Columbus, MS 
Lake Lowndes State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 280ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Yellow Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 A Walk in The Park...

1    3/26/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Lowndes has an amazing blend of design elements and immaculate groundskeeping. Tee signs were very helpful. Dual concrete tees for most holes. The holes with water were definitely challenging, but fair.
Cons: My only issue with Lake Lowndes were a few navigational issues. Sometimes the next tee was not what logically should be the next tee. We teed off for hole 3...only to find that it was hole 17. Then we had to collect our drives and go find hole 3. This is a minor issue as we were playing without a guide or a map. If this were fixed, I believe this course would be pretty flawless, as far as amenities. Park is way off the "beaten path".
Other Thoughts: If you enjoy a challenge, Lake Londes is an excellent course. For those players who don't like the water throws, I suggest skipping the A and B holes. I absolutely loved these holes. Hole A is easily in my top 5. Add in the fact that it had been raining and the lake level was up. The pin was sitting about 2 feet from the water...on all sides. It was awesome. I also like hole B from a design perspective. It is "ballsy" to design a hole where a big anhyzer is required to go out over the water to get around a tree. Lots of lost discs and angry players maybe. I wouldn't care if i lost a disc there. It was a challenge and a great hole.

Hole 17 and 18 are funny. Let me explain. The course requires a fairly long hike as it is well spread out over the provided land. Then you get to close your round with the longest open hole on the course (17) and an uphill shot back to the ranger station and parking lot (18). These holes are much more difficult at the end of a round.

All in all, I loved this course. It is a little out of the way, but don't let that deter you. It truly is an excellent course brought to us by an excellent State Parks System in Mississippi.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Love it

5+    4/20/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: JesusShoes
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2009
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great for side arm throwers as you don't have to worry about turning the disc over. (this is from the short tees of course) Great placement of pins. There is a new course going in towards the front of the park which will have you wanting to make the drive all the time!
Cons: It's got a few water holes so you might want to watch out for that. They have it set up where the more "fatal" holes for your disc are 2 side holes not part of the 18. Paying to get into the park sucks.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area you should go play this course. I used to drive from Starkville all the time to go play it. they will have two courses out there soon. I can't wait to make the drive back up from Jackson, MS

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Disc Golf Venture

5+    8/23/2008   9/18/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2008
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Both sets of tees are now fully concreted. The design is a 20 hole course that is easy to navigate and contains a little elevation, a large variety of shots, water, and 2 sets of tees. The yellow course is a fairly easy and fun to play course that is great for newcomers and amateurs. Once you master this course, you can take on the red course that allows some different, more challenging shots, along with a little more distance.

The park is well taken care of, the grass is kept low, and lots of pine trees that shower the fairways with pine needles (check out the pictures). Whether its challenge or fun you want, this course has it all. Camping is available, as in all MS parks, with a large lake for fishing and boating, tennis courts, and softball fields. At the start of the course is the lodge, with bathrooms, a small pro shop, friendly staff, 2 pool tables, a ping pong table, and snack machines.
Cons: MS state parks charge $3 per vehicle (most MS residents buy a year pass for $42 that works for all MS parks). This course is a bit secluded. There are no other courses within 45 minutes and the park can be difficult to get to. However, the pros far outweigh these particular cons, making it an excellent place to take the family while you play disc golf!

There are a few benches throughout the course, but could use a few more. The half way point is at the other end of the course, but does contain a pavilion with bathrooms (although they are sometimes locked). As with all MS parks, lots of critters, particularly ticks, and lots of little ants, that won't hurt, but can get annoying.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the most beautiful parks in the state of MS and the disc golf course is no exception. I rated this course based on both sets of tees and the special gold course tournament set up. The combined package makes this an excellent disc golf venture for any disc golfer. There is 1 hole on the red tees that has an iffy fairway, but other than that, I disagree with a previous reviewer who said there is luck involved on any other holes. The fairways are very fair if you have an accurate shot. Blue level players can expected to average 5-10 down from the yellow tees and par to 5 down from the red tees.

Holes A and B were previously only used in tournaments for an extra challenge, but the locals decided to make them permanent. Hole A would have to be the signature hole (check out the photo). Playing from the wide middle to the very point of a peninsula with quite a few trees, this hole can make or break a good round.

The annual Summer Sizzler also makes use of the special set up gold course, which in my opinion is one of the best set ups I have ever played. It is a legit par 67 course over 18 holes that require accurate distance and every shot in your bag. Using the downloadable ratings spreadsheet the PDGA once had on their website, I calculated the SSA to be around 68 for tournament players who might be interested. I live an hour away from the park, but we are in the process of trying to develop another major tournament that primarily showcases the gold course.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Summer Sizzler

6/14/2008   6/16/2008
Review By: manglin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained and marked course with two sets of concrete tee pads. The manicured grass fairways are very nice. The course challenges a variety of your skills. There is a nice lodge with facilities.
Cons: $3 entry fee to the State Park. To get between #12 and #13, you must cross the tee area for #9. On a crowded day, that could cause problems. There are some tough water holes. 20 holes seems odd, but it scores like other 18-hole courses.
Other Thoughts: I played this course during the Summer Sizzler in June 08 from the Yellow tee pads. I enjoyed the the tournament and the course. There are several thickly wooded holes and some wide open holes and a few holes with water in play. The course favors a sidearm player or a left-handed backhand player. In general, the holes are short.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Played from yellow tees.

1    6/14/2008   6/15/2008
Review By: noahat
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2008
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very fun course to play. Very well manicured. The grass is nice and short on fairways, and the paths in the woods are hard dry dirt. In other words, not much standing water, vines, leaves and pine straw where it shouldn't be. Nice scenery, and not too crowded.
Cons: Some holes seem to require more luck than skill, which is kind of annoying.
Other Thoughts: Lots of short technical holes, not too many long wide open shots.

This rating is for the yellow tee boxes only, which is the shortest. There is also the slightly longer, and harder red tees. Also, the course can be redesigned to be the gold course which makes the normal 20 hole course an extremely difficult 18 hole course, although I have not actually played the red tees or the gold course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Lowndes

8/1/2007   8/8/2007
Review By: Amorybulldog
Played: 65  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 17.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course layed out in one of Mississippi's finest state parks. The lake involved is beautiful and in the fall with the leaves changing it is a sight to behold. Very challenging course especially the red tees. The Gold Course set up is a monster and should be played by all.
Cons: Single chain innova baskets on all the holes but two.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the drive, great course and great club that maintains it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.