Chadron, NE 
Chadron State Park Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #6
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Course in NW Nebraska

2-4    7/31/2014   8/2/2014
Review By: BruhaDiscGolf
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.1 Years
Pros: This course is nine holes and is a great one for beginners. Most of the holes aren't the longest, but do provide decent obstacles such as trees, water, and roads. There are also some great elevation changes along the course.
Cons: The last two holes on this course are the biggest problems for me. Hole 8 is a graveyard for discs with all of the shrubbery. Even if your disc is visible, the steep hill makes it hard to retrieve. The path to go on the fairway is not clearly marked either (it is to the right, not straight down). The river on 9 can sweep away a disc. Some tees are not clearly marked and in poor condition.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course if you are new to the game or just driving through. There is a small fee to get in, but you can also enjoy the park's scenery as well. This is a course I would recommend and play again!


5+    7/14/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: Zedrijan
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very scenic course located in the pine ridge. Entire course was redesigned in September '13. Nice mix of shot types and challenges. Intelegent lay out with Signs pointing the way from basket to next tee. Hole 8 is definitely an "empty your bag" tee. By far the best course in the panhandle.
Cons: Home made baskets with very heavy chains. They will spit your discs out. That said, they are some very nice looking baskets especially for home made. Dirt tees and tee signs could use a little work.
Other Thoughts: The park has plans to extend to a full 18 holes. Please come out and show your support and ensure they add the back 9.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

All new!

2-4    6/18/2014   7/7/2014
Review By: Gnuckle
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All new course layout and new baskets makes for a very fun course. Winding your way through lots of trees and a park like setting, then up hill into some more woods and some technical challenges. Currently only 9 holes, but they plan on adding another 9 soon.
Cons: While the baskets are new, they are homemade but done pretty well.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful setting short course

1    7/6/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The setting is a rare place for the Nebraska Panhandle, its in fact very beautiful and full of trees. Its as if an oasis sprang from the prairie plains in which spring time lasts a few months longer. Chadron State Park is worth a stop on its own. The park was the perfect afternoon relief, and was about ten degrees cooler in the park than in the nearby town of Chadron. The length of the course had my daughter insisting that she play. The homemade baskets provide an opportunity to think about putting differently. Drinks and snacks are available at the cabin where you pay to play.
Cons: The course is very short. Some of the holes would just be considered long putts or approach shots. Short homemade baskets, maybe they were just jammed into the ground too far. One basket was tipped over, I assume this was the result of people climbing on them and as a result I lost an ace. (It hit the chains and fell out of the side the basket was leaning). Perhaps some park employees can keep a better eye on the state of the baskets. I wish that the course could have gone into more sections of the park because the place is stunning. It would have been cool to bomb one over that lake.
Other Thoughts: Since the course is pulled in the winter, it can easily be redone the next season. There is a fee, when I paid the lady looked at me like I was crazy, but I insisted because I wanted her to understand that people will travel and pay for disc golf and I'm glad that the course is in the ground.

A few years back, a friend of mine played a course in nearby Ft Robinson Park. He described baskets that are very similar to these ones here. I called Ft. Robinson Park, and they knew nothing about a disc course. I suspect that the course that was in Ft. Robinson no longer exists because its in the ground here. You should diffidently call ahead before making the trip out to make sure that baskets are in the ground. If the course is not there or here the course in Chadron is permanent.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.