-narrow, multi-purpose park. Holes 1-6, 12-18 play in the main part of the park, while 7-11 are accessed via tunnels that run under a major road.

While the course is certainly not wooded, control is called for, as medium/large hardwoods will come into play on most every hole. The branches of these hardwoods will come into play at various times in the flightpath of the drive - early and/or middle and/or late - so keeping the disc low is a must. The trees aren't so close together that the flightpaths are unfair, but are close enough together that swinging high-n-wide isn't typically an option.

In addition to staying low, most holes will also require some type of turn, usually mid or late flight. Even mixture of lefts (mostly the earlier holes) and rights (back nine) - straight off the tee only happens a few times.

The hole that typifies low/left is #10. While only ~230', a score of randomly scattered small trees are directly between the tee and basket. A low, hyzered Wraith, thrown into a dip to the right, then skipping left around the trees, was the best way to reach the basket with the drive.

Water potentially comes into play on the last six holes, although for the experienced player, it typically comes down to a simple choice - take the most direct line, and accept some risk of hitting a tree and ending up in the drink, or swing wide/conservatively, and take the water out of play. Number-18 is the best example of it, as the direct line to the basket requires you to cross the corner of the pond, and split two large hardwoods on the opposite bank.

A map is critical when attempting to navigate this course for the first time. In particular:
- No tee sign at #1 (at corner of roads t-junction)
- Most visible tee from basket-3 is tee-5 - need to backtrack to find tee-4
- Most visible basket from tee-5 is basket-6 - basket-5 is farther, and left
- Basket-7 is up-n-over rise
- No tee signs for back nine
- From basket-11, turn right to find tunnel which leads to tee-12 - if you go straight, you'll find basket-13
- Tee-12 is nar fire hydrant, diagonal from tee-1
- Tees 13-15 are dirt, with wooden toe boards. Tee-14 is next to large hardwood next to road
- Three crossing fairways (1-2, 7-8, 14-15)

Despite the courses many shortcomings, it does challenge you to throw shots that have both distance and shape, while keeping a low altitude.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Some TLC Needed

5+    8/10/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: LSC player
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy to get to.
-A relatively "open" course.
-Fairly easy to navigate.
-Grass is well maintained.
- Holes 1-12 are newbie friendly
Cons: -Why on Earth do you have to throw in/around/over the same body of water 6 times in a row?
-Is it really necessary to have a hole location next to a gazebo? Most times there are families using it for picnics.
-Too many holes are close to multi-use recreational areas (i.e. basketball courts, skate parks, playgrounds, baseball/softball fields, etc.). I understand that the course is built in a town park, but there are ways to avoid throwing directly at things like skate parks.
-Low hanging branches need to be cut. Several of the water holes have small enough windows as it is to get your disc over. Low hanging foliage creates a much higher risk vs high reward factor. After losing a disc (for a throw that really didn't deserve to get wet) and nearly losing several others, I've found myself laying up to a couple of holes to mitigate risk.
Other Thoughts: Very average course overall. Some fun long holes on the front nine keep me coming back. A wide variety of shots can be played on several holes which helps you mix up your approach. Decent course to work on some things. I know I sound like a whiner, but the last 6 holes are really poorly planned. Throwing my disc over a disgusting canal 6 times in a row is bad enough... when I have to throw around little kids with their parents is worse. If your disc gets wet, little to no chance of finding it. Plus the water smells REALLY bad. You will need to take 3-5 showers to get the smell out. Bottom line: A good place to bring someone new to the area to warm up; but not a destination course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Low-Ceiling Course in Lower NY

2-4    1/14/2010   1/14/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The course has several water hazards that are pretty easy to clear but are fun nevertheless! #14 and 15 criss-cross over a stream and the remaining three have water come into play as the baskets are lined up near a pond.

- Nice concrete tees. Even in the winter, the footing is excellent.

- A pretty easy course to complete a round. Several birdie opportunities and a couple bogey ones as well if you don't watch some of the trees. I would have no issues taking any beginners here to play. I found the back nine to be more enjoyable, challenging and serene than the front nine -- mostly because of the aforementioned water hazards and increased prevalence of trees by the baskets.
Cons: - Several holes on the course play very close to the highway. In fact, the road actually bisects the park. Fences notwithstanding, a bad sharp anhyzer (on #4) or hyzer (on #12) could go over the fence and into oncoming traffic!

- Not every hole has signage. Some of the signs are missing information on them and other holes lack signs altogether. This was true for hole #1 and it took me a few minutes to find it.

- Park can be pretty busy all year round with a lot of non-disc golfers. I've played here in both August and January and the number of people is about the same.

- The course has virtually no elevation changes and contains only one true 'wooded' hole (#10). Given the lengths of the holes and the lack of obstacles, I'd say that the pars are a little outdated -- go with the pro pars instead!

- A lot of low ceiling shots. I found myself using my teebird on many drives just to avoid hitting branches from nearby trees by the tees. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, but I do think that some trimming could be in order for many of the holes in the park.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty textbook city park disc golf course. Other park patrons/activities must be considered while playing; the elevation is pretty flat; trees line the fairways but do not create wooded holes; and risk/reward is pretty minimal (with the exception of the water holes, of course). With that being said, for being a city park course, I found this course surprisingly difficult to navigate. A map is absolutely essential or you'll be doing a lot of wandering.

I would like to see a 19th hole that utilizes those tunnels that go under the highway; it would give the phrase "tunnel shot" a new meaning!

All in all, I like this course. Arriving here is an oasis after making the long commute on US-15 that is devoid of civilization for 70+ miles.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Risky Course to your discs and the public

1    11/29/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Utilizes a large park for a full 18. cement tee pads for most of the holes. water hazards add an element of risk, especially on hole 18.
Course navigation ok with Map
Hole 8 had 2 tees that were each worth playing.
Cons: Worst offense was hole 13's basket being DANGEROUSLY close to the road (see picture). Also cars were parked around hole 3.

Without a map course is nearly impossible to follow.

Several holes play close to the road, cars, and busy walkways.
Course criss-crosses itself several times.
On hole 14 I saw a group of 5 do their drives, then walk to tee 15 and drive, then finish 14 to walk back to their discs on 15 .
Holes 1 and 2 cross each other as well as do 7 and 8.
Some holes have tee signs, but many are missing or unreadable, The tee sign for 9 was simply wrong.
There is definately a chance of disc loss. The water is pretty clear and shallow in many areas, so you can see the plastic underwater. The group infront of me lost 3 discs and were able to get them all back.
Other Thoughts: There is not another public option with in 35 miles, so take it or leave it.

PRINT A MAP OR STAY HOME.
Most holes can be hit in 3, even though some tee signs may say par is as high as 5.
To get to 7 and 12 you have to go under the hobo bridge to the other side of the park.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Good

5/25/2007   6/8/2007
Review By: timg
Played: 220  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2007
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, decent mix of holes.
Cons: Public park so there will be people around fairly often. Missing tee signs after #9. Walk from #11 to #12 is a little long/confusing.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a decent course offering a little bit of varied terrain as far as open/wooded holes. #13 has you throwing over a wooded creek and the pond comes into play on the rest of the back 9 after that.

A fun course but nothing really made it stand out for me as a "must play". If you're in the area then it's definitely worth a stop but I can't recommend driving from far away just to play a round.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.