Disc Golf Store
Columbus, MS 
Lake Lowndes State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 225ft.   3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Red Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Well Rounded DGC

1    7/12/2013   7/16/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees (2 on every hole).
-Nicely manicured State Park, very clean.
-Scorecards with course map are available in the park office.
-Pro Shop with nice, organized disc rack and good selection of discs.
-Easy navigation with a few exceptions (listed in cons).
-Good combination of elevation, O.B. and water that can challenge any player.
-Ample parking in front of the Park Office with Hole #1 in front & Hole #18 finishes a few dozen yards behind #1.
-Nice clean restrooms in the Park Office
-Park staff were exceptionally friendly
Cons: -There are extra baskets and tees that are not part of the course and can be confusing.**
-Kudzu growth could become an issue on a few holes (not even one foot tall and you can easily lose a disc in it)
-The distances on the scorecard and tees don't match.
-Tee signs have been neglected and some illegible
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best maintained State Park DGC's I've ever played (neglected tee signs aside). The undergrowth around the park looks to be burnt off regularly (probably to help control the Kudzu). I was able to easily find my way around using the map on the scorecard, but with a couple of extra baskets and several of the old layout tees still hanging around the map was invaluable.
With several other DGC's in the area (3.8 rated Propst Park is less than 7 miles away) this one is worth the trip to Columbus, MS.

**9/3/2013 - Update
I've been informed that the extra tees and baskets are/were temporary and are soon to be removed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/26/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: jtblount2
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
Pros: Dual tee pads and nice baskets
Challenging but also easy enough to take newbies
Beautiful scenery
Cons: Several of the hole maps are just so old that they aren't readable
Navigation issues on a couple holes...I couldn't find the tee pads once or twice and had to ask some other guys
Other Thoughts: On one or two holes there seemed to be too many trees but that is understandable. Several holes are really close to the road so that may delay play briefly.
I played this course twice and when I was on I birdied several holes. On the other hand, when I wasn't on I parred or bogeyed those same holes, so I would say there are definitely some good risk reward holes.

 Lake Lowndes

8/1/2007   8/8/2007
Review By: Amorybulldog
Played: 69  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 17.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course layed out in one of Mississippi's finest state parks. The lake involved is beautiful and in the fall with the leaves changing it is a sight to behold. Very challenging course especially the red tees. The Gold Course set up is a monster and should be played by all.
Cons: Single chain innova baskets on all the holes but two.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the drive, great course and great club that maintains it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.