Corning, NY 
Denison Park Share
Uploaded By: prerube Hole #10 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 233ft.   3 / 302ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Risky Course to your discs and the public

1    11/29/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 8.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Utilizes a large park for a full 18. cement tee pads for most of the holes. water hazards add an element of risk, especially on hole 18.
Course navigation ok with Map
Hole 8 had 2 tees that were each worth playing.
Cons: Worst offense was hole 13's basket being DANGEROUSLY close to the road (see picture). Also cars were parked around hole 3.

Without a map course is nearly impossible to follow.

Several holes play close to the road, cars, and busy walkways.
Course criss-crosses itself several times.
On hole 14 I saw a group of 5 do their drives, then walk to tee 15 and drive, then finish 14 to walk back to their discs on 15 .
Holes 1 and 2 cross each other as well as do 7 and 8.
Some holes have tee signs, but many are missing or unreadable, The tee sign for 9 was simply wrong.
There is definately a chance of disc loss. The water is pretty clear and shallow in many areas, so you can see the plastic underwater. The group infront of me lost 3 discs and were able to get them all back.
Other Thoughts: There is not another public option with in 35 miles, so take it or leave it.

PRINT A MAP OR STAY HOME.
Most holes can be hit in 3, even though some tee signs may say par is as high as 5.
To get to 7 and 12 you have to go under the hobo bridge to the other side of the park.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 2009 Ice bowl first time here!

1    2/7/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very challenging, great use of space in small inner city park.
Cons: Lots of water. not sure if that really a con but, I'm glad I played it in the winter. The pond and river were frozen enough to retrieve discs from. Only other thing is a couple of fairways cross over each other.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 rollin' rollin' rollin'

5+    2/7/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: 80playedin10states
Played: 84  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 21.8 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: not the same hole over and over...wide variety of shots...the course changes a bit from winter to summer. rollers work well all year except when snow/ice is on the ground. but this is the time when airshots work the best(tress are bare)..very nice baskets mach 3's i believe?
Cons: alot of non disc players and a few crossing fairways
Other Thoughts: very challenging to all skill levels...shorts are recommended if you want to shoot under(par 54)....this is a beautiful park in the summer but much more difficult to score when the trees are full

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Something smells funny

1    9/24/2008   9/26/2008
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 21.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's a good course that is NOT long and can be played by anyone. It had nice hole designs for what they had to work with. Easy walk. I enjoyed the course.
Cons: Wastewater treatment plant right beside the park....sure does stink!! Water is tough for new players. It is kind of confusing to find some of the tees as some are not marked. Also, 1 or 2 holes play on the same fairways.
Other Thoughts: It was a decent course. I would not go out of my way to play here again, but if you are 30 minutes away, come and check it out. I think you will enjoy the layout.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

7/5/2008   7/5/2008
Review By: Ty9339
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this course is a nice easy walk, very flat, with some interesting hole designs. its very wide open with a few very well placed trees. most of the tee pads are cement and the park was pretty clean. the water holes are a nice challenge. but over all i thought the course was a bit short, contrary to some other reviews
Cons: although the front nine is well marked with signs, distances and even par standards, the back nine is a bit difficult to navigate as the signs disappear and some of the tee pads aren't paved. some tree work could be done on hole 18 over the pond so the willows give you at least a little hole to throw through.
Other Thoughts: this is the closest course to my sisters house which is in wellsboro PA and it is still a half hour. but the course was perfect for me to take my family too, plenty of places to sit, for my mom and sister who didn't play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2/20/2008   2/20/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: You have to be on your game to get below par 54 although its not a super long course. Must earn all birdies.

VERY difficult without guide/map but there are tee signs on most holes which makes it a little easier. Great use of the land available although some holes criss cross each other.

Originally a 9 hole course with two sets of tees, now a complete 18 holes which utilizes the land around the pond. Back nine is more difficult then the front 9. Cement tee pads on most of the holes makes it much easier to find your way around. A much better course now then when it was first open.
Cons: Park is used by many non-Disc Golfers.

Other Thoughts: Parts of the course have been re-designed multiple times due to changes the city makes without a thought pertaining to the Disc Golf course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Challenge.

6/15/2007   6/16/2007
Review By: innovaetor
Played: 45  Reviewed: 22
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long challenging holes, with tight fairways. Water comes into play on many holes.
Cons: Busy city park, don't hit anyone! Also relativly flat, and some pretty old baskets.
Other Thoughts: You'll need lots of controlled drives to shoot par, espescially with leaves on the trees.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Good

5/25/2007   6/8/2007
Review By: timg
Played: 286  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2007
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, decent mix of holes.
Cons: Public park so there will be people around fairly often. Missing tee signs after #9. Walk from #11 to #12 is a little long/confusing.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a decent course offering a little bit of varied terrain as far as open/wooded holes. #13 has you throwing over a wooded creek and the pond comes into play on the rest of the back 9 after that.

A fun course but nothing really made it stand out for me as a "must play". If you're in the area then it's definitely worth a stop but I can't recommend driving from far away just to play a round.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.